Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kamisama Hajimemashita


Alternative Titles

English: Kamisama Kiss
Japanese: 神様はじめました

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2012 to Dec 25, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:05 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy, ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.111 (scored by 171083171,083 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #291
Members: 334,069
Favorites: 8,038

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 14, 2012
berserk-san (All reviews)
Preliminary
Positively surprised by the pleasant opening and ending music, I must admit the anime has really charmed me. Right from the start you get drawn into it and sing along :) a… a a a… kamisama…

The plot has it all: beautiful animation, interesting story, spiritual world of youkai, deities, shrines, current world and school life as well as different handsome male characters. Everything is perfectly combined and thus great romance and comedy has been created.

Nanami may call herself super lucky considering her life before meeting Mikage. Now, treated like a goddess (which she became), her familiar cooks, cleans, makes appointments, has great manners, takes read more
Dec 8, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah kamisama, why doesn't money grow on trees especially when I'm in debt?

Ah kamisama, where are you when I need you the most?

Ah kamisama, why can't the world be perfect?

In a nutshell, Kamisama Hajimemashita (also known as Kamisama Kiss) is based on the manga of the same name written by Julietta Suzuki. She is known for several other lighthearted shoujo manga that involves supernatural elements such as Karakuri Odette. The series debuted in Fall of 2012 along with many other shuojo titles.

The series tells the story of a young girl named Nanami Momozono, who is alone..abandoned, and helpless. The innocent little lamp makes an read more
Oct 13, 2014
angelsreview (All reviews)
A young girl is abandoned by her father who owes money and is left to fend for herself. This sounds like it’s an excuse for the parents to not care what happens to their child while strange things are around them. It’s cliché but I can’t think of any other way they could have walked around this. The fact of the matter is that they had to get rid of the parents one way or another and they picked one of the two ways they could have done it. That or make them dead and have her an orphan but that one is used even read more
Mar 21, 2013
DeathByFloss (All reviews)
Lighthearted, sweet with a dash of supernatural occurrences. It's the perfect recipe for a wonderful romantic comedy. The anime has a decent story, sadly shortened by the amount of episodes. However this does not spoil the story nor the character development.

The anime has lovely artwork and a pleasant soundtrack (including the opening and ending theme which are gorgeous!) I find the characters appealing and engaging, also the comedy is rather light hearted and bearable in comparison to many slap-stick alternatives.

I find it hard to not get into this anime considering that it combines comedy, a bit of action, supernatural and romance all read more
Dec 12, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

When you think about it, one's home is a very precious thing. It's a safe haven. It's private. It contains the parts of one's life he or she loves the most, including family or that newly imported figure. When someone says that the atmosphere feels "homely," it's because at that moment, it is reminding him or her of that one place where he or she can truly be at peace. Sadly, some people don't have such a location. Others still are forced to change it. Within Kamisama Hajimemashita is a story depicting finding one's home with the help read more
Oct 27, 2012
KeiPyon (All reviews)
Preliminary
-this is my first time writing a review so sorry it's kinda long-

As a HUGE fan of the manga this anime has to be one of the BIGGEST things I've been looking forward to. I always hoped it would be animated and freaked out the day I found out about it (two days before it aired)

The story is awesome I recently got into watching/reading anime/manga about youkai/ayakashi/akuma, whatever you want to call them, and when I first read the manga I fell in love with it.

As for the anime.....one word. AFRIKINAMAZING!!! (yes that counts as one word Xp)
read more
Feb 20, 2015
SnazzGary (All reviews)
With the new season upon us, I thought I'd take the time to re-write a review I once deleted.

There may be very minor spoilers, so please, be aware.

Ah, Kamisama Kiss. My one and eternal anime-enemy. I didn't think much when starting it, and just thought of it as another one of those shoujo girl-meets-supernatural guy and falls in love. Well, I wasn't necessarily wrong on that aspect. However, diving into it as the episodes moved along, I noticed disturbingly nostalgic details that I've seen before.

Story (60/100)—Nothing too exciting. A regular high school girl gets thrust into a world she is unfamiliar with, and read more
Jul 11, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Ah, I have discovered a fine piece of art. The perfect, heartwarming and relaxing anime with several of my favorite genres combined together. Romance and comedy. Kamisama Hajimemashita offers masterpiece soundtracks and a decent story where anyone can enjoy anywhere and everywhere.

This anime saved my life. Before I discovered this anime I was at the urge of death from now being able to find an anime similar to Mahoutsukai no Yome. Although I have tried to watch other anime, none of them intrigued me. However, before I gave up my desire to watch anime I found an interesting anime called Kamisama Hajimashita.

The anime read more
Nov 13, 2012
Momo33 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just a warning that I have only watched the first couple of episodes and that this review is only based on what I've seen.

While watching the first episode of the anime, I was left with goosebumps. Not because of excitement, but of how embarassed I was with how it all turned out. It was sheer horror that such a brilliant manga was reduced to some fleeting anime that was probably made to attract viewers.

When comparing it to its manga, I am not impressed with the anime. It seems as if it was made out of the whim with simplistic graphic designs. I mean c'mon, read more
Jun 16, 2013
NostalgiaCrisis (All reviews)
I'm normally not a fan of your typical comedy/romance/shoujo anime, but I must admit I really loved this one.
Now, the plot may not be that original, but who cares? It's an enjoyable anime, that's more than enough to satisfy the regular viewer.

Story 9/10:A quick synopsis of the anime would be a girl becomes a deity, and get's a familiar. As she starts to train to become a better deity her relationship grows with her familiar. The story is basically set up for a romance theme, and it's quite interesting. There are some cool fight scenes and very good plot lines. It's definitely not read more
Mar 31, 2015
KD7BWB (All reviews)
Lion Tamers, Lion Tamers; gather round!

We take a look at "Kamisama Hajimemashita"

As some of you, who've been reading my reviews know; I have for a long time, been attempting to understand the teenage mind. After all, I was one once, ummm ... around the late 1960's. That was another time. Those were the days when a college graduate could find the United States on a colored World Globe. These days, 48% of college grads can't; actual statistic. In a very real sense, most people of that stripe today; can't find their own butt with both hands. Which explains why some can't properly analyze anime very read more
Dec 6, 2019
RookieQueenOtaku (All reviews)
I really enjoyed Kamisama. It really sparked a happiness in me and I finished it pretty quickly. It was so much fun to watch and the characters were so attachable. The story line also hooked me pretty quickly, and though I have incredibly low standards for anime (lol) I think this one is pretty good. I was intenstly invested in Tomoe and Nanami's relationship, and the heartbreak of the taboo was hard for me to handle. I think that the really good anime are the one that make you feel as if you were in their shoes, and feel emotional over the characters and their read more
Aug 1, 2014
gamije (All reviews)
I didn't have much expectation for this anime to begin with but from what I saw, it was actually decent and cute; something you would expect from anything involving a female high school student and a kitsune-type character. Throw in a few extra men just to make the love interest realize his feelings, and the formula of a good romantic comedy is complete.

The story isn't complicated whatsoever. In fact, it's incredibly basic and easy to understand. Even with the few snippets of backstory that was shown, you can piece together a few things. The animation was nice and somehow suited the love interests character read more
Jul 27, 2014
LollipopXXX (All reviews)
Okay so to start off this anime is my top anime, so I may be slightly biased.

Story: 9/10
The story kinda started off as a main occurrence then expanded into some side stories. The manga's storyline is better of course, but the anime has an enjoyable storyline as well. You will not be lacking a lovely dose of gods or traditional clothing mixed in with some mythology.
Art: 9/10
I guess the art could have been better, but overall the art was very cute and pleasing to watch. It was done in a shoujo-like style, with the females possessing large eyes and the males having smaller, read more
Jan 10, 2013
quercifolia (All reviews)
Some spoilers...

Story: [8/10]

Interesting plot, a girl loses her house but is given a new house by a mysterious man and becomes the new Earth God of a shrine. Needless t say it doesn't start perfectly but things turn out alright in the end!

Art: [8/10]

Not much to say, the art was nice and well animated, with nice backgrounds and textures.

Sound: [7/10]

The OP theme was really catchy, after a couple episodes I found myself humming along! The ED theme was not so catchy but still was pretty good.

SE, some of them were fairly generic. BGM, nothing really stood out as bad, but nothing stood out as extremely read more
Jul 4, 2015
midnight_gem (All reviews)
This is a review of both season 1 and 2 of Kamisama Hajimemashita, since they were pretty much the same in terms of quality.

Overall Enjoyment- 8/10 Very Good - The best aspect of Kamisama Hajimemashita is definitely the two main characters and how they overcome obstacles and grow closer to each other. The other elements (plot, music, and animation) were enjoyable as well. I have rewatched this series 3 times, and is my favorite anime of all time as a shoujo lover, and is by far among the top 2 best romantic shoujos I have watched, Akatsuki No Yona being the other. The overall read more
Jun 16, 2014
ichibanne (All reviews)
Words cannot describe how much I love this anime. First of all, I'd been plenty away from the usual shoujo, slice of life, romance that it hit me hard how much I'd missed it watching Kamisama Hajimemashita. It's simply a perfect anime to watch during free time because you can't really take it seriously and just fangirl at the otp, which I have the urge to state, but must resist. I hadn't shipped so hard in months, but in this anime, I was screaming inside (cause I'd watch at night) hoping the otp would just admit their undying love for each other. I'd be screaming read more
Oct 9, 2018
AnastasiyaV (All reviews)
[STORY]
-----------
Overall, this season of Kamisama Hajimemashita was very interesting. I for one really enjoy romance and shoujo, and this anime really hit the jackpot. Even though it was really center around only one male protagonist, it was still very enjoyable for me.

[ART]
-----------
The graphics were fantastic, and it was really high quality, adding that the scenery was well detailed as well.

[SOUND]
-----------
I have watched both dubbed and subbed for this anime, and the voice actors / actresses really did a fantastic job of showing emotions in their character, especially Tomoe, Momozono, and Kurama. Even so, I don't remember hearing much background music when it was read more
Nov 2, 2016
RepThe21st (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, I've wanted to stop watching this from the first episode, but I do believe in giving a show 3 episodes to sell itself, so I did watch three.

It did not sell.

The story is is about high-school girl Nanami who, after being thrown on the streets due to her (now fled) father's gambling debts, gets tricked by a minor god into taking over his position, and is swift to bind the former familiar spirit to her service.

Seeing the high scores of other people for this anime really surprised me. To you that have rated this anything from 8 upwards, have you really nothing better to read more
Apr 9, 2013
Bexxii_171611 (All reviews)
I have never actually written a review but this anime made me want to review it.

I was a bit apprehensive about watching this anime to begin with. I thought it would be very cliche` and boring but I was pleasantly surprised and completely wrong.
If you are looking for a romance/comedy then this is one is probably a must watch. There were moments where I anticipated what was going to happen but instead I was left in tears of laughter from the comedy side of this anime.

I don't really think there is any real flaw in Kami-sama Hajimemashita. The only thing that I dislike read more