Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tenshi no Tamago


Alternative Titles

English: Angel's Egg
Japanese: 天使のたまご

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 22, 1985
Producers: Tokuma Shoten
Licensors: Anchor Bay Films
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 11 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.591 (scored by 16,554 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1456
Members: 42,222
Favorites: 796

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 17, 2015
Rqt (All reviews)
“When it comes down to it, I think the director doesn’t know everything about the movie. Everyone always thinks if you want to know something, talk to the director. I don’t think that’s true. I think the answer lies inside every single viewer.” - Mamoru Oshii

As cliche as it is, I’ll say it regardless: this movie is not for everyone. By the end you’ll most likely be calling your mother, asking her to hold you. Begging her to tell you everything’s going to be all right. Angel’s Egg is a 70 minute joyride through the enigmatic mind of Mamoru Oshii that has more Christian symbolism read more
Jul 17, 2008
RangFlash (All reviews)
I heard that this anime was underrated, and then decided to check it out. After watching the film, I was doing two things. One, I was scratching my head, and two, I was trying to pry my jaw from the floor.

Wow, what a surreal, vivid, creepy, terrifying, amazing, astounding, memorable work of art.

STORY
The story here is quite simple, and is presented very slowly. The main character does not hesitate to observe and admire her surroundings. The pacing has been complained about before, and I halfway agree with these complaints. On one hand, the extra-slow paced lingering shots may bore you, and on the other hand, read more
Mar 28, 2010
xxxxxxx (All reviews)
Preface: Angel's Egg is my favorite movie, animated or not, and I don’t expect everyone to like it as much as I do... this is just my opinion.
Also: Spoiler Warning.......

Mandatory ratings of "story" and "character" seem constricting, implying that anime must be a narrative art.. Animation especially seems to have the potential to release visuals from these constructs and to become a poetic association of images or a musical rhapsody of color and movement, which engage us on a subconscious aesthetic level.. Not to imply that Angel's Egg is a non-narrative work of art— it isn't— or that it has no characters— it does, read more
Mar 6, 2015
Zergneedsfood (All reviews)
Angel's Egg, or Tenshi no Tamago, sits at the forefront of a list of bizarre and eccentric anime that includes Cat Soup and Iblard Jikan, while its niche but most enthused audience promises that its complex allegory is as beautiful and philosophical as the most serious of art-house films. Directed by Mamoru Oshii (Ghost in the Shell, Jin-Roh, Patlabor, Sky Crawlers), Angel's Egg is perhaps Oshii's most personal and best work. However, as interesting and surreal as it is, beneath its murky surface Angel's Egg suffers from classical problems in Oshii's stories. Past the compelling mystical, spiritual, and psychological nature of the work, there is read more
Mar 9, 2013
mahoganycow (All reviews)
From Mamoru Oshii of “Ghost in the Shell” fame, we receive this deceptively simple story: A young girl wanders through a dark, empty city inhabited only by the ghosts of the past, both human and animal. She carries with her a massive egg, which she protects and nurtures. Soon a man appears and begins to follow her. Much of the movie is without dialogue. That doesn't sound terribly inviting, but it is what it is: An ominous and slow-moving film that, while requiring a degree of patience, is nonetheless quite lovable.

Approaching thirty years of age, the art in Angel's Egg is dated, but it isn't read more
May 22, 2017
ExplosvRamiel (All reviews)
Imagine this: you are at the gallery, staring at the abstract painting of something that looks like a dragon. Then, someone walks next to you and starts to look at the painting too, but he loudly says to himself: "Wow, what a nice scenery of a sunset!". You reply: "Well, I think that this more looks like a dragon", but there is no clear answer, because the painting doesn't clearly define what's on it, just a stack of colors that has a shape similar to a dragon, or a sunset scenery, or maybe something else. This example may be bannal, but it perfectly describes the read more
Dec 17, 2012
Lima-Sama (All reviews)
It sucked. Seriously, don't watch this shit. If you can get through the first 30 minutes without falling asleep I salute you. I tried 8 times. It's boring as hell, there's a scene where the 2 main characters just sit there in silence for almost 5 whole minutes, no soundtrack, no movement. This can barely be callled an animation since there's barely any actual movement going on. It just sucks man. Don't watch this please. 8 out 10 people will hate it, 1 person will pretend it's some profund underrated gem, and a work of art, all that bullshit. We all know that person. And read more
Jun 18, 2015
raber (All reviews)
This movie was incredibly abstract. Any questions you develop during this movie will most likely not be answered. But that's part of the beauty of it. There's very little dialogue, and as such it relies heavily atmosphere, artwork, and music all of which are fantastic. The best was to describe it would be if somebody took a random dream they had, and turned it into a movie. As such, I highly recommend watching it in a dark room.
Feb 19, 2017
SmoothJazzDavis (All reviews)
What could i say about this? Other than my eyes and even my heart eat every seconds of it. I was under hypnosis, without any will to get out of it, at ease, i was absorbed, i have been the victim of Tenshi no Tamago. Once i got in, there were no way i could have find a way to escape. How would describe this movie in a word? Parasite, this movie got into myself and i will never forget this sweet experience.

Story - 10

Tenshi no Tamago is a well done absurd fiction artwork. It's powerful. I just had to let myself be nurtured by read more
Apr 11, 2017
DANGER_ONEECHAN (All reviews)
I have always, and likely will always, be someone who observes at least visual mediums like movies at their face value. Essentially, I like to take in and digest visual media armed with nothing but what is presented in the film, and the conclusions I can make from what is shown in the film. When I analyse any film, I like to pull empirical facts from it, and create an abstract from what can be provably described and explained. I dislike when the audience is presented with things that are open to interpretation, and things that are kept intentionally vague or undefined despite being seemingly read more
May 3, 2017
Amine_Fan (All reviews)
There's a moment in this film when a little girl stands at the side of a street, watching an army of phallic-shaped tanks roar by. The animators made extra sure the shaft part of each tank dick, which protrudes to its left, passes directly over the girl's head.

If there's one compliment I can give the anime, it's that moment. The scene encapsulates perfectly how I feel having sat through this hour's runtime. Minute after drawn-out minute, Angel's Egg is a bunch of anime writers swinging their dicks at you, moaning how smart they are. Worst of all, they're right. This IS a smart film, and read more
Mar 27, 2009
labantnet (All reviews)
I'll Keep this short. Extremely strange. there's nearly no dialog in this 1:11 wonder. That leaves nearly no the entire movie up to the viewer to explain. It's going to mean different things to different people. I will agree with other reviewers that there seems to be an overall "Christian" theme. although that seemed to be put in a bad light with the "Church" having a stained-glass fish window (Jesus? or Regular Fish?) and all the Fishermen trying to spear the non-existent fish, and destroying the town in the process.I see that as saying religion is bad, others might disagree. I guess that's why I read more
Nov 26, 2009
Shidira (All reviews)
One name: Mamoru Oshii. Between directing and creating, the man who brought about such great animes as Blood+, Ghost in the Shell, and Urusei Yatsura, this was one title I could not pass up. I went into Angel's Egg expecting something very thought-provoking and, to say the least, was blown away by the depth this anime delved. To state bluntly, those who do not enjoy philosophical thought or anime with little dialogue may want to stop reading now and move on to something else. For those still interested, please read on.

Story: Within the first five minutes, in between the interesting things happening, you are introduced read more
Oct 10, 2015
sizest300 (All reviews)
In an OVA with an all-star staff behind it, and with a dialogue that could be written on one page, Angel’s Egg is an artistic masterpiece. Where to start understanding this film, is to understand the key staff involved.

It was directed by Mamoru Oshii (Ghost in the Shell), which is why there are so many underlining meanings and symbolism throughout the 71 minutes. Christianity is an obvious point throughout this wasteland environment, and depression plays a role as well. Oshii’s directorial points maybe tend to shadow how he himself was feeling at the time, much like Tomino’s (Gundam) take in direction in later years. The read more
Jul 19, 2015
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
I won't pretend I understood what it was about, but I will say that I loved it.

I mean, plenty of ideas come in mind, as to what the movie was about or what messages it was trying to pass to us, but writing about them would be pointless since you (the viewer) will arrive to a completely different conclusion. And that's the trick with art, because this is clearly art, everyone views it differently. The setting is a futuristic (I think) world that at times seems abandoned and at times since inhabited by strange machines that... That I have no idea what they're doing. The read more
Aug 31, 2013
q345 (All reviews)
Tenshi no Tamago is one of the most engaging and thought-provoking films I have ever seen, animated or not. It’s difficult to find the words to explain the movie; the film’s format, like any work of art, seeks to defy definition and to spur the viewer into looking within themselves and discovering their own meaning. That discovery is Tenshi no Tamago’s greatest strength; it compels the viewer to interpret each delicate piece—from each shred of dialogue to every frame of vibrant imagery—in a manner of his or her own choosing. In reading other reviews for this movie, it seems that each viewer uncovers a read more
Dec 3, 2016
BlackDahlia94 (All reviews)
Angel's Egg is truly a piece of art. There is no correct or incorrect interpretation of what is presented. The experience is highly emotional and therefore very subjective to the viewer without any clear indication of what the viewer is to conclude from these emotions. There is a distinct contrast between reality and unreality as well as stark religious symbolism. It is, in essence, a commentary on the emotional journey of each individual through hardship and inquisition.

Story N/A
I can't rate this metric because the story is particularly irrelevant to the message of the film, but rather exists out of convenience.

Art (9/10)
For read more
Aug 25, 2016
chrissy_poo (All reviews)
Angel's Egg is quickly becoming one of my favorite films, and I barely understand what's going on! Here's a basic and most likely incorrect plot interpretation: In an abandoned city, a soldier finds a young girl caring for an egg which may contain a creature he is hunting. That's it! Ask someone else what they think the movie is about and you'll probably get a completely different answer. Ask the director and he'll tell you he doesn't know either.

Oh, and it's also packed with weird Christian imagery and symbolism. Does that sound esoteric and opaque and pretentious to you? Well I'll admit it's all read more
Jun 25, 2015
BernieSorbet (All reviews)
It's hard to describe something like Angel's Egg. It's like trying to tell you something but you have to go through several steps to achieve and in the end it's just leaving you hanging. I consider this film to be an art piece rather than something to be consumed by mainstream audience and its not trying to hide it at all. You don't watch this with friends with chips and drinks at the side. It is more of like a personal experience more than anything. It is less of an entertainment medium than a expression of raw emotion encapsulated in about an hour long film. read more
Sep 8, 2011
saiyagok (All reviews)
Since the first visual encounter, the first scene, angel's egg immerses you into their world, the first melody seemed to be the beggining of a long and inexplicable dream or nightmare and the sensations produced by, the dark and innocuous sky, the bird lying in the air, we could expect anything, the worst, the most astonishing and strange.

And so begins Angel's egg.

Driven by a curious image of a little girl among her lodgings, we discover a egg close to her, as if it had been with her all the time, this girl cares and hoards this egg where she goes like a read more