Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingeki no Kyojin


Alternative Titles

English: Attack on Titan
Synonyms: Shingeki no Kyojin, AoT
Japanese: 進撃の巨人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Sep 29, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:58 (JST)
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.561 (scored by 582,928 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3
Members: 823,190
Favorites: 44,513

Reviews

Sorrowful
Oct 2, 2014
Oh dear Shingeki no Kyojin, where do I even begin. If you've talked with your friends about anime, then the couple anime that everyone talks about are Naruto, Bleach, One Piece, Dragon Ball, and... Shingeki no Kyojin. What's the difference between Shingeki and the rest? Shingeki only has 25 episodes so far yet it's on par in popularity with the other super long, Americanized anime. Why is it popular? Well that's simply because it's stunningly amazing. Those people that call Shingeki no Kyojin "overrated" may not have the same taste as me, and that's perfectly fine, but in my honest opinion, Shingeki no Kyojin is read more
I found this review Helpful
Gladius93
May 7, 2014
I started to follow the manga after watching the anime and quite frankly I don't see where and how the plot of Shingeki no Kyojin can suck, which in my humble opinion is awsome. You can understand the anime very well even without having read the manga. However, SNK isn't understood by many because it's a psychological manga .. SNK isn't just a succession of empty and meaningless clashes and, of uncontrolled violence, stereotyped heroes who fight the bad (like Bleach). Here are shown the darkest sides of the human psyche with great mastery: the desire to be the best but can't do it, the read more
I found this review Helpful
YEROCKY
Jan 29, 2015
Attack on Titan is a survival action anime that takes place in a post-apocalyptic fantasy world where the humans, that once lived in peace, now face a last stand situation for survival of the entire race. Attack on Titan's strong points are the action, art/animation, and the soundtrack. While I don't consider Attack on Titan to have a lot of great points, the anime doesn't have any weak points either, as it does many elements pretty well, in my opinion. On the surface, Attack on Titan seems nothing more than a survival story of humans vs (insert threat here). However, the story shows us many read more
I found this review Helpful
emberreviews
Nov 4, 2014
Every once in a while, and even more frequently now than in the past, an anime appears that is completely and unequivocally shrouded in layers upon layers of hype and popularity from the anime community. It's the show that's on everyone lips, as well as everyone's TV screens. In the Fall of 2011, The Future Diary created an exceptional level of hype that had not been seen for quite some time. When the Summer of 2012 rolled along, it was time for Sword Art Online to take the spotlight, and its own popularity grew to read more
I found this review Helpful
SonDavid
Aug 8, 2014
In the 80's, Mobile Suit Gundam catapulted anime in Japan.

In the 90s, Dragon Ball Z broke the mainstream walls while Neon Genesis Evangelion opened the doors to the now indispensable late-night anime slots in Japan.

In the 2000s, Fullmetal Alchemist marked the peak of manga-to-anime adaptations while Code Geass & Death Note headed the class of those who introduced the new anti-hero genre.

And now, in 2013, Attack on Titan has shaken the industry once again.

Unless you've been living under a rock for the past 5 months, you should at least know what the story is about, and for the sake of staying spoiler free, I'm not read more
I found this review Helpful
abrodkin
Jul 21, 2014
I started watching Shingeki no Kyojin a year ago, almost to the day that I am writing this. So I figured I would write a review on what has grown to be one of my favourite series of all time.

What I've noticed is that people tend to be very split about this anime; you either love it, or you hate it. Clearly, in my case, I love this entire series (the show, the manga, the side-stories, etc.) Now onto the actual review.

Story: 9
At its core, Shingeki no Kyojin is something that we have seen many times in the past: humanity is being attacked, therefore we read more
I found this review Helpful
Nikolekoleta
Mar 22, 2015
This anime made my mouth open wide for longer than 5 seconds more than a handful times. This is the type of world where more people get killed than the entirety of the A Song of Ice and Fire series. It exists in a timeless universe – not in the past, present or future of our world, but in a pocket universe where Titans existed long before the existence of machines. In this world, machines were not invented to improve humanity’s lifestyle, but for the continuous existence of humanity itself.

There’s lots of shouting (especially from Eren), lots of action, lots of character development, and lots read more
I found this review Helpful
Micsupreeme
Oct 7, 2014
Let's get straight to it! Shingeki no Kyojin is an incredibly gripping, action packed show, and it is certainly capable of converting non-anime watchers. When you begin to understand the plight of humanity versus the titans, you'll quickly begin to realize that this is a show of epic proportions - essentially it is an inter species war: and violence comes hand in hand with this theme, so squeamish viewers might want to look elsewhere.

The show is incredibly engaging, and intense because the combat animations are executed perfectly, giving a really personal front row seat throughout. Not only this but peril is constantly a reinforced aspect read more
I found this review Helpful
kermamrek
Feb 19, 2014
Shingeki no Kyojin... Where do I start?

In summary, Shingeki no Kyojin is a perfect anime to get somebody who loves action started on anime- I think it is literally the most mainstream anime ever made, and that is definitely not a bad thing. But with this comes downsides- ones not apparent to the viewer at first glance, but looking back on it after watching it around the time it first came out, definitely shine through.

Shingeki no Kyojin starts off with a roar- the first 2 episodes explode right out of the gate with high-octane action that also leaves mystery to draw the viewer in. Who read more
I found this review Helpful
NameWithheld
Apr 25, 2015
It pains me in a way to not give Attack on Titan anything but a 10. I completely understand why this show got so popular so fast. I also understand why everybody is impatiently waiting for season 2. I want to say that it is really as flawless as people say it is.
But I can't. While I would genuinely recommend this show, I am still a critic. I still have to acknowledge that this show has problems.
As good as this show is, and it is very, very good, I cannot with a good conscience say that it does not have glaring flaws. The biggest is read more
I found this review Helpful
leep11
Apr 19, 2015
Shingeki no Kyojin is an amazingly written story with a very dark premise and a lot of action. This is definitely not a series for the faint of heart, especially those with fears of man-eating giants that don't even have the decency to kill you before they eat you (sometimes). The story keeps you guessing as it progresses, there's a new reveal that completely destroys what you thought you knew and makes you wonder just how far the rabbit hole goes. The characters are very relatable and you really do want to see them succeed. What makes this series unique however is the protagonists very read more
I found this review Helpful
Jarrbearr
Oct 28, 2014
The hype of 2013 leading to an ending that closed off lots of action and questions throughout its run. With an anime that has a lot of hype, comes a lot of conflict between haters and people who genuine enjoy the anime. Shingeki no Kyojin is an anime that made peaks in sales and getting fans world wide, but is it really worth watching?

The concept of humanity being at the brink of extinction, this is one emphasizes it's fight for survival and the ups and downs of their fight for victory. With the first episode starting off with a great clincher to get you read more
I found this review Helpful
kasser
May 2, 2015
Attack on Titan is one of the manga turned to anime on recent period. It is an Action anime with focus on tragedy and very dark tone, yet maintaining some Shonen-esque messages such as trust and overcoming fears.

Story:
While the story isn't as rich as other shows in general, it is rather a very fresh take on human tragedy without reusing much of the usual apocalypse elements. There is also much lore in the world to keep creative fans making fanworks and adaptions of the world of Attack on Titan. The thrill element is very high and makes you eager to see what's next.

Keep in mind read more
I found this review Helpful
Sorrow
Oct 27, 2014
If you’re an anime or manga patron, you’ve more than likely heard of, if you haven’t already read or seen, a series entitled Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan). Based on the popular manga, Shingeki no Kyojin had been made into an anime in 2013, that had literally taken the entire world by storm. It's even been airing on American Television alongside other popular shows such as One Piece and Naruto. It’s popularity is getting to the point where it’s damn near impossible to say the word “anime” without someone bringing up Shingeki no Kyojin. But is Shingeki no Kyojin worth the hype?

Plot: One-hundred read more
I found this review Helpful
themegamancave
Nov 15, 2014
This will be my first ever review on this website, and I figured it best to start with the one series most fresh in my mind. Attack on Titan was one of the most rewarding anime experiences I've ever had. Unique premise, serious characters and a vivid soundtrack and art style make the first season of this show one to remember. I will keep this review spoiler free, as to not ruin the experience for anyone else.

Sometimes animes will fall into the trap of taking themselves too seriously. The main difference about AOT is that it deserves the afforementioned comment. read more
I found this review Helpful
walrusking14
Oct 22, 2014
What would happen if humanity was no longer on the top of the food chain? How would we adapt, and how would our perception of the world change? Tetsurō Araki came to answer these questions with the release of his latest series. It is a tale of tragedy and revenge; of uplifting hope and crushing sadness. A love letter to the struggle of humanity and its destructive nature. This is Attack On Titan.

Setting:
The exact location and time place of AOT is unknown, but based off of the clothing, architectural style and character names it is safe to say that the read more
I found this review Helpful
Wandering-Otaku
Nov 29, 2013
Attack on Titan is a particularly unique case for me. As such, my review needs to be broken up to properly analyze it.

Story:

Attack on Titan has an absolutely astounding setting. The sheer idea behind the setting, the exposition pieces, and the initial plot elements held the potential for it to be one of the best action anime ever. From the first three episodes, I could see how someone could believe this would be that one anime that is just absolutely amazing. It simply becomes disappointing as things continue. Long story short? The start is absolutely amazing. It's powerful. It's grabbing. It does everything read more
I found this review Helpful
IamWEB
Oct 21, 2014
How does one review an entity such as Attack on Titan? It has gathered a massive following had has taken the anime community by storm. Anyone who calls themselves an anime fan has undoubtedly heard of the show and even those who aren't anime fans probably have seen some kind of merchandise floating around wore by someone... someone like me who has a Attack on Titan backpack. But just because something is popular doesn't make it good.

PLOT: So humans are now no longer at the top of the food chain and were nearly wiped out 100 years ago of 1000ish years ago (they never read more
I found this review Helpful
ImTheJuggernaut
May 18, 2015
Attack on Titan Review: Is It A Masterpiece or A Colossal Disappointment.

Shingeki No Kyojin, AKA, Attack on Titan, is one of the most popular manga series based on the same name that defeated the two best known manga in the series, "Naruto" and "One Piece". And to be honest, it was indeed gives me a massive, MASSIVE LOVE to this franchise. From start to finish of the first season, I'm very grateful that I've watch this majestic masterpiece that came from the walls of Production IG (Known for the anime "Kuroko no Basuke" series). So here is my review:

Story:
(SPOILER ALERT For Episode 1)
So in this read more
I found this review Helpful
Ri-chan
May 1, 2014
I don't think this review will make me very popular, because I didn't really like Attack on Titan. The first time I tried watching it, I found the first episode so boring and discomforting that I stopped right there. However, as the hype increased and people were hailing it as the best anime of the season, I thought I should give it another shot. The next time I tried watching it, I got to about episode 10 and gave up again. It was too much of a struggle for me. Though after 10 episodes I had started to see the value of the show.

Story: read more
I found this review Helpful