MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #53
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.641 (scored by 147241 users)
Ranked: #532
Popularity: #33
Members: 229,352
Favorites: 14,849
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 23, 2013
Kalypze
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2011
Ghostalker
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2014
Eastunder
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 22, 2014
Republic
Top 5 all-time favorite anime. No question about it.
How to best talk about this one without making a too long review?...

I'm pretty sure this is an epic piece. Going by what epic actually is.
The story is so incredibly great yet so simple.
You probably have already heard how this show seems cuddly at first but turns incredibly dark later. I knew that starting it up, and it didn't ruin anything... It's not a surprise you're being spoiled. I wanna say that even though you know the change in tone will come, it still happens so well and gradually creeps up, that the transition becomes smooth and read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2014
mcooper
I would like to preface my critique by stating that I am new to watching anime and to reviewing any series as a whole. I enjoy fast-paced action dramas the most, especially those featuring leads with strong personalities. And I have had no experience watching magical girls anime in the past. With that being said, I had heard that Puella Magi Madoka Magica transcends its genre, so I decided to give it a shot.

[Plot]
I went into Puella Magi Madoka Magica hopeful. I desperately wanted to love it, and I was expecting it to really pick up after episode 3 or 4. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 6, 2014
Zephiros
If you have the idea that this show will be something like other magical girl shows like Sailor Moon or Sakura Card Captors you are very very wrong. This anime is really dark and you will realize that in about 5 or so minutes into the first episode, and to be honest this "darkness" is really what makes this an awesome anime.

Story:

The story centers Kaname Madoka, a normal high school girl that one day meets this animal like creature called Kyuubey, who offers her and her friend Sayaka the task of saving the world by becoming magical girls and grant them one wish. The task read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 17, 2014
Andrew729
"What more can I say about Madoka that you haven't already heard from those who do not lie?"
- John Lennon (paraphrased)

If Bakemonogatari put Studio Shaft on the map, then Madoka cemented it there, and for many of us, it made Gen Urobuchi a household name among anime fans (for better or for worse). It's not completely original (the story has often been compared to Evangelion as well as Princess Tutu), but as has often been said by many an author, there are perhaps somewhere less than 10 truly original stories in the annals of humanity. Good writing happens when you can pick, choose, and mix read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2014
iSuckAtWriting
There are shows I rewatch to relive the magic, only to learn the magic has faded. There are times I fear the magic has faded, only for it to persist. And there are times the magic persists, and creates a miracle that improves a show. This is the show where the magic persists. This is the story where the miracle unfolds. This is the tale known as Puella Magi Madoka Magica.

But honestly, the miracle shouldn’t have happened. There’s no surprise to keep interest, but only inevitability in knowing what happens. And it’s no secret the story is now exposed at the basic level; starting as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2013
IronBerserk
Madoka Magica is a smart and yet cursed show. Many including myself have applauded the show for being a brilliant take and twist on the magical girl genre, a genre that is usually meant to be an inspiration to kids. Madoka Magica changes this concept of Magical Girls by making it realistic. Fighting monsters (or witches in this case) would be a dangerous task in our reality and that is the case in point Madoka Magica tries to bring forward. A great idea on the part of the creators but unfortunately some great ideas can only go too far and the story suffers a bit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2011
Archaeon
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
Detective
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.
So as I pray, “UNLIMITED SHAFT WORKS”

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 21, 2014
sushiitaco

When this anime came out many people were drawn to it. Everyone was raving about it and saying, "WHY HASN'T ANYONE MADE A MAGICAL GIRL ANIME LIKE THIS BEFORE?" The answer is simple. Because the point of magical girl animes is to empower girls and Madoka Magica is basically supposed to be the opposite because it's a seinen manga/anime. I think many of us seem to forget that Madoka Magica is of the seinen genre and not at all written for teenage girls which is why it's so dark in plot. You can interpret the fact it is of this genre in a couple of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 23, 2014
Kari-san
Madoka Magica is a deconstruction of the Magical Girl genre, and I would say a very good one at that. It is a series known among its fanbase for being something that will take your expectations, cut them up, douse them in petrolium, burn them, throw them off of a ten-story building, rip their nails off, drown them, and hand those expectations right back to you two days later. It is an exciting ride full of twists and turns, and an enjoyable one, at that.

STORY
Madoka starts normally, following the most stereotypical magical girl formula: Cute animal turns schoolgirls in to magical girls so they can read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2013
Savepoints
"It sucks, but you can't reach a happy ending just by doing what's right all the time." - Kaname Junko

Now, there are already quite a few reviews of this anime out there (and more to come, most likely) but since all of them differ in some way, I might as well write mine too. However, the first thing I’ll tell you is that if you haven’t seen this show (or had it spoiled for you), and you have any intention whatsoever to actually watch it, then my tip would be to actually not read too much about the series before watching it...

Now then, let’s get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2014
mathalaxryn
I'm probably going to get tons of negative comments about this, but for some reasons, Puella Magi Madoka Magica didn't live to the expectation I got while reading the reviews on MAL, or the other ones online.

EDIT : it's come to my attention that it would be important to precise that I was new to the Maho Shoujo genre, which might cause disagreement upon my review. It's understandable, really. I wrote this review with nothing to compare the anime to.

Story : 7/10

I was in my horror anime phase when Madoka came to me in a suggested anime list. For this only point, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
PoeticJustice
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 27, 2013
Jovoo
From all the trailers and ads that Aniplex and Shaft released for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, it seemed that it would be your typical magic girl show, a show along the lines of Sailor Moon and Cardcaptor Sakura. However, this had to be purposely orchestrated, as the show is nothing like that and it is clear from it's marketing that Aniplex wanted to surprise people with it, and they did a hell of a job.

This anime takes everything you know and love/hate about the magical girl genre and flips it 180. The plot starts off with your typical 'Magical Girl' traits and cliches, but soon takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 3, 2014
sjvgrift
Story: 8
One of my favorite things in a fantasy show is a fully-thought-out or self-explanatory universe, one in which simple and uniform laws dictate the "magical" aspect of the show, keeping it both clearly fantasy and yet still believable. Madoka Magica does this perfectly, with even the wildest of twists easily explained by Kyuubey. My only complaint is that, because it is such a short series, I wish that Madoka Magica's dark side had come out just a bit sooner so that I would have had more time to enjoy it.

Art: 9
I typically like my animation to be the tiniest bit smoother (think Kyoukai read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2014
tanjensung
What are the consequences of wishes, when should commitment become sacrifice, and when does the end truly begin? Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica focuses on the dark side of a reality where miracles may be fulfilled through mystical contracts. Throughout the story, the protagonists struggle with friendship, the pursuit of happiness, commitment, and sacrifice as they face the dark side of their ambitions. The main characters are well constructed; each possessing unique personalities and differing values. Each protagonist displays signs of development (for better and worse) as the story progresses, although these changes are largely offset by the pacing; which, is relatively slow until the later read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2014
cabtrain
Ahhhh. Mahou Shoujo Madoka magica (yes i'll be a dick and write the whole name). THIS is not your average magical girl anime. If you go into this anime thinking "oh it'll just be another Sailor Moon or another Cardcaptor Sakura", well good cause that means that you've seen them. This anime is a deconstruction of the magical girl genre. If you don't know what a deconstruction is then Evangalion is an example of a deconstruction for a mecha. So if this show is your first magical girl anime you won't admire it as much. Anyways.....
This show is a master of surprise.

The story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices