Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saint☆Oniisan


Alternative Titles

English: Saint☆Young Men
Synonyms: Saint☆Onii-san, Saint Onii-san
Japanese: 聖☆おにいさん

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 3, 2012 to Aug 23, 2013
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SeinenSeinen, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 20 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 2718227,182 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1678
Members: 60,432
Favorites: 187

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 5, 2013
SeaJaeger (All reviews)
Ok, so pretty much everyone here knows or even heard of Hataraku Maou-sama right? The one where the Demon Lord is transported the the human world and forced to live among the society of humans. Well, Saint☆Onii-san is pretty similar to HM, only that instead of a demon lord, we've got religious icons living their daily lives in the human world (disguising as ordinary citizens as part of their two-month vacation from their holy duty), and those figures are Jesus and Buddha.

Yes, you've heard right. That Jesus. And that Buddha.

Kinda sounds like a scene coming from the song One of Us by Joan Osborne if read more
Nov 13, 2013
Gummyystic (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm not really a religious person but this show is hilarious!
It's just like any normal slice of life but with a more lighter plot.
Highly recommended for those who are christian or buddhist so they can understand the reference more xD
May 29, 2017
Sonal1988 (All reviews)
I really wanted to like this anime, but sadly, the comedy mostly fell flat and the VAs didn’t do a great job. There’s not much to write about an anime with just 2 short episodes, so I’ll keep my review brief.

The reason I gave it a 6 (and nothing lower) is because even though I didn’t like the anime, I didn’t dislike it either – it was pretty average. The setting is quite unique, of course, and more power to animators who can go through concepts on anime without involving high school children, nudity or violence. It’s a nice and sweet comedy, suitable even for read more
Jun 24, 2015
Maggot_Brain (All reviews)
Well, as is obvious from the synopsis, this show is about Buddha and Jesus Christ holidaying on Earth.Most of the jokes have to do with miracles ascribed to either Jesus or Buddha reproduced in a modern setting.More often than not, they are very short and you have to be acquainted with some religious stories to fully enjoy them.The bromance between Jesus and Buddha is awesome, seriously.

Only extreme fanatical believers will be offended by this show as its is not judgmental on any religion in any way, nor does it poke fun at it.

With that out of the way, i felt that the show was too read more
Dec 2, 2017
Corvo_409 (All reviews)
Preliminary
English Version
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OBS: English is not my native language. this review may have grammatical errors.
OBS 2: This review has two versions, one in English and the other in Portuguese (BR), which is my native language.

My evaluation:
Plot: Scale from 0 to 3 points.
Characters: Scale from 0 to 2 points.
Animation: Scale from 0 to 2 points.
OST: Scale from 0 to 2 points.
Personal Taste: Scale from 0 to 1 point.

Since the plot is irrelevant because it is totally a comedy, this criterion will be changed by comedy and how it is performed based on the premise.

This Review will have some spoilers:

Comedy (1 of 3): The premise is two religious read more
Feb 28, 2019
GOLenji (All reviews)
It's literally an god tier anime.

The world is finally at peace and Jesus Christ and Buddha have gotten a vacation, and what better place to spend the holidays than on Earth? So they decide to go to Japan, where neither Christianity nor Buddhism is part of the culture.

They rent an apartment in Tokyo and live like NEETS, most of the time they interact with the owner of the apartment, an old lady who notices some "miracles" being performed around. Despite being in Japan it's curious she doesn't suspect anything, they even offer a goat to her (?). She thinks they are a punk band.

Jesus Christ read more
Oct 7, 2018
CousinBenjy (All reviews)
This was the genesis of my fascination with truth and peace.

I have always been a strong believer in both Christianity and Buddhism, and I have to say that this new religious text is truly a must-watch.

I used to be lost; I had little faith in any religion. However, now I feel a true connection - I feel like I have truly connected with these two gods. If you think that Haruhi is a true religious text, wait till you see this!

Overall, the plot it quite good - my favourite parts was the book of Marx in the Jesus arc and the Africa part in the read more
Sep 8, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
So, A-1 Pictures decided that one day they were tired of being stereotyped as otaku panderers that were well-known for drawing characters with chipmunk faces and wandered down the avant-garde path. I’m pretty sure that after a few too many huffs of crack, they decided to adapt a psychedelic adventure in which Jesus and Buddha are roommates, but are pretty much gay.

• The character designs are weird, Jesus looks like a praying mantis. And the cringe-worthy source material wrote these two formerly renowned religious saints as cute boys who update their blog and do tee shirt prints in their apartment as NEETs.

• I initially read more
Jan 1, 2018
FoxThrowaway (All reviews)
This anime covers the story of Jesus and Buddha who come to Earth on a vacation. It's filled with all kinds of mischief and fun. If you're looking for something to cheer you up, look no further than this.

The story is just that, they're here for vacation. It might sound boring to some, but it's the funniest anime I've seen in a while.

It's filled with religious jokes and their roles and abilities as Gods are used in a clever and funny way. The sound is pretty good as well, there is quite a lot of "in mind" dialogue which is great as the dialogue itself.

The read more
Oct 25, 2017
MurderofCrows13 (All reviews)
As soon as I saw this show's description I knew I had to see it. I love religious humor, and I grew up in a semi-Christian religion, so I think I know enough to appreciate the Christian humor, at least.
The only part I ended up liking is the original premise. I didn't find this funny. At all. I think it might be because the show didn't go far enough in it's humor, so as to not offend religious anime watchers. Also, I don't know very much about Hinduism, so that could have affected my enjoyment. Still, I didn't find any of Jesus's humor funny. read more
Sep 11, 2016
surgexx (All reviews)
Jesus & Buddha come together in this light-hearted comedy full of funny incongruences between what they are taught to be and how they're represented in a more relatable and goofy way. Their characters draw on a rich mythology that everyone is already familiar with, but in a much different, modern setting.

The landowner is a very strict old lady who just wants no shenanigans.
After strange events and miracles occur centered around her new tenants, she grows suspicious that there is something odd about the duo. It's not easy to pass as normal when they've been out of touch with the world for thousand of years.

Threatened read more