Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Reimei no Arcana

Reimei no Arcana

Alternative Titles

English: Dawn of the Arcana
Synonyms: Reicana
Japanese: 黎明のアルカナ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 65
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 24, 2009 to Jun 24, 2013
Authors: Touma, Rei (Story & Art)
Serialization: Cheese!

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 13371 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7082
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #223
Members: 31,636
Favorites: 1,032

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 15, 2010
QueenOfAlbion (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first glance, Reimei no Arcana may seem like your oh-so-clichè romance and shoujo manga set in fairytale land. Thankfully, this isn't the case. Reimei no Arcana has a more deep, almost depressing story behind everything. There's blood. There's violence. There are characters that actually develop instead of just act the same throughout the story. This really isn't the typical romance manga directed at young girls.

Story: 8/10
While it's not the most original plot in the world, Rei Toma executes it beautifully. The princess who has been shunned all her life is in an arranged marriage with a prince that she finds disgusting. After spending some read more
Jun 21, 2010
shojoaddict17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Starts with a marriage of convenience between feuding royal families, complicated with racism and bigotry (about hair color and half-human half-animal "subpeople"). The main characters are both stubborn and really hate each other, but what else can this lead to but sweet sweet awkward jealousy. Who should she choose? The enemy with the grand gestures or the loyal friend? You'll be pulled apart, just like our heroin.
This manga is wonderful! A real hybrid of the Shojo and Shouen styles, a complicated romance for the not-girly reader. A really addicting read, and more than the average shojo has read more
Nov 10, 2014
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
Reimei no Arcana is a fantasy shoujo manga by Touma Rei, totalling thirteen volumes. We begin our tale at a wedding ceremony, the participants a red-haired girl and a black-haired boy. The girl notes dispassionately that her new husband has crushed her hair in his hand, unbeknownst to the onlookers. This is a marriage of convenience, for the purpose of upholding a treaty to keep the peace between two warring countries, Senan and Belquat. Not only is she of a different nationality to the prince she has married, which automatically makes her unlikable, but she also has filthy, red hair. Why is red hair so read more
May 21, 2015
elichu (All reviews)
I'm pretty meticulous when it comes to choosing what to read, since I hate leaving things unfinished. Hence I went into this manga with eyes and ears open, having read a LOT of reviews. I thought I knew roughly what to expect, but without having particularly high or low hopes. Boy was I disappointed.

Story: 5

Obviously this is a cliché story about an unwanted princess who is forced to marry the enemy kingdom's prince for the sake of peace. The princess discovers she has an innate ability that gives her enough power to take control of her life and kingdom. It's incredibly cliché, which would be read more
Aug 6, 2013
Jayex (All reviews)
Preliminary
Reimei no Arcana is a one-of-a-kind manga. Instead of following the average, archetypal shoujo manga plot, the author has created an excellent work by effectively using plot-twists, great character development, and deep, underlying meaning/foreshadowing within most chapters.

The Plot ~
The plot is well written. I admit that at times in the manga, I felt that I could "see the ending!" only to find that a plot twist--or a major event that affects the entire manga--was put into play the very next chapter. The plot twists and transitions within the story were masterfully executed, and was neither too complex nor simple for the reader to read more
Jun 15, 2014
LoLLiMinniE (All reviews)
As somebody you already read the manga I have to say that I never read a manga like this!
When I started I thought this will be the usual "They hate each other then they will fall in love and everybody will be happy..END".
THIS IS NOT THAT TYPE OF MANGA!
There were many twists and shocking events.

Story 9/10
If they would not start with such a cliche then I would have given 10/10 for sure.
But even like this I love the whole story.
When I thought I know the final out come the author slapped me and I was in the dark once again. It's really great.
And at the read more
Oct 26, 2010
Pyxis_Muse (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know people have said that the characters are too usual and annoying, and the plot is boring, etc. I suppose you'll hear that for everything, because there will always be people who don't like certain stories. However, in my opinion, this is an excellent manga. I do not find the characters too regular at all, and certainly not annoying. In fact, I think they are rather complex. I have found myself getting involved in them, and relating to their emotions; especially Nakaba and Loki. Nakaba is not the usual clumsy-but-happy heroine, nor the strong-and-bitter type. She is more like a real person. Loki is read more
Feb 16, 2013
KunoYuna (All reviews)
Preliminary
This story of a marriage started out really well. I loved it for a time, but as the story progressed, my love for it became nonexistent. It's not your old cliche kind of arranged marriages. The characters' back stories are interesting and heart felt in their won way. But I can't relate to the characters. I have not problem with Loki and Caesar, but Nakaba [who's the main heroine] I cannot relate to. I can't bring myself to love her either. After 30 chapters I really started getting bored of it all. The concept is nice, but it's not something that I generally like since read more
Dec 27, 2017
LeaOotori (All reviews)
Wow. I wasn't expecting this, but then again, I almost never am. Whenever I get into a series, I was go in with an expectation that seems to have nothing to do with what actually happens. I saw this on a list of shojo arranged marriage mangas, and after reading Hapi Mari, I was wondering if there were any more with that dynamic. I got here and realized that while it did have elements of that in it, the plot really doesn't focus on romance at all. So if you were here for that, prepare for an actual plot.

The story is very good. I read more
Oct 18, 2011
Xianthippe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Reimei no Arcana, is surprisingly a very interesting read, i started it because i kinda of ran out of manga to read that was interesting me... It is a good story and while there is alot of racism present, in a fantasy world i feel it reflects the ancient societies, which makes it in a way both interesting and a little cliche.
The Story line while being serious has it's quirks and humour and also the sense of a bit of a romance... and seems to go in completely different directions then what you might think. It is a very nice manga that is good read more
Aug 21, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Plagued with a power to see the past and future, Nakaba (the protagonist) is a princess of mixed blood that was given to her country's enemy to wed their prince.
Then they fall in love and yadda, yadda, yadda.

Actually, the story wasn't that dreary however that is the outline of the plot but it did have circumstances which the reader had to get their heads around of to continue reading. What actually livened up the story was the art and the characters.

The characters weren't the very over-used kind, maybe the kind that was used OFTEN but still not over-used. I generally liked the characters of read more
Jul 15, 2014
heyitsolive (All reviews)
This manga starts out kind of slow and does come off as the typical political enemies married for appearances turned "do-i-have-feelings-for-him/her?" and OF COURSE there is the typical love-trianglesque scenario. Which is why I am hesitant to give it a 10 out of 10.

But as you continue on in the later volumes, Reimei no Arcana really sucks you in. The characters are deep and intelligent (not the typical airheads or weak characters that seem wimpy or whiny), and the plot is twisted and makes you both hate, love and pity certain antagonists/protagonists.

It was a wonderfully written manga and truly does deserve a better read more
Jan 31, 2014
sintra (All reviews)
Preliminary
The STORY... The POTENTIAL... SUCH WASTE!!! SUCH WASTE!!!
And now with less drama.

Reimei no Arcana or The Dawn of Arcana at first glance reminds about a dozen similar manga. A sad heroin has to marry a bastard prince of the enemy country. There's the loyal dog (literally) and she's not very well liked in that country. But everything is ok, because, of course, the prince turns a new leaf and falls madly in love with princes, who (oh surprise, surprise) has a mystical power. Everything's well known and familiar.

BUT, now I will talk about the reason for all the drama in the beginning. But, the read more
Sep 26, 2015
VerballyStunted (All reviews)
I'll try my best to avoid !!SPOILERS!!, but it'll be impossible to explain my complaints without including a few. You've been warned.

I had a hard time with this one because there are some really awesome moments, but the execution felt somehow clumsy. I got the impression that the mangaka started out with some very specific things that would happen, but struggled to fill in the blanks along the way. For example, the Big Twist at the end is foreshadowed very early in the story--almost immediately--but random things like being able to have two spouses (something you'd think would be an important detail read more
May 4, 2011
sandrik1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well the story develops slowly, the characters change with the circumstances.
The story may look like a typical shojo but has its unique features. Especially as fantasy fan I liked the half humans and the special powers.
Nakaba looked like a fragile girl at first glance, nothing special, but with the read she became more and more charming.
There are a nice development to the story and the characters each have its unique abilities. Also the art is good and nice to view.
Jul 18, 2010
2Precious (All reviews)
Preliminary
Two countries neighboring countries, one consisting of half-humans, half-animals and the other of humans who only see half-breeds as slaves have been at war for 200 years disguise a marriage for peace between the two. Nakaba a girl who became the sacrifice in the plot forced to marry an arrogant prince who treats her harshly. Accompany by her childhood bodyguard/friend, Loki who has been with her since the slaughter of her family and the beginning of her misfortune. Caesar, the arrogant prince and the second son of Belquat, heartless King who see himself as supremacist above all.
But this isnt even the icing read more
Feb 20, 2013
-blankaccount (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this story while waiting for the next chapter or Akagami no Shirayuki-hime. I wanted to find another like it, and thus stumbled upon Reimei no Arcana.

ART: 100000000
First off, love the art. It's amazing. Simple and beautiful. All the guys are handsome (and that little sub-human boy ((his name starts with an R)) IS FREAKING ADORABLE)) and the girls are beautiful. The art was one of my favorite parts in the story.

STORY: 8
Princesses and Princes getting married... very typical. I didn't expect much out of the story. BUT. Once I started reading it,, I started warming up to it. The blood and fighting read more
Feb 7, 2016
Souphead (All reviews)
As far as shoujos go, I thought this had an interesting premise.

Story: 7
The basic storyline is that a red-haired princess (Akage) is married off to a prince of another country for a peace treaty. She is shunned because she, a royal, has red hair instead of black hair. Yeah, that's right. And not only that, but throughout the story kings and royalty make crazy freaking decisions based solely on the fact that this girl has red hair. It's a puzzler to me...and despite all of the clearly corrupt, lazy, and plain stupid royals, the citizens don't complain or rise up even once. The background read more
Sep 29, 2015
TenshiMaria (All reviews)
AMAZING!!!!! This might be the best manga that I have ever read!. I am still so attached to the characters and for some reason no other anime or manga has made me so cry as hard when realizing the end was imminent. Accepting the fact that there was no more manga left to read was very hard on my fragile psyche, since I couldn't seem to get enough of it! I'm not sure exactly what it was about the storyline and characters that made me especially attached, but the author definitely put time into the development and growth of not only the main characters, but read more
May 19, 2014
kcal41 (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this manga and I think that it would make an excellent anime. It has a very adventurous vibe to it, as the setting shifts to different places and there is almost always action.

Nakaba -- the main heroine -- helps turn this into a kick-ass shojo. Her major sense of responsibility prevents her from turning into a damsel-in-distress. Since she is a princess of Seinen, she has a bunch of social and political duties that she must fulfill. She is also willing to use violence and force to reach her goals.

Conflict is rampant in the series. You have political problems, relationship read more