Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kiddy Grade


Alternative Titles

English: Kiddy Grade
Japanese: キディ・グレイド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2002 to Mar 19, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: gimik
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.271 (scored by 14,975 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2186
Members: 36,768
Favorites: 263

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 18, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
Kiddy Grade is an action/ fanservice laden anime that I thought would be good if I wanted to turn off my brain and marathon something. However, even with this low standard I set, it still didn’t fare as well as I hoped. This is primarily due to the first third and the last third of the series.

To avoid any spoilers I’ll split Kiddy Grade in 3 parts, first third, middle, and last third. The first third consisted of standalone episodes that were designed to let the viewer get familiar/learn about the characters. This is a pretty standard format that many 2 read more
Dec 19, 2008
Maur (All reviews)
Overall/Enjoyment:
Some of the stuff I mention is already touched upon in other reviews, however I watched Kiddy Grade dubbed, so in case you are wondering what that was like...

There were some things I liked about this show, but also a lot of things I did not. I wouldn't say don't watch this show, but if I had to give someone a list of recommendations, it probably wouldn't come to mind. I'll give it credit, at least the series has AN ending, which in my experience is a feat in of itself when it comes to anime. It's a fun show to watch if you can read more
Aug 22, 2013
azuslu7jpg (All reviews)
A "diverse" series that manages to accomplish far more than one might expect.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

When you look at the cover of Kiddy Grade, your first thought might be, "Oh look, scantily clad women with super powers fighting bad guys. I think I've seen this one before." You might laugh at the mecha, ecchi, and sci-fi tags and never watch it. The title might even scare you away.

To some degree, you would be correct in your thought. Kiddy Grade is about scantily clad women with super powers fighting bad guys, after all. There are robots, space read more
Jun 14, 2010
Neferius (All reviews)
A Space-Opera in 3 acts, "Kiddy Grade" in my (humble) oppinion should rightfully be regarded as a Classic of the Genre.
Although, as many are quick to point-out, the show is off to a "Slow Start" [spoiler]Which apparently involves fighting five armed Cyborgs bare-handed and foregoing an inter-Planetary War[/spoiler], somehow it manages to never seem boring, if maybe a bit easy-going at times.
To that i have to attribute the copious doses of fanservice, splendid mecha graphics, and to a lesser extent the Classical Victorian style implemented in the artwork, from balroom-dances to Lumiére's schoolgirl *ahem* I mean work-uniform, which help to give the Series read more
Mar 25, 2010
Yuffira (All reviews)
When I saw the first few episodes I was thrilled. Everything about this anime invited me to immediately watch the next episode and the one after and the one after. Too bad it didn't stay that way until the last episode.

Story: 6
Éclair and Lumière are two girls who work for the GOTT, an organization which takes care of businesses with governments all over the galaxy. These two ES member are the ones standing on the frontlines and as we follow them throughout the story they take care of pretty much everything that stands in their way from accomplishing their goal. While the anime starts read more
Feb 1, 2010
GlennMagusHarvey (All reviews)
(updated 18 June 2010)

Well, unlike the several other rather negative reviews of this show, I gotta say, I liked it, and I recommend it. That said, here's my take on the good and bad of the show:

Summary: Great soundtrack, emotional appeal (lots of heartwarming moments), interesting story themes. Plot not sufficiently coherent, and generally tries to do too much. Also, minor fanservice warning.

It's great for the following things:
* Characterization, especially of Éclair. Even though I'm just an ordinary person in the present, and Éclair is a superhero from a space-based future, I felt that I could relate to her and her read more
Jan 29, 2016
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
It’s a tale as old as time, and yet it still takes place in the distant future... After space on Earth started to become scarce, the human race expanded to the stars, developing the technology to terraform planets and claiming them for the sake of creating brand new civilizations. As you might imagine, this brought untold chaos at first, as disputes between these super-sized settlements erupted into large scale wars, where an insurmountable number of lives were claimed. Enter the Galactic Union, an all-powerful government that was formed to stabilize the relationships between these warring worlds and unite all of humanity under read more
Oct 24, 2017
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Kiddy Grade is an amateurishly made anime with no sense of direction. For this mess of an anime, I will discuss its 4 distinct arcs. Enjoyment on all stages is a 1.

Arc 1: Episodes 1-4
| Story: 1 | Art: 3 | Sound: 2 | Character: 1 | Overall: 1 |
Imagine pointless filler, but... but nothing. This does nothing, achieves no purpose. It's intended to introduce us to the characters, but it could've been done subtly instead of having 4 episodes of nothing. The directing is horrendous, the pacing is non existent, the characters are nonsensical, the plot is comically incompetent.

Arc 2: Episodes 5-10
| Story: 5 read more
Jul 4, 2010
Envy133 (All reviews)
This is my First review! Lets get right down to it, shall we? Kiddy Grade is a action packed outer space, futuristic based anime. The Storyline is a bit shifty (changes frequently) but fun to watch. There was only a few problem with the plot... 1) Although enjoyable, it's VERY confusing and alot of things are left unexplained (or perhaps they were and I didnt follow it). But the things that are making sense by watching the series finished didn't make alot of sense when the event was happening. 2) I got totally confused at one point when everyone was changing bodies and cloning and read more
Jun 24, 2010
DaiOni (All reviews)
First I doesn't really like sci-fi anime, but because of the super power-stuff I was hoping. The was enough for one movie divided in three main parts. The one I'd liked to know was the identits (secrets) of the characters and their power.
This anime is Marked on my list with the "Cursed 24". That's only my opinion, but most of the anime I've seen vith 24 eps. were disappointing (Chrono Crusade, Trinity Blood, Full Metal Panic 1st).
Mar 20, 2019
StarCrashr (All reviews)
I'll try to get right to the point. I got into this expecting to just waste some time laughing at some goofy eye-candy. I quickly became invested in the characters, and their personal struggles, and even cried at times. Yes, there are unnecessary sprinklings of sex appeal, but I honestly was too busy with the story to care, despite being a raging dyke. It probably could've benefited from being several episodes longer to allow for smoother transitions between plot lines and explain the plot twists in more detail, because I'm still left a bit confused after having seen the entire series. Part of why it read more
Feb 21, 2014
Marina13Ichigo (All reviews)
it's really worth watching. the female lead, eclair is a unique charachter who can be very naive, even if her looks are of a young woman, but she also can be very dangerous and not just because she is the strongest, but because she has lived a lot and she has surpassed a lot of difficulties, so she is experienced and with a wide knowledge. even if eclair is presented as a dreamer and happy type, she is the most troubled one. she lived even longer than lumiere and she also has the power to kill by her own hand, with this power comming the read more
Nov 21, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Kiddy Grade is the story about Lumiere and Eclair, ES members of the Galactic Organisation of Trade and Tariffs or otherwise known as GOTT. They along with 12 others that possess amazing superpowers are a type of police squad that bring down criminals.

My thoughts:
I truly enjoyed watching Kiddy Grade. The story is engaging. At each episode we learn something new that brings us closer to knowing what GOTT is and who the ES members are. This an anime I will certainly watch again and I look forward to seeing the movies and the second season.

Note: I've been looking for the movies and sadly read more