K-On!!


K-ON! Season 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: K-ON! Season 2
Synonyms: Keion 2, K-On!! 2nd Season
Japanese: けいおん!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2010 to Sep 29, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, MusicMusic, SchoolSchool, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.151 (scored by 247704247,704 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #224
Members: 460,278
Favorites: 10,413
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2010
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
Over the few years or so, it’s been increasingly apparent that watching anything associated with moe is to be treated with the same sort of caution as doing yoga, or making origami. Generally you’d do all three in the privacy of your own room, preferably with the lights dimed down and curtains tightly shut. (I am speaking of course, mainly for guys).

Yes there is much shame to be had in admitting you enjoy watching K-On!!, because who in their right mind would enjoy a plotless moeblob slice-of-life show over say… the testosterone filled battle epic TTGL? Certainly no one would admit to such an atrocious read more
Jun 1, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
Things are sometimes more than they seem.

For any individual, there always are surprises to be found in the long walk of life. Things that initially appear flavorless and dull, but reveal themselves to be something much more colorful. These are the kinds of experiences that impact a person and make them feel something of significance. They may make them laugh or cry, but in the end these are the kinds of stories that hold a special place in one's heart. The second season of K-ON is, for me (and for many), this very experience.

K-ON has always been a very polarizing series, one which has read more
Sep 15, 2012
Katsuro-chan (All reviews)
Well, what else can I really say about this anime, other than calling it a seed of potential that blossomed into a beautiful anime that made me emotionally attached to the story itself as well as connect to my life? Such gems are rare, and im glad i gave this anime a chance to make me laugh, smile and cry without overdoing the "moe moe kyun" factor.

So where do i start? K-On, initially a, as many people call it, "fluffy slice of life" depiction turned from that into what I would personally call a coming of age story, one in which each character is thoroughly read more
Apr 8, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
What do you get when you add four cute girlfriends with the desire to form a music band, situational comedy, and every style of moe an otaku can think of? You get K-On! (or kei-on-bu). Just of a group of girls trying to follow their dreams... sounds very cliche' doesn't it? Well it is and this show oozes cliche'. The setting to the sitcom all the way down to the catch phrase onomatopoeia's like kyuun and hyaan. It's very obvious from the start of episode 1, that the story isn't trying to mess with the success of current trends and tries its very best to read more
Sep 16, 2010
Credulous (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah K-on!!

I decided to watch this because I had seen the first season and thought I'd watch something I could bash on when it ended, because it's ended now, yes sure, there are two more episodes, but these are just extra helpings of moe for all you fanboys out there.

At first it was everything I'd expected, it was moe, it was silly, nothing substantial about the anime whatsoever, neither storyboard nor any real screenplay, but then something happened, something that started to happen during the first season yet didn't fully evolve into this feeling I felt after having watched the second season; it grew on read more
Dec 12, 2015
paraze (All reviews)
"Fun things are fun" – Hirasawa Yui.

Disclaimer: this is a review of the entire K-On franchise, minor spoilers ahead.

Almost everybody, including myself at one time, is so narrow-minded when it comes to cute girls doing cute things in cute ways anime, whether we enjoy them or not, that we don't expect anything else than moe, comedy and fan service. In a result, we don't really pay attention to the real quality of this kind of show.

At first, I saw Keion as an extremely entertaining moeblob series, without being able to explain why. In retrospect, I thought that it started out being a decent one, that read more
Apr 7, 2010
rainstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story [9/10]
The second season is here! I’m surprised how successful this anime is to produce a second season. 0:00 – 2:05 of the first episode blew me away, after watching that part I was thinking: “Alright this is going to be goooooooooood”. Than the opening theme kicks in, and I’m thinking: “Oh, man too much is going on here”. Oh, and the rest of the episode is just as wonderful.

Art [10/10]
I can’t tell if there’s improvement on the animation from the first season, but that’s not a bad thing because the animation is just simply gorgeous. The animators really take a lot of pride read more
Nov 5, 2018
starfarts (All reviews)
I dislike how autistic they've made Yui in K-On!! as compared to the first series.

I put that first because honestly it's my biggest gripe, and I figure it will trigger some people. It first hit me six or seven episodes in, like "oh my god, Yui is autistic!" and after that realization I could never get over my shift in perspective. In the first series, Yui was a ditzy, airheaded girl who was still a brilliant musician, and brought the band together. In the second, she's a barely-functioning autist whose friends do nothing but enable her. I mean, this girl clearly needs psychiatric assistance, but read more
Dec 21, 2011
Ibelucas (All reviews)
If I were to come up to you and ask if you would watch a show about 5 high school girls drinking tea and having fun, chances are you'd back away slowly and begin to either call the police or whip out the pepper spray or taser. Where's the action, the romance, the suspense? Is there even a storyline? A plot? A movie critic would probably burst into tears at the anti-Hollywood-like characteristics of this horrendous "TV show?"

Well I have braved the troubled waters of slice-of-life to come before this golden nugget among others: K-On! To dispense some of the hate and malice, let read more
Sep 27, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why I like K-On!!, but I do. It's one of those shows that features nothing you're normally interested in, but you just can't help but enjoy the atmosphere of the group. People watch slice of life shows because they love involving themselves mentally in the story. So, the basic definition of a good slice of life show is one where you'd want to be a part of it. This is what K-On's done so well.

Story: 5 high school girls have formed a band with the resolution to play at "Budokan!" A large music fest. The story in K-On!! moreso just follows the read more
Jul 22, 2014
Hanburgeric (All reviews)
Under the glaring eyes of the public masses, the K-On series is predominantly a show about five moe girls who do nothing but drink tea and eat cakes. While this is certainly true, there's something profound that lies beyond the reach of naked eye.

Please bear with me here as I explain why people view this show so negatively — I'll make it worth your while.

Most people overlook K-On due to its lack of substance and proper character development. Unfortunately, this is true — the story contains little to no significant conflicts that lead to a noticeable change in most, if not any, of the characters. read more
Aug 25, 2012
Nateal (All reviews)
K-on!! Is somewhat hard to review, so this will probably a short one.

Story: The very first thing that you will notice about K-on!! Is its lack of a story. There is plot for every episode, but most of the time it’s just a comedic skit which shows the daily life of the members of the light music club. There really isn’t much to talk about in terms of the story, which is really surprising considering the popularity of the series. I would give it a 6/10 because it just lacks a solid plot.

Art: The art is great, as expected of KyoAni. The animation was read more
Jul 22, 2014
Kindle (All reviews)
When thinking of K-On! as a series, a few words may come to mind. Whether it be happy, cheery, moe, simple or maybe even mind-numbing, K-On!! will always be one of my favorites.

K-On! itself is a slice of life show, there's no getting around that. The daily lives of the girls part of a music club in their High School. When labelled as a slice of life show, the stigma of a nonexistent or shoddy plot is almost always attributed with those shows. However K-On!'s plot over the course of two seasons may seem excessively simple at first, but as one begins to head read more
Dec 31, 2019
TK8878 (All reviews)
Review in brief:

Can a story about nothing wrap itself around a looming end? In K-On!’s case the answer is inconclusive, because despite the approaching finale it continues to fool around as if the sunny high-school days will go on forever. While this season generally improves its utilization of simplicity to give the audience a fun time, it ultimately stretches itself thin, making its build-up to an emotional ending come up short if you couldn’t remain attached to the characters or your own nostalgia.

**This review contains unmarked spoilers. They are extremely predictable outcomes that could be “self-spoiled” with a bit of common sense read more
Nov 28, 2010
DirtyMidnighter (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This is a review of both seasons of K-ON!.

Why did I decide to watch this series? Like many people who now either absolutely love or despise it, I watched out of curiosity. I wanted to see if a moe anime show like this could really sink its hooks into me. I can say now beyond a shadow of a doubt that the answer to that question is a resounding yet somewhat embarrassed yes. This show is a textbook definition of guilty pleasure- something that you derive great pleasure from despite knowing it is comprised of the most superfluous ingredients. In this case, I am read more
Oct 20, 2014
WaifuEater (All reviews)
(This review includes my opinions on the first season as well, as it seems pointless to split it up.)

Never before have a cringed so many times at a show that I enjoyed in my entire life. Now, obviously this is kind of a paradoxical statement so allow me to explain.

K-On! has pretty much no over arching plot until it comes time for the school festivals or the end of the series, and it is jam packed with overly cutesy characters doing ditsy things that kind of just make me want to stop watching. But no matter how ditsy the characters were, or how pointless an read more
Nov 4, 2010
du5k (All reviews)
K-ON!! is the epitome of "moe blob" anime; one which got so many other similar series to start, and is also the No.1 selling anime for a long time... While I agree that the colossal amount of "moe" based series is hurting the industry, I must say that K-ON!! represent one of the best in this saturated genre.

It's a bit sad that the second season hardly touches on the music aspect of the series as compared to the first season, as I feel that it's one of the nicer part of the series, especially the live concerts and the original music the club had. This read more
Jan 2, 2015
TDDoHLaL (All reviews)
It is, without a doubt, the aim of every good show to create not only good relationships between the characters of a show, but also to to create a good relationship between the viewer and the characters of the show itself. This way, the viewers can easily empathize with the characters while getting attached to them, thus also feeling connected to the show and being easily able to like it. You want to see a good example of this phenomenon? Take a look at K-On!!, and you may find the answer.

I can say for sure that there hasn't been many shows over the past read more
Aug 25, 2012
stealthnuck (All reviews)
If you've never heard of K-On!, the show is basically this: an anime in the slice-of-life moe genre (Lucky Star) with no main plot but a group of teenage girls that are well... Teenage girls. They go to school, study, eat and sleep. Oh yeah, and they're all part of a band. While music itself isn't the main focus of the series, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The anime makes up for its lack of a plot by showcasing the simplicity of life. The anime shows that life isn't a boring thing. The laughs and tears you shed at read more
Apr 29, 2010
HelloiLoveYou (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a light hearted high school slice of life with incredible humor. You will be rolling on the floor laughing at the silliest little things that come together to make this anime truly outstanding! Watch it! Watch it! Watch it! Not sure you want to yet? Ok... down to business...

Story: Combine five girls and guitars with your basic high school anime and you have K-ON!! Sounds almost too simple. But this simplicity made K-ON!! a joy to watch. You follow them through the ups and downs of high school. You read more