Ranked #74

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company


Score: 8.571 (scored by 218,283 users)
Ranked: #742
Popularity: #35
Members: 347,144
Favorites: 20,702
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.


Jul 23, 2013
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 17, 2015
Madoka Magica was all right, but it suffered much of the same problems akin to why I also gave HxH the 2011 version a sort of sub-par score.

The biggest problem is again they're just so wholly derivative, this is kind of better than going off in another direction entirely that leads nowhere, but it's just super clear what we're dealing with here from the beginning.

The thing I'm referring to is naturally Sailor Moon which has still really been the gold standard as far as magical girls go because.. well... it is THE magical girl.

Like, take the concept of PMMM, it's about 5 read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 11, 2015
First inpressons, when I First herd about this anime I herd a lot of good things about. But that did rise some red flags in my head about this show being over hyped. But I did check it out to see if it lives up to the hype and to make a long story short it doesn't. Side note, After doing a overview of this review. I have made errors in the story part of read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 16, 2015
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica + LSD = probably one helluva drug. Heck, MSMM sans LSD was a trip! But in all seriousness, MSMM is one of those anime’s that defy typical conventions in a good way. I mean, we see cute little girls fight eerie monsters in even creepier settings. An American equivalent would be like putting Cinderella in the Children of the Corn. The juxtaposition is fascinating, and I wonder how a 13 year old girl in Japan would have received MSMM?

Story – 7. **SEMI SPOILER ALERT. Basic premise? Kinda like Scientology. Aliens need energy. Aliens harness energy from women, due to their read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 30, 2011
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 7, 2011
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 22, 2014
I feel like I'm in the minority here on MAL, and that's kinda depressing. Madoka Magica by and large is one of those programmes which receives no shortage of praise that I simply can't agree with one way or the other. I wouldn't mind it so much were it not for the fact that any sort of valid criticism or complaints anyone has with this series is instantly lost in a sea of downvotes and angry rants made by rabid fans who're breathing heavily whilst typing on their keyboards rapidly. Regardless, I'll make a feeble attempt at getting my voice heard. Will it work? Probably read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 15, 2015
Ah, Madoka Magica. I actually finished this a while ago, but I wasn't really sure what to think about it at the time, so I didn't do a review about it then. Well, I've thought about it, so let's take a look.

Story: The story largely revolves around Madoka, a middle school student, who one day, comes into contact with Kyuubey, a weird cat-like thing, who offers her the chance to have one wish granted in exchange for becoming a magical girl and fighting witches, creatures who bring despair to the world. However, Homura, a transfer student in Madoka's class, doesn't want Madoka to accept read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 2, 2015
I was hesitant to write this review. While my stance on this series is well known amongst friends and family, I was hesitant to actually step up and make a public statement on the reasons WHY I rate this like I do.

Let us break this down.

Story: 10/10
The story feels like your generic Magical Girl series at the onset. Cute cat-like creature wants to make a contract with one (or more) 'everygirls' in order to have them fight against a grand evil. There is your token main character, her friends that do know about this world of magical girls and those who do not, your typical read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 22, 2014
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 3, 2015

Of all the divisive figures in anime, very few can start flame wars like Gen Urobuchi. Most "elite" critics here on MAL and over on the bastion of sophisticated intellectuals that is 4chan, hate him and call him the Anti-Christ of anime. I personally find him extremely hit-or-miss. One thing Urobuchi has going for him is that like George RR Martin, he is a crusty old bastard that won't cave to fan demands and make a happy ending, sparing all of the fan favorite characters. When the viewer doesn't know who will live and who will die each week, it adds suspense and keeps things read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 31, 2015
I was honestly expecting this to be much worse. From all that I heard about it I was genuinely expecting something along the lines of "cute, cute, cute, BAM violent twist", which would have been stupid.

This series instead establishes pretty much from the start that nothing good can come from having one's wish granted by magic, and rolls with it in a downward spiral of bad choices and even worse consequences.

Now, that taken into account, I do think the first episode is quite bad, as it establishes a "suppa-kavvaii" atmosphere that really, will never come into play again nor work with the subversion of the read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2015
I believe that this anime is too overrated.
The genre of magical shoujo does not always give us nothing new, it is not surprising. And yet, we turn to the story, it is rather dull and rather banal, and by the middle of the anime you know what's what, in spite of this, the recent series may surprise. At the expense of graphics and music, I have always been neutral, there is probably nothing to stick, on the contrary, this anime original style depiction. Opening theme is not lousy, but it is not cool to name the most common opening theme, as the ending theme. The read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 24, 2015
I'll be perfectly honest and upfront about that the fact that I'm very new to the world of anime and manga, and Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica is officially the first anime series that I've completed from start to finish.

I had no expectations really when I chose it from a list on Netflix, and had no idea of its popularity or anything. I simply thought the characters looked cute and the description sounded fun. Boy, was I in for a surprise!

✿~ Story ~✿

Simply fantastic! The story is much darker and deeper than I could have ever imagined, with twists and surprises thrown read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 26, 2015
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica starts off as a show about a schoolgirl Kaname Madoka living a perfectly ordinary life. She has nice parents a younger brother and a few good friends. Everything is perfectly fine until one day she has a magical encounter that changes her life.

That’s how the show starts, and as the show was suggested to me by a friend whose first recommendation was Another, I was surprised. The show starts off all cute and nice, which was a great surprise, and I found it really strange and quite boring, but I told myself I have to at least try to make it read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 20, 2015
Part of my effort to recommend (to watch or avoid) every anime I've seen in 100 words or less! This is Puella Magi Madoka Magica or Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. This is anime at its absolute best.

"I did not want to show cruel scenes; I wanted to show the feeling of those people who had to face those situations."
~ Akiyuki Shinbo, Director

This show changed the landscape of anime forever by raising standards for action and drama. It is a show made to push--to push people just past their limitations (whether they be physiological, psychological, or social) and their help just out of reach. Madoka Magica read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 7, 2015
Madoka magica suffers from the same flaws as SAO Sachi ARC.The entire point of the show is solely to care for the characters and their tragic backstories.However the show fails to do this properly.

One reason is that they have an infinite reset button.And that they never have an ultimate consequence of any bad choices they make.Death is not final here.

I can't sympathise with the girls as sometimes their problems are impersonal,like some kind of random accident.Or that they a too dumb to want to stay alive.

One of the girls just stands still for no reason when in danger.Another girls gives up her love interest for read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 21, 2011
Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica managed to do what I thought was impossible - took over the position of my favorite TV anime series from the first Suzumiya Haruhi series, while still airing. And my rating of was only rising with every subsequent episode.

Even though the story starts like any typical magical girl anime, you can clearly see it is going to be different from the very beginning - it is the girls' choice, not fate, to go on the path of magic. Being a magical girl is rather a cold business deal rather than a divine blessing. And magic is not a perfect cure for everything read more
I found this review Helpful