MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #49
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica

Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
L represents licensing company

Statistics

Score: 8.671 (scored by 125615 users)
Ranked: #492
Popularity: #35
Members: 195,166
Favorites: 13,027
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top anime page.

My Info


Popular Tags

No tags found
Jul 23, 2013
Kalypze
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 22, 2014
Eastunder
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 7, 2011
Ghostalker
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 8, 2014
PoeticJustice
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2013
IronBerserk
Madoka Magica is a smart and yet cursed show. Many including myself have applauded the show for being a brilliant take and twist on the magical girl genre, a genre that is usually meant to be an inspiration to kids. Madoka Magica changes this concept of Magical Girls by making it realistic. Fighting monsters (or witches in this case) would be a dangerous task in our reality and that is the case in point Madoka Magica tries to bring forward. A great idea on the part of the creators but unfortunately some great ideas can only go too far and the story suffers a bit read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 9, 2013
Savepoints
"It sucks, but you can't reach a happy ending just by doing what's right all the time." - Kaname Junko

Now, there are already quite a few reviews of this anime out there (and more to come, most likely) but since all of them differ in some way, I might as well write mine too. However, the first thing I’ll tell you is that if you haven’t seen this show (or had it spoiled for you), and you have any intention whatsoever to actually watch it, then my tip would be to actually not read too much about the series before watching it...

Now then, let’s get read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 30, 2011
Archaeon
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 27, 2013
Jovoo
From all the trailers and ads that Aniplex and Shaft released for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, it seemed that it would be your typical magic girl show, a show along the lines of Sailor Moon and Cardcaptor Sakura. However, this had to be purposely orchestrated, as the show is nothing like that and it is clear from it's marketing that Aniplex wanted to surprise people with it, and they did a hell of a job.

This anime takes everything you know and love/hate about the magical girl genre and flips it 180. The plot starts off with your typical 'Magical Girl' traits and cliches, but soon takes read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 31, 2014
Charaxify
--A Review of Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica--


Madoka Magica is put on a pedestal by many as a brilliant decomposure of the Mahou Shoujo genre and for all the credit it's getting it does live up too it.



-Story-

*MINOR SPOILER - DO NOT READ IF YOU WANT TO WATCH THE SERIES WITH 0 KNOWLEDGE*

The story follows the high school girl Madoka as she lives her everyday life but one day she hears a voice inside of her head calling out for help.
Following the tracks of the voice she meets with a girl called Mami and a cat-like creature called Kyubei and learns about the world of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 6, 2011
Detective
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.
So as I pray, “UNLIMITED SHAFT WORKS”

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 21, 2011
Balibuli
Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica managed to do what I thought was impossible - took over the position of my favorite TV anime series from the first Suzumiya Haruhi series, while still airing. And my rating of was only rising with every subsequent episode.

Even though the story starts like any typical magical girl anime, you can clearly see it is going to be different from the very beginning - it is the girls' choice, not fate, to go on the path of magic. Being a magical girl is rather a cold business deal rather than a divine blessing. And magic is not a perfect cure for everything read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Dec 23, 2012
Moebeam
In all honesty, I entered this series with optimistic skepticism, for as a general principle, I tend not to like highly rated anime. Far too often, I see a story with a great concept that misses several key opportunities to expand the plot [Angel Beats], or perhaps one whose characters simply don't seem particularly real to me [Hanasaku Iroha--at least, the first 4 episodes I watched before subsequently dropping the series]. To say the least, I expected this to be one of the same kinds of anime.

Boy, was I wrong.

Most reading this will know the story. Reading other reviews will reveal that read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jan 29, 2014
Rayath
At first glance, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica (I will refer to it as just Madoka Magica from now on) may seem like an ordinary magical girl anime. A colorful opening accompanied by a cheerful pop song, a vivid presentation, cute girls, ordinary high school life… Initially, not much is hinting that this show might actually have a much darker plot. This, however, changes after only a few episodes, when the show’s true colors come out. Madoka Magica is a series filled with surprises and twists, bound to completely engross the viewers with its sinister storyline and leave them helpless as they worry for the lives read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 30, 2013
ZeroReq011
Madoka Kaname lives as good a life as many adolescent girls go: a well-off home, a wonderful family, and great friends. Then the first-hand revelation of the existence of witches, the fathomless despair they will within their auras, emanated from their so-called labyrinths wherever they pass, and the obligations of those whose duty it is to oppose them. And finally... an offer, a wish. For whatever you ask, would you be willing to make a contract? Would you like to become a magical girl?

Produced by Shaft as its first original anime series, the same studio that brought us the anime adaptations of Sayonara Zetsubou read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 28, 2013
DigestingAnime
[Abridged storyline: Puella Magi Madoka Magica is about a group of young girls who are being persuaded to make a contract with this unusual animal called Kyuubey. Basically, if this contract is made, the girls get their wish fulfilled, and become magical girls for life.]
If you have an obsession with the “magical girl” genre, but want something new and different, I highly recommend this anime.

Pros:
1) This magical-girl show is filled with tragedy and uniqueness. It’s not just about girls who are fighting crime, and bringing justice. There is a high amount of depth in this show. It goes away from the rainbows read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 1, 2014
Kabi-sama
In the history of anime, magical girl anime never really felt like a genre. It feels more like a stereotype more then anything. Most magical girl anime are usually carbon copies of the infamous Sailor Moon. This is most likely why the genre never really got any appeal to regular anime fans. Is Madoka Magica one of those copies I speak of? well if you say yes, you either took one look at the poster, watched the trailer or OP, or dropped it at the first episode (maybe). This is my review, my thoughts, my opinions, or whatever you wanna call it.

Story:

Madoka Magica revolves around read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 24, 2012
Bambooman
This is one of the most deceptive works I have ever laid my eyes on, and that is why it is amazing. From the very start, "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" appears to be pretty much what you would expect from your typical magical girl anime. The only difference being of course, the seemingly out of place art style that you would attribute to it being a SHAFT production. This is of course what the show wants you to think, as it prepares to take your expectations and slap you in the face with them. Suddenly, the Salvador Dali style of animation doesn't seem that out read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Mar 28, 2012
Zyprexa
I want to start this review off by stating that I absolutely loved this anime. Very few anime manage to capture my attention enough to compel me to spend time reading wikis and even going as far as doing research. In fact, I loved Madoka so much that I watched it twice within a week, mainly to see if I could pick up on any details that I missed during my first watching. I was particularly interested in all the supposed references and parallels to Goethe's works (namely, Faust), but as I am unfamiliar with German literature, I honestly couldn't discern much. But, I digress. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Apr 29, 2011
KAMIOPPAI
“As much as I wished for the happiness of one, someone else must be equally cursed. That’s how the story of a magical girl goes…”

I finally understand why one should not judge a book by its cover. To be honest, I never liked the design of the characters in Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica and I’m sure there are those out there (like me) who may be skeptical with this show due to that fact alone. I mean … doesn’t the swollen, flattened, wide, and overblown faces turn you off? It sure did for me. But boy, I cannot describe how glad I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Feb 4, 2014
kateXeee
"Make a contract with me... and become a Puella Magi!"

NOTHING IS WHAT IT SEEMS. That appears to be the theme of Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica (aka Puella Magi Madoka Magica). Almost every review you read will say something like "I wasn't expecting that to happen" and "that completely caught me off guard". Because as the plot twists and turns, not only are characters left shocked with what is going on, but so are the viewers. And it's fantastic.

[Story] - 8.5
Madoka Kaname is an ordinary teenage girl with a loving family and a few close friends. Then one night she has a strange dream in which read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices