Forum Settings
Forums

Why don't anime publishers work toward fixing their distribution problem?

New
Pages (3) « 1 [2] 3 »
Oct 8, 2014 12:36 PM

May 2012
YoungVagabond said:
You're assuming this is true because of what the anime production companies have done, but it can well be wrong. In fact, as an economist, I can tell you that the supply and demand curves would have to be pretty unusual and exotic for this to be true.

Japanese production committees have experimented with lower prices and generally find they lose money. That's because the demand for anime in Japan is highly inelastic. That doesn't make the demand curve "exotic" as far as I know.

Sales outside Japan were more price sensitive, which gave rise to the boxset model of series distribution by American licensors. Remember that anime was originally sold in the West using the same model as in Japan with releases of 2-4 episodes per disc. Viz's release of Hikaru no Go is a stunning example of such logic gone awry. The entire series covered 74 episodes, but Viz sold them in four-episode instalments. Americans simply weren't going to shell out hundreds of dollars for a cartoon about boys who like to play Go.