Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gintama.: Shirogane no Tamashii-hen - Kouhan-sen


Alternative Titles

English: Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc - Second Half War
Synonyms: Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc 2
Japanese: 銀魂. 銀ノ魂篇 後半戦

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2018 to Oct 8, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:35 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.851 (scored by 21,395 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1682
Members: 53,392
Favorites: 380

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2018
Lord_Dracule (All reviews)
For this review, I will not review this season alone, but the whole franchise up until the end of this season. This will be spoiler-free, unbiased and mostly objective, and instead of straight-up discussing the series, but mostly point out what makes Gintama unique while keeping the structure MAL suggests. Here we go

Story: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Animation: 8/10
Other factors: 9/10
Few complaints
Conclusion

Story:
Many Gintama watchers may notice something from the beginning of the story, something many end up disliking. That is the fact that "Gintama has no plot". The thing is that it doesn't.... But it does.... But doesn't. Without spoiling anything, Gintama is a mostly comedic series, only read more
Aug 3, 2018
MdotO (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

Following the comedic and mostly lighthearted tone of the first cour with a few serious moments, the second cour takes off the gloves right away with some important deaths and a very real sense of impending doom.The stakes are suddenly much higher with very limited time for Earth.

Utsuro attempts to perpetrate a grandiose suicide to end his immortal self along with the whole of humanity whereas the Oddjobs,Kieheitai, Katsura,Joi Rebels, Yoshiwara and basically the whole of Edo attempts to protect their 'town'.

As if Utsuro isnt enough, The liberation army ,especially Prince Ensho, have nothing but the flame of hatred and war to read more
Oct 7, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
*This review covers the entire Gintama*

Let's start with the comedy because that's the main reason Gintama is so horrible. Gintama is often called "a comedy series without any comedy", and that's very accurate. The "comedy" in Gintama consists of colorful bunch of jokes... at least if our color vision is limited to two as practically every joke is either a) a penis joke or b) IT'S a PRank BrO. Be it a gorilla mistaking someone's dick for a banana or 7 feet long sword ending up inside someone's anal cavity, Gintama has it all. But don't worry. It's all made with self-awareness and 4th wall read more
Aug 13, 2018
boyoungsi (All reviews)
Preliminary
where do you can find anime that open a new season by.................... (CHECK NOW!!!)
overall 10
at first i had "bad" first impression of Gintama, i thought that The first Episodes and following few Episodes(until 5 maybe) quite average and sometimes i don't understand a few Japanese's culture reference, THEN I CONTINUE watching Gintama, then finding that this is the BEST COMEDY ANIME EVER, especially SILVER SOUL ARC IS THE most powerful and beautiful ARC EVER.

the story 10
immortality and the true meaning of ultimate power are shown clearly in THIS SEASON, and it's already make me goosebump with this civil war setting. NOTE:this is the continuation of read more
Oct 19, 2018
my_wander_woman (All reviews)
The arc where everything makes sense!

When someone who doesn't know Gintama asks me to tell the synopsis, I can't explain it. I'm sure you can't either.


The intensity.

But on the other hand I can describe my different states: one second I start laughing and crying, the next I cling to my chair, the next I hold my breath, the next second I scream, the next I applaud, the next I want to cry so much because the emotion is so intense. In short, Gintama is a manga that does not leave anyone indifferent.

If Gintama has not lost her sense of humour, this season is barely read more
Aug 24, 2018
Melonknight (All reviews)
Preliminary
After all the episodes of Gintama i watched until now, this anime made me laugh a lot, sadly cant believe this best comedy anime is coming to end, when i first watch this anime, i thought it was something else, but when starting watching more and more episodes of it, it made me feel awesome!

Gintama is really one of my favorite anime of all time, i wished it can continue a little bit longer, but i wont not the forget all the characters and all the moments they have.

Some of the story arcs are short, and some of them are long, but my favorite arcs read more
Oct 15, 2018
SSbardock84 (All reviews)
Spoiler Free Review

I know, I know, Gintama is one of those anime that just always impresses. Great humor, action, suspense . . . well, normally. First off, don't go thinking I disliked this second half of the Silver Soul arc. But it's not without its flaws, but we'll get there.

The arc has a great story and some shocking scenes. There is truly some heart wrenching suspense that you haven't experienced before in Gintama. Passionate and emotional scenes are filled throughout. A fantastic final battle, but . . . things are cut short. Not to go into details, but there is an abrupt feel that changes read more
Mar 1, 2019
moozooh (All reviews)
(Sigh)
Unbelievable. If someone told me back in mid-2015 that in some three years I'd be watching the (supposedly) last arc of Gintama—easily one of my favorite series of all time—all blank-faced, thinking, "please let it end already", I'd be confused and probably laugh it off as some idiocy. Boy oh boy, I sure wish that was the case...

This needs to be said: Sorachi Hideaki is not a good writer. It's certainly true that he can write some outstanding comedy that could rival the best ZAZ movies in terms of both creativity and gag density (remember the Character Poll arc? Brilliant concept AND execution!), and the read more
Aug 20, 2018
hotlinemila (All reviews)
Preliminary
About 1,000 episodes of Gintama made me laugh. for me, this anime was really one of the funniest.
it seems they've decided to kill everyone this season. from the Comedy anime turned into a Thriller.
but it remained one of the best. it's season 8, and interest in Gintama has not faded.
and even on the eve of the Apocalypse, still manage to joke funny.
scene 10 of 10. drawing 10 out of 10. feed character 10 out of 10.
Awesome.
I don't want Gintama to end. all of the characters were really family.
the creators of the anime really brilliant people.
I'm sure they thought of the whole story in the beginning.
and read more
Jan 3, 2019
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------
FIRST THINGS FIRST. NOTE!. This review sections are split in 2 parts. First is this season specific comments and second is franchise as whole. Plus score is given to whole franchise not this season. Will add though this season scores to the sections.

✦Story
#This season: So they decided to wrap it up (?.. although last ep finale felt so troll that I still have no idea if it is truly final season) with grand scale battle. To have a big fight, where pretty much all the characters do read more