Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica


Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika, Magical Girl Madoka Magica
Japanese: 魔法少女まどか★マギカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2011 to Apr 22, 2011
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.481 (scored by 337,023 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #44
Members: 556,307
Favorites: 30,766

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 23, 2013
Kalypze (All reviews)
What does it take for a series to become a masterpiece? Take a look at Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, and you might find the answer to that question.

I'll start this review by pointing out that I was not expecting much from this show. I didn't really want to watch it, either. The Mahou Shoujo genre has never interested me, so when a friend of mine, who in the past suggested things like Mirai Nikki, Deadman Wonderland, Death Note and Psycho-Pass to me, told me to watch Madoka Magica, I thought he was kidding and I ignored the series for a while. Once a month had read more
Jun 7, 2011
Ghostalker (All reviews)
It's been a long while since I watched and completed a magical girl series. So when I first read about SHAFT's first original anime production entitled "Puella Magi Madoka Magica" I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing how I usually don't watched the genre but at the same time curious on how SHAFT and Shinbou Akiyuki will gonna make one with their very unique visual style that defines SHAFT animated works. After watching their previous magical and supernatural series like Bakemonogatari, Dance in The Vampire Bund, Negima, and Natsu no Arashi, I'm convinced that I should at least try the series.

It’s a magical read more
Jan 6, 2011
Detective (All reviews)
I am the juice of my acid.
SHAFT is my body, and drugs are my blood.
I have created over a thousand seizures.
Unknown to DVD sales.
Nor known to stream on time.
Have withstood food to create many anime.
Yet, those hands will never hold money.
So as I pray, “UNLIMITED SHAFT WORKS”

-a rewrite inspired by those thousand freaking awesome muskets shooting at moustachioed dandelions during the end sequence of the first episode.

You have just stumbled upon the ultimate Mahou Shoujo, one that doesn't care if it's morally ambiguous or not, one with no stock footage, and one where the magic used substitutes candy for bloodbaths.

Story: Magical Girl overtones combined with read more
Apr 30, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
It's long been the case that specific genres of anime are often intensely focused on certain genders and age groups, and this fact is most apparent when one considers the mahou shoujo category. From Sailor Moon and Tokyo Mew Mew to Pretty Cure and Shugo Chara, the titles on offer that feature the exploits of one or more magical girls all seem to have several things in common - cute characters, cute outfits, cute sidekicks, "cute" costume changes, twinkly/sparkly/sugary atmospheres, and a penchant for appealing to the sensibilities of 7 to 14 year old girls.

Then there are the anomalous titles that deviate from the tried read more
Feb 21, 2011
Balibuli (All reviews)
Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica managed to do what I thought was impossible - took over the position of my favorite TV anime series from the first Suzumiya Haruhi series, while still airing. And my rating of was only rising with every subsequent episode.

Even though the story starts like any typical magical girl anime, you can clearly see it is going to be different from the very beginning - it is the girls' choice, not fate, to go on the path of magic. Being a magical girl is rather a cold business deal rather than a divine blessing. And magic is not a perfect cure for everything read more
Jan 22, 2014
Eastunder (All reviews)
We all have things in life that we treasure and hold close, whether it be friends, family, possessions, dreams, or just life itself. We tell ourselves that we will do everything in our power to preserve them, that we would never risk betting and losing them. But what, one day, you were given the opportunity to be granted a wish? A miracle, with no limits, that could give you something that you always wanted. Would you be willing to risk losing everything, the things you treasure, your humanity, and even your life, to have that one wish granted? If you would, would you regret it, read more
Dec 22, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
I feel like I'm in the minority here on MAL, and that's kinda depressing. Madoka Magica by and large is one of those programmes which receives no shortage of praise that I simply can't agree with one way or the other. I wouldn't mind it so much were it not for the fact that any sort of valid criticism or complaints anyone has with this series is instantly lost in a sea of downvotes and angry rants made by rabid fans who're breathing heavily whilst typing on their keyboards rapidly. Regardless, I'll make a feeble attempt at getting my voice heard. Will it work? Probably read more
Apr 29, 2011
KaminaKai (All reviews)
“As much as I wished for the happiness of one, someone else must be equally cursed. That’s how the story of a magical girl goes…”

I finally understand why one should not judge a book by its cover. To be honest, I never liked the design of the characters in Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica and I’m sure there are those out there (like me) who may be skeptical with this show due to that fact alone. I mean … doesn’t the swollen, flattened, wide, and overblown faces turn you off? It sure did for me. But boy, I cannot describe how glad I read more
Jun 28, 2013
IronBerserk (All reviews)
Madoka Magica is a smart and yet cursed show. Many including myself have applauded the show for being a brilliant take and twist on the magical girl genre, a genre that is usually meant to be an inspiration to kids. Madoka Magica changes this concept of Magical Girls by making it realistic. Fighting monsters (or witches in this case) would be a dangerous task in our reality and that is the case in point Madoka Magica tries to bring forward. A great idea on the part of the creators but unfortunately some great ideas can only go too far and the story suffers a bit read more
Feb 28, 2012
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
Forget everything you thought you knew about the magical girl genre, because Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica (or MSMM as I'll call it from here on for simplicity) is here to turn the genre upside down.

At its core, MSMM is a--like its title says--mahou shoujo. But it's what the series does with the genre that makes it something truly marvelous; the magic is in the execution. In the beginning, it may seem like any other, set up to be generally innocent, light-hearted, nonchalant, and fun; but by the time ED begins at the end of episode 3, the monster will be revealed for what read more
Apr 27, 2013
Jovoo (All reviews)
From all the trailers and ads that Aniplex and Shaft released for Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica, it seemed that it would be your typical magic girl show, a show along the lines of Sailor Moon and Cardcaptor Sakura. However, this had to be purposely orchestrated, as the show is nothing like that and it is clear from it's marketing that Aniplex wanted to surprise people with it, and they did a hell of a job.

This anime takes everything you know and love/hate about the magical girl genre and flips it 180. The plot starts off with your typical 'Magical Girl' traits and cliches, but soon takes read more
Apr 21, 2011
Cobbles (All reviews)
Madoka! An anime that has gotten tons of hype before its initial airing, even more hype once it started, and said hype went through multiple figurative roofs after everyone had watched the first three episodes. Truly this anime has become a phenomena and its just as interesting to watch everyone clamor around it as much as watching the show itself. A little context first though, a while back everyone was whispering about a possible Shaft Mahou Shoujo project with Akiyuki Shinbou attached as the director. In of itself, it wasn't too eyebrow-raising asides from the fact that Shinbou had directed the first season of Nanoha read more
Apr 25, 2011
ryu2k2 (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica wants be an outstanding show, something that wasn't delivered before, but fails at this feat in pretty much all departments of animation.

It's commonly conceived as a deconstruction of the mahou shoujo genre. However Madoka Magica merely twists some aspects of the mahou shoujo genre to give them a dark edge, but does not critically point out any potential flaws of the genre to make its audience question the genre's substance.

Starting off with the most obvious aspect, the visuals, Madoka Magica presents us with a lot of dark alleys and conversations without much animations going on. The few battles going on during read more
Apr 8, 2014
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
Fyodor Dostoyevsky. Goethe. Voltaire. William Shakespeare. Charles Dickens. Oscar Wilde. These are some of the most critically acclaimed and influential authors the world has ever seen. They have written texts that have shaped way we perceive the world. They have introduced ideas and philosophies that were previously unimaginable, and as a result left a deep imprint on the Western and Eastern worlds. But alas, none of them compare to Urobuchi Gen's magnum opus, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica. Never before was there such a profound piece of art on this level of brilliance. By comparison, all of the other authors mentioned seem like amateur fanfiction read more
Jul 24, 2015
Kayflower (All reviews)
I'll be perfectly honest and upfront about that the fact that I'm very new to the world of anime and manga, and Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica is officially the first anime series that I've completed from start to finish.

I had no expectations really when I chose it from a list on Netflix, and had no idea of its popularity or anything. I simply thought the characters looked cute and the description sounded fun. Boy, was I in for a surprise!

✿~ Story ~✿

Simply fantastic! The story is much darker and deeper than I could have ever imagined, with twists and surprises thrown read more
Aug 9, 2013
Savepoints (All reviews)
"It sucks, but you can't reach a happy ending just by doing what's right all the time." - Kaname Junko

Now, there are already quite a few reviews of this anime out there (and more to come, most likely) but since all of them differ in some way, I might as well write mine too. However, the first thing I’ll tell you is that if you haven’t seen this show (or had it spoiled for you), and you have any intention whatsoever to actually watch it, then my tip would be to actually not read too much about the series before watching it...

Now then, let’s get read more
Dec 23, 2012
Moebeam (All reviews)
In all honesty, I entered this series with optimistic skepticism, for as a general principle, I tend not to like highly rated anime. Far too often, I see a story with a great concept that misses several key opportunities to expand the plot [Angel Beats], or perhaps one whose characters simply don't seem particularly real to me [Hanasaku Iroha--at least, the first 4 episodes I watched before subsequently dropping the series]. To say the least, I expected this to be one of the same kinds of anime.

Boy, was I wrong.

Most reading this will know the story. Reading other reviews will reveal that read more
Jan 22, 2011
dogtato (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is Shinbo x SHAFT doing what they do best. The visuals are great and a major selling point. It touches on all the usual tropes as if to prove it's a magical girl anime like any other but then it goes and departs from all of that and gives us something new and unique. The story keeps you yearning for that next episode. As of episode 9 it hasn't lost steam.

This is an adult-targeted magical girl show. It's dark, heavy-hitting, suspenseful and the battles with witches are glorious and ridiculous. I'd go so far as to call it Magical Girlin' Lagann. It's even lacking read more
Apr 3, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)


Of all the divisive figures in anime, very few can start flame wars like Gen Urobuchi. Most "elite" critics here on MAL and over on the bastion of sophisticated intellectuals that is 4chan, hate him and call him the Anti-Christ of anime. I personally find him extremely hit-or-miss. One thing Urobuchi has going for him is that like George RR Martin, he is a crusty old bastard that won't cave to fan demands and make a happy ending, sparing all of the fan favorite characters. When the viewer doesn't know who will live and who will die each week, it adds suspense and keeps things read more
Apr 22, 2011
5camp (All reviews)
Madoka Magica is a story of Hope, Friendship, Despair, Evil Fluffy Magical Creatures, Cotton Balls with Moustaches and Parasailing Men in Orange Jumpsuits.It's also the best damn anime Japan has put out in a rather long time.

I hes­it­ate to use the word ‘sub­ver­sion’ when describ­ing Madoka Magica, as it’s a word thrown around by many, not under­stand­ing what it is Madoka is sub­vert­ing in the first place. What I see is a group of girls, who oth­er­wise would spend their time eat­ing cake, being cute and gen­er­ally being insuf­fer­ably nice to each other, hav­ing great powers given to them and then made to suf­fer because read more