K-On!!


K-ON! Season 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: K-ON! Season 2
Synonyms: Keion 2, K-On!! 2nd Season
Japanese: けいおん!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2010 to Sep 29, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Themes: MusicMusic, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 313032313,032 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #248
Members: 582,026
Favorites: 12,630

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2010
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
Over the few years or so, it’s been increasingly apparent that watching anything associated with moe is to be treated with the same sort of caution as doing yoga, or making origami. Generally you’d do all three in the privacy of your own room, preferably with the lights dimed down and curtains tightly shut. (I am speaking of course, mainly for guys).

Yes there is much shame to be had in admitting you enjoy watching K-On!!, because who in their right mind would enjoy a plotless moeblob slice-of-life show over say… the testosterone filled battle epic TTGL? Certainly no one would admit to such an atrocious read more
Jun 1, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
Things are sometimes more than they seem.

For any individual, there always are surprises to be found in the long walk of life. Things that initially appear flavorless and dull, but reveal themselves to be something much more colorful. These are the kinds of experiences that impact a person and make them feel something of significance. They may make them laugh or cry, but in the end these are the kinds of stories that hold a special place in one's heart. The second season of K-ON is, for me (and for many), this very experience.

K-ON has always been a very polarizing series, one which has read more
Sep 15, 2012
Katsuro-chan (All reviews)
Well, what else can I really say about this anime, other than calling it a seed of potential that blossomed into a beautiful anime that made me emotionally attached to the story itself as well as connect to my life? Such gems are rare, and im glad i gave this anime a chance to make me laugh, smile and cry without overdoing the "moe moe kyun" factor.

So where do i start? K-On, initially a, as many people call it, "fluffy slice of life" depiction turned from that into what I would personally call a coming of age story, one in which each character is thoroughly read more
Jan 1, 2021
Edueuller (All reviews)
About:
K-on is an anime that had its debut in 2009 with the genre of Comedy, Musical and Slice of Life, it is also considered by many to be the source of the MOES anime.
Even if you don't know much about animes, you may have seen some things about it, you probably have seen some K-ON photo or video, as it is a very popular anime.


First impressions:
The first impression of K-on is that it will be a tedious anime, after all besides being a slice of life with cute girls,the anime doesn’t have such a colorful color read more
Apr 8, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
What do you get when you add four cute girlfriends with the desire to form a music band, situational comedy, and every style of moe an otaku can think of? You get K-On! (or kei-on-bu). Just of a group of girls trying to follow their dreams... sounds very cliche' doesn't it? Well it is and this show oozes cliche'. The setting to the sitcom all the way down to the catch phrase onomatopoeia's like kyuun and hyaan. It's very obvious from the start of episode 1, that the story isn't trying to mess with the success of current trends and tries its very best to read more
Sep 2, 2021
goodwithchildren (All reviews)
Despite the first season being a lot more light-hearted, I still found comfort watching the same five members of the Light Music club. Kyoto Animation, along with the VAs, truly captured the cuteness of every character.

Plot/Story: 9/10
As for the plot, there really isn't any. Then again, being a CGDCT anime, I never expected too much of a plot anyway. One could even argue the fact we saw their graduation actually happen is more progress than most slice of life shows.
Toward the end, there seemed to be the "dropped" plot point of the club trying to find members after the senior's graduation. I don't read more
Nov 8, 2020
idcshowmewaifus (All reviews)
A decade after its release, I finally got to experience the animated wonder that is K-On!! I'm not the first to admit this by any means, but originally I thought this show would be nothing more than a chick-flick that I'd find my 12 year old cousin watching. But if you cast those aspersions aside and give K-On a shot - you'll find a joyous tale of high schoolers than handle themselves so haphazardly you can't help but smile, laugh, and cry tears of joy along with them.

Usually I like to include a one paragraph summary of why you should or shouldn't watch the show. read more
Dec 12, 2015
paraze (All reviews)
"Fun things are fun" – Hirasawa Yui.

Disclaimer: this is a review of the entire K-On franchise, minor spoilers ahead.

Almost everybody, including myself at one time, is so narrow-minded when it comes to cute girls doing cute things in cute ways anime, whether we enjoy them or not, that we don't expect anything else than moe, comedy and fan service. In a result, we don't really pay attention to the real quality of this kind of show.

At first, I saw Keion as an extremely entertaining moeblob series, without being able to explain why. In retrospect, I thought that it started out being a decent one, that read more
Mar 30, 2021
wachow (All reviews)
There's a strange aura that haunts the slice of life genre. "It's a bunch of nothing." What could you possibly get from a show like K-on? There are countless lessons to learn throughout a lifetime, and I think one that many should obtain is the know-how to appreciate greatness in anything. A show doesn't have to tell a story the way Serial Experiments Lain does to be considered a "masterpiece." I'm not too fond of the word as it has become notably diluted, but I'd like to use it here to describe K-on to help share my foundation of what makes an anime such. A read more
Sep 16, 2010
Credulous (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah K-on!!

I decided to watch this because I had seen the first season and thought I'd watch something I could bash on when it ended, because it's ended now, yes sure, there are two more episodes, but these are just extra helpings of moe for all you fanboys out there.

At first it was everything I'd expected, it was moe, it was silly, nothing substantial about the anime whatsoever, neither storyboard nor any real screenplay, but then something happened, something that started to happen during the first season yet didn't fully evolve into this feeling I felt after having watched the second season; it grew on read more
Apr 3, 2021
Fernandinr (All reviews)
hmm, today and the 12 year old birthday of this anime called ... "k-on"
I'm not only very good at reviewing things like that, if anime amuses me over eps su already consider it good.

k-on the anime that I will summarize in a few words, Eat cake, Tea, eat cake, Tea.
a part of the anime and like that, and impressive that this anime can do, a simple but very fun animal, an anime that serves to prurify the soul.

The music of the anime is very striking, especially the fuwa fuwa time and the music of the last ep of the second season, the anime manages to read more
Apr 7, 2010
rainstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story [9/10]
The second season is here! I’m surprised how successful this anime is to produce a second season. 0:00 – 2:05 of the first episode blew me away, after watching that part I was thinking: “Alright this is going to be goooooooooood”. Than the opening theme kicks in, and I’m thinking: “Oh, man too much is going on here”. Oh, and the rest of the episode is just as wonderful.

Art [10/10]
I can’t tell if there’s improvement on the animation from the first season, but that’s not a bad thing because the animation is just simply gorgeous. The animators really take a lot of pride read more
Feb 15, 2021
Astoria2110 (All reviews)
Okay so K-on is basically the best anime ever, when God created perfection he took K-on as an example.

Firsst of all, the characters are literally goddesses, You have Yui who is the cutest anime girl ever, everytime i see yui i have a heart attack. Then there´s Mugi, one of the most powerful and strongest villians ever! She killed the Dead Sea so you can have an idea of her power. Ritsu is the best bucho in Japan, Mio is the 8 wonder of the world and finally you have Azu-nya, who is the strongest tsundere-loli of the century.

The story is about how read more
Dec 21, 2011
Ibelucas (All reviews)
If I were to come up to you and ask if you would watch a show about 5 high school girls drinking tea and having fun, chances are you'd back away slowly and begin to either call the police or whip out the pepper spray or taser. Where's the action, the romance, the suspense? Is there even a storyline? A plot? A movie critic would probably burst into tears at the anti-Hollywood-like characteristics of this horrendous "TV show?"

Well I have braved the troubled waters of slice-of-life to come before this golden nugget among others: K-On! To dispense some of the hate and malice, let read more
Nov 4, 2010
du5k (All reviews)
K-ON!! is the epitome of "moe blob" anime; one which got so many other similar series to start, and is also the No.1 selling anime for a long time... While I agree that the colossal amount of "moe" based series is hurting the industry, I must say that K-ON!! represent one of the best in this saturated genre.

It's a bit sad that the second season hardly touches on the music aspect of the series as compared to the first season, as I feel that it's one of the nicer part of the series, especially the live concerts and the original music the club had. This read more
Dec 3, 2012
Joobie (All reviews)
I don't usually write reviews, as this will be my first one off the bat. I hope not to expose too much about the anime, as it would be a spoiler for those who would like to read the reviews before viewing the anime. I thought I should write one, since this is one of my favourites. Here we go.. enjoy :)

Story: To shorten and sum things up, K-On is about four lovely girls who come together to form the, "Light Music Club." They would carry on throughout the episodes with Culture Festivities, as well as composing new songs and performing them on stage. What read more
Jul 22, 2014
Kindle (All reviews)
When thinking of K-On! as a series, a few words may come to mind. Whether it be happy, cheery, moe, simple or maybe even mind-numbing, K-On!! will always be one of my favorites.

K-On! itself is a slice of life show, there's no getting around that. The daily lives of the girls part of a music club in their High School. When labelled as a slice of life show, the stigma of a nonexistent or shoddy plot is almost always attributed with those shows. However K-On!'s plot over the course of two seasons may seem excessively simple at first, but as one begins to head read more
Feb 10, 2013
LoveArrowShooto (All reviews)
You might think I may be biased on K-ON because of the perfect 10, but I would like to explain It a bit further why I gave It a perfect 10. Following up from my Review of the First Season, I did mention that they spend more time on Tea Time rather than practicing, which is still a common thing here on K-ON. I always thought the whole series would be all about Music, but turns out to be the average life of High School girls. Not that I hate It or anything, but I would have liked to see the series adapt to more read more
Sep 27, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why I like K-On!!, but I do. It's one of those shows that features nothing you're normally interested in, but you just can't help but enjoy the atmosphere of the group. People watch slice of life shows because they love involving themselves mentally in the story. So, the basic definition of a good slice of life show is one where you'd want to be a part of it. This is what K-On's done so well.

Story: 5 high school girls have formed a band with the resolution to play at "Budokan!" A large music fest. The story in K-On!! moreso just follows the read more
Jul 22, 2014
Hanburgeric (All reviews)
Under the glaring eyes of the public masses, the K-On series is predominantly a show about five moe girls who do nothing but drink tea and eat cakes. While this is certainly true, there's something profound that lies beyond the reach of naked eye.

Please bear with me here as I explain why people view this show so negatively — I'll make it worth your while.

Most people overlook K-On due to its lack of substance and proper character development. Unfortunately, this is true — the story contains little to no significant conflicts that lead to a noticeable change in most, if not any, of the characters. read more