Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Just Because!


Alternative Titles

English: Just Because!
Japanese: Just Because!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2017 to Dec 28, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Pine Jam
Source: Original
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 6890968,909 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #626
Members: 176,666
Favorites: 867

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2017
DannyTheDonkey (All reviews)
I’m not sure why I picked Just Because! But anyway it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

The series at its core is a character-centric; which mean that no matter how the characters became; whether they're reach their goals or not, it is became a part of and affecting the story. There’s no big overarching plot to draw the viewers in actually. It’s pretty much about these five Student, and how their lives will play out over the next few months. The story essentially played out by the struggling of this character facing the transition to adulthood and also the problem they get when read more
Dec 28, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Senior year of high school is like a train station.

Pick a train to decide your future. You can’t say for sure what lies at your destination, but you know for certain it will take you away from your school and friends you made there. This is the theme that Just Because puts forward with its story of seniors deciding their futures and many train station scenes. However, it does not have the intimacy necessary for these themes to be believable.

Slice of life shows live or die on how intimate they are. And no, I do not mean romance. I mean the show's connection to read more
Dec 28, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
High school can be quite an experience for most young people these days. I remember a time during my high school years when everything seems to feel different. It’s almost like setting foot into a new world with new opportunities. Friends, activities, relationships. It’s a place beyond just about learning but for people to build a future. While it isn’t like college for career building, it definitely gives the chance for opportunities, even for relationships. For Eita Izumi, he comes back from his hometown after 4 years as he reunites with his middle school friends.

As an original anime, Just Because felt like a breath of read more
Dec 28, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Nostalgic Review*
TL;DR: Love Pentagon between high school teenagers trying to figure out their future while keeping their emotional spillage in check. Also... Just Because.
[Story: 7/10 , Characters: 8/10, Art: 5/10, Sound: 9/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"It's all in the past" - Eita Izumi

Just Because is an original anime by Hajime Kamoshida, the genius behind Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. However, just because at a first glance it may seem like this is a generic story about confused intertwined love relationships between group of friends trying to get through high school, the adaptation feels way to close to reality. For those that finished high school read more
Nov 6, 2017
dmama46 (All reviews)
Preliminary
the first episode throw me off little bit , but i decided to keep watching and so far its look pretty heart warming , its my favorite type of slice of life anime, no exaggerated comedy , heart warming and slow pacing , the character are little by too cliché, the love triangles and the unnecessary screaming gets in the way of enjoying the anime, the art is great although there one thing that i find annoying but its opinion based which the finger nails color change in the close shots which is not exclusive to this anime but i find it annoying , but read more
Dec 30, 2017
LilacChild (All reviews)
(No spoilers contained in this review!)

When I first read over the synopsis for Just Because I couldn't wait to get my hands on the episodes. As a young adult not so recently out of high school myself, I wanted to torture myself by relieving the anxieties and emotions that run high during the last few months of senior year. And so as the story progressed, I couldn't help but feel disappointed in what was presented to me.

Perhaps it was my own fault for having such high hopes for the anime, but what could've been a compelling story full of heartbreak, fear for the future, and read more
Dec 29, 2017
Nurguburu (All reviews)
An original anime that have a lot of potential to be great but ends so disappointing.


[Story: 3/10]

The story is slow (and with bad pacing) in most of episodes, mostly in the episodes 1-4 and 9-11. Sometimes some scenes are out of place, for example the baseball scenes with the adults in the middle.

[Character: 3/10]

Besides Komiya and maybe Haruto, all the characters feels boring, lack of personality and are one-sided. Komiya and his outgoing personality makes great moments for the anime, more that most of the main cast. Haruto in some scenes is good, in others not so much. Eita is boring character unless he read more
Nov 4, 2017
plastiquedoll (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm a big fan of the romance/drama type of slice of life, which is why I was fairly happy to stumble upon Just Because! in this season. Mood and setting of the anime are quite fitting for winter, so you'll be likely to identify when watching this right now.

Story
The anime starts off with a transfer student coming back to Tokyo for his last half year of high school, after his father was transferred back from Fukuoka. He's soon reunited with his long lost best friend from middle school and is finding himself confronted with some unresolved things from the past. As the story continues, the read more
Dec 29, 2017
bonedrudeaddy (All reviews)
Please note that there are spoilers below. This is primarily due to the fact that my main points cannot be conveyed without explaining specific events in the story. Sections with spoilers will be marked.

Now when I first watched this anime I was attracted to its warm and calm atmosphere, something that is rarely seen in anime filled up with comedic scenes and the like. I liked the protagonist who was not like another blithering idiot that romance/sol/high school anime usually focus on. It was fine, and I liked it so much I regarded it on par with the other big two of this season (inuyashiki read more
Oct 27, 2017
-Crucival- (All reviews)
Preliminary
~WARNING: EXPECT MINOR SPOILERS~

(A 6 to me means that this anime is slightly above average at where I am currently watrching)

What keeps me watching this anime, along with the reason why I decided to write this review is that it reminded me of one truly important fact, one I hope resonates with you in the future:

THERE IS BEAUTY IN SIMPLICITY.

As this review is being made while this show is in progress, most of what I say is subject to change at my discretion. As the name of the anime implies, I truly did watch this anime "Just Because." (You can shoot me later for that). read more
Dec 29, 2017
Animery (All reviews)
Short Answer: It was honestly average. The anime, overall, felt quite rushed. After completing it, I feel the same as I felt before. No change... I would recommend that you watch the anime if you have free time but don't expect a masterpiece.

The story itself was basic and not very interesting. It was cliche and nothing new so I would rate it a 3. When I first watched it, I was confused. The story felt as though it could be summarised in one sentence.

The art was great but there were some moments where it was mediocre, especially some of the running scenes.

I enjoyed the read more
Jan 1, 2018
End (All reviews)
In all honesty, the series tries very hard to portrayed youth as well romance, but it failed greatly.

I’m romance seeker myself, I love to experience either pure vanilla or train wreck hardship romance story. But then again the series itself is neither of those two, it mixed all aspect together that i can pretty much say chimera was born. Sadly the potential is wasted and the current story is not even worth much. While this series is original, the premises itself wasn’t original. Let’s venture more.

Story
It start with bang and such, on how fate and red strings could bring back all friends read more
Dec 28, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
Just Because! is a relatively slow-paced anime which focuses on a group of students in their last year of high school, approaching the end of their school days. Along with that, they must make important decisions for their future, as well as for the each person likes.

All characters develop at different speeds when they come to realize their feelings. That's what this anime clearly showed. Each of the characters thought in their own way to come to have the courage to be together with the person they like. This anime is pretty distinctive in that aspect, which was what i liked.

Along with the romance, read more
Nov 13, 2017
Shirt (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show requires at least two episodes to find if it's your flavor. Watch a third and you're in for the long run.

StOrY 8/10
The story is slow as first and moves similar to a train. Once you are at a cruise, you feel very comfortable. You watch the scenery just fly by while losing yourself in your own thoughts. After 3 episodes, you will find yourself thinking about what will happen with the love triangles, relationships, and school lives of the characters.

ArT 7/10
The artwork reminds me of certain old movies but it is very suitable for this kind of storytelling. Sometimes can convey a mood read more
Dec 4, 2017
Colorly (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is an anime you'll either like or hate right away. It's either one.

Story: 5/10

Izumi is a boy that is moving back to his home town from Tokyo and from that moment on he starts to interact with old friend Souma which he met when he was walking around his new school. From that point, he starts to interact with the other people knew and interacting with new people that interact with his old friends aka Souma and Natsume. The story tries to make it feel as realistic as possible and don't try to over dramatic it's characters and the story itself. But at the read more
Sep 24, 2019
Filippo351 (All reviews)
The plot, in my opinion, had great potential, BUT it went really bad.
I liked the fact that main character was obsessed with his past and his love. But in the meanwhile Komiya did everything for Eita, but this moron threw everything away from the window and trated her like a trash as she was not really important. to be honest i really could accept it, but the final was so forced i could not apprecciate at all.

I liked every other characters except for Eita, so dumbass.

By the way music, opening, were really cool and nice to hear.

Same about the art. Really good for eyes read more
Dec 30, 2017
JoJoberserker (All reviews)
"Just Because!" is the name of this anime but it is also the reason why im watching this, just beacause... okay, let's jump to review

The story is about a boy who comes back to his old neighborhood where he re-encounters with an old friend of his. As you can see story wise the anime is pretty vanilla wich is not a bad thing but certanly doesn't help to make it more interesting.
The art is ok, but the color scheme is pretty bland giving the anime an even more uninteresting look. Also the animation is pretty unsubstantial from a moment to another you are with a read more
Aug 2, 2018
UG6 (All reviews)
I would like to begin this review with I’ve seen a lot of high school romances. Good, bad, mediocre, generic, ugly, I’ve seen it. This show, from its description, sets the groundwork for such an interesting premise that I couldn’t help but gravitate towards it. Just Because follows 6 high school students. 5 of them are seniors nervous about their futures, and one of them is concerned with maintaining her “all I have” photography club.

This anime markets itself to follow the lives of imminently graduating seniors going in different directions. Some are studying for college entrance exams, pursuing sports, and others are going straight read more
Dec 15, 2017
erudorichi (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can I say, this anime is a visual masterpiece. I really think that no other anime comes close to depicting the mundane details of the characters' daily lives and facial expressions to such an extent. I can't recommend any similar anime to Just Because as the show is just so unique and different; Tsuki Ga Kirei isn't even close except for its romance genre.

And the stakes here are high. An original anime series with a myriad of sponsors betting on this show - multinational corporations Canon and Odakyu to name a few. So for all the controversy surrounding the supposed 'delays', this anime is read more
Apr 25, 2018
PixlReality (All reviews)
Like a cool summer breeze.

Just Because! An anime about love, regrets, and old friends. It starts off with a boy named Eita who has just transferred for the third semester of high school to a new school; which incidentally, some of his old friends attend. Overtime he gets to know a particular girl, who becomes fond of him. Thus, spiraling this love-triangle into gear. Honestly this anime might be one of the most simple slice-of-life anime I've ever seen. It's very simplistic.

The characters are quite bland, specially the MC. But I feel that it adds to that "slice-of-life" aspect well, as most people in real read more