Goong
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Goong

Alternative Titles

English: Goong
Synonyms: Goong - The Royal Palace Story, Princess Hours
Japanese: 궁(宮)

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: 27
Chapters: 179
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 2, 2002 to Dec 27, 2011
Genres: Comedy Comedy, Drama Drama, Romance Romance
Theme: Historical Historical
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Wink
Authors: Park, So-Hee (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 40714,071 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11032
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1398
Members: 10,397
Favorites: 261

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 18, 2009
Master10K (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goong is a Shoujo, Romantic, Comedy, Drama dealing with the all-too-familiar arranged marriage set-up but in an unfamiliar Korean monarchy setting. So you can expect your characteristic shoujo romance in the forefront, but with political ploys, betrayal and power struggles in the background.

First of all let me say… this is an amazing manhwa where the author brings forth an interesting question for its plot, “what if the Korean monarchy wasn’t just a memory but still an active part of society?” This plot is able to bring forth a number of issues that have rarely been dealt with before in a shoujo manhwa such as: read more
Jan 19, 2008
AeoP (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goong puts an interesting spin on the "historical" type drama. This hybrid of the modern world with a historical monarchy focuses on The Palace and the royal family within. However, we also get to witness everyday life such as school life as well. Many elements are typical of shoujo manga, including the main characters' interactions, but the character development and the story builds into very worthwhile drama. Also, interactions between the feisty female lead and the cold-hearted male lead add a nice touch of comedy.

Goong also features beautiful art. From the scenery of the palace, to the clothing worn, read more
Feb 4, 2013
MastaJ (All reviews)
*SPOILER-FREE*

I believe the downfall of this manhwa was its poor characters, repeated plot structure, and an extremely drawn out story which quickly became boring.

The beginning of the series was actually really cultivating. Although there are many stories of forced marriage between royalty, I quickly warmed up to this one. I saw huge potential and since there were many chapters I was expecting a great plot with a lot of character development. But I was wrong. Around halfway through the story I noticed that I became very agitated and annoyed while reading this. I couldn't figure out why. I continued on. Eventually I figured out read more
May 26, 2013
Eitoku (All reviews)
If you have watched the drama, don't skip this manhwa. It's a lot different and it definitely has its own outstanding charms.

Still, having watched the drama first, I was surprised at how different Shin was in the original source. Here, he was your usual arrogant and spoiled rich kid - whereas in the drama, he was cold, more controlled and quite reserved.

Chae-Gyung, however, was still your normal and average heroine whom you can easily empathize with. Having her life changed like that, I can actually feel how lonely and miserable she was inside the palace. Not to mention that in comparison to the drama, read more
Jan 20, 2013
Anna2697 (All reviews)
I feel almost horrible for doing a review like this, because I should, by all accounts, be giving this manhwa a solid 9 or 10. When I look over everything I've just read, all the areas that attract me to a story were covered. Plus, the art was great. Why, then, do I have an underlying gentle hatred towards all of this? Well... I don't know.
ART:
I think we can all agree that whether you liked or didn't like this manhwa, the art was exquisite. It was beautiful. So beautiful, in fact, that sometimes I just paused on a certain page to admire it. It read more
Apr 10, 2015
SecretSymphony (All reviews)
Preliminary
You can tell straight away that a lot of work has been put into it: from the costume designs (always super detailed and in accordance with the historical theme), to the character development. (SKIP TO END IF YOU WANT BRIEF CONCLUSION)

First, I think that, compared to the art in other korean manwhas, this one's was pretty good. I had a few moments when I thought "Omg, that must have taken ages to draw, it's really detailed and beautiful". The clothes and buildings are really nice and varied.
Second, the story. This is going to include some venting though... The idea of the story is GREAT. If read more
May 23, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Goong was a rare gem of a story; usually as I read, I can guess the events that are going to happen but as I was reading Goong I took the backseat and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

The story was surprisingly funny at times, and can easily get the readers attention, as well as compassion at times. The idea of the story, the originality of it, was astounding. Not in a science-fiction way; but to bring two unique ideas to clash, to seamlessly merge with one another, takes both excellent skill and patience to wait until you can get the desired result. Though at times the story read more
Jul 16, 2020
Potterz (All reviews)
In spite of having so many chapters and reach 27 volumes, this manhwa keep attracting my attention. Although at some point i feel tired because it is so long, the conflict is still there and it makes me keep reading it

There is only this one major conflict in this manhwa and it keep continuing till the end of this manhwa and it makes me love it even more, because the conflict is not made up. When finally the MC and ML got together there is still a conflict that break them apart and it doesnt make me bored reading this manhwa. I can see the read more
Jul 6, 2012
Blackstar_aria (All reviews)
I started with goong by watching the live action drama, falling in love with the story and needing to read it till the end. The concept is a fantastic one that you find a lot in Kdramas and manhwas of a fictional monarchy. this story imparticular deals with a girl becoming a princess, to a prince who she clearly is the opposite of and having her free spirit being contatined by palace rules. This story is also about the love triangles that form resulting in scandal, death and some serious aplogizing.
i loved the way the characters were drawn here, and especially the detail read more