MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #59
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 174664 users)
Ranked: #592
Popularity: #33
Members: 275,013
Favorites: 16,711
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 23, 2013
Kalypze
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Today, 4:55 AM
zelos7
Madoka Magica is not your standart magical girl show, but you probaby already know that because "Not your typical magical girl show" is the most oftenly used phrase to describe this anime. Still it is true nonetheless.

The show is a rather unusual and dramatic twist on an everyday magical girl show. The main word being dramatic. There are fights, transformations and monsters but the thing this show dedicates most attention to is drama. A well written and for the most part beautifly executed drama. The show takes a huge advantage of the protagonists being 14 or so year old girls to explore the psychology of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2014
Agnedea
For an anime that has been widely regarded as a masterpiece, it's definitely one that you've heard of or have seen pictures for. Going into this anime I was questioning how it was a thriller or tragedy at all, with the art looking so childlike, it didn't seem to suit it whatsoever. Boy was I wrong, this anime has done just everything to show the emotion and feeling of hopelessness perfectly into 12 episodes in a pace that just fits it well.

Becoming a magical girl for any wish that can be granted may seem like a perfect deal, but the side effects that come with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2011
Ghostalker
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2014
Eastunder
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 22, 2014
Weeaboo_Jones
I feel like I'm in the minority here on MAL, and that's kinda depressing. Madoka Magica by and large is one of those programmes which receives no shortage of praise that I simply can't agree with one way or the other. I wouldn't mind it so much were it not for the fact that any sort of valid criticism or complaints anyone has with this series is instantly lost in a sea of downvotes and angry rants made by rabid fans who're breathing heavily whilst typing on their keyboards rapidly. Regardless, I'll make a feeble attempt at getting my voice heard. Will it work? Probably read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 28, 2015
werberman
**Spoiler Free**

Madoka Magica is great for a magical girl animé, but certainly no Stein;s Gate or FMA: Brotherhood.

The Story (8/10) is where the main issues with the Madoka Magica can be found. The pacing is utterly abysmal. I found myself bored out of my skull for the first 9 episodes. While this issue is certainly not unique to Madoka Magica (Gurren Lagann *cough*) the perceived overall value of the show is far more largely damaged as there are only 12 episodes in the whole thing, meaning that three-quarters of it isn't worth seeing on its own. This said, even I cannot deny that the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2014
mcooper
I would like to preface my critique by stating that I am new to watching anime and to reviewing any series as a whole. I enjoy fast-paced action dramas the most, especially those featuring leads with strong personalities. And I have had no experience watching magical girls anime in the past. With that being said, I had heard that Puella Magi Madoka Magica transcends its genre, so I decided to give it a shot.

[Plot]
I went into Puella Magi Madoka Magica hopeful. I desperately wanted to love it, and I was expecting it to really pick up after episode 3 or 4. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2011
Archaeon
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
PoeticJustice
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2013
Savepoints
"It sucks, but you can't reach a happy ending just by doing what's right all the time." - Kaname Junko

Now, there are already quite a few reviews of this anime out there (and more to come, most likely) but since all of them differ in some way, I might as well write mine too. However, the first thing I’ll tell you is that if you haven’t seen this show (or had it spoiled for you), and you have any intention whatsoever to actually watch it, then my tip would be to actually not read too much about the series before watching it...

Now then, let’s get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2013
IronBerserk
Madoka Magica is a smart and yet cursed show. Many including myself have applauded the show for being a brilliant take and twist on the magical girl genre, a genre that is usually meant to be an inspiration to kids. Madoka Magica changes this concept of Magical Girls by making it realistic. Fighting monsters (or witches in this case) would be a dangerous task in our reality and that is the case in point Madoka Magica tries to bring forward. A great idea on the part of the creators but unfortunately some great ideas can only go too far and the story suffers a bit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
Detective
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.
So as I pray, “UNLIMITED SHAFT WORKS”

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 3, 2015
RakiRaki
Imagine for a second, if you will, that a niche genre of music (say, blackgaze or vaporwave) that you had long treasured was abruptly thrust into the limelight. Imagine that the album responsible for this shock of popularity was suddenly everywhere—that any attempt at developing or exploring the genre was compared unfavorably to this album. Imagine that people who previously couldn't care less about music like this and clearly had no understanding of its conventions were now claiming that this was revolutionary, that it had totally subverted its genre. Imagine that, and you might be able to understand just a little what it was like read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2014
mathalaxryn
I'm probably going to get tons of negative comments about this, but for some reasons, Puella Magi Madoka Magica didn't live to the expectation I got while reading the reviews on MAL, or the other ones online.

EDIT : it's come to my attention that it would be important to precise that I was new to the Maho Shoujo genre, which might cause disagreement upon my review. It's understandable, really. I wrote this review with nothing to compare the anime to.

Story : 7/10

I was in my horror anime phase when Madoka came to me in a suggested anime list. For this only point, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 27, 2013
Jovoo
From all the trailers and ads that Aniplex and Shaft released for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, it seemed that it would be your typical magic girl show, a show along the lines of Sailor Moon and Cardcaptor Sakura. However, this had to be purposely orchestrated, as the show is nothing like that and it is clear from it's marketing that Aniplex wanted to surprise people with it, and they did a hell of a job.

This anime takes everything you know and love/hate about the magical girl genre and flips it 180. The plot starts off with your typical 'Magical Girl' traits and cliches, but soon takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 18, 2014
artichoker
I was skeptical coming into this series. After showing me the trailer on Youtube, my friend laughed and remarked that the trailer was "perfect". It was simply a show about cute magical girls, he assured me. Being outside the conventional targeted demographic for this such a genre, I was very dubious of whether I would enjoy such an anime. However, since his recommendations had never led me wrong before, I decided to give it a try and started watching it with him.

By the first episode I was somewhat intrigued. The characters all seemed fairly likable, if not coming off as a little juvenile, considering they read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2011
Balibuli
Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica managed to do what I thought was impossible - took over the position of my favorite TV anime series from the first Suzumiya Haruhi series, while still airing. And my rating of was only rising with every subsequent episode.

Even though the story starts like any typical magical girl anime, you can clearly see it is going to be different from the very beginning - it is the girls' choice, not fate, to go on the path of magic. Being a magical girl is rather a cold business deal rather than a divine blessing. And magic is not a perfect cure for everything read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 2, 2015
Kiryann
I don't quite remember why I decided to watch Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, but I do know for sure that it was one of my finest decisions anime wise. It's a show that I always highly recommend to anime watchers.

It's easy to be fooled by Madoka Magica. As you start watching you feel the familiar mahou shoujo theme: a group of young girls who are approached by a cute talking animal who wants to partner up and help them fight evil, whilst in frilly and girly outfits. But under this illusion Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica reveals itself as a memorable masterpiece.

The Story:

To become a Magical Girl you read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2014
EpicSawce
Madoka Magica was hyped as the ultimate deconstruction of the magical girl genre. Not only that, but one of the best deconstructions to date. Its name carries a lot of weight with anime fans, and is often brought up when talking about great anime from this decade. I went into Madoka Magica expecting greatness; however, only mastering its goal wasn't enough to illustrate a true masterpiece.

The story starts out extremely slow and confusing and becomes predictable over time. It being called a deconstruction is a giant spoiler tag for me, as I can see what to expect. If read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy