Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fruits Basket


Alternative Titles

English: Fruits Basket
Synonyms: Furuba
Japanese: フルーツバスケット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2001 to Dec 27, 2001
Premiered: Summer 2001
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 151,807 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #170
Members: 258,595
Favorites: 7,069

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 20, 2009
ColdBeans (All reviews)
Story & Characters
10/10
At first glance Furuba is just another Shoujo manga with nothing different to it; the average, beautiful, kind girl getting all the pretty boys. Okay so it really is that, however there's a special touch to the way the series develops itself and how you watch each character grow and interact with each other as the story progresses.

The story starts with Tohru Honda, your as average-as-you-can-get japanese girl who has lost her mother in an accident and was living alone in a tent in the Sohma's property. Of course she wasn't aware of that until they told her, to her surpirse they read more
Feb 19, 2009
Sii_Kei (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is a show that might certainly sound interesting the moment you check the synopsis. People turning into the Chinese zodiac animals, dark and mysterious secrets surrounding them, cute, clueless main heroine – isn't that a great premise for a shoujo series? But only as long as it's executed accordingly.

I decided to watch Fruits Basket after seeing how high it is rated. I wouldn't normally watch a shoujo series, since I find most of them exaggerated and unrealistic – that's why, I expected Furuba to really change my opinion regarding them. Instead, I found Furuba to be exactly what I mostly disliked read more
Apr 16, 2007
Sandgolem (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is a wonderful and moving story which I consider myself fortunate enough to have been shown by a very close friend. This anime is so amazing it touch upon the strings of my heart. I laughed, I cried, and I truely felt for each of the characters.

The anime is centered around a young girl by the name of Tohru Honda, an amazing high school girl who is kind and honest. At the start of the anime she is still struggling to survive after her mothers tragic death. She is taken into the house hold of the cursed family, the Sohma's.

Animation

Is decently done, it read more
Jul 1, 2009
phereia (All reviews)
Watched as a young teen: Loved it
Rewatch as an older teen: Hated it
(somewhat harsh review? please don't be offended)

Sure, when I first watched it I was caught up in the love story, and the humour of the series. I admit it, I was originally a fan! But recently I went back to rewatch what I had once found so brilliant, and I noticed something... I found it 'dreadful'.

It's a shoujo anime. Yes, it has a twist (or perhaps twists?), and a calming sort of mood to it, but almost everything is predictable, and there is certainly nothing appealing (to me) about most of the characters. read more
Dec 20, 2007
DragonsWhip (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another review of FB? Yes, another one, but this one is one worth reading if you want to know if you'll want to watch it or not.

First of all, the story. Honda Tohru, a girl whose mom has passed away recently, lives on her own in a tent. Untill she suddenly discovers the house of Sohma, where one of her classmates lives! The house is quite normal, but the members of the house aren't... This gives very funny situations and this is not something that you so often in anime, so this is the part that makes the story not too typical read more
Feb 4, 2007
Ceray (All reviews)
When it first came out as manga I picked up Fruits Basket and fell in love with it instantly. A few weeks later, I insisted my mother buy a DVD from the anime series, sadly I only watched the last six episodes, and then a few months ago Hakoot let me borrow the series from her, and how happy I was.

Anyway, Fruits Basket is about the orphan Torhu Honda who starts the story out by living in a tent in the woods. A sequence of events leads to her staying in the house of her handsome classmate Yuki Sohma and his cousin Shigure. On read more
Jan 10, 2010
AstuteOtaku (All reviews)
Story: 7
The plot was simple and plain, mostly giving a moral a episode involving friendship, hilarious classic lines, mostly from Shigure, and emotional backstories that make you want to cuddle the poor little puppies. It's not that the story was at all bad, it just wasn't very good. But the story and writing was fluff, not just a little fluff, I mean so fluffy that it's like falling into a vat of cotton candy with rose petals. This show is that fluffy. Then again I'm a guy so I may not get the whole point since this show is the physical read more
Jul 13, 2007
lchoister (All reviews)
Fruits Basket was so cute to watch. It really took me back...one of those really old school super mangas that I used to read. The anime tells the story of Tohru Honda after the death of her mom. She somehow ends up living with some members of the Sohma clan - a most beautiful lineage if I might add despite some major personality flaws.

It is so engaging and definitely fun to watch. The anime only covers up to Volume 8 of the Fruits Basket manga so if you want to know how the story concludes, you need to read the manga read more
Jul 21, 2015
GingerPocky (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is not a good anime.

Reasons I do not like it:

First off, the characters are all Mary Sues. Tohru is inexplicably loved by all of the characters in the Fruits Basket universe. Yuki is also loved by almost every female (and some males) at his high school, even though he rejects them constantly. Kyo is hostile to everybody yet they love to be around him. Mary Sue characters are very annoying and hard to relate to. They are also unrealistic and insult the viewer. I also feel that it has too many characters to follow, too many to care about individually. It's almost read more
Dec 13, 2014
YukiUzumaki (All reviews)
[Disclaimer: I am Reviewing the English Dub. Also, there may be some spoilers along the way. You have been warned!!!]
“I don’t think anyone is born knowing the reason why they’re here it’s just something you have to find as you go along”- Honda Tohru (Fruits Basket)

At first glance, Fruits Basket may appear to be an anime catered specifically to girls, but when looked closely, it is obvious that it can be enjoyed by a much wider audience. Since Fruits Basket is a reverse-harem series with elements of fantasy thrown in, it is only natural to bracket it in the realm of Shoujo anime. However, that read more
Oct 14, 2015
Sapphire (All reviews)
What do you get when you combine the Chinese zodiac with a cute idea for an anime? Fruits Basket. And trust me; it’s not as good as you think.

Story: 3/10

Sure you got your cute animals and cute characters, but let’s look at the bigger picture here. Yes…the idea of how bloody slow….this….anime….is……. I was very close to dropping it if it wasn’t for the humour hidden in each episode. But what the heck is with the creators making such a big fuss about a part in the plot then brush it off as…nothing. NOTHING HAPPENS UNTIL THE END! Annoying? You got it. The pace read more
Mar 21, 2009
animegurl09 (All reviews)
I can't believe I haven't written a review about my favorite anime of all time. Well here it is. Fruits basket is a great anime to watch if you are into romance/comedy/drama. Not only does it have a nice storyline but it has great characters. I am sure that you will have a favorite character in this series because each one is special in there own way. Here are three main reasons Fruits basket is my favorite anime.

1. The main character (Tohru Honda) is so likable. She is caring, puts others people's feelings before her own, works hard, and doesn't judge by appearances (you will read more
Oct 7, 2007
AngelAoi (All reviews)
I remeber seeing the DVD in the shop and thinking how different it was, a story about zodiacs? who turn into animals when hugged? but i was thrilled at how many episodes were in each dvd, once it begun.

Soon as i watched the first episode i just couldnt stop watching, each new introduction for a new character would equal more love for the series. Each character had a wonderful trait about them.

There was so many characters and you just kept wanting to know who would be what animal. You follow Tohru as she stumbles upon them and from then on you enjoy discovering each new read more
Feb 16, 2015
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
It's very difficult for me to like a romance story for a lot of reasons but it's even harder to write a review if I liked it. Fruits Basket has been the first of several light comedy romances I've watched and it does it's job of being what it is very well. It knows its demographic, it knows its characters, and it is adorable. However this is a show that feels the need to throw together an ending most suitable for a standard story arc but falls short of creating a satisfying and tense one due to the episodic and comedic nature of the show. read more
May 13, 2015
Midievalfantasy (All reviews)
I'll try to make sure not to give any plot spoilers nor will I compare it with the manga (as I have yet to read the manga). With that, I'll begin my review with the hope it makes sense.

1. Story (8/10)

"Fruits Basket" had a great plot. I loved the idea of the animals from the Chinese zodiac being incorporated into the characters. For this reason, I had very high expectations when going into this anime. Sadly, for as great as a concept as the story was, I simply couldn't relate to it or find myself engaged in the episodes. More than once I kept read more
Jan 25, 2007
ivorykeys (All reviews)
Aw, Fruits Basket is a cute anime. I'm really into action shows like Fullmetal Alchemist, Inuyasha, Naruto, Gundam Wing/Seed, etc. so I wasn't sure if I would like this series or not. However, when I watched it, I just couldn't stop. Tearing myself away from the TV was heart-wrenching! The plot is well written and you'll love the characters. The show is hilarious and very cute and it'll have you laughing and smiling during every episode. Even if your an action fan like me, you should definitely give this anime a shot.
Dec 12, 2012
Blood_Sword (All reviews)
IF YOU ARE A MEGA FAN OF FURUBA ANIME DON'T READ THIS BECAUSE IT MIGHT BURST YOUR PERFECT BUBBLE.

This is my first review so bear with me.

First of, I read the manga before watching the anime. I had kinda high expectations of the anime because everyone seem to be praising it to Heaven and back. I enjoyed the manga (especially the later volumes) so I decided to give the anime a try too... I can say I was quite disappointed.

Okay, I'm a guy and not really a fan of shoujo manga but what originally got me to be interested in Fruits Basket was the zodiac read more
Oct 31, 2013
ThatDubbedGuy (All reviews)
There comes a time for every generation of Otaku or general anime viewer, when they are done taking their baby steps into anime i.e. when they’ve stopped/watched enough of the most popular Shōnen or Mecha show/s and they become confident enough walking on their own that they start to go off and explore what’s around that big bad internet to see what other animes are out there, that, they stumble, or rather are introduced to (like myself) their first Shōjo/Harem/Moé/Yaoi show; You know, the K-On!’s, the Ouran’s, the Clannad’s, the Chobits, the Free!’s (for all you newbies) or hell, even Sailor Moon from back in read more
May 8, 2016
Megan_Rene (All reviews)
To begin with I will just say that I have never been a slice-of-life kind of girl. I always go for the action/fantasy story lines, though I enjoy a dash of romance and some comedy here and there. Although this may be in-part a fantasy anime with tidbits of action it is by no-means an action fantasy anime. To be honest it has a very slice-of-life feel which I'm not usually too drawn to, but THIS, this anime has buried itself deep into my heart. At first, I thought the characters were mediocre and too innocent for my taste. At first I thought it was read more
Jan 18, 2009
Dr_Jan_Itor (All reviews)
A Short Review for the Reader without much time:
Story (8/10): The story is one of the high points of this anime, it is original, compelling, and heartwarming.
Art (6/10): The artwork isn't amazing persay, but is still pretty good, there are some parts where the art is neglected, and isn't that detailed.
Sound (6/10): The music fits the setting of the anime, but doesn't do justice for the comedy in the anime. It is too slow paced, and creates an uncomfortable atmosphere after each episode.
Character (9/10): The characters are what make this anime, they are all likable in physique and personality, they are all original in creation, read more