Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai.


Alternative Titles

English: Oreimo 2
Synonyms: My Little Sister Can't Be This Cute 2, Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai 2
Japanese: 俺の妹がこんなに可愛いわけがない。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Jun 30, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 144,075 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #249
Members: 228,625
Favorites: 1,027

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 11, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
OreImo has had something of a controversial history. And that's not too much of a surprise-- it pushes the notion that wanting to bone your (perhaps nonexistent) sister is perfectly fine. Mind you, there is nothing inherently wrong with incestuous themes when handled maturely. But OreImo is not mature. It had no intentions of being so.

And yet, there was still more to OreImo than the incest appeal. The first season provided a social commentary on otaku culture and its perception in everyday society. It focused on characters that behave and react like human beings do, sometimes even at the cost of likability. When Kyousuke read more
Jul 26, 2013
Nuclearducky (All reviews)
This will be my review on Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai S2 (OreImo2), one of the more popular animes depicting sibling relationships in detail.

OreImo2 takes place right after the events of the specials of season 1. In a fitting opening episode, the still-awkward relationship between Kirino and Kyousuke can be readily seen, demonstrating that the two of them still have a ways of bonding to go, until the girl's otaku habits bring the two of them together.

There's a distinct change between this second season and the preceeding season. While the first season focused on Kirino's 'initiation' into otaku culture, and read more
May 12, 2013
ollythirteen (All reviews)
Preliminary
The idea of incest makes my stomach turn so as you can imagine the title “My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute” (English translation) put me off big time. However, after watching the first season of this show by the recommendation of a friend, I found that not only was this show incest free, but also hugely entertaining and surprisingly deep just like “Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai”.

The key word here is surprisingly deep.

How so? Enter season 2 -

The first, fourth, fifth and sixth episode of this season hint at what this show is really about: a guy who was outshined by his little read more
Jun 29, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
So....what would you do when you find out your cute little sister who you haven't seen in years is a closet otaku?

A) Be in denial and pretend it's a lie
B) Never face your sister again
C) Tell her to end her hobby (this could result in some bitch slaps and higher hospital fees)
D) Support her and swear on your life to never tell anyone about it

Think hard. Well, it doesn't' matter which choice you pick because either way, you will be stuck with your cute little sister with the undeniable fact that she is a closet otaku. In the end, you're just going to have to read more
Jun 29, 2013
Ressamp (All reviews)
To be honest, I still don’t really understand Oreimo. Even after the second season, there’s still things that I’m unsure of. At a glance, the title suggests a story between a sister and a brother, but the thing is, looking back at two seasons of Oreimo, I really don’t think that definition fits all too well.

Here’s the thing - yes, it is a story about a sister and her brother. But that’s not all - Oreimo isn’t just that. Oreimo doesn’t just explore the relationship between a brother and a sister, Oreimo divulges into everyday life, in this case I suppose, the everyday life of read more
Feb 19, 2014
tenoshikami (All reviews)
If you liked or even slightly appreciated this show at all don't read or comment or rate this review in anyway just get out. This isn't for you this is for everybody who hated or has yet to see this show.

Secondly if you are thinking of watching this show DON'T DO IT. You'll hate your life and it will make you beyond depressed. DON'T DO IT.

Overall (after season 1) I had hope for this show. A lot of hope actually. But it didn't even try to make the story worthwhile. It became a game to see how many girls he could make cry in the read more
Jul 27, 2013
Simonian (All reviews)
OreImo. The anime that I couldn't figure out for the life of me is now more obvious than a vegetarian in a grocery shop and about as complex as a technical drawing of a hammer. It has stooped down to the level of your average harem and the studio didn't even do a good job at that.

Now let's recap what made the first season fairly decent. First of all, it was realistic with a capital R and focused not only on the relationship between Kyosuke and Kirino but also on the Otaku community at large. The characters behaved naturally and in my opinion were as read more
Dec 2, 2014
Diables (All reviews)
For more detailed reviews I recommend reading the earlier reviewers. I have only this to say:

I didn't do any research before starting this story so I had no idea what I was going into. First I read the short manga and then just had to see the anime how the story progresses. I really had high hopes that the tale wouldn't be about romantic relations with siblings. Of course I was wrong and wasted a lot of time to see incest romance unravel itself.

Why did I keep watching? Because I honestly thought that this would be a nice tale about brother and sister who regain read more
Jun 30, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
OreImo is back! Now with more fanservice and less fun!

No but really, when I heard OreImo gets a second season I was pretty excited. I loved the first season, it was really entertaining and I had a blast with it. It wasn’t anything great but a good laugh and a lot of Otaku references.

With season 2 though a lot of this changed. I’m not sure if it is me that changed or if A1 Pictures is at fault, or even if the source material is not that good. But season 2 was the biggest disappointment of the year so far.

Story/Content

Kyouske and his sister Kirino are read more
Apr 17, 2014
LoL_Cow (All reviews)
OreImo is the pandering of everyday events of the siblings: Kyousuke and Kirino. If you want an anime with siblings of the opposite gender, along with love interests for the main male character, and very basic plot devices, then this is the anime for you. Plot devices in this anime are used in the most basic of forms, meaning an unexpected twist. To make the predictable unpredictable is one major gripes that I have with OreImo, and it just fails so miserably when the story steers itself back in the direction it came from. The twist just became absolutely unnecessary. It also doesn’t help when read more
Jul 8, 2013
superNinja896 (All reviews)
I'd like to start this review off with my thoughts and opinions on the show's story.

In my opinion, I thought the story was very relatable (Minus the harem). Will someone out in the world disagree with me? I think yes. Because not everyone will think this show is relatable. During the first season, you see Kirino as an Otaku who is simply trying to keep it a secrete that she plays little sister eroge games. I relate to that because in my society, anime watchers are simply classified as "nerds". The story really goes deep inside the life of not only a read more
Apr 10, 2015
OptimisticRebel (All reviews)
Season 1 was stellar. Every episode was outstanding.
Season 2, Episode on episode got worse and worse, then all respect I had left for the little plot development dropped like a lead balloon on conclusion.

After the first season, it was right up there as one of my top 5 animes, but dropped so hard and fast that by the end of season 2, I wanted to wipe all memory of it and claw my eyes out with a rake.
Kuroneko was awesome, but I always saw Kyosuke with Manami, though I would have been happy with a conclusion with either.
I never really liked Ayase, but heck, that read more
Jun 26, 2013
Mazzmoney (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd be the first person to tell you that Season 1 was way better than I thought it would be. I actually liked it, which surprised me, as I thought I would hate it. Hearing there was a second season, I was a little mixed, because I had this feeling that if the show went on any longer it might actually lead to incest. I was fine with the Season 1 ending, but I watched Season 2 anyway. I'm here to say I made a huge mistake.

Where Season 1 was funny, different, and just a joy to watch, Season 2 was boring, cliche, and read more
Sep 29, 2015
Dechie (All reviews)
"Why are you in my way, pervert?"
-Kirino Kosaka

This poignant quote is just a sample of the masterpiece that is Oreimo. Oreimo pushed the boundaries of what we as humans define as "good" into a new genre altogether. But all in all, the main reason why this anime scored a perfect 10/10 was because it did something no anime has ever been able to achieve before: By actually fucking up a simple slice of life premise into oblivion.

The story of Oreimo in itself is quite unique. So unique, in fact, that it can be classified as a whole new genre of anime. I like to call read more
May 5, 2016
Heldengeist (All reviews)
After I digested the experience for a while, here is my spoiler free about OreImo season 2.

It has to be noted, I haven't read the light novel, so I don't know if the characters so different in season 1 and 2 because a new studio took over or it was like this in the source as well. Whether it's the former or the later, the difference is too big to be left unexplained. This totally kills the first one third of the season. From around the 5th episode it gets better, or at least I got used to the difference - but I couldn't get read more
Jul 12, 2014
abotreika (All reviews)
The following review involves only my very own opinion and my personal experiences. Minor spoilers included, read at your own risk. You may or may not like it. Provided that you do not like my review, feel free to vote it down. Or even better: write an own one.

Foreword

You are looking for a funny and entertaining romcom? You might have found one - OreImo is quite funny and somewhat entertaining. But be aware: Do not expect too much, this show truly is about reckless, brave and yeah, pretty silly people.

Story 5/10

The core point of OreImo is a highly complicated (love?) relationship of two blood relatives. read more
Jun 29, 2013
Tristan971 (All reviews)
Well I didn't plan on reviewing this but the "controverse" about it makes me want to.
Spoilers to be expected here and there.

First, let's start with the easy stuff.
- Art is outstanding, as you would expect it's in that "light novel" style that makes it very soft and eye-catching. We see pretty easily that oreimo season 2 was given a large budget.
- Sound was pretty good, although not as nice as in season 1, and the OP/ED themes all were deceiving to me compared to their season 1 peers.
- The story overall, not including character relations, made use of pretty enjoyable comedy, never failed at entertaining read more
Jun 3, 2014
Avmugi (All reviews)
They've done it now. Officially. An anime series has got on my nerves.Even though I don't do reviews for older shows I feel frenzied and obliged to write this just to get the load off me.
This is late but it comes audacious and up to date, it's not just a review, these are my sentiments (unplugged) about this series,that have been collected right after I watched it so they are afresh, so much that I'm not even able to think straight and am punching the keyboard buttons aggressively to type. I am going to give my emotions a voice and I am going to do read more
Aug 18, 2014
Eiji (All reviews)
In general Oreimo has some interesting characters, and has plenty of bright spots where you laugh or really want to find out how the characters relationship evolves because Y has happened. So far so good.

But then comes season 2... And more precisely the second half of season 2. Here the characters relationships start to run amok, make no sense and destroy everything good the series otherwise had built up. I have watched many animes where the ending had either been lacking or confusing. But OreImo takes the price. It leaves you with nothing but bad taste in your mouth.

In short, do watch season read more
Aug 4, 2015
off99555 (All reviews)
I gave this anime 10/10 because of only one reason. It's stuck in my head for many days. I watched Toradora after this but I couldn't enjoy it enough because my head was full of OreImo's memories while watching Toradora.

This may seems biased about the score because I like Kirino's characteristic very much.
Kirino's tsundere part is always unwavering and that made the show enjoyable. It's like never-ending story like One Piece, Dragon Ball, where all characters' habit is constant. But there are also development in skills, feelings and looks.

This anime is semi-harem because the main protagonist made all nearby girls love him. But it's love read more