Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nijuu Mensou no Musume


Alternative Titles

English: The Daughter of 20 Faces
Synonyms: The Daughter of Twenty Faces, Chiko, Heiress of the Phantom Thief
Japanese: 二十面相の娘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2008 to Sep 28, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 9,431 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2598
Members: 27,447
Favorites: 164

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 16, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
I admit that I love a good mystery, especially when they're reminiscent of creations by Conan-Doyle and Christie. The suspense, dama and tension in those stories is sometimes breathtaking, however their on-screen adaptations are often a little more lacklustre.

Enter then, Nijuu Mensou no Musume or, to give it a snappier title, "The Daughter of Twenty Faces" (I should point out that the show also has the unfortunate title "Chiko, Heiress of the Phantom Thief" for some odd reason - I prefer the middle title as it has a certain grandstanding, operatic quality about it which is more in keeping with the series).

The story is loosely read more
Aug 28, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Nijuu Mensou no Musume (The Daughter of 20 Faces) is an Action, Adventure, Mystery, Drama that feels just like many of the classic detective shows. It consists of 2 story arcs, so expect changes during the transition between the 1st & 2nd arcs.

The story follows a gang of thieves led by the infamous man known only as ‘Twenty Faces’, who one day decides to take a young girl with him (hence the name of this series). The beginning is nothing spectacular, it just sets the scene for this late 50s themed detective fiction, which focuses mostly on Chizuko. The series follows an episodic nature, with read more
Feb 20, 2011
5camp (All reviews)
There is a very specific reason why Daughter of 20 Faces doesn't work. However to properly explain this point, I have to spoil pretty much the entire plot. Bear with me though, because it's a damn good point.

Daugh­ter of 20 Faces is a Bones anime from spring 2008. The story is about a girl called Chieko who was freed from her hor­rible life with her evil step­mother by a band of thieves led by the cha­ris­matic 20 Faces. The band became Chieko’s sur­rog­ate fam­ily, with 20 Faces become a father fig­ure to her. He taught Chieko tricks of the trade along with many other les­sons read more
Jul 12, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
The Daughter of Twenty Faces basically makes its own plot based on characters from the classic Japanese mystery novels written by famous Japanese author Edogawa Rampo, in particular the thief Twenty Faces and detective Kogoro Akechi to a lesser extent. The series centers on orphaned girl Chizuko becoming involved with the thievery of Twenty Faces and his gang with the first five episodes of the series focused on their world-traveling thievery. Some shocking events in the sixth episode, which I won't spoil here, completely change the focus of the anime in later episodes as it changes over to Chizuko trying to seek out Twenty Faces read more
Feb 9, 2009
Absentlead (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying YOU ARE GOING TO LOVE CHIKA!!! She's not just one of those cute girl protaganist who seem amazing to everyone because she's kind and sweet to everybody...no, this girl kicks ass. Literally. But not only that, she's resourceful as hell and sharper than a friggin tac. I've only watched 4 episodes but I love this girl, seriously. The art reminds me of Blood + though some may not agree...the mood isn't quite the same Nijuu Mensou no Musume is a bit lighter...though both the female protaganist KICK ASS, WHETHER IT ME MOB MEN OR ALIEN VAMPIRES. So far the read more
Sep 9, 2017
Tempsy (All reviews)
A good mystery is hard to make. You have to take a lot into consideration when making one. Is it satisfying? Is it smart? Is it entertaining? But most of all, do I care? Well I can say with an honest heart, that I cared about The Daughter of 20 Faces. I really, really did.

the story is about a girl who gets "kidnapped" by the famous thief known as Twenty Faces, and begins travelling with him and his gang of fellow thieves. Instead of viewing her "kidnapping" as a curse, she instead views it as a gift and quickly warms up to her new comrades, read more
Jul 19, 2019
Steamarino (All reviews)
Super story until episode 6. After that it's all about finding 20 faces. In my opinion, the first 6 episodes make up the complete anime. The remaining 16 episodes are unnecessary.

-Story: The first 6 episodes are great. In the remaining 16 episodes, it's all about the dependence of Chizuko to 20 faces.
-Art: Can you still watch.
-Sound: Can you listen to episode 6. From there you only hear "Oji-san".
-Character: Until episode 6, all characters are great. In the remaining 16 episodes comes an unnecessary girlfriend, two useless detectives, an overprotective maiden, two enemies of 20 faces and a stepmother where I thought after episode 2 that read more
Feb 10, 2010
zoddtheimmortal (All reviews)
The story focuses on a girl being destroyed by the world around her and the tall dark and handsome stranger who takes this 12 year old under his wing bringing her into his family of high profile thieves. This group represents her first real family and it's a short lived family because families in crime are bound to have powerful enemies. The remainder of the series is this girl fighting to hold onto the few bonds she has left, using the skills she took away from her first real "family".

I rate this anime at 5.8

The main character is truly depicted as super human, both read more
Dec 23, 2011
movoning (All reviews)
This series has a lot of potential, but unfortunately it didn't really come together.
First, its atmosphere is really unique, changing from a carefree tone to a serious one out of expectation, especially in the beginning. However, I don't think this kind of story telling gives the viewer enough time to digest everything. I don't mean the story itself is confusing, but how the plot is executed compromises many scenes that could have been the defining moments. As a result, the story seemed really trivial. I don't think it's the fault of the content of the story, but how the story is told.
Then the read more