Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

K-On!!


Alternative Titles

English: K-ON! Season 2
Synonyms: Keion 2, K-On!! 2nd Season
Japanese: けいおん!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2010 to Sep 29, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 166,166 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #172
Members: 298,526
Favorites: 6,627

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2010
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
Over the few years or so, it’s been increasingly apparent that watching anything associated with moe is to be treated with the same sort of caution as doing yoga, or making origami. Generally you’d do all three in the privacy of your own room, preferably with the lights dimed down and curtains tightly shut. (I am speaking of course, mainly for guys).

Yes there is much shame to be had in admitting you enjoy watching K-On!!, because who in their right mind would enjoy a plotless moeblob slice-of-life show over say… the testosterone filled battle epic TTGL? Certainly no one would admit to such an atrocious read more
Jun 1, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
Things are sometimes more than they seem.

For any individual, there always are surprises to be found in the long walk of life. Things that initially appear flavorless and dull, but reveal themselves to be something much more colorful. These are the kinds of experiences that impact a person and make them feel something of significance. They may make them laugh or cry, but in the end these are the kinds of stories that hold a special place in one's heart. The second season of K-ON is, for me (and for many), this very experience.

K-ON has always been a very polarizing series, one which has read more
Apr 8, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
What do you get when you add four cute girlfriends with the desire to form a music band, situational comedy, and every style of moe an otaku can think of? You get K-On! (or kei-on-bu). Just of a group of girls trying to follow their dreams... sounds very cliche' doesn't it? Well it is and this show oozes cliche'. The setting to the sitcom all the way down to the catch phrase onomatopoeia's like kyuun and hyaan. It's very obvious from the start of episode 1, that the story isn't trying to mess with the success of current trends and tries its very best to read more
Sep 16, 2010
Credulous (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah K-on!!

I decided to watch this because I had seen the first season and thought I'd watch something I could bash on when it ended, because it's ended now, yes sure, there are two more episodes, but these are just extra helpings of moe for all you fanboys out there.

At first it was everything I'd expected, it was moe, it was silly, nothing substantial about the anime whatsoever, neither storyboard nor any real screenplay, but then something happened, something that started to happen during the first season yet didn't fully evolve into this feeling I felt after having watched the second season; it grew on read more
Dec 12, 2015
paraze (All reviews)
"Fun things are fun" – Hirasawa Yui.

Disclaimer: this is a review of the entire K-On franchise, minor spoilers ahead.

Almost everybody, including myself at one time, is so narrow-minded when it comes to cute girls doing cute things in cute ways anime, whether we enjoy them or not, that we don't expect anything else than moe, comedy and fan service. In a result, we don't really pay attention to the real quality of this kind of show.

At first, I saw Keion as an extremely entertaining moeblob series, without being able to explain why. In retrospect, I thought that it started out being a decent one, that read more
Sep 15, 2012
Katsuro-chan (All reviews)
Well, what else can I really say about this anime, other than calling it a seed of potential that blossomed into a beautiful anime that made me emotionally attached to the story itself as well as connect to my life? Such gems are rare, and im glad i gave this anime a chance to make me laugh, smile and cry without overdoing the "moe moe kyun" factor.

So where do i start? K-On, initially a, as many people call it, "fluffy slice of life" depiction turned from that into what I would personally call a coming of age story, one in which each character is thoroughly read more
Apr 7, 2010
rainstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story [9/10]
The second season is here! I’m surprised how successful this anime is to produce a second season. 0:00 – 2:05 of the first episode blew me away, after watching that part I was thinking: “Alright this is going to be goooooooooood”. Than the opening theme kicks in, and I’m thinking: “Oh, man too much is going on here”. Oh, and the rest of the episode is just as wonderful.

Art [10/10]
I can’t tell if there’s improvement on the animation from the first season, but that’s not a bad thing because the animation is just simply gorgeous. The animators really take a lot of pride read more
Aug 3, 2017
Blank_YD (All reviews)
Yamada Naoko is a director that I have been interested for a while. Female directors are kind of a rare breed, and because of that I find her films to be interesting in a way that it gives a different perspective. But that's not all, she herself is a live-action fanatic. Not just animation, but live-action. She's basically the kind of personnel that Hideaki Anno (Director of Evangelion) is hoping to find more of in the animation industry. This is also the reason why Kyoto Animation shows are so interesting.

"It depends on what kind of a film it would be. Unlike live action, with read more
Feb 18, 2016
LunaAria (All reviews)
Preliminary
Error: moe blob overload, system failure. Abort all stations immediately.

(scroll to bottom for a summary)

That's literally all this show is. Moe thrown in your face. If you want something else don't touch this show. If you've seen the first season, it pretty much doesn't change. There's not a lot I can really say other than this unless something drastically changed in the last 8 episodes.

Could it have had a story? Definitely. Did it? Well, from what I've seen, no. I cannot be bothered to finish it. That's how bored I am. This is about a group of girls trying to get better, enjoying their new-found read more
Dec 21, 2011
Ibelucas (All reviews)
If I were to come up to you and ask if you would watch a show about 5 high school girls drinking tea and having fun, chances are you'd back away slowly and begin to either call the police or whip out the pepper spray or taser. Where's the action, the romance, the suspense? Is there even a storyline? A plot? A movie critic would probably burst into tears at the anti-Hollywood-like characteristics of this horrendous "TV show?"

Well I have braved the troubled waters of slice-of-life to come before this golden nugget among others: K-On! To dispense some of the hate and malice, let read more
Sep 27, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why I like K-On!!, but I do. It's one of those shows that features nothing you're normally interested in, but you just can't help but enjoy the atmosphere of the group. People watch slice of life shows because they love involving themselves mentally in the story. So, the basic definition of a good slice of life show is one where you'd want to be a part of it. This is what K-On's done so well.

Story: 5 high school girls have formed a band with the resolution to play at "Budokan!" A large music fest. The story in K-On!! moreso just follows the read more
Aug 25, 2012
JustinNateal (All reviews)
K-on!! Is somewhat hard to review, so this will probably a short one.

Story: The very first thing that you will notice about K-on!! Is its lack of a story. There is plot for every episode, but most of the time it’s just a comedic skit which shows the daily life of the members of the light music club. There really isn’t much to talk about in terms of the story, which is really surprising considering the popularity of the series. I would give it a 6/10 because it just lacks a solid plot.

Art: The art is great, as expected of KyoAni. The animation was read more
Oct 5, 2017
PixlReality (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had a smile on my face the entire time of watching this.

I know there's people who say that this series has too much "moe" but honestly, I feel that it's the best blend of cute and serious when it needs to be.

The story is about four seniors in high school who are close to graduation. They are in a small club called the Light Music Club, and are joined with another girl named Azuza. The five of them make up the LMC. Over the progression of the show you get to hear the differences in their music performance, and you really get to read more
May 27, 2017
KyrenDuNord (All reviews)
================================
This review is for both the first and season seasons.
================================
K-On! is one of those shows that other people seem to not understand
It's more than just cute girls doing cute things - also defined as moe.
I had started this series out, thinking it would be a generic moe show. But i was wrong and what didn't really appeal to me at first became one of my favorite anime shows of all time.
People seem to miss the appeal of the show as they think that 1 episode explains the whole series. It doesn't.

Story - 8
The story consists of Yui the main protagonist joining the light music club, read more
May 24, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
K-On+movie review

A story about spending your high school years can be told in many ways like using metaphors or philosophy or from a critique point of view or a lesson about life but K-ON doesn’t need that stuff to convey the message to his viewer.

K-on uses the most simple and silly things friends do daily to tell a nice , fun and beautiful story about friendship , bonds , identity and making memories in our high school years with the help of our characters . Our characters are 5 normal high school girls who decide to form a music band and spend read more
Jul 10, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Here are the following reasons why K-On!! got a new season..
1) Weaboos on the internet were whining for a new season
2) Whoever created the show wanted to pull a clef-er (pun intended) heist in our pockets
OR
3) The creators were getting death threats that they need to make a new season.
Well, whatever is the reason, I don't care because the new season blasted the last season out of the water.





Story: (8/10)
The story continues from the first K-On!. It is now focused on the final year of high school for the Light Music Club Members.
Just like the last season, the story is very simple read more
Jul 22, 2014
Hanburgeric (All reviews)
Under the glaring eyes of the public masses, the K-On series is predominantly a show about five moe girls who do nothing but drink tea and eat cakes. While this is certainly true, there's something profound that lies beyond the reach of naked eye.

Please bear with me here as I explain why people view this show so negatively — I'll make it worth your while.

Most people overlook K-On due to its lack of substance and proper character development. Unfortunately, this is true — the story contains little to no significant conflicts that lead to a noticeable change in most, if not any, of the characters. read more
Oct 28, 2010
ariamachi (All reviews)
What do you get when you mix: Moe, Music, Slice of Life, Comedy and A little Drama. You get K-ON!!, the masterpiece made by the great Kakifly. This review will cover Seasons 1 and 2 and the Music from the series.

Story: 9/10. The story is pretty normal, four girls start a band in their first year of high school and it shows their life as they go through high school playing music or just having fun. The story is very basic which have been used before in other Anime's but “K-ON!!” is one of the ones that actually do it right and pull it off read more
Jul 22, 2014
Kindle (All reviews)
When thinking of K-On! as a series, a few words may come to mind. Whether it be happy, cheery, moe, simple or maybe even mind-numbing, K-On!! will always be one of my favorites.

K-On! itself is a slice of life show, there's no getting around that. The daily lives of the girls part of a music club in their High School. When labelled as a slice of life show, the stigma of a nonexistent or shoddy plot is almost always attributed with those shows. However K-On!'s plot over the course of two seasons may seem excessively simple at first, but as one begins to head read more
Jan 2, 2015
TDDoHLaL (All reviews)
It is, without a doubt, the aim of every good show to create not only good relationships between the characters of a show, but also to to create a good relationship between the viewer and the characters of the show itself. This way, the viewers can easily empathize with the characters while getting attached to them, thus also feeling connected to the show and being easily able to like it. You want to see a good example of this phenomenon? Take a look at K-On!!, and you may find the answer.

I can say for sure that there hasn't been many shows over the past read more