Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

InuYasha Movie 03: Tenka Hadou no Ken


Alternative Titles

English: InuYasha the Movie 3: Swords of an Honorable Ruler
Synonyms: Inu Yasha: Tenka Hadou no Ken, InuYasha: The Sword of the World Conquest, The Sword That Rules Over the Empires
Japanese: 犬夜叉 天下覇道の剣

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 20, 2003
Producers: Kyoto Animation
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 38 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.871 (scored by 36,570 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1464
Members: 64,884
Favorites: 188

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 2, 2009
Chen-tan (All reviews)
This movie, is indeed my favorite of all the Inuyasha films.

First of all, the artwork looks really pretty, and the plot of the story is very enjoyable. This movie basically gives you a little flashback into Inuyasha's past, and who his parents were. Like any Inuyasha movie, there's plenty of action to see.

In my opinion, the movie could have went a little bit deeper into the past, but overall it's great!

Jul 2, 2011
NightmareRWolf (All reviews)
alright swords of an honorable ruler, it's your turn to be reviewed. well damn, i have to say that in the story department, this movie had me hooked within minutes. it shows the back history between inuyasha, sesshomaru, their father(the mysterious but always talked about great dog demon inutaisho), and the human woman that brought inuyasha into the world izayoi. it gives an in action show and tells the complete story of the twin fang swords, tessaiga and tenseiga, and of the final only inutaisho himself could control sounga. this movie kept me on the edge of my seat and wide eyed with what was read more
Jun 23, 2015
marmaladethot (All reviews)
Out of the four Inuyasha film installments, this is probably the best in terms of plot. We get to see a little more about Inuyasha and Sesshomaru's father, the dog demon. In addition, we get a better understanding about the heirloom swords that passed down to to both Inuyasha and Sesshomaru: tessaiga, tenseiga, and a third that was not passed down to either: sounga. The film focuses mainly around Inuyasha, Sesshomaru and the third sword along with the story behind it. I won't be going into details about the plot since it'll give away spoilers. Also, best part about the film, we get to see read more
Dec 5, 2009
FlareKnight (All reviews)
I think this movie did a nice job of adding to the pasts of Inuyasha and Sesshomaru while also providing some solid action.

Adding a third sword was a nice way of dragging the brothers into the same conflict. Besides it also helped to show how the two felt about their father. It did a nice job with Sesshomaru and the kind of relationship he had with his father. Also shows the change from a guy who didn't see the need to have something to protect to someone who would jump in to save Rin when in danger.The story really was about those brothers. In that read more
Aug 12, 2009
GothicShadow22 (All reviews)
Much better than the previous movies and in my opinion, better than the show. Unlike the show which has them fighting a new demon every single episode, this movie has a real plot that isn't predictable and you won't get bored of it.

In the beginning we get to see a flashback of Inuyasha when he was born and being protected by his father, a moment that we’ve never actually seen in the show.

Basically the story has Inuyasha taking hold of his father’s old sword called “Sounga” (really a bastard of a sword that only seeks blood and destruction) and the sword possesses him. One of read more
Jun 15, 2014
ForeverFizz8 (All reviews)
I have not seen Inuyasha in forever and do not remember the story, characters, or anything about it, but one day I stumbled upon a copy of this movie. It's as if something wanted me to remember the days of watching Inuyasha on TV.

Story (7/10):
The story was a bit corny and cliche (well, at first), yet had a certain charm to it that kept me watching. What I really liked was how this kept me up to date on the main story as of yet while still incorporating a movie worthy plot.

Art (8/10):
For the time, it was great art. For this time period, it's good read more
Apr 17, 2016
jaedencex (All reviews)
This was sensational step up from the last 2 movies, which were good but not great. I was hooked throughout the whole movie and absolutely engaged in everything that was happening. The characters were amazing, as usual and we got to see characters (that never much interacted with other certain characters in the previous movies and tv series) actually interact with each other and that really pleased me. I love how we finally get to see what happened to Inuyasha's father, it was very satisfying. We also see Inuyasha, the infant (aww). The fight scenes had me on the edge and way better than the read more
Dec 21, 2015
For_Reign (All reviews)
Who doesn't like to know a little history about their favorite characters of their favorite anime? This third InuYasha film, following my favorite one, The Castle beyond the Looking glass, contains a lot about Inuyasha and Sesshoumaru's past. We also get to see what their father looked like, which is something you don't get to see at all in the anime. Each fragment of their past was portrayed in a way that was tied in very well with the anime series, it almost makes you believe that it is canon.

The story is very good, and the action is amazing! Especially the attacks coming from read more