Kaichou wa Maid-sama!


Maid Sama!

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Maid Sama!
Synonyms: Class President is a Maid!
Japanese: 会長はメイド様!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2010 to Sep 24, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance
Theme: SchoolSchool
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 600023600,023 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #93
Members: 1,042,110
Favorites: 19,696

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2010
Skadi (All reviews)
When news of this year's new shows began surfacing, Kaichou wa Maid-sama was near the top of the ones I was looking forward to most. I had read a little of the manga and always found it to be funny. Last year had featured a pretty good run of romance anime and this looked poised to continue that run. Despite the series' fabulous artwork and a lot of great comedy, it is unfortunately a bit of a disappointment.

The premise behind Maid-sama has an initially interesting hook. Misaki Ayuzawa is the newly elected student council president at a mostly male high school. read more
Sep 4, 2010
brochi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thoroughly enjoyed Maid Sama! for a number of reasons.

While it may not appear like the most original series, Maid Sama does diverge from the conventional tsundere-falls-in-love-with-popular-dude plotline. The protagonist Misaki is the strong and very feminist (quite often man-hating) President of her school council. Maid Sama doesn't stick with the cliche of either the ultra cool bishounen or super strong bishoujo be the best. Usui and Misaki are quite evenly matched; contrary to what some reviews state, Misaki often does NOT always need Usui to come rescue her. She is depicted as capable, feisty and caring. Misaki's a great character, the kind of read more
Dec 10, 2010
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
Kaicho Wa Maid-sama, another series put in the category of typical.

Plot:
Typical. The main character, Misaki is your not so average shoujo lead, why? Because she is the head of the student council but also conceals and dark secret; she works in a maid cafe. Big whoop. The plot is very linear she meets the handsome, popular bishie of the school and gradually throughout the episodes romance is suppose to flourish. Slice of life is evident because of school activities, competitions, pesky, convenient love triangles and maid service to make the anime seem related to real life. There's is nothing special about the plot, if you read more
Sep 21, 2014
Nertia (All reviews)
Kaichou wa Maid-sama! is far from your regular romance anime and that is EXACTLY why you'll love it. While most anime if they have a romance element tease you by implying character feelings with subtle interactions but no real physical connection such as a kiss and without spoiling much Kaichou doesn't exactly have a lot of physical connections either but it's just so bluntly put you love it. It literally defines your anime dream romance which is why you should watch Kaichou wa Maid-sama! now!

Storyline; 10

While the storyline in Kaichou is not complex and the most intense thing ever you'll fall helplessly in love with read more
Feb 26, 2014
Scragleton (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although this would look to be the normal cliche type rom/com, it was actually pretty enjoyable with a few different aspects to it. Instead of the male protagonist having to protect the female protagonist, misaki can actually hold her own in most situations, and then usui would come and talk to her about it. The comedy in this story was actually pretty funny, either it be usui messing with misaki about stalking her, or misaki always being super serious and whatnot. I very much enjoy this anime, the romance that progresses through the story is really heartwarming, but at times can be a little sad/wobbly. read more
Apr 17, 2010
Credelia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hmm... Let's see. What can I say about Kaichou wa Maid-sama?

Story: 9 .

Kaichou wa Maid-sama is the first anime that has intrigued me enough to lead me into reading the manga. Although the plot line depicts some of the most typical shoujo anime events used and reused in various other circumstances, Kaichou wa Maid-sama throws in a few twists and originality that entices the viewer in a new way.

Art: 7 .

Although I wouldn't say Kaichou wa Maid-sama has outstanding artistry, I also wouldn't say it's downright terrible. It's pretty well drawn, in fact. Compared to animes like Fushigi Yuugi (no offense intended) or Itazura read more
Jun 11, 2010
bautrey37 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After reading some reviews on this series and displeased with pretty much every single one of them, i decided to write my own that will hopefully please a lot more people.

While reading the reviews, there is one main critical fact that almost reviewer missed. The fact is that this show is all about the COMEDY!! As a guy myself, i generally avoid shoujo shows, but this show was kept me in for a couple of very good reasons.

1) Misaki-chan is so cute, adorable, and hot!! maybe kinda like how those 3 idoits in the Maid cafe feel. I love series read more
Aug 17, 2010
Reinesis (All reviews)
Preliminary
Nothing bad about this series. Yet nothing good too.
It's typical shoujo anime with a tsundere main heroine and tons of bishounens crawling all around Tokyo. Plot has a TREMENDOUSLY slow pace. If you like alive and developing characters, don't expect that from Maid-sama - no character development here. Just huge eyes, unfunny gags, bishounens and awkward love parody that makes you yawn and say "damn it, bud, just grab her and screw her" with very, very tired voice.
Dec 27, 2011
tehsystem (All reviews)
Well, let me get started on this review.

Story? There is no story. There is no objective in for the plot, and the same episode plan repeats itself until the very end. It's always Misaki having trouble with something, then Usui does something incredible or they have a romantic moment where she doesn't trust him or what he feels about her. She's always worrying if people will find out she works as a maid, but there isn't drama involving this fact. You would expect to see problems involving the main character being with the popular guy in school, but nothing happens. 4/10

The art is okay. read more
Apr 17, 2010
NotOverYet (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought this show might need a review :3

Firstly your likely to notice the bright colors, fast pace and the crappy animation (which I luckily didn't find disturbing, though it was close). The OP and ED got stuck in my head :D and Misa-chan (the main character in the maid outfit) inspired me to work harder. and Usui (the blond guy) seemed cool but in an unusual way :3


STORY: 8/10
I'm not quite sure where this is leading yet but it's fun to watch :D
anyways romance and comedy are included

ART: 7/10
backgrounds are kept very minimalistic so there probably aren't going to be many breathtaking ones. but read more
Feb 16, 2016
Erwinium (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright. It seems like I'm the minority of people that hated this anime.
That's fine with me, allow me to explain why I disliked it so much.
First up is the story.
Literally the most predictable stuff I've seen. Horrific excuse for writing.

Next, the art and sound.
These were okay. Nothing too special or especially bad, though I personally didn't particularly like the character design but still.

The characters.
Extremely unlikeable. Most of them were being shitty to eachother for no reason, and the few characters I thought were tolerable were only on screen for about a minute. On top of that, for a girl that is meant to be so read more
Jun 7, 2017
makunochi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoiler-free review:

I tend to be very wary when it comes to the Shoujo genre due to the amount of clichés I'll be facing ahead of me. But it's alright, I do not mind a cliché as long as it's well executed.

This one was disastrous.

The characters: 1/10

I think the worst thing about the anime was its characters. Extremely horrendous, from the main characters to the very useless ones. Let's start with the main characters:

Takumi Usui: I think I should start making a list of my most hated characters, and I'm sure Usui will top that list. I have never seen such an atrocious character in read more
Oct 12, 2013
hisfinalblade (All reviews)
Typical, nothing special, and predictable.

If you are a fan of slow-paced romance stories in a high school setting, then this is for you. This is a story of a girl who's clueless that the popular & perfect guy in school likes her. Just add a bit of twist that the girl has a headstrong personality and very stubborn to admit to love.

I have to say that this anime is for the kiddies and who likes to waste time with very slow character relationship development. I felt that I should have skipped 3/4 of the series and just watched the last 3 episodes where there was read more
Feb 21, 2012
mylovelyfate (All reviews)
I've been searching for a romantic comedy anime to watch recently, and I was flooded with suggestions for Kaichou wa Maid-Sama. I've tried to watch this series before, but gave up after the first episode because it wasn't really an anime that titillated my brain. But yesterday I gave it a second go, and since I'm not in school until September, I finished it in a day. So, here's my review for the critically acclaimed Maid-sama!

Story: 6.
There's really not much interesting about this story. It's enough to keep the viewer interested, but it's nothing spectacular. I didn't appreciate the filler episodes seeing as this is read more
Nov 11, 2019
whylime (All reviews)
TL;DR
Maid-Sama is absolutely terrible. It's so bad it's funny, and the awful dub really doesn't help. But should you watch it? Absolutely! I can guarantee a fun time.

L;DR
I debated about what rating to give this show for quite a while. Let me make myself clear- This show is not good. It's bad. It's really bad. Which is strange, because generally I'm a sucker for these kinds of trashy shojo shows. But something about Maid-Sama...

WARNING: REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!

WHAT'S GOOD?
The good things first. Maid-Sama has pretty alright animation and the art isn't bad. Each frame is pretty and the layouts and storyboarding is decent. The music read more
Oct 9, 2010
helur (All reviews)
I follow the MAL rating format; Hence 6 is a fair. However i encourage you to make judgment on the review rather than staring at my score. I would also like to state i was not a previous fan, nor am i a girl.

-The maid theme is not overused.
This is refreshing because when i first started watching i was afraid as to how important this detail would be. While it is a catalyst for many events it is refreshing to see other interesting situations occur totally independent of it; The arcs are not exactly unique or unpredictable, but are still rather enjoyable.

-An okay comedy.
It read more
Aug 28, 2014
punkertz (All reviews)
a cool guy....a beautiful girl a simple yet interesting plot...... ingredients in making a good romantic comedy

sometimes all it takes to attract viewers are just simple and common things.

the story is simple, a school setting a a crush between two opposing characters that have their own individual flaws. capitalizing on the cuteness of the "maid cafe" culture made the series appealing to the "typical" anime fan. its not unique but still interesting, sometimes common scenarios can still works

i like a strong female character, the director did a good job in creating the heroin to be a strong yet cute girl. the supporting characters does not read more
Apr 29, 2015
leep11 (All reviews)
"President of the Student Council at the almost-all-boys Seika High School, the hard-as-nails Misaki Ayuzawa works every day to make life easier on the small population of co-eds who have enrolled there. Though an unholy terror to all things male during school hours, in order to provide for her impoverished family, she secretly works after school at a maid cafe in Akihabara. However, when campus hottie Usui Takumi wanders into the restaurant during her shift, suddenly she finds her reputation in school at his mercy..."

Story: Even though I finished watching Kaichou wa Maid-sama long ago, I’ve been caught up in some strange and unexpected business read more
Apr 26, 2015
milnivek (All reviews)
After a series of pretty depressing animes (Hoshi no Koe, Byousoku 5 Centimetres), I decided to pick up something light and fun in a school setting and thought that this series looked promising. As a guy, my only other experience with Shoujo anime has been Ouran High School Host Club (OHSHC), which was really funny and enjoyable, so I thought to give it another go.

The plot of this anime is pretty straightforward as can be seen from the synopsis. Right from the get-go we already know who the 2 main characters are and how this is going to end, so the only interesting part is read more
Aug 7, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Kaichou wa Maid-sama in my opinion seem like a simple anime. However, deep inside I know that it's actually a hidden gem. And what I desired to see for a while.

I started watching this anime around 7-8 weeks ago. The first episode did not impress me due to its animation and weird yellow subtitle that I'm not used to. However, as I finished numerous amount of anime I suddenly felt the tension to come back and try this again. And here I am now. Already tried the anime and giving it a full score.

What I enjoy the most about this anime is probably read more