Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?

Toaru Majutsu no Index

Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Magical Index
Synonyms: Toaru Majutsu no Kinsho Mokuroku
Japanese: とある魔術の禁書目録


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2008 to Mar 19, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)


Score: 7.701 (scored by 157,739 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #93
Members: 305,032
Favorites: 3,663


Mar 13, 2013
*to those who are too lazy to read and just want a quick summary, skip to the final paragraph*

One of the greatest battles that mankind has ever witnessed is the battle between science and religion, a battle that is still being fought today. So just imagine, what will happen if people with supernatural abilities existed and both these sides got hold of people whose special abilities that are nothing short of miraculous? So how exactly does this relate to To Aru Majutsu no Index? Well I suppose a short summary of the story is in order.

Now To Aru Majutsu no Index (which I would just read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 10, 2009
"Then would you accompany me to the depth of hell?" - Index

"When magic and science crosses path, what will happen?" is how I would have liked to start this review. However the answer to that would have simply be "nothing" since, although both sides exists in the same place, there were hardly any interaction between them. So instead, I will begin by asking Index what she meant by accompanying her to the depth of hell. She was hardly present for half the show and during the rare occasions when she is in an episode, she gets sidelined and become a minor character with absolutely no read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 26, 2009
To Aru Majutsu no Index (or TAMI for short) is the very definition of a generic anime. Theres nothing good here but its not necessarily bad. Some characters are likeable and entertaining but that makes up such a small percentage of the enormous cast that its just not worth it. TAMI is about a guy named Touma who lives in a city thats entire purpose is being a school for Espers (see: Psychics) although nobody actually reads minds and its more they all have a certain power. So nobody is psychic at all. Touma discovers a young girl hanging on his balcony whos a magician read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 24, 2009
To Aru Majutsu no Index is an action, comedy set in a modern (or perhaps slightly futuristic) city called Academy City. The entire city is basically composed of several schools that teach the usage of Esper; a scientific kind of magic.

The story revolves around the protagonist Kamijou Touma, as he is caught between tensions and events involving conflicts between Magic and Esper (science). While the first few episodes were quite promising, hinting at a huge power struggle between two sides, with Touma being in the center of attention, the rest was quite the letdown. There wasn't any deep story. The main plot simply gets read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 5, 2009
A Somewhat Unlucky Boy

Academy City, the Mecca of Science, is where most of it's denizens are student that have been scientifically engineered to be espers, or wielders of certain unique abilities: manipulating electricity, teleportation and controlling natural forces.

Touma is a student in the Esper Development Program, with very unique skill, the ability to negate supernatural powers, like the ones manifested by other Espers. This, of course, nullifies his good fortune as well: vending machines devour his yen, his cellphone crushed into silicon fragments by his foot, and he has to attend extra classes during the summer.

But fate isn't done with Touma, ready to twist read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 14, 2009
Story: There really is no story to this anime, just a bunch of cool and strange happenings that occur to a "weak" boy. The individual events would be a lot better had they been conveyed in a better manner.

Art: Perhaps the only strong point to this anime, the anime is detailed and well done. The motions are fluid, the colors are stonge and catch the eye, and shadings are well done. Not much else to say.

Sound: The music is typical and boring, just the kind of music one would skip to get to the anime. It is stereotypical music of the action anime, with not read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 21, 2009
Toaru Majutsu no Index starts off strong, but quickly fizzles out. I, like many others, was intrigued by the fantastic world described in the first few episodes, a world where everybody has a superpower, as well as the mystery surrounding the title character. Sadly, the series fails to deliver a single solid story past the first arc and stumbles blindly onward to a barely sub-par ending.

The anime actually had me hooked at the first few minutes of the first episode. The character of Touma, who inexplicably possesses the power to nullify any supernatural force with his right hand (and also seems to attract misfortune, something read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 16, 2012
The beef on the plate before you smells wonderful. Its color indicates that it has spent just about the right amount of time on the grill. Surrounded by finely cooked and cut potatoes and some vegetables for the fresh taste's sake, with a glass of delicious wine towering nearby, the seemingly delicious meat only waits for you to enjoy your meal.

It's funny, really. In a way, Toaru Majutsu no Index is deceptive. The first few episodes promise you a really intriguing (if not epic) story. The presentation is phenomenal; the opening is great, events that unfold in episode 1 already get you hooked and there read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 6, 2009
. Pros
+ Science vs Magic Plot
+ Interesting and likeable characters ( girls )
+ Accidental harem
+ HD Quality
+ Humorous with popular references here and there ( leek )

. Cons
- After Episode 10 it's character development for the other characters
- Not enough time to get back to the main plot ( Season 2 I assume? )
- Feels like a giant introduction / setup ( Novel and Manga still going )
- Some characters feel like filler, hopefully they'll have some use later on

. Conclusion :
I like this Anime despite the fact it got off target halfway through. They did a good job of developing the other characters read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 20, 2013
Ever since people started thinking, gathering in groups and building villages and cities, there was always the one question that some people asked themselves and even though most people probably didn't really care in the first place, they later started asking the same questions. It was a matter of time until that question was raised. "What are we?", "Where do we come from?", "Why are we on earth?", are the ones I am talking about and one answer became popular quickly: God! Religion was founded in the early days and while having it hard at first, the religion that in the end came out on read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 19, 2015
I decided to watch "A Certain Magical Index" after finishing both Railgun and Railgun S. I just finished watching the series yesterday and I thought it was decent. Not the best anime as people claimed it to be...

Story (7/10)
The story is set in Academy City, a city with a 2.8 million population; 80% of them are students training to become an esper. The story is focused on Touma, who has an ability in his right hand called Imagine Breaker. One day, Touma meets a young English girl named Index who is a nun from Necessarius. Her brain is filled with 103,000 forbidden magical books.
There read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 2, 2013
"Such misfortune!"

It's somewhat apt that I happened to choose that as the opening quote to this review, because it really does sum up To Aru Majutsu no Index rather nicely - that is, an anime filled with misfortune.

Initially, Index got off to an...interesting start, it wasn't particularly bad, nor was it particularly good either, it was just interesting. We are introduced to our main character Touma, rather interestingly, Touma is not the stereotypical useless protagonist so often seen in shows like Index; don't get me wrong, at his core, he's just a variation on the plain nice guy, but this nice guy also happens to read more
I found this review Helpful
Mar 23, 2009
To Aru Majutsu no Index is yet another anime adaptation by JC Staff based on a light novel series published by ASCII Media Works. This is a show that has as many good things as it does bad things.

Story: The premise of To Aru Majutsu no Index (Index from now on) had me intrigued from the beginning, a story which is based on a science vs magic/religion is the type of plot I can really get into. However the way the story is executed turned the anime into something that could have been a great show with a deep and interesting plot into an anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 5, 2014
After watching (and enjoying) A Certain Scientific Railgun, I was very excited to start this show. Railgun is meant to be as a spinoff for one of the side characters in Index, so I was very curious to see what the main story actually is. To my dismay, however, I learned that Index, despite being the main story, is overwhelmingly average and mediocre compared to Railgun. I doubt I would have enjoyed this at all if there weren't any of the side characters from Railgun to keep things somewhat interesting.

Much like most anime that I have gripes with, my main two issues are the story read more
I found this review Helpful
May 15, 2015
~ I will eat your illusions alive! ~
(TL;DR Version: Bottom paragraph)

In spite of the release order, i would in fact recommend visiting the alternate "Railgun" story prior to the "Index" one: as it begins by explaining Academy City's context, infrastructure and esper system more thoroughly. This could aid your ability to understand the extent of Toaru's genuinely captivating and morally driven premise. Nevertheless, i will treat this first installment of the "Index" story as the start of its own anime to avoid bias...

Academy City is introduced as a technologically advanced place in the future, where even magic is a reality; therefore filling the show with read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2014
If I had to use one word to describe this series, it would be: Confusing.
A Certain Magical Index is the exact type of anime, that sucks you in like a black hole in the starting episodes...and then leaves you hanging.
The setting is great, the future, an academy city full off students, robots everywhere, people with supernatural powers empowered by science and on the other side there are bona fide sorcerers wielding magic that stems from a religious background (Christianity to be exact). There are HUGE possibilities in this setting for really intriguing stories and characters to emerge. And the starting episode sets the story read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 20, 2015
Toaru majutsu no index or A certain magical index are one of those incredibly interesting anime shows, that the main theme is about Roman Catholics and the Index librorum prohibitorum.
Bare in mind that this review is slightly biased, since Index is my type of anime; it has an interesting story line, comedy, light and bit of fan service and of course has a tsundere! *cough* Misaka Mikoto. Aswell as it was mainly focused on the plot.

Story 9
The anime in set in a city called academy city, where one-eighth of the population are students. Its 30 years ahead than any other city in the world and read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 29, 2009
Largely a compilation of various archetypes and cliches meant to produce something to hold over the Shana crowd until the inevitable Season 3, To Aru Majutsu no Index embodies the same animation style, similar story progression, and yet another myriad of needlessly confusing terminology. However, Index does manage to possess some very different characters than it's spiritual predecessor that add some freshness to an otherwise tired production.

If there's one thing you can't fault J.C. Staff on, it's the animation. Sharp, crisp, with a signature pallet and inspired character design, Index can be a treat to look at. Consistent in its appearance throughout, it does a read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 21, 2015
I felt this series shouted to the world that if its overrated, why not give them, viewers, the bestest sound effects, action, world building there ever existed. 'Cause it is overdone. The saving of girls, when even the hero just met them on the street. Word is, if you met this hero, all of this person's problem will be solved, but unfortunately, only to females. It's like the hero is allergic at saving people with similar gender. The creators are quite aware of this, I think, since them character's dialogue includes the stating of this fact like "the hero will save her", or "are you read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2015
Toaru Majutsu no Index, a good, sometimes enjoyable series to watch. It has quite a few story arcs in it, with each arc concentrating on a particular character but mostly it's different scenarios for the protagonist, Toma.
Before I start, I'd like to adjust the rating of this anime according to what I saw. I'd rate it an average PG-13 anime. There's not much of violence or profanity in it to rate it a R-17.

Story 8/10:
The whole anime is about espers and sorcerers in Academy City, a city of espers/students. I can't really say it's got one storyline since the series is divided into arcs read more
I found this review Helpful