Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini


Alternative Titles

English: Darker than Black: Gemini of the Meteor
Synonyms: Darker than BLACK 2nd Season, Darker than BLACK Second Season, DTB2
Japanese: DARKER THAN BLACK 流星の双子

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2009 to Dec 25, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 177,323 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #305
Members: 303,685
Favorites: 1,499

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 21, 2010
abhishek14 (All reviews)
Somehow the high expectations I had awaiting the sequel to a fantastic series were not fulfilled. Ryuusei No Gemini isn’t exactly a sequel to Kuro no Keiyakusha, but more like a separate arc in itself. It would be unfair to compare both of them as they vary in their style and storyline. For starters, the series are not bi-episodic; instead revolve around a single storyline involving a Eurasian female protagonist. Hei’s involvement through the series although significant, has not really been up to what it ought to be.

Storyline: 7/10
Suou Pavlichenko is a 13 year Eurasian girl whose life suddenly changes on a fateful read more
Mar 8, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
I had a rather a hard time wrapping my head around the thought process taken up by the scriptwriters of this show. They had an almost infinite pool of ideas to work with, from the origin story and reasoning behind the Hell's Gate manifestation to endless detours that could have been taken up using the Contractors and Dolls as parables for sociological issues plaguing current society; the possibilities were endless. It seemed that with all the mysterious themes being left in a shroud of ambiguity and the multifaceted approaches to tackling them just on the cusp of being explored, any route could have been taken read more
Feb 27, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
I am "a bit disappointed" in the rest of the reviews here, namely that so many of them reflect that this season was dreadful, yet hedge that to "being a bit disappointed" with it. This season was balls to the walls, shamelessly awful.

The defining feature of the entire series: how they manage to draw every character with dead eyes throughout the series, yet expect us to enjoy ourselves. The defining scene: horrible side character creation 1, dreadlock kids, sobbing and venting to horrible side character creation 2, his crossdressing dad, culminating in being more likely to make you laugh than cry as he sobs and read more
Jan 23, 2010
Chameleon_Dude (All reviews)
I'm not really one for writing long reviews of anime I've watched, but I felt that I had to say something about this one.

Darker than BLACK - Kuro no Keiyakusha had a dark storyline and characters with very distinct traits, especially Hei. Darker than BLACK - Ryuusei no Gemini, the sequel seemed to forget these.

*Mild Spoilers Ahead*

This anime would have been great if it was a stand-alone, but it was unlucky enough to have expectations to live up to its predecessor. The main character, Hei - once a calm, collected, cold-blooded killer now stars as an umkempt drunk who abducts small children and beats them. read more
Oct 22, 2009
ivanduzer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh, Bones, Thank goodness you started DTB in the first place.
THIS IS A REVIEW ON THE FIRST COUPLE EPISODES, AND I WILL UPDATE IT WHEN MORE EPISODES COME OUT.

First off, DTB2 is NOT the original DTB. Bones have made some pretty big changes between seasons: setting main cast of characters, story, etc. It's better to look at DTB2 as more of a spin-off of the original DTB: if you liked season 1 because of the idea of the series (contractors et all), then you will most likely enjoy season 2. Now, onto the review:

Story
It is VERY different from the original DTB. First of all, it read more
Jan 23, 2014
AviJii (All reviews)
Before you read this one, I would let you know that I am just a newbie when it comes to anime and I am not totally good when it comes to anime terms and words. Also I am not a good reviewer like the others in here. But, still I like to write a review for this and I will deliver it in a simple way based on my own opinions.

Whats new in this series? A lot of changes. Yes a lot of changes, that would includes the characters, appearances, mood, settings and the story itself.
What word might really fit in this series is the read more
Dec 25, 2009
Rhedak (All reviews)
Please note that I just finished watching the last episode minutes ago and I'm kinda trying to sort my thoughts out writing this.

Darker than Black was never known to be the type of anime that explains everything, many things were and are left in the dark adding a whole layer of mystery to this fantastic world. Darker than Black 2 continues in this fashion but with quite a different approach. While the first season was mostly episodic, consisting of various story arcs with two episodes each, the second season is follows a continues storyline that is however developed quite well in my opinion.
It might read more
Oct 16, 2009
Hanohau (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now finally finished !

Okey then , so after finished this anime that i like soo much its time to say the magic words , was it good or bad?

_story_

Story is great , Its the normal bad guy on the run after doing something ''bad''.
After he gets involved with this girl that is later showing herself as a very ''special'' girl , and ending up following him on their journy from russia to Tokyo.


_art_

Art , oh yes number 1 thing i like with DTB is the art style , always liked it since i saw the first season, the way they make each char stand read more
Mar 1, 2010
OiD (All reviews)
Compared to the first season this is pretty bad. Even though I watched episode after episode hoping for something to happen all I ended up with was frustration.
Kiko in the first season stuck out enough and now there is the cross-dressing father and his idiot son plus strange characters appearing without barely an explanation. Sure DTB is a series where you have to think about the hows and whys but we are still pretty much left without a hint about contractors and dolls.

There is a story to it but it feels lacking provably to the way it evolves. There definitely are good parts in it read more
Dec 18, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
DtB: Ryuusei no Gemini
This ''sequel'' is not what i expected at all and i don't want to put any effort on reviewing this to be honest, is bad as a direct sequel, the direction they took with this was awful, just why? and i'm being generous giving it a 6.

Story
The story is a let down, one may think that it will follow the story of Hei and Yin but forget about that, that comes to a second plane now, the main plot for this is about a girl named Suou who has a twin and wants to go to Tokyo to see his twin brother read more
Nov 10, 2009
Takomancer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Did I just give an anime 10/10 yes I did! This anime is SUPERB in varieties of aspects such as story, art, sound, and characters. It really lacks nothing. This anime is action oriented anime and if you are looking for an action oriented anime that has to do with supernaturals and superpower with awesome story-line right now, this anime is just for you. Although, watch the 1st season first!
Dec 29, 2014
Arsene_Lucifer (All reviews)
If “Darker Than Black” was a band than their follow up album would be considered selling out. “Ryuusei no Gemini” is nothing like the first season coming across as an entirely different anime. It panders to the audience, the action is over the top, the soundtrack is less memorable, and the direction of the entire anime is different. Not all the pieces connect properly, but it is a decent follow up to the first season of “Darker Than Black”. It never reaches the same heights of season one, but it does have its own strength that makes it worth watching including an ending that is read more
Dec 21, 2013
profoundWHALE (All reviews)
I'm not even going to break this down because I'll spoil something. Also! While this is just as good as the last season, it is different. I cannot stress that enough, and for some it will be a deal breaker.

EDIT: After complaints I decided to expand this review. I'll put out spoiler alerts if they come up.

Story: Excellent, it seems to be a character driven story, and the characters are excellent. The problem is if you don't care for a certain character, then you don't care for the story, so you have to be invested in the story. That being said, somehow, even a character read more
Nov 1, 2010
trzr23 (All reviews)
Darker than Black: Gemini of the Meteor

(JAP title: Ryuusei no Gemini)

The sequel to one of my all-time favorites… I went in with high expectations and I came out confused.

[ 1 MINUTE REVIEW ]

This is the highly anticipated sequel to the critically acclaimed first season. It does not follow the usual two episode arc style, as in the first season. This is not necessarily a bad thing as it transforms into your more stereotypical shounen anime, which might appeal to many. Sadly, I am not one of them. Due to the complete shift in genre, Darker than Black, Gemini of the Meteor is no longer a read more
Nov 14, 2009
Otaku_Hikikomori (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note:
This is a review of the first 5 episodes, I will make the possible changes by the end of the season. I also made it so that this review contains the least amount of spoilers possible.

After watching the first 2 episodes I was instantly hooked on Darker than Black. It's totally a great amine, and would probably be up in the top 10 after done airing.

If you haven't seen Darker than Black yet then I highly recommend it. I usually watch drama/romance anime but this got me, this got me good. Darker than Black bases off of these special people named contractors, and yes these read more
Jan 23, 2010
losman (All reviews)
I don't know how anyone could give this season a score of 10. If you saw the first season then I don't know how anyone can say this season was just as good or better than the first one. In my opinion the first one was much better.

The story was decent and even though I do have a few complaints about the story it did keep me mostly interested in what was going to happen next. I wished more things were explained in the story. I mean yeah I did kind of expect some mystery like in the first season but read more
Dec 26, 2009
Itadakiimasu (All reviews)
This is by far one of the best anime i have ever seen. The twists in the story is enjoyable while still maintaining the viewer's hunger to watch for more. One thing about the Anime is that you can never cease to be amazed how superb the animation was done.

The story takes place after the first season which is more like a continuation of the original series. If you haven't seen season one yet - i strongly suggest you first watch the first season before continuing to read this review.

The opening and ending tracks of the anime were also a notable feature in the series read more
Feb 6, 2019
Paradox0042 (All reviews)
Now, I know what you're thinking. Darker than black: gemini of the meteor. A lot of people think that studio bones screwed up making season 2. But, you dont see the bigger picture. Gemini of the meteor showed -spoilers- Hei without his power. Without his sister and without Yin. He was broken after the events that transpired after The black contractor. We saw another side to Hei and we saw what it did to him with the way he interacted with Suoh and July and even Mao. Upon finding out Yin was alive, he reverted back to his old personality and look. The oly thing read more
Dec 5, 2009
InsaneForBlue (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a continuation of Darker than Black. I'm in love with Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini. Hei and Yin ran away from the Syndicate after finding out they wanted to wipe out all contractors and are in hiding. Yin and Hei were together for about 2 years and then Yin got captured. Hei encounters Suou Pavlichenko the protagonist of the story and protects her because he wants to get to Shion Pavlichenko, her twin brother. Suou soon becomes a contractor. You follow Suou on her transition into being a contractor and how she tries to come to terms on learning her life is read more
Sep 16, 2014
llama612 (All reviews)
I really enjoyed the first I guess season of Darker than black. It was entertaining, had a good story and enjoyable characters.

Darker than Black: Ryuusei no Gemini is enjoyable as well, but not as enjoyable as the first season. It feels like a completely different series. Like someone has taken the characters from Darker than Black and put them into a different Tv show. So I will list some pros and cons of this series.

Pros

1. The action is good and Hei still kicks ass.

2. The story is good and quite interesting. Quite different from Darker than Black but still enjoyable.

3. read more