Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Natsume Yuujinchou Shi


Alternative Titles

English: Natsume's Book of Friends Season 4
Synonyms: Natsume Yuujinchou Four, Natsume Yuujinchou 4, Natsume Yujincho 4
Japanese: 夏目友人帳 肆

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 3, 2012 to Mar 27, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.711 (scored by 70,003 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #673
Members: 152,762
Favorites: 1,511

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 25, 2012
ins-chan (All reviews)
Anime about goodbyes.
It's that kind of piece that breaks your heart into shards, and eventually bends it into something harder and more fragile at the same time.
It's that kind of series that leaves you smiling and crying hysterically to the melody of the ending.
Mar 28, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
*This review encompasses all four "seasons" of Natsume's Book of Friends*

There is a wide variety of adjectives you can use to describe an anime series; hilarious, dramatic, romantic, horrific, and the like. Natsume's Book of Friends is best described using the words beautiful, heart-warming, and emotional. It is rare to find a series that evokes such powerful emotions in each episode without dropping the ball for four seasons, but Natsume's Book of Friends makes it seem effortless with masterful storytelling along with a strong cast of characters.

The premise of the story is supernatural: our protagonist Natsume Takashi can see "youkai" or spirits, a trait inheritedfrom read more
Jul 12, 2013
NostalgiaCrisis (All reviews)
What? It's over already?!

Those thoughts never left my head while watching this season. Although I'll have to admit, I was slightly disappointed in the lack of "big events" during this season. However, the anime has always kept a relaxing mood, whilst gently adding action and drama in small amounts. It'd be weird if something completely crazy and big were to happen anyways. I found myself wishing Natsume would say more things, admit more things, yet how realistic is it for him to actually do everything we as the viewers want him to do? In reality, Natsume has always acted in character, even when he read more
Oct 14, 2012
animeRoads (All reviews)
Hmm..... how do you review an anime considered to be a sleeper masterpiece? How do you place a rank on the underdog? How, I ask those who are reading this review, How?

I am a man of neutralness. I find both good and bad in all animes... all except this. For all 4 seasons, 50+ episodes, I cannot find a single fault with this anime. The story is exceptional... each episode withholds a magic of uniqueness. There's literally no telling where the particular episode will lead to (unless it is an continuation). And although the characters are introduced in a random order, they contribute to the read more
Mar 4, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
This season was so. freakin'. good. I did not expect this anime to go into such detail about Natsume's background-- and I loved it!

The way this anime tells his story is so awesome. It's difficult to explain without spoiling anything, but the mood this anime is able to set for Natsume's backstory without sacrificing the charm and tranquil nature of the anime is something I didn't expect to be done well, and it was. Another thing I've really been wanting out of this anime for a while is a continuous storyline that stretches for longer than an episode or two, and this season finally gave read more
Aug 2, 2016
Takano28 (All reviews)
I highly suggest watching the other season's first.

Story 10/10: Natsume Yuujinchou’s arcs and episodes tend to be self-contained in both thematic and literal setting and this continues throughout this season. Now we are able to see Natsume's continued development as a character. He continues to attempt to better both his human life and his relations with the youkai. Natsume's struggle to reconcile with both parts of his life creates tension with some of his human counterparts. Throughout its fourth season we get to explore Natsume's unwillingness to share his emotions, and gradual attempt to overcome them. Each arc/episode hits important messages without feeling patronizing, read more
Apr 21, 2014
plaingeneric (All reviews)
I'm so glad i found this anime. Natsume really brought me to tears , both happy and sad. This season is probably my favorite though. It goes into deep detail about his family, his past life and his friends. Natsume begins to open up more to yokai and his human friends. This anime is honestly so uplifting. Through out the seasons , this season he finally accepts how happy he is, all the new people he met, and happily accepting that he can see yokai. I literally feel like i watched natsume grow up and toughen up into a person he truly was from the read more
Nov 12, 2015
No_Longer_Human (All reviews)
This entire series is just one sad dog. However, there is an evolution to it. The first season, was like a 3 legged puppy found in a garbage bag, barely alive and bruised. The second season, was the same dog being nursed to health. Still sad mind you. The third, the dog is nearly healthy, an all the bruises are gone. Now, it's just a three legged dog with a big smile.

The series has lost it's sadness and deep realism it had to begin with, but it's just the evolution of the show & Natsume himself.

The story, though it has less big moments read more
Nov 6, 2016
atKatlin (All reviews)
Of all anime I have seen Natsume Yuujinchou able to give a nice prequels something that a must watch. This fourth season is the one I will give a review because it is the one that gives me a heart-stirring. Each Natsume Yuujinchou season has a progressive story and little by little revealed the mystery. The art and sound are still stunning and relaxing. The seiyuu able to portray a calm or compose vibe to the character of Natsume. I also like the eccentric relationship of nyanko-sensei and Natsume. In this season, the one you should look forward to is the involvement of nyanko-sensei. Overall, read more
Sep 13, 2015
noamsky (All reviews)
Natsume's Book of Friends

A life enclosed in isolation, that's the daily standard for Natsume Takashi. He happens to be special, but according to him for the worse. His eyesight extends beyond the world people usually dwell. His extraordinary spirit, allows him to see what human in reality co-exist with. This "gift" however has for the most part brought hardships upon him. Terrorized by the so called read more
Mar 27, 2012
Aria34 (All reviews)
I love Natsume Yuujinchou to bits. And, although it seems rather pointless to write a review on an instalment in a series, I actually find it beneficial to look back on each season and see what each individual season accomplished, especially since Nartsume Yuujinchou is one of those series that doesn't have an particular end goal or big boss to defeat.

This season was great for really seeing how far Natsume has grown throughout the series. While the first season mainly consisted of stories about the youkai he encountered, the later seasons focused more and more on the people in Natsume's life and Natsume himself. read more
Feb 8, 2016
deadlegend (All reviews)
Story
The series has a calm and kind atmosphere about it. Even in dangerous situations it feels mostly calm somehow. Also I find that it flows well and mostly isn't predictable which makes it very interesting to watch.

Art
Beautiful art style. Fits well with the story.

Sound
The music and sound/s are awesome. The character voices fit well.
The opening and ending are beautiful and fit the series very well.

Character
The characters are lovely. Maybe it's unrealistic that they're all so kind and reasonable (and if they're shown unkind and later turn out kind in their core) but I love them.

Enjoyment
I love it.

Overall
There are few situations that seem unrealistic but overall read more
Nov 21, 2016
Axel_Blaze (All reviews)
The review will be mainly of the first 4 seasons.

From the very name of the anime you already understand you are going to see something out of the ordinary. “Yuujin” is not a word very commonly used in anime, its either “nakama” for comrades or “tomodachi” for friends. However Yuujin carries with it a weight, and it tells you this show is not one of those simple “happy go lucky” ones, and boy didn’t it carry a lot of weight.

The show starts off right in the middle of action and uses the action as an exposition of its nature. This serves its purpose of engrossing read more
Dec 13, 2012
oretatsu-yabe (All reviews)
Overall, I had to shed many tears with the aid of my small box of tissues while watching this series. It's also a bit-heart-wrenching, (not in a devastatingly bad way....) because of the sad memories that came back with all the flashbacks the main protagonist keeps reminiscing..but this series, and the prequels before it are very heart-lifting in a spirituous @ soulful way (I guess that's what they'd call it, maybe?) But yeah, so, if you're looking for something way off different from the charts of "normal anime" and want a bit of scare but with a lighter tone and maybe with a bit read more
Dec 10, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
Natsume’s adventure with different “demons” has return in its fourth season.

About the STORY
It’s a lot more dangerous this time as Natsume is getting more and more known in the spirit world as he gets involved more in their world. As it becomes more dangerous, the story becomes more exciting. The storyline is not so sad and gloomy anymore because Natsume is a lot happier now. And it’s nice that there are more funny moments now. There are more detailed revelations from Natsume’s sad past and some glimpse to the past of some characters. And as always, there are new very interesting and exciting stories about read more
Feb 15, 2014
cxMina (All reviews)
This anime was far beyong perfection. This may sound a little over-exaggerated, but I find this anime to be a true masterpiece. I idolize Midorikawa Yuki, the mangaka of the manga, for I love not only her stories, but also her art. It is simply beautiful and I really appreciate her talent. The music of Natsume Yuujinchou was just as beautiful and fitting as the characters. Every character had their own special trait. I loved every single one, as well as the Yokai. I could really identify myself with most of them. Natsume Takashi had made me become more aware of life and understand the read more