Ao Ashi
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao Ashi

Alternative Titles

Japanese: アオアシ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 5, 2015 to ?
Genres: SportsSports, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Kobayashi, Yuugo (Story & Art), Ueno, Naohiko (Story)
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 695695 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8492
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #5575
Members: 2,217
Favorites: 88

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 24, 2020
ORT3GA (All reviews)
The anime-manga pool has a surprising lack of soccer related series. Being a soccer fan, I am so relieved. Prior to this, I watched Captain Tsubasa and Days. CT was aimed at a much younger demographic and it could not interest me (no insult intended; i know its an og series with immense credibility). Days is plain pathetic and wrong.
Ao Ashi is a fresh breath in the sports genre. It is not bound by the highschool sports club cliche. That is far too overused. This series is all about club soccer with direct ties to the sports scene.
A young middle schooler, Ashito, whose read more
Jun 16, 2020
sakura_koe (All reviews)
*this is a spoiler free review ;)*

I’ve recently come across Ao Ashi, a soccer manga, and I’ve been blown away by how good it is.
Art:the artist has his own unique style which is a breath of fresh air. U can tell that the artist is very good at sketching cuz even in a soccer match where there are at least 20 characters, the reader can still tell who’s who.

Plot: finally no more of the high school sports club troupe. The manga focuses on the Tokyo Esperion youth football club, which is associated with its own J-League team. Once u start reading it u read more
Sep 1, 2020
Est (All reviews)
Personally, I've always felt like football has been a bit over-represented in the manga/anime scene. Its prevalence is only really one step down from the three B's (basketball, baseball and boxing) that seem to take up around half of all manga/anime sports series on their own. And, considering how common it is, I've been surprised at how many areas of the game have been left kinda untapped by the industry. Fortunately, Ao Ashi is here to shake things up with an incredibly refreshing take on the sport.

Our main protagonist, Aoi, is obsessed with scoring, not unlike the average child when they first get into a read more
Sep 7, 2020
mangareader123 (All reviews)
Ao ashi is a football manga about a suburban kid who goes to Tokyo to become a pro. The kid’s name is Aoi Ashito.

Story (7)
As you see, the plot sounds nothing original. But the presentation is fresh.
The kid is good but not overpowered.
Instead of shonen logic of “genius son of genius father” or “power of friendship” Ashito grows by practising football/soccer.
He is consistent, stubborn, a little slow to learn but hardworking.

Most football manga like in Inazuma XI, Captain Tsubasa and Days are pretty unrealistic. They are good, but aimed at kids.
This however is VERY realistic. We learn about football— training in Rondo, Passing>dribbling, vision read more
Jan 19, 2021
Shahriar_Mahir (All reviews)
This review doesn't contain any spoiler.
Ao Ashi is about a countryside boy named Ashito who is called to take on an exam in a youth club of tokyo named Esperion.Ao Ashi is one of the rare football manga which is realistic enough.And also we know there is a lack of good football manga compared to Basketball or Baseball etc.Ao Ashi has made me cry,made me happy,made me thrilled.The main character Ashito is constantly developing character.His character development has amazed me to a great extent.Other characters also get some good development but of course not to a extent that Ashito got.Ao Ashito shows every kind of read more
Dec 24, 2020
Cicada7 (All reviews)
Ao Ashi is the only Football manga that i really like. It has a very standard plot but it is executed so well that it easily overcomes its limitations. The characters are well thought but nothing spectacular, the story is fairly predictable and there is little originality to the manga. However, Ao Ashi is a manga that is very much greater than the sum of its parts.

Pros: The football knowledge in this manga is great, but is easily explained and enjoyable to understand. This is one of the standout aspects of this manga, actually making me appreciate football more. It is much more of read more
Feb 4, 2021
ARandomViet (All reviews)
(TL;DR people can scroll to the bottom)

Though I enjoy football ardently, I'm not particularly fond of its mangas as they tend to be overly unrealistic and unoriginal. Having said that, I still gambled at reading Ao Ashi, hoping it wouldn't disappoint me like some others; and to now, I'm actually pretty happy that I did so.


Now, Ao Ashi's story is to a certain extent unoriginal. You have your main character- Ashito- a middle school kid with an insatiable thirst for scoring goals and of course, he wants to go pro. After fierce competition he finally gets read more