Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fruits Basket


Alternative Titles

English: Fruits Basket
Synonyms: Furuba
Japanese: フルーツバスケット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2001 to Dec 27, 2001
Premiered: Summer 2001
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 139,238 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #142
Members: 232,124
Favorites: 6,689

Reviews

ColdBeans
Jan 20, 2009
Story & Characters
10/10
At first glance Furuba is just another Shoujo manga with nothing different to it; the average, beautiful, kind girl getting all the pretty boys. Okay so it really is that, however there's a special touch to the way the series develops itself and how you watch each character grow and interact with each other as the story progresses.

The story starts with Tohru Honda, your as average-as-you-can-get japanese girl who has lost her mother in an accident and was living alone in a tent in the Sohma's property. Of course she wasn't aware of that until they told her, to her surpirse they read more
I found this review Helpful
Sii_Kei
Feb 19, 2009
Fruits Basket is a show that might certainly sound interesting the moment you check the synopsis. People turning into the Chinese zodiac animals, dark and mysterious secrets surrounding them, cute, clueless main heroine – isn't that a great premise for a shoujo series? But only as long as it's executed accordingly.

I decided to watch Fruits Basket after seeing how high it is rated. I wouldn't normally watch a shoujo series, since I find most of them exaggerated and unrealistic – that's why, I expected Furuba to really change my opinion regarding them. Instead, I found Furuba to be exactly what I mostly disliked read more
I found this review Helpful
Sandgolem
Apr 16, 2007
Fruits Basket is a wonderful and moving story which I consider myself fortunate enough to have been shown by a very close friend. This anime is so amazing it touch upon the strings of my heart. I laughed, I cried, and I truely felt for each of the characters.

The anime is centered around a young girl by the name of Tohru Honda, an amazing high school girl who is kind and honest. At the start of the anime she is still struggling to survive after her mothers tragic death. She is taken into the house hold of the cursed family, the Sohma's.

Animation

Is decently done, it read more
I found this review Helpful
YukiUzumaki
Dec 13, 2014
[Disclaimer: I am Reviewing the English Dub. Also, there may be some spoilers along the way. You have been warned!!!]
“I don’t think anyone is born knowing the reason why they’re here it’s just something you have to find as you go along”- Honda Tohru (Fruits Basket)

At first glance, Fruits Basket may appear to be an anime catered specifically to girls, but when looked closely, it is obvious that it can be enjoyed by a much wider audience. Since Fruits Basket is a reverse-harem series with elements of fantasy thrown in, it is only natural to bracket it in the realm of Shoujo anime. However, that read more
I found this review Helpful
phereia
Jul 1, 2009
Watched as a young teen: Loved it
Rewatch as an older teen: Hated it
(somewhat harsh review? please don't be offended)

Sure, when I first watched it I was caught up in the love story, and the humour of the series. I admit it, I was originally a fan! But recently I went back to rewatch what I had once found so brilliant, and I noticed something... I found it 'dreadful'.

It's a shoujo anime. Yes, it has a twist (or perhaps twists?), and a calming sort of mood to it, but almost everything is predictable, and there is certainly nothing appealing (to me) about most of the characters. read more
I found this review Helpful
DragonsWhip
Dec 20, 2007
Another review of FB? Yes, another one, but this one is one worth reading if you want to know if you'll want to watch it or not.

First of all, the story. Honda Tohru, a girl whose mom has passed away recently, lives on her own in a tent. Untill she suddenly discovers the house of Sohma, where one of her classmates lives! The house is quite normal, but the members of the house aren't... This gives very funny situations and this is not something that you so often in anime, so this is the part that makes the story not too typical read more
I found this review Helpful
Ceray
Feb 4, 2007
When it first came out as manga I picked up Fruits Basket and fell in love with it instantly. A few weeks later, I insisted my mother buy a DVD from the anime series, sadly I only watched the last six episodes, and then a few months ago Hakoot let me borrow the series from her, and how happy I was.

Anyway, Fruits Basket is about the orphan Torhu Honda who starts the story out by living in a tent in the woods. A sequence of events leads to her staying in the house of her handsome classmate Yuki Sohma and his cousin Shigure. On read more
I found this review Helpful
GingerPocky
Jul 21, 2015
Fruits Basket is not a good anime.

Reasons I do not like it:

First off, the characters are all Mary Sues. Tohru is inexplicably loved by all of the characters in the Fruits Basket universe. Yuki is also loved by almost every female (and some males) at his high school, even though he rejects them constantly. Kyo is hostile to everybody yet they love to be around him. Mary Sue characters are very annoying and hard to relate to. They are also unrealistic and insult the viewer. I also feel that it has too many characters to follow, too many to care about individually. It's almost read more
I found this review Helpful
AstuteOtaku
Jan 10, 2010
Story: 7
The plot was simple and plain, mostly giving a moral a episode involving friendship, hilarious classic lines, mostly from Shigure, and emotional backstories that make you want to cuddle the poor little puppies. It's not that the story was at all bad, it just wasn't very good. But the story and writing was fluff, not just a little fluff, I mean so fluffy that it's like falling into a vat of cotton candy with rose petals. This show is that fluffy. Then again I'm a guy so I may not get the whole point since this show is the physical read more
I found this review Helpful
lchoister
Jul 13, 2007
Fruits Basket was so cute to watch. It really took me back...one of those really old school super mangas that I used to read. The anime tells the story of Tohru Honda after the death of her mom. She somehow ends up living with some members of the Sohma clan - a most beautiful lineage if I might add despite some major personality flaws.

It is so engaging and definitely fun to watch. The anime only covers up to Volume 8 of the Fruits Basket manga so if you want to know how the story concludes, you need to read the manga read more
I found this review Helpful
jzmcdaisy
Feb 16, 2015
It's very difficult for me to like a romance story for a lot of reasons but it's even harder to write a review if I liked it. Fruits Basket has been the first of several light comedy romances I've watched and it does it's job of being what it is very well. It knows its demographic, it knows its characters, and it is adorable. However this is a show that feels the need to throw together an ending most suitable for a standard story arc but falls short of creating a satisfying and tense one due to the episodic and comedic nature of the show. read more
I found this review Helpful
Sapphire
Oct 14, 2015
What do you get when you combine the Chinese zodiac with a cute idea for an anime? Fruits Basket. And trust me; it’s not as good as you think.

Story: 3/10

Sure you got your cute animals and cute characters, but let’s look at the bigger picture here. Yes…the idea of how bloody slow….this….anime….is……. I was very close to dropping it if it wasn’t for the humour hidden in each episode. But what the heck is with the creators making such a big fuss about a part in the plot then brush it off as…nothing. NOTHING HAPPENS UNTIL THE END! Annoying? You got it. The pace read more
I found this review Helpful
animegurl09
Mar 21, 2009
I can't believe I haven't written a review about my favorite anime of all time. Well here it is. Fruits basket is a great anime to watch if you are into romance/comedy/drama. Not only does it have a nice storyline but it has great characters. I am sure that you will have a favorite character in this series because each one is special in there own way. Here are three main reasons Fruits basket is my favorite anime.

1. The main character (Tohru Honda) is so likable. She is caring, puts others people's feelings before her own, works hard, and doesn't judge by appearances (you will read more
I found this review Helpful
Midievalfantasy
May 13, 2015
I'll try to make sure not to give any plot spoilers nor will I compare it with the manga (as I have yet to read the manga). With that, I'll begin my review with the hope it makes sense.

1. Story (8/10)

"Fruits Basket" had a great plot. I loved the idea of the animals from the Chinese zodiac being incorporated into the characters. For this reason, I had very high expectations when going into this anime. Sadly, for as great as a concept as the story was, I simply couldn't relate to it or find myself engaged in the episodes. More than once I kept read more
I found this review Helpful
AngelAoi
Oct 7, 2007
I remeber seeing the DVD in the shop and thinking how different it was, a story about zodiacs? who turn into animals when hugged? but i was thrilled at how many episodes were in each dvd, once it begun.

Soon as i watched the first episode i just couldnt stop watching, each new introduction for a new character would equal more love for the series. Each character had a wonderful trait about them.

There was so many characters and you just kept wanting to know who would be what animal. You follow Tohru as she stumbles upon them and from then on you enjoy discovering each new read more
I found this review Helpful
MrSparklePants
Nov 14, 2014
In the mood for something calm and relaxing? Something that charms you to your core and makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside. That grants you great life lessons, and that inspires you through tough times. Yes? Well then, it's time to sit down and let Tohru Honda take up the screen in front of you. Somehow, watching this anime seems to have the effect of drinking tea, lighting incense and sitting in a massage chair combined. Bye bye stress!

Now, if you want non stop action that gets your adrenaline racing then you might find yourself still lacking that 'hit' after watching this. Likewise if read more
I found this review Helpful
Megan_Rene
May 8, 2016
To begin with I will just say that I have never been a slice-of-life kind of girl. I always go for the action/fantasy story lines, though I enjoy a dash of romance and some comedy here and there. Although this may be in-part a fantasy anime with tidbits of action it is by no-means an action fantasy anime. To be honest it has a very slice-of-life feel which I'm not usually too drawn to, but THIS, this anime has buried itself deep into my heart. At first, I thought the characters were mediocre and too innocent for my taste. At first I thought it was read more
I found this review Helpful
Matatudriver
Nov 8, 2014
So, this will be my first review of an anime, so please bear with my newbie-ish review. This review will be talking about my first ever anime series: FRUITS BASKET! Because I thought it would be appropriate for a first review. I haven't watched it in some time so i might get some facts wrong, also if you think the review was helpful/not helpful, then i want you to explain why so that i can get some constructive criticism.


Story: 7/10
Alrighty, so the story is pretty new and refreshing, its pretty different from any other anime that i have seen but I guess its nothing really read more
I found this review Helpful
ThatDubbedGuy
Oct 31, 2013
There comes a time for every generation of Otaku or general anime viewer, when they are done taking their baby steps into anime i.e. when they’ve stopped/watched enough of the most popular Shōnen or Mecha show/s and they become confident enough walking on their own that they start to go off and explore what’s around that big bad internet to see what other animes are out there, that, they stumble, or rather are introduced to (like myself) their first Shōjo/Harem/Moé/Yaoi show; You know, the K-On!’s, the Ouran’s, the Clannad’s, the Chobits, the Free!’s (for all you newbies) or hell, even Sailor Moon from back in read more
I found this review Helpful
lowlyfme
Dec 13, 2014
This was one of the first animes I ever watched, and I was hooked. What's not to like about people turning into horoscope animals?

The story was really interesting for me. The plot was your typical anime, but I can't recall any major climaxes in the plot until the last couple of episodes. It stayed relatively mellow throughout. That's not to say it was boring though. It just wasn't over the top.

I thought the artwork was about as good as any other anime. Good scenery. Nice detail. And the facial expressions weren't too exaggerated.

The music was enjoyable, but it's not something you'll want to blast read more
I found this review Helpful