Joshiraku

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Joshiraku
Synonyms: Rakugo Girls
Japanese: じょしらく

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2012 to Sep 28, 2012
Premiered: Summer 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.491 (scored by 2742527,425 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #16232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1399
Members: 92,211
Favorites: 395
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 16, 2012
MFK (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is my first review, so don't go harsh on me.

So far, this anime has been funny. The references they make are funny, even if I don't get it. As well, the Ending song will be stuck in your head. This anime does what the synopsis says. Its just girls talking about stuff really. The characters are cute too.
Oct 30, 2012
Win_Zero (All reviews)
So, here I go with my first review.

Joshiraku is not the typical moe anime due to the fact that it was created by Kohji Kumeta. For those who are not aware of Kohji Kumeta, he is the person behind Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. This work is different from SZS because the girls of Joshiraku are just cute rakugo girls, unlike the students at SZS, where everyone has a certain disorder, if you can put it in that way.

There is this notion hanging above my head once I watch Joshiraku:
"This anime is full of ordinary dialogue so that the viewers can fully enjoy how cute the read more
Sep 30, 2012
MadScientistJ (All reviews)
"Which do you prefer? Left or Right? Me...I prefer down...I like to look down." Kukuru. Joshiraku was my surprise hit of the 2012 season and honestly I'm surprised that I have not seen more love for this series. This show isn't about being a politically correct melodrama that'll make you shed a few tears for the beautifully crafted characters...It's just FUNNY! Kouji Kumeta's stories are supposed to be taken with an open mind and if you are willing to come at this series willing to make fun of anything then this series will have you looking at the world in a whole different light.

Story: read more
Nov 16, 2014
-Panda_Hero- (All reviews)
(may contain minor spoilers)
YOSH! Slice of Life Comedy review here we go!
Joshiraku is an anime adaptaion of a manga from the same creator of Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei.
Now now, I found this anime by chance but as an avid fan of comedies I couldn't ignore it.
Joshiraku is quite the interesting and funny anime. Be it the interactions between the characters, the parodies or the "breaking of the 4th wall" thingy.
Let us begin

Story:
As a slice of life comedy anime, it doesn't have a specific plot nor anything serious. It does, though, have continuity. Meaning that what happened in an episode will "affect" the future ones, which read more
Jul 31, 2012
OVanBruce (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, English isn't my mother language so forgive if I do some harsh gramatical erros.

Story(?)/argument

Joshiraku is the other manga Kohji Kumeta is writing... Assuming most of you have watched Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei, this new manga/anime can be quite a shock on the first episode specially due to how cute everything is and how charming (if not moe) the girls are... but as almost everything Kumeta does, this traits are quite deceptive. If in Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei every chapter had an steady progression towards the punchline or "the joke" at the end of the episode, joshiraku completely lacks this: the humour is quite read more
Oct 15, 2013
Wizardducklett (All reviews)
What to say about Joshiraku, this is a tough thing to answer. It's basically "Translators note" the anime.



-Story is what you expect from an SoL comedy.

-Art is basic fair with basic character art and pretty good backgrounds. Nothing less from J.C.

-Sound is great. I fucking love the OP, if that means anything...

-Characters are characters

-I enjoyed this series as much as a baka gaijin such as myself can. A lot of the humor is the miss due to culture differences. It's the type of anime that doesn't really need popularity outside of Japan.


Overall I can recommend this anime to anyone and I can read more
Mar 18, 2016
Midg3tLuv (All reviews)
Man always strives for a challenge. Climbing Mt. Everest, landing on the Moon, and finishing Joshiraku are some of the arduous accomplishments ever achieved.

The show is mislabeled as a "comedy". If puns and cultural jokes are all you have to lean on; hire a writer. Don't be so proud that you can't dismiss your own faults. The only thing more revolting than the jokes are the dorks that pretend this is funny because they want to be weeb level 1 million. I understood a couple of the puns in Japanese and they weren't good. I pretty much have a PhD in Dad Humor. Timing and read more
Mar 14, 2015
PhKay (All reviews)
Today was finally the day when i wasn´t able to suppress my desire to review Joshiraku anymore. A show that fascinated me in a very unique way: Joshiraku is great by intentionally beeing bad. I know you probably already think i´m a jerk and stopped reading by now, but i will finish this anyway...

Joshiraku is a 13-episode comedy released by JC Staff in the summer of 2012. While i wasn´t expecting much out of this initially, it became one of the biggest pleasant surprises of the year for me. Every single episode made me laugh out loud while at the same time captivating me read more
Mar 21, 2016
RilakkuLina (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, if you don't know a lot about Japanese culture, you'll be very confused.

Secondly, if you don't speak Japanese, a lot of the puns will fly over your head (though the fansubs certainly do their best to localize it).

If you'd rather not bother with Japanese cultural references, you're probably better off watching Nichijou. If you are interested, however, in talk about places such as Tokyo Tower and Skytree or references to Japanese politics in combination with wacky one-liners, you might like this anime.

I personally am enjoying it a lot, but honestly, around half the bits I thought were funny will probably not be understood read more
Dec 2, 2016
SHivayogimaTH (All reviews)
Joshiraku is an anime about the lives of five rakugo comedian girls. Instead of focusing on the girls rakugo performances, the show reveals what happens off stage and various things that happens in their day-to-day lives.

You would see this sentence being repeat throughout the show: "This anime is full of ordinary dialogue so that viewers can fully enjoy how cute the girls are". This quote highlights the main attraction of the anime: it's dialogue. The show has the ability to turn everyday, trivial matters into something that is absolutely hilarious and even sometimes philosophical. Seeing the interactions between these girls are entertaining. Just like read more
May 5, 2016
PotatoFridges (All reviews)
"This anime is full of ordinary dialogue so that the viewers can fully enjoy how cute the girls are."
That literally sums it up.

At least, that's what I would say if it actually summed it up.
The dialogue is anything but ordinary-- the things they talk about are absolutely hilarious and I found myself almost bawling from laughter very often. All the characters had very different personalities, and, as the above statement said, are all really cute.

Story: 8/10
I was first introduced to Joshiraku through an osu! song- the ending theme, to be exact. It was a great, fun song, and the anime looked good, so I decided read more
Sep 2, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Joshiraku is not a perfect anime. If that is the case, then, why the hell did I grade it a Masterpiece 10? Because just like rakugo itself, Joshiraku is surprisingly hilarious.

This anime does not try to challenge what it means to be a comedy-- it simply reintroduces the old ways of doing comedy and proves its mind-blowing relevancy within the landscape that is Twenty-First Century. Each episode comprises of three sub-parts: the first is all five so-called Rakugo Girls simply hanging out in a dressing room and discussing the weirdest topic, the second is the Rakugo Girls sightseeing and clamoring the weird trivia surrounding each read more
Jul 30, 2018
QuarryQuake (All reviews)
Ahh, Joshiraku. A series that initially I was skeptical about watching, knowing nothing about Rakugo. Surprisingly, not knowing anything about Rakugo did not matter. The series more so uses pop culture, environmental or political humor more than it addresses anything about Rakugo. The characters are marvelously crafted. Each is assigned a niche essentially that they play quite well and throughout the series, build on. The visuals are clean and clear, the music especially the ending, is addicting, and its overall a very enjoyable anime.

Its worth pointing out however that a lot of jokes in the series rely on Japanese puns and Japanese politics read more
May 25, 2019
ABPAEAE (All reviews)
For some reason, I have very good luck discovering gems like this through screencapped memes. I'm surprised I've never heard of this anime until very recently.

Joshiraku is the pinnacle of anime comedy. I wouldn't be surprised if non-anime fans could find this show very enjoyable as well. Throughout every episode, comedic momentum is maintained quite well. There are no dull moments, and the contents of the show don't pander to any particular viewerbase. Instead, Joshiraku is overflowing past the brim with destruction of the fourth wall, and pokes fun at many stereotypical anime cliches spanning every genre. Joshiraku somehow manages to be something incredibly unique read more
Oct 19, 2020
ajbutterfly (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ending song is brilliant, one of my favorites among all anime. That's the only reason I scored the series a 3 instead of 2. Watch the first two episodes which are quite funny and leave it at that. Don't even consider finishing or going forward with the show cause there is literally nothing to watch. The unrealistic and exaggerated events and convos keep us from actually getting into the characters or relating to them. It could have easily been a great one had they not traded in depth/complexity for petty gags. And the creators' repeated proclamations (read justifications) of how boring the anime is doesn't read more
Sep 18, 2012
Hectotane (All reviews)
Preliminary
Joshiraku is an anime form of that friend you wanna avoid. He was fun to have around because he had all these funny and long-winding stories to tell; and you didn't care if they were true or not. But, as time passes, you just wanted him to shut up. He WON'T shut up, no matter what you do or say; no matter how hard you try.

Yeah. Sure. The females who star in this show are cute, hot, moe, whatever. But they get under each other's skin rather quickly.

* Gankyou Kuurubiyuutei (Cool Beauty 4-Eyes): The Heather / Paniponi's Rei
* Marii Buratei (Bloody Mary): The "Holler Back read more
Sep 2, 2015
Aphyxia (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is very hard to fully understand with subtitles only and I reckon most anime watchers will miss much of the content of Joshiraku.

But even then the contents are nothing special and the show does not appeal to me one bit. The puns aren't anything to laugh about (they are neither interesting nor funny). The setting is boring and episodes' plots are lame.

I enjoyed the opening and ending and the voice acting crew was good too but those are all secondary.

Joshiraku is not my cup of tea but I guess there might be people who enjoy this kind of stuff, since the show isn't read more
Nov 14, 2019
Lean_nero19 (All reviews)
The first 3 minutes of the first chapter were very confusing, since I did not understand how it was going, until simply, the chapter began to shine on its own, just like the rest of the series. This is the story of 5 young actresses from Rakugo (it is a type of Japanese entertainment based on humorous monologues out there from the fart century) which are doing very well and are loved by their audience.
Every time the show ends, they get together in the locker room and talk about any topic which obviously makes the situation end in total lack of control where it will read more
Jul 12, 2013
blaZofgold (All reviews)
Yappari wakaranai...Japanese humor

Anime fans out there. Have you noticed how many times the subtitle writer has had to put asterisks around the screen to explain some odd, weird, and convoluted Japanese joke or pun? Manga fans out there. How many times have you had to squint at the fine line between panels to read the direct translation from Japanese, and then sit back and wonder how that was actually funny?

Asian culture spins almost directly counterclockise to Western culture. Asians have different eating, sleeping, working, playing, and ultimately living styles. They have different values, different laws, different mindsets, different beliefs. Undoubtedly, they also find certain things read more
Dec 24, 2012
giantfish (All reviews)
"This anime is full of ordinary dialogue so that the viewers can fully enjoy how cute the girls are"

That quote pretty much sums up the attitude of this show. Joshiraku knows what it's about, and it has no problems flaunting it. It's about entertainment - and despite what the above quote says, its not the fanservice kind (although it does have some). This is a fourth-wall-breaking, satirical comedy/cultural lesson. If you're looking for anything else: 1) don't watch this anime 2) go find something else to watch 3) stop reading this review already, there's no point since you're not going to consider watching this anime read more