MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #56
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.621 (scored by 161075 users)
Ranked: #562
Popularity: #33
Members: 252,242
Favorites: 15,836
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 23, 2013
Kalypze
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 20, 2014
Agnedea
For an anime that has been widely regarded as a masterpiece, it's definitely one that you've heard of or have seen pictures for. Going into this anime I was questioning how it was a thriller or tragedy at all, with the art looking so childlike, it didn't seem to suit it whatsoever. Boy was I wrong, this anime has done just everything to show the emotion and feeling of hopelessness perfectly into 12 episodes in a pace that just fits it well.

Becoming a magical girl for any wish that can be granted may seem like a perfect deal, but the side effects that come with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2011
Ghostalker
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2014
Eastunder
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 12, 2014
EpicSawce
Madoka Magica was hyped as the ultimate deconstruction of the magical girl genre. Not only that, but one of the best deconstructions to date. Its name carries a lot of weight with anime fans, and is often brought up when talking about great anime from this decade. I went into Madoka Magica expecting greatness; however, only mastering its goal wasn't enough to illustrate a true masterpiece.

The story starts out extremely slow and confusing and becomes predictable over time. It being called a deconstruction is a giant spoiler tag for me, as I can see what to expect. If read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 28, 2014
mcooper
I would like to preface my critique by stating that I am new to watching anime and to reviewing any series as a whole. I enjoy fast-paced action dramas the most, especially those featuring leads with strong personalities. And I have had no experience watching magical girls anime in the past. With that being said, I had heard that Puella Magi Madoka Magica transcends its genre, so I decided to give it a shot.

[Plot]
I went into Puella Magi Madoka Magica hopeful. I desperately wanted to love it, and I was expecting it to really pick up after episode 3 or 4. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2011
Archaeon
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
PoeticJustice
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2013
IronBerserk
Madoka Magica is a smart and yet cursed show. Many including myself have applauded the show for being a brilliant take and twist on the magical girl genre, a genre that is usually meant to be an inspiration to kids. Madoka Magica changes this concept of Magical Girls by making it realistic. Fighting monsters (or witches in this case) would be a dangerous task in our reality and that is the case in point Madoka Magica tries to bring forward. A great idea on the part of the creators but unfortunately some great ideas can only go too far and the story suffers a bit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 1, 2014
tanjensung
What are the consequences of wishes, when should commitment become sacrifice, and when does the end truly begin? Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica focuses on the dark side of a reality where miracles may be fulfilled through mystical contracts. Throughout the story, the protagonists struggle with friendship, the pursuit of happiness, commitment, and sacrifice as they face the dark side of their ambitions. The main characters are well constructed; each possessing unique personalities and differing values. Each protagonist displays signs of development (for better and worse) as the story progresses, although these changes are largely offset by the pacing; which, is relatively slow until the later read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
Detective
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.
So as I pray, “UNLIMITED SHAFT WORKS”

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 3, 2014
iSuckAtWriting
There are shows I rewatch to relive the magic, only to learn the magic has faded. There are times I fear the magic has faded, only for it to persist. And there are times the magic persists, and creates a miracle that improves a show. This is the show where the magic persists. This is the story where the miracle unfolds. This is the tale known as Puella Magi Madoka Magica.

But honestly, the miracle shouldn’t have happened. There’s no surprise to keep interest, but only inevitability in knowing what happens. And it’s no secret the story is now exposed at the basic level; starting as read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2014
cabtrain
Ahhhh. Mahou Shoujo Madoka magica (yes i'll be a dick and write the whole name). THIS is not your average magical girl anime. If you go into this anime thinking "oh it'll just be another Sailor Moon or another Cardcaptor Sakura", well good cause that means that you've seen them. This anime is a deconstruction of the magical girl genre. If you don't know what a deconstruction is then Evangalion is an example of a deconstruction for a mecha. So if this show is your first magical girl anime you won't admire it as much. Anyways.....
This show is a master of surprise.

The story read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2013
Savepoints
"It sucks, but you can't reach a happy ending just by doing what's right all the time." - Kaname Junko

Now, there are already quite a few reviews of this anime out there (and more to come, most likely) but since all of them differ in some way, I might as well write mine too. However, the first thing I’ll tell you is that if you haven’t seen this show (or had it spoiled for you), and you have any intention whatsoever to actually watch it, then my tip would be to actually not read too much about the series before watching it...

Now then, let’s get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 18, 2014
mathalaxryn
I'm probably going to get tons of negative comments about this, but for some reasons, Puella Magi Madoka Magica didn't live to the expectation I got while reading the reviews on MAL, or the other ones online.

EDIT : it's come to my attention that it would be important to precise that I was new to the Maho Shoujo genre, which might cause disagreement upon my review. It's understandable, really. I wrote this review with nothing to compare the anime to.

Story : 7/10

I was in my horror anime phase when Madoka came to me in a suggested anime list. For this only point, the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 30, 2013
pakoko
Here’s my review of Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica… of the 200 or so that are out there.

The anime is rated by the MAL criteria in the bottom of this review. Because countless top-rated reviews have already provided this information exhaustively, I believe my opinion about why “Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica is worth the watch” would be more interesting than reading the same information over and over.

Why “Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica?” (Top 3 reasons)

1) Gen Urobuchi: He was the writer for many highly rated anime out there: Fate/Zero, Black Lagoon, Psycho-Pass, and Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet. If you’re like me, watching a memorable anime motivates read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 27, 2013
Jovoo
From all the trailers and ads that Aniplex and Shaft released for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, it seemed that it would be your typical magic girl show, a show along the lines of Sailor Moon and Cardcaptor Sakura. However, this had to be purposely orchestrated, as the show is nothing like that and it is clear from it's marketing that Aniplex wanted to surprise people with it, and they did a hell of a job.

This anime takes everything you know and love/hate about the magical girl genre and flips it 180. The plot starts off with your typical 'Magical Girl' traits and cliches, but soon takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 27, 2014
phantom234
Some argue that this show is a masterpiece, others argue it is an overrated disappointment. I'm going to admit: I'm leaning towards the former.

The design of this show is probably one of the most unique things about it. Brightly designed characters in a dark and uncertain setting. This isn't something one sees very often, and it will shock the senses of expectation versus "reality". There's just something bizarre about watching a character who looks like Sailor Moon fight something from HP Lovecraft.

Another stand out quality is the sound. This is some of the best music you will hear in an anime. It drives the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 15, 2014
PersonaSimon
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Review

This is a show that is rather adored by most in the anime community. It is one of the most popular anime that Studio Shaft have put out next to Bakemonogatari. However, I think Madoka reputation is rather overblown and here's a review explaining my thoughts on this show:

Story:
Madoka Magica is considered by many to be a deconstruction of the Magical Girl genre. However, it takes far more to be just a deconstruction to be a good piece of writing.

The first problem with Madoka is how it fails to lay down a consistent world. The wish scenario itself creates millions of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 14, 2014
maji
The production quality is top notch... but the show has some very serious issues with theme. If you want a fun visual romp then this is a great show, if you're hoping for something deeper you will end up disappointed.

It's very difficult to discuss it without spoiling, but basically my issue is that the show is dark, very dark. But there's no actual exploration of why the world is dark other than to create an opposition to the show's art style & young characters.

The principle of karma (that kindness and malevolence must be generated in equal amounts) makes very little sense read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices