Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan - Ishinshishi e no Chinkonka


Alternative Titles

English: Samurai X: The Motion Picture
Synonyms: Rurouni Kenshin: Ishinshishi e no Requiem, Kenshin - Samurai X, Rurouni Kenshin Movie, Rurouni Kenshin - Requiem for the Restoration Royalists, Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan - Ishinshishi e no Requiem
Japanese: るろうに剣心 -明治剣客浪漫譚- 維新志士への鎮魂歌

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 20, 1997
Studios: Gallop
Source: Manga
Genres: SamuraiSamurai, HistoricalHistorical, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 31 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 2241822,418 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2187
Members: 40,815
Favorites: 100

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2009
oOoOoOo (All reviews)
This is essentially a standalone episode of "Rurouni Kenshin" stretched to a running time that this story does not support. Yes, another tale of disgruntled veterans of the violent Meiji Restoration, coming back for blood! Such concepts work in the series (see the second arc) because of well-developed characters. Even the most simple plot idea can be made epic by a cast we care about! Almost all of my enjoyment for this movie was derived from my existing fangirl obsession for everything Ruroken. When viewed as part of the larger Ruroken story, this movie is certainly good for an afternoon read more
Mar 15, 2014
Playcool (All reviews)
I will make this review a short one, I didnt planned to make it at first, but since I cant find anything agreeable to my Point of View at other's reviews, I m writting this.
I was avoinding to watch this movie, I had seen the amazing 64 episodes and the filler arcs downed a bit my enjoyment of the overall 95 episodes, so I had enough for some time of the classic anime kinda of style that Rurouni Kenshin was at first, and that I though this whole movie would me! And so I saw the OVA's and the 2012 "kyoto arc movie" first, I read more
Jan 16, 2010
Shathur (All reviews)
About the review:
This review was written by me some time ago, i.e. before I was a member on MyAnimeList. Therefore, I have no score on Enjoyment and you wont find any section called Enjoyment in this review. I think you will do fine without it, though. ^^

Story 8/10

Since the Rurouni Kenshin movie is produced in the middle of the production of the Rurouni Kenshin series (henceforth referred to as "the series"). I usually watch related series/movies in chronological order, so I wasn't sure when to watch it, but I decided it would probably be best watch it after I had completed the series.

This movie read more
Oct 13, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Well, it's a non-canon anime movie of an already existing franchise. You probably know how these go by now. If you don't, I'll fill you in:

1. Plays like an extended filler episode that doesn't expand upon the already existing franchise out of either some fear of meddling, lack of ambition, or likely both.

2. Introduces new characters with stock personalities and motivation which ties into...

3. Recycles themes and stories expressed in the main series without any attempt at one-upping them.

In this feature length film, Kenshin and the rest of the gang go on vacation or something for no real reason and discover Shigure Takami, yet another read more
Oct 28, 2011
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
I'm always surprised at how dismissively people treat the Kenshin movie (or, to give it its full, unwieldly title "Rurouni Kenshin - Requiem for the Restoration Royalist"). I guess it's because it feels more like a prolonged episode of the "Rurouni Kenshin" series than a movie, in style, production quality, as well as content.

But though it feels like just a normal episode of "Rurouni Kenshin", at least it feels like one of the better ones, as personally I enjoyed watching it, even if it is somewhat forgettable.

Storywise, it's about a samurai, who, in addition to not being happy with the outcome of the revolution (surprise read more
Oct 8, 2011
Dayon1 (All reviews)
Don't waste your time. This is basically a stand-alone filler episode to cash in on the franchise. The story is a essentially rehash of previous arcs of the series. The dub people are different from the TV series dub and they are terrible so you've have to go subbed. Only redeeming aspect of this is the brief flashback sequence of Kenshin in action which you'll be very..familiar with by the end.

Aug 8, 2015
pmanandfriends (All reviews)
I was on the fence about watching this movie for a long time. I loved the show and the two specials, reflection and trust and betrayal. I can honestly say I wish I had never seen the movie.

Story: 7/10
The story was the only good thing about this movie. It fit into the plot and didn't feel out of place for a second.

Art: 4/10
Honestly, I understand it is pretty old but it doesn't match the art from the show at all. Of course, it's done by a different team so it wouldn't have the same art, but the quality in the movie is actually lesser than read more
Jan 14, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
This movie has no part in the progression of the anime whatsoever,but is stll enjoyable as a filler episode.It takes place as kenshin and the gang while on a site-seeing trip come across a samurai of remarkable skills with great desires for a prosperous japan,but while they think this man is good they soon find out that all is not what it seems as kenshins dark past returns to haunt him.Firstly i must say avoid the dub fot this one,the voice acting even from someone who like myself like dubs is just gastly.The animation for this movie palse in comparison to other titles,such as read more