Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Defense Devil

Defense Devil

Alternative Titles

English: Defense Devil
Synonyms: Defence Devil
Japanese: DEFENSE DEVIL

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 100
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 22, 2009 to Jun 10, 2011
Authors: Yoon, In-Wan (Story), Yang, Kyung-il (Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 15627 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21702
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #230
Members: 30,995
Favorites: 799

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 21, 2011
S2VX (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, no one reviewed this yet for a lonnng time, so I thought I’d give my first shot of reviewing on Defense Devil, today’s date as February 21, 2011.

85 chapters in and DD has been a pretty fun ride as of yet.

The best general idea I could give for this manga is referencing an earlier work by the duo team. If anyone’s read the two mangakas’ past series, Shin Angyo Onshi, DD follows a similar story pattern and plot elements that I think many can strongly relate to. If you haven’t, no worries, DD’s great story telling ability, art, and characters will offer up read more
Jul 8, 2009
M_Mandraw2012 (All reviews)
Preliminary
By reading the synopsis I was expecting a manga with a lot of talk, a lot of stillness and surely no fights...

I was wrong.Sure they talk a lot but they fight a lot too...

The story is a shounen story so don't expect much(that doesn't mean its bad ,it means you'l have a "dejavu"...)

The art itself is good but i don't like the main character(I mean the chara-design his personality is uber cool>
Nov 10, 2009
nobody_knows (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever think about after you die, that you would go to hell without knowing what have you done in your life; and you will be sentence to suffer forever. No one here to help you or even given you another chance. And for this manga review, whoever die are given another chance to prove his/her innocent, of course with a help of a devil lawyer.

Once again, Korean manhwa artist has impressed me once more (the other is KuroKami). Defense Devil was a great combination from some of the manga i know could think of: almost has the Death Note art style and a little story read more
Sep 2, 2009
icamundo (All reviews)
Preliminary
i like this manga very much. it's true that that there are recurring scenarios like getting a client then defending for him/her to prove the person's innocence and obtaining the dark matter. but the recent chapters prove otherwise, with the new chara idamaria(did i spell it right?) the story takes another turn. the story gets more interesting and i find myself anticipitating for new chapters. i smell romance between kucabara and idamaria, though i might be wrong. >_>
the artwork? fantastic

kucabara reminds of L though because of his looks. and just like any typical shounen hero, he's self-righteous and strongly believes in justice. i love him read more
Jan 26, 2012
srsng (All reviews)
We all know that we have a “Butler from Hell”- Kuroshitsuji. Now what do we have? – “Lawyer from Hell” – Defense Devil.

Meet Mephisto Bart Kucabara. He was a prince from the Demon world but was banished due to some reasons ( I don’t wanna spoil here), and now he lives in Event Horizon. A place between heaven and hell. In order to get back to his home, he must collect this so called “Dark Matter” from souls who were casts to hell.. He then decided to become a defense lawyer. They let their client(the dead) sign a contract, prove their innocence and claim the read more
Jul 7, 2015
TargaryenX (All reviews)
Defense Devil was a huge disappointment for me. It starts out strong, but you can almost see the point where the authors just stopped caring and started blatantly trolling the readers. It doesn't even deserve to be mentioned in the same sentence as the manga duo's earlier work Shin Angyo Onshi, although from there it's hard to go anywhere but down.

The art is probably the best part of the manga. The artist half of the combo, Kyung-Il Yang is pretty much a master at his craft, delivering atmospheric landscapes, great character designs, badass fight scenes and beautiful titties.

The characters are not bad, but there are read more
Sep 30, 2011
dgpl (All reviews)
The original premise of the story was set up in a way that it could be taken in little bits, basically a bunch of different cases which the protagonist could solve and then be done with. However, after a few of these cases the series takes a turn and begins an arc which spans the rest of the series. Personally I felt like at that point it started to become another generic fight manga where two people take turns slugging it out until one passes out. the story doesn't really have much to offer actually, and there's not enough tension in the end.
The story, art, read more
Jun 17, 2013
JordanDN (All reviews)
To begin I would just like to say that reading this manga was, despite all my negative criticism, an enjoyable experience in which I would suggest to someone who reads manga purely for enjoyment. I have written a lot of negative criticism bellow but would like to say that those are only the negative parts to the story. This manga has a lot of good qualities otherwise I wouldn't have bothered to read it all (my personal opinion).

Firstly, the story was compelling and had well thought out plot which was thrilling to read, especially if you like mystery. However that is only read more
Aug 23, 2009
tami4875 (All reviews)
Preliminary
when i read the synopsis for this manga i was hoping for something really good and after a couple of chapters it got better and also a bit repitetive since its all about the main character trying to prove his clients innocent and fighting against shinigami trying to put his clients in hell. it makes me wonder if the author is gonna be using this same formula for each story arc--new client, main character promises to prove client innocent, a bad guy for each arc trying to take main character's client to hell, main character proving client's innocence and then sucking up evil matter to read more
Feb 17, 2012
rondoblend (All reviews)
Preliminary
What's the line between imagination and reality. Should it be a pure fiction or should it be based on fact. what makes manga Detective Conan great is that Ayoma Gosho always consults his brothers who were chemists on technical aspect of crime scene investigation such as blood spatter and blood clot. So he didn't just make up the stories out of his pure imagination.
another case is slam dunk, The author Takehiko Inoue is a genuine basketball lover. He understands the game well, it can be seen on the lead Hanamichi Sakuragi who has the size and read more
Sep 21, 2011
mangamaniac93 (All reviews)
This manga is the perfect example of story-writers making stuff up (in this case, quite poorly) as they go, which reached outrageous levels at the (!!!painfully rushed!!!) end; unexplained plotholes, huge contradictions and I'm not at all exaggerating when I say that it also manages to take the phrase "Deus ex machina" to a whole new level.

Oh, and let's not forget about the absolutely neglected original storyline, which vanishes out of nowhere right after the first volume. I'm curious about the fate of those next-in-the-line 'unknowns' after Kucabara decided to visit home...

Still, it's not all that bad. Yes, it's cheesy and it has lots of read more
Aug 31, 2011
dubaifalcon (All reviews)
short and simple anime/manga reviews:Defense Devil
Pros: Great start with good mystery, Nice art and many ecchi moments for us guys
Cons: That great mystery I was talking about in the pro section soon changed into a con after the start of this manga the story went down hill all that great mystery that gave me high hopes for this manga just went away and was replaced with B.S action and B.S plot turns.
Overall this manga was dissapointing I mean this could have been the next Majin Tantie Neruo (which you should check out) put really this manga isn't bad but the awesome mystery and whole read more
Aug 10, 2012
skypiercer (All reviews)
At first I thought that it was going to be like The World God Only Knows where Kucabara will be doing one contract after another. But then the story completely went off it's mark. He was no longer doing his Defense Devil but something else.

The character was typical too. The main protagonist as the "Naive" and innocent shounen, the main heroine as a Tsundere, and with both of them having experience tragedies in the pass.

Overall, a redundant manga but still a good manga.
Jul 9, 2015
UltimateAdrian20 (All reviews)
When I first came across Defence Devil, I thought of two things, "Harmless dumb shounen fun" or "Absurd concept turn awesomly serious"

Defense devil is about a demon named Mephisto Bart Kucabara, banished from his land as an outcast former prince and takes an interest in human life on earth.He takes up the role of a defence attorney of any innoncent soul who are unfairly judged on their deaths been considered sins.With his sidekick devil Bichura , he battles other devil to protect his client and save their souls from doom.

On the surface it sounds like a cool concept. A Phoenix Wright style manga with read more
Jan 26, 2019
Apple_Twinkle (All reviews)
This manga is one that sets up an interesting premise, story and tone. In order to throw it out the window when it thought it had your attention. To be honest I feel a little betrayed by the direction of this work, as I really enjoyed the opening few chapters.

Story - 4
The story is windy and twisty in that terrible kind of way where you get the feeling things change because the author woke up feeling like that one day. Entire ideas are thrown out at the drop of the hat. The first chapters are the best because not only do characters have a read more