Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ayashi no Ceres


Alternative Titles

English: Ceres, Celestial Legend
Japanese: 妖しのセレス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 20, 2000 to Sep 28, 2000
Premiered: Spring 2000
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:30 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 21 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.321 (scored by 21,603 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1878
Members: 47,108
Favorites: 509

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 8, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
Ayashi no Ceres presents a beautiful love story, which intertwined with great action and characters makes for a sad, yet heartwarming story that can grip your heart.

It starts off very peacefully, with Aya Mikage and her twin brother Aki spending time with their friends, celebrating the twins' 16th birthday. However, this peaceful day is interrupted by Aya falling off a bridge, down on the highway underneath. Miraculously, she lands without getting a scratch, and she's saved from cars on a collision course by a mysterious, red-headed man. And that day marks the end of the happy days for the two.

They are summoned to the read more
Oct 27, 2007
dnt (All reviews)
Ayashi no Ceres:

Story:
A very original plot line, immersing a young woman on her 16th birthday, into a world of danger and constant threat while those who are around her and those who she loves are hurt. With love triangles that are sometimes heart wrenching and at other times very sweet. And with a very important message which you will be blatantly told if you haven't already figured it out by the end of the series.

Characters:
Characters that are simply amazing, follow them all through their pain and trials that they have to overcome. All are excellently portrayed and their feelings read more
Mar 16, 2016
WdaCdaShdaDid (All reviews)
"The victor is the one left standing." So quoth Aki, local sage and official series craziest person, which is really saying something for this series. I mean, between Toya, Aya's cousin, Aya's OTHER cousin, Yuji, Mrs. Q, Grandpa Mikage, and Aya herself, we got crazy coming out of the walls.

There is precisely one good thing about this series, which is the opening, "Scarlet" by Junko Iwao. Not the weird animation, just the song. I have the Japanese version and the piano only version and they're quite pleasant and pretty.

You want generic tropes with good ol' 90s animation? You got it! Toya's got like double or read more
Feb 24, 2008
new_user (All reviews)
Story: Ayashi no Ceres starts out like an average shojo anime with a mysterious, aloof love interest (naturally), fantasy elements, and a love triangle, but unlike other shoujo, this is based on a Watase Yuu work, so expect a lot of drama and some darker moments (see incest). This show ends up moving in some wild and frankly implausible directions, even aside from the usual angst and drama we come to expect from a shoujo anime. It's not light, that's for sure.

Art: What can I say? It's typical Watase Yuu, but the art, especially for the male characters, is delicate and pretty. As with read more
Oct 31, 2014
genesic123 (All reviews)
Why can't we have more Shoujos like this!This show is full of win!

Let me get this out of the way.The main reason why i can't give this a 10/10 is because I wish the main character,Aya could do more or be more PROactive.

However,her role is well defined and established in this story,never did i feel that she had no reason to do what she did.Which is not something i could say for most anime these days.

And at least she has some real character and personality.Not being made artificially strong just for the sake of the tired 'strong girl"trope,implying girls need bs plot armor to be read more
Nov 24, 2006
June (All reviews)
If you'd like to see my full review then leave a comment on my profile.

Characters: The relationships of the family members were the most fascinating in the series. Aya and Aki had the typical brother/sister relationship of bickering and understanding, but after their 16th birthday it became more intense. Aki now desired the maiden inside of Aya. Aya also had a lot of growth, as she fought to control Ceres and save her brother from their power-hungry family. All of the characters have inner demons that they are constantly fighting in order to protect the ones they love.
Apr 24, 2008
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
Mysterious Ceres is the type of shoujo series that you can't take too seriously but you can still really enjoy it to the max. It's a story filled with a lot of drama, love triangles, teenage angst...not to mention, it's got that whole crazy sci-fi, mystical and trans-generational angle thrown into the mix as well. With all of that, it should suffice to say that we've got ourselves a pretty complex story going on with this anime series, but even so, it's really not that hard of a story to follow....and that's precisely why I'm giving this story high marks because no matter how awesome read more
Jul 5, 2008
Shakesgrl20 (All reviews)
let me give you a warning, I didn't expect this wasn't going to be that great. Its been from my mind , "ok going to watch it because it seems very interesting and not going to be a great story just another romance plot with dramatic shocking moments for anime with pretty boy and girls" Though i do cry but sometimes force myself. I do cry on Samurai X: Trust and Betrayal, Makoto Shinkai's films for example. Thought in series just a force but for this series, I WAS WRONG!!!! This is my second series to cry so hard with Elfen Lied. read more
Jul 3, 2010
Kira2457 (All reviews)
This is my first review so i'm going to do my best ^^ First i'm going to say that i read the manga first and fell in love with it so i decided to check the anime out to see if it stayed true to the manga. Coming into it without high expectations and thinking that they might have strayed from the story, watching it i should have kept those same expectations because the anime brought it out so perfectly.

Story: 9/10
I give the story a 9 because to me the story was completely original. Celestial robes, and incarnations have never been brought out this read more
Oct 26, 2010
red_888 (All reviews)
Very Celestial indeed! Contains violence & mild nudity.

Story of adventure & supernatural, Aya being a descendant of a celestial maiden (Ceres). Also goes complicated when her twin brother Aki appears to be a descendant of the man who forced Ceres to be his wife. Aya has a little control when it comes to switching back to herself, how can she take it if Ceres saw Aki? She knows Ceres would definitely kill him, actually, the whole Mikage clan. Luckily enough, she met her protector Yuuhi who was a former employee of her evil grandpa.

Will Yuuhi be on her side forever? Can he also protect read more
Apr 13, 2019
shinya_hiiragi1 (All reviews)
she has a very long history where a goddess remembers herself because she has to find her own dress in order to return to the divine world, which was stolen by a human being who became her husband and takes a body from every Mikage woman to look for her dress and take revenge on the family.
The plot is captivating: Aya and Aki are twins, and carefree teenagers like many others.
On their sixteenth birthday they are put to the test. Aya discovers she has incredible powers and is sentenced to death by her own family because it is considered a threat. He will soon find read more
Jul 21, 2015
empressaly (All reviews)
Plot: From the famous author Watase Yuu. Based on the Japanese legend of the “Tennyo no Hagoromo.” A young man spied a celestial maiden bathing. He saw the "celestial robe" and took it with him. Unable to go back to heaven, the celestial maiden was forced to marry the young man.

Story:
Based on the manga with the same title. The series is a a mix of drama, fantasy, adventure and romance. Much darker than the author's previous work. A love story that will appeal to everyone.

Art:
Studio Pierrot did a really great job with the animation. The satisfying character designs are so pleasing to read more
Jun 18, 2016
InMediasRes (All reviews)
So I began to watch this thinking it was the ordinary, normal reverse harem anime, with a girl that had the generic standard type of personality and guys surrounding and falling in love with her, because of different things. And boy was I wrong. I can't even begin to point out how wrong I was. I just saw the picture and thought "Hey, stereotypical reverse harem. I'm bored, let's watch", and that, my friends, is how I slowly entered the hell that is Ayashi no Ceres.


Story 9/10
The story is about the twins Aya and Aki, though Aya takes the main lead pretty fast.
What I thought read more
Jan 6, 2019
Castinate (All reviews)
AYASHI NO CERES REVIEW
01-02-2019

OVERALL: 7.6

PLOT: 7

Love is not always how happy you are with the person you care for. It is also understanding them, it is also maintaining what is between the two of you. It is kinda funny to think of the main plot of this story. It is like a lovers quarrel due to the misunderstanding between two person in love. What makes it interesting is the way that little thing turns out into a big one that cause disruption, not only just the two of them, but also the blood running next to them. It is also fascinating to know something read more
Jul 29, 2018
Dyantier (All reviews)
A Christian's Anime Review
Ayashi no Ceres

Discernment Topics

Violence: \/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
People are frequently blasted apart with energy. We see them cut clean in two, lose appendages, and spray blood from wounds.
Fights ensue with melee weapons and firearms as well. This results in impaling, gunshot wounds, lacerations, and other forms of trauma. Blood splatters and sprays from injuries.
People are also beat to death with fists. One scene shows a man being punched all the way through his chest.
One scene has a man being tortured to death by getting shot repeatedly. Blood splatters and covers the ground.
Destruction of buildings and cityscape result from the use of supernatural powers.

Language:\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
Mild language throughout.
Multiple read more
Jul 2, 2013
mercury1980 (All reviews)
I do believe that this is the only shojo action anime which I like. It is about Ceres who is trapped in the body of Aya to retrieve her mana which was lost on Earth. The main villian, Mikagi, was trapped in the body of Aki to bring damnation to the world and prevent Ceres from giving the freedom she wants.

The art is beautiful and the soundtrack was all right. Art: 8 Sound: 6

Yuu Watase still creates the main character who is a crybaby just like Miaka Yuki. We have Aya Mikage who is a crybaby and could not defend herself. So yes, here read more
Mar 28, 2016
arisudesu7 (All reviews)
I enjoyed a lot Ayashi no Ceres, yet somehow still have mixed feelings about it. I want to say this is a masterpiece, because it has brilliant moments where you will laugh or cry, but there are also moments where I wanted to hit my head in the wall because of the frustration. (Spoilers at the end)

This anime is fast to watch, with only 24 episodes. The plot is inconsistent at some points but at the end everything ties up beautifully and gives an overall sense to the serie, which is always appreciated.
I find the plot to be quite simplistic at the beginning, then read more
Jan 3, 2010
DrBeastly (All reviews)
Its a Japanese legend (fairytale) turned into a modern time fantasy.

You will follow Aya through a series of traumatic events caused by Ceres awakening inside of her. Ceres is a celestial being that was raped by a man and has reincarnated as her DNA had passed down to the women in the family. She finally awakes through Aya to retrieve her haragomo and take revenge on the Mikage family.

Exellent storyline. Very good plot and character deveopment. Teen angst and romance, blood and violence, beautiful animation. What more could you ask for?

This is one of the best shojo anime that Ive seen.
Nov 1, 2017
Happy_Mask (All reviews)
The manga was 84 chapters, so for the anime to have only 24, it felt really cramped up, especially towards the ending. I felt like it needed more episodes to expound on the plot. Hence my rating. Other than that, I love everything about Ceres!

This anime was a classic! It's not your normal reverse harem shoujo type themes! It has a darker tone, definitely not for kids below 15. The plot was original and impressive.

The characters were all great. I liked that Yuu Watase always make it a point to create her side characters really likable. All the more so, for the main ones.

ART read more
Apr 7, 2017
orchidparade (All reviews)
Don't go into this show thinking it'll be your typical magical/fantasy Shoujo. Ayashi no Ceres is a dark and often-times terrifying anime with a lot packed into 24 episodes. From start to finish, it's an intense ride.

1. The Story

The titular character, Ceres, is from the legend of a celestial being who descends onto Earth and has her celestial robe stolen by a human man when she's taking a bath. The man forces her to become his wife, hiding the robe from her, until many years later she retrieves it and is able to return to the heavens. Her story is based off a fairy tale, read more