Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Maken-Ki!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Maken-Ki! Battling Venus
Japanese: マケン姫っ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2011 to Dec 21, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.591 (scored by 76,873 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #54162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #598
Members: 159,740
Favorites: 279

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 29, 2011
Infernikus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before reading this please excuse me if I have very little good things to say about this anime but well, it is a dreadful anime.

I am going to start off with what I liked about this anime first that way I will not be seen as biased in any way or form.
The overall storyline of Maken-ki was a great concept and reminded me of Avatar (well what I have heard of it), a school where you learn to fight using the elements. I thought it would be a great mixture of the shounen and slice of life genres. But sadly this was not the case. read more
Mar 4, 2012
albesir (All reviews)
Alright so I'll try to keep from bashing this anime as much as some of the other reviews have done. It may be hard to do, but I'll give it a shot.

Maken-Ki is not quite the standard harem ecchi show. It kind of wavers between having great potential to trying to blow it's whole load on fanservice and saying "screw the plot." In the end it rather tends to lean toward the latter, which is a shame for the potential it had early on.

Story: Surprising to see ecchi anime with a good plot. Takeru is your usual perverted kid that wants to spend his days read more
Dec 27, 2011
McRib (All reviews)
Maken-Ki! is just another one of the ever occurring fanservice shows that pops up every season. They are a mainstay in anime and they range from being decent shows to being absolutely terrible shows. Sadly, Maken-Ki! is on the “terrible” side of the scale. That being said, I sometimes enjoy watching these shows since they can be fun and entertaining when they are done right. However, I did not have fun watching Maken-Ki!. It is also important to note, the director of this show is not known for his great shows. He directed such masterpieces as MD Geist and Genocyber to name a few. His read more
Feb 20, 2012
Daimyo (All reviews)
Story 3/10
This story takes place at a school once exclusively for girls —aka pussy high— tenbi. The main character, Mr.Ohyama Takeru, goes to this school primarily because he’s looking for sex and also because he’s too retarded to hire a hooker. Actually, I lied. He doesn’t try to screw any of these girls. He just plays pervert and stares at their censored panties. Here my friends, we have the first problem of an ecchi series. Ecchi series always tend to confuse me. I can’t tell if we’re supposed to masturbate furiously while watching them, or just stare at them with a huge boulder—rock solid geodude— read more
Oct 30, 2011
Anmolya (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is truly great. It's great for those people out there who just happen to have a passion or adore ecchi. If thats the case this anime's for you. It also as you've probably seen has been categorized as a harem anime. This anime is kind of Like sora no otoshimono. The difference is this character has special traits which you later will find out. He wants to protect all the girls so he end up joining the school counsel in which he makes sure people are not hurt in fights. It turns he charms one of the girls from the harem in the read more
Dec 25, 2011
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Maken-ki is badly done. I am not saying that it is badly done because it is of the harem and/or ecchi genre, because I've seen stuff for either genre, some of which encompasses both.

Problem one: What could have been a great storyline even with the harem/ecchi moments is wasted by tedious and copious amounts of stuff that is not really related to the plot. While a person may make the argument that the stuff not needed for the plot line is there for fan service, Anime such as “Freezing” show that you can not only have plenty of fan service during the main plot read more
Oct 20, 2014
lasterrending (All reviews)
A school for magical combat. A loser kid with a heart of gold has several girls who are interested in him, although some of them won't admit it. It turns out he has a super powerful magic ability. Where have I seen this concept before? Oh, right. Everywhere. The plot isn't original. And the setting isn't original. And the characters aren't original. This anime follows the formula and does not stray from it one bit. If you like the formula, you'll like this anime.

Story: 4

A high school that teaches magical combat. Where have I read more
Apr 16, 2014
ToyPrince (All reviews)
The following anime review is excluding the fact that this is a fan service intensive ecchi. I’ll now summarise this anime, in a new section that I’m dubbing the ToyBox - feedback is encouraged and well appreciated!

ToyBox:
This anime is bad; especially in comparison to other ecchis. The only ‘creditable’ aspects of this anime were: the concept and the fan service (for those who love fan service this is one of the best ecchis).

I repeat, this anime isn’t for people who like their fan service served with a good plot, you’d probably only enjoy this anime if you enjoy seeing pretty girls with inordinately read more
Nov 20, 2011
StrawHatPhill (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now I'm not to much of a fan of ecchi,but I don't mind it and I have never let it get in the way of my enjoyment of an anime even when it's only ecchi.But to me Maken-Ki! doesn't walk that fine line I have for ecchi titles switch is be as ecchi as you like but have a good story to tell.On the surface the concept of Maken-Ki is is good"fighting with magical abilities in duels"but Maken-Ki lets that take a backseat to up skirt panties shots and closer ups of barely covered breast in near every scene with a female character.And read more
Jan 2, 2012
vxnderground (All reviews)
Plot & Synopsis:
Maken-Ki is an action based superpower school life series. It follows Takeru Ooyama as he joins Tenbi High School because there is no entrance exam and that his is the first year of the school being co-ed. Coincidentally, his childhood friend Haruko happens to be a second year at Tenbi and she decides to meet him on his first day. However, on his first day though the art of Duels or Battles (depending on the fansub) using a Maken and Elements is demonstrated by a second year Kodama Himegami and Takeru himself though he has no idea what's going on. But the battle read more
Nov 3, 2014
LoneNinja123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only Fanservice will not mean that a ecchi anime will turn out to be good, Maken-ki is a very good example of it. This is one of the first animes that i have dropped since i just couldn't watch since there was a lot of mistakes and flaws in this anime that ends being a generic predictable and unmotivated anime to watch. Lets start then? here we go:

Story: 3/10
How about we start with the story? now i ask you guys....what story? Maken-ki just have a concept for explain the why of the events are happening. It starts with Takeru Ooyama, a typical pervert generic read more
May 31, 2013
njjn (All reviews)
What a bunch of @@@@. Maken-ki is one of the worst anime out there. It has absolutely no plot,simply a guy who flirts with several girls. The heroes have no personality,the only way you can tell them apart is by how mucch they want the main character, who by the way is a retard who does nothing but flirting and getting beaten.

The art resembles hentai and i guess this is the real reason why they created it (for those who want to watch soft hentai disguised as a martial arts-ecchi anime). Even the "figth scenes" expose as much flesh as possible.Seriously,this anime is read more
Jul 13, 2013
kiddruki (All reviews)
The poor fan service couldn't distract from the lack of plot, absence of character development, confusing power system and incredibly annoying overuse of the phrase Maken-Ki.

I cannot even consider this to be at all romantic as most of the female attention in the school was directed towards a character who largely felt empty. Takeda seemed to have no understanding of female emotions despite displaying chivalrous qualities and never really came to a conclusion over which love interest to pursue. I would have enjoyed it more had he been a player and just dated them all, but his character design would have made this unbelievable (the read more
Apr 26, 2012
UnrealPie (All reviews)
Maken-Ki! is a great example of 'Don't judged a book by its cover.'

Harem type animes are usually all the same and that pretty much drives people to stay away from any new ones that air. I personally feel the same way, though when a friend who does not like anime recommended Maken-Ki! to me I thought I should check it out.

Lets get down to the review starting with the basics.
Maken-Ki! has an amazing art style, and the voice actors were chosen to fit there rolls perfectly.
However thats all I can really appreciate about the anime. Big boobs, perverted teenage boys, 4+ girls fighting over read more
Jan 15, 2012
Orrinoco (All reviews)
Though fan service is one of the main complaints about show, considering that the show is an echii title. The Plot is nice and fun to follow though it's frustrating at times due to the suspense that is built up to a wholly anticlimactic peak. This however is not a 'major' let down because there was never a promise though genre that told of breath taking writing to steal your heart away. The real deal is more on the large breasted women, as what can feel completely ridiculous so much so that it becomes a joke in itself and the outrageous fighting in a school read more
May 23, 2015
skywarior1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
3/10

While this anime has a decent amount of ecchi content fan service, unless you enjoy that kind of stuff, you probably won't enjoy this show.
Feb 7, 2014
Tugglesworth (All reviews)
This is officially my first review and me deciding to do it on a low rated ecchi/harem might be a little strange to some.

Firstly, I'll be rating this anime solely within the confines of its genre. Legitimate romance anime or well done comedies, they're out of the equation as this type of series can't possibly stand on level footing with another series that devotes its budget to great animation and story, not amazingly lively breasts that really look like they would hurt one's back. Now that's out of the way and in your thoughts for consideration, let's begin.

Story: For an Ecchi/Harem show read more
Jan 23, 2019
TheWaifuGuardian (All reviews)
In my opinion there are two expectations that an individual can have before watching this anime and which you fall under heavily affects your enjoyment going in.
1. You expect a shounen or action focused anime with fan-service or ecchi elements.
2. You expect ecchi and fan-service focused anime with shounen and action elements.
The first group is probably going to have a hard time enjoying Maken-ki due to the emphasis on the ecchi mediocre plot, characters, and action.
The second group is more likely to enjoy it but there are still aspects that can be found wanting.
If you are interested in Maken-ki I heavily recommend that you keep read more
Aug 21, 2012
Rednir (All reviews)
This anime started of nicely, looked like it had a story thatIi was going to stick to, but after around two or three episodes it trailed of the main story.

Many questions I had were unanswered at the end of the anime, if you care a lot about the story than this anime is not for you, do you like ecchi none sence and a lot of nice fighting, than this is for you.

Jul 29, 2018
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
Preliminary
You must wonder how incompetent can one be to mess up an ecchi anime. The answer is Maken-ki.

Let's start with the beginning:
1. From the first moment you are assaulted by bra and panty shots many having camel toe. Trouble is this is a done in a way that does not entice you. Rather than that it grosses one out. Is like being farted in your face. Most of us do not like it.
2. Generally the girls do everything they do to entice a guy and then beat him up if he gets excited and beat him up if he does not because he did not read more