Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Usagi Drop


Alternative Titles

English: Bunny Drop
Synonyms: Usagi Drop
Japanese: うさぎドロップ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2011 to Sep 16, 2011
Premiered: Summer 2011
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 126,725 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #243
Members: 239,001
Favorites: 4,322

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
Raising a child isn't easy, and every parent or guardian knows just how taxing all of the daily tasks can be, the sacrifices that need to be made in terms of work and social life, and the almost constant stream of considerations and worries. The truth is that looking after children is one of the biggest causes of stress and grey hairs (or hair loss), amongst adults, but given that the majority of people in the world are (or will be), parents, it's a little odd that such a major topic is still a rarity in anime.

The again, who wants to watch a show about read more
Sep 15, 2011
Activelee (All reviews)
“Daikichi… Daikichi, wake up.”

“…mmhhh… Yes.”

I’m happy. Why? Well, because this show did so much right that it’s tough not to be. Usagi Drop stayed true to the essence of the manga (before the timeskip) and didn’t stray far, if at all, from the original story progression. It captured splendidly the little nuances of an abnormal parent-child reality.

Our lives are full of insignificancies. Waking up irritable and half alert, washing your teeth, brushing your face, fumbling to find your valuables, grocery shopping without a list. The shit we wade through daily but clean up and forget soon after. These are experiences almost all can relate read more
Jul 22, 2011
foxnewsnetwork (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have watched every single slice-of-life anime since 2005 and Usagi Drop still manages to easily stand out. A good amount of slice of life shows focus on pumping high school girls full of moe and or filling their daily lives with excessive drama and irrationally difficult people. Usagi Drop, however, portrays itself in stark contrast; unforced, un-contrived, and totally natural, the show manages to make its characters and events truly heartwarming without having to resort to overcoming some out-of-place difficulty or killing off characters.

Now more than half-way into the season at episode 6, all the characters have managed to display a definite depth of read more
Mar 2, 2015
B-HO_BHO (All reviews)
To be Frank, I was skeptical about committing to watching Usagi Drop having read all the manga. Adaptations are great and all, but boy oh boy the source material (manga) didnt sit well with me, almost leading me to drop the show entirely.

Now, I can safely say I'm glad to have watched this amazing experience.

So how do I describe and score Usagi Drop? Well, this happens to be one of those shows where numbers just won't do, and an in-depth analysis is quite frankly overkill. I can talk all I want about what it's about; the premise, the execution, pacing, but none of read more
Nov 7, 2011
Exkalamity (All reviews)
Secretly funded by the Japanese government to combat declining birth rates, project "USAGI DROP" targeted a very specific, generally non-reproductive demographic of the Japanese population: the otaku. At the core of the project was a 11 episode television series that was specifically designed to thoroughly rouse hibernating paternal instincts. Researchers noted a 41% increase in the desire to have children in males in their 20s to 30s who watched a single episode of Usagi Drop. Researchers also noted that of that 41%, 77% of those males explicitly stated that they wanted daughters. One of the biggest advantages project USAGI DROP had over its predecessor, project read more
Jul 7, 2011
steve076 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To: Anime Fans

Since there is only one episode of this out and I can't speak for the whole thing, of course, but I do want people to know that this one, so far, is definitely worth watching and why I think in the future it will be well worth your time.

FIRST RESPONSE (Literally minutes after finishing my first watch through of the first episode. I actually posted it as a comment then copied and pasted it here because I thought it fit well.)

Wow, simply beautiful and intriguing, this episode alone could stand on it's own. I know read more
Dec 20, 2014
Shinkaism (All reviews)
Story:

There really isn't that much to say about Usagi Drop.It's a feel-good story about a man rediscovering/ or discovering for the first time on the true joys of life through the child rearing of his adoptive daughter, Rin. There isn't anything groundbreaking or particularly unique with the plot but it will definitely pull on your heartstrings and you'll come out out of the series with a simile on your face

7/10

Art:

The art-style of Usagi Drop is something that follows the original art-style from the manga faithfully and to put it bluntly its unique. Its a style of art different to the trends of modern anime but read more
May 13, 2014
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
God. I suppose this was best time in my life for me to watch this series. I just went through a lot of stress with family and this really helped me understand some of the things that go on when you're a parent, even a single parent. I'm not gonna say the cliche stuff like "It's never easy being a parent." and I can't say anything from experience, as I am not a father or legal guardian. But I was raised by a single mother without a father in my life until 7 years ago.

This review is going to differ from my other reviews in read more
Aug 11, 2011
Bringerof_D (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is definitely a slice of life anime, yet something is different about it. The style both in the art and story telling is breathtakingly simple. It is the story of a 30 year old man who takes on the task of raising a child. A 6 year old girl no less. The child of his grandfather, his illegitimate child.

Usagi drop presents us with a very simple yet complicated issue which plagues society daily. How does one deal with a child? How would you raise her and what do you teach her? How do you share memories with them that you do not both read more
Apr 19, 2015
Dat-Boiii (All reviews)
From the point of view of a debonair bachelor looking in, parenthood just looks like a never ending abyss of sacrifices fraught with concerns on the wellbeing of your offspring. Seeing as I can barely look after myself, I especially look up to those single parents who manage to balance work with tending to their kid (especially a young one) even if it means growing a few grey hairs. While the transition between free life and parenthood encumbers a person's pursuits, it is exceedingly difficult when it's a swift one. Usagi Drop captures the realistic issues of parenthood from the plights of Daikichi, a 30 read more
Sep 18, 2011
Jigoku-n3ko (All reviews)
UD is a parenting manual. It is an anime that deals with the issues of raising a kid and how you must pretty much sacrifice everything for it. There are no boobs or giant robots here; this is so much slice of life it is practically bleeding.

Story:
30-year-old bachelor Daikichi decides to adopt his recently deceased grandfather's love child Rin as a way of flipping the bird to his snotty relatives. Domestic bliss ensues.

The story started off very powerfully and was very cunningly adept at tugging on heartstrings the way it portrayed a neglected but very sweet child building a trusting family relationship read more
Nov 25, 2015
TrashDax (All reviews)
I fell in love with a 6-year old. Please don't call the cops.

Story:
A 30 years old man "adopts" a six year old girl out of pity and has to live with the consequences of suddenly becoming a "father". That is technically all there is to it, but it is more than enough to work with. After all, the life of a child is full of events, a lot is changing and on top of that, we have 2 characters who have their lives turned upside down from one day to the next. All this is shown through Daikichis eyes, which is the perspective I can read more
Jun 11, 2015
ziggyopolous (All reviews)
Beautiful...a word often used in the realms of the arts, except of course in anime. Anime is often comical, action packed, suspenseful, mysterious, heart-warming...but it is rare when one can truly describe an anime as being beautiful.

Usagi Drop is that anime. A show that, from the very beginning, knows exactly what it is, and is completely unapologetic about it. It's the video game without any combat, the movie without the almost naked woman, the novel where the main character is not the most important. Usagi drop breaks down all boundaries by attempting to break none. Tension, real tension, over tiny bumps in the road, and read more
Aug 7, 2016
VladWolfsbane (All reviews)
"Usagi Drop" is perhaps the most perfect example of Slice of Life anime there is, it does the genre justice. For a short moment at least it makes you forget the complexity of life by promoting the simple aspects of life from a rather artistic point of view. If passing away some time in absolute relaxation is your motive then this is, without a doubt, just what you're looking for.

When thinking about relationships, it feels kind of uneasy to think too far ahead, or at least to the point where you have to think about having kids. Sometimes too much time passes by without us read more
Sep 13, 2011
Archon_Wing (All reviews)
Usagi Drop is a breath of fresh air for those who are a bit tired with the excessive amounts of fanservice, dull characters, and even duller plots that seem to plague the medium. For once we can have an anime that touches upon issues in a serious and honest manner, while having just about the right amount of lightheartedness and humor that prevents the series from getting too heavy. The result is a heartwarming, feel good tale that manages to allow viewers to empathize with the characters and perhaps the show as a whole to be adorable without feeling that they are being insulted.

Visually, Usagi read more
Jul 10, 2014
doodlemancy (All reviews)
I stumbled across this anime in the middle of the night, having only heard of the title and having no idea what I was in for. I ended up binge-watching all 11 episodes. Usagi Drop is a gently-paced exploration of childhood, parenthood, and what it means to be family. Never forced, never saccharine, and always heartfelt. This series is a gem.

I'll get my very few criticisms out of the way first: there are a couple of plot threads that seem very important that never get resolved. It doesn't really have a climax or a resolution; it just sort of wanders away at episode 11. My read more
Mar 1, 2017
LvisCd (All reviews)
For someone who enjoys (too much) a good Slice of Life like me to this anime was enough 10 minutes to gain my attention and just a chapter to enter my heart.

A dramatic story that despite being quite simple is very adorable with an exact dose of comedy showing us how difficult but equally beautiful it is to raise a child alone.
What I liked quite a lot is the way Rin and Daikichi help each other to overcome the loneliness that both felt at the beginning of history to form a peculiar family.
Unlike other Slice of Life you do not need to resort to a read more
May 5, 2015
DellaDellsies (All reviews)
This show is simply amazing. Honestly I don't think I've really enjoyed a slice of life like this in a long time. It's a simple story about a 30 year old man suddenly becoming the guardian of a 6 year old girl under some weird circumstances. His life gets turned upside down and things he never really had to think about are suddenly very important. I don't think any show has captured early parenthood like this show.

Story: 9
The best analogy I can use for this show is like eating a bag of Warheads. It starts off sour (sad, depressing), but then you get to read more
Oct 27, 2014
Jarrbearr (All reviews)
Children are no easy task to take care of. They require a lot of attention and patience to deal with. As a child, I was reckless and very stubborn. I'm glad my parents dealt with me and loved me for who I am. Though when a family member dies, a person can change in a way to make them more secluded and feeling alone, but when someone reaches out to you with love and care, they can change back.

The story follows a girl named Rin and she was an unknown child belonging to an old man named Souichi and when he dies, she's left alone. read more
Feb 14, 2013
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
Slice of life is generally a tricky genre to get right. When I say slice of life, I don't mean those dime-a-dozen high school comedies the industry has become oversaturated with as of late. Rather, I refer to series that find something meaningful to explore through the small conflicts of commonplace events. All too often, attempts at this genre come off as either excessive and unnatural or dull and listless. It stands to reason, then, that the best shows of this kind are the ones that introduce unfamiliar elements that make these characters' lives distinct from our own, while still staying in touch with the read more