Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fushigi Yuugi: Genbu Kaiden

Fushigi Yuugi: Genbu Kaiden

Alternative Titles

English: Fushigi Yugi: Genbu Kaiden
Synonyms: Fushigi Yugi Genbu Kaiden, Ayashi no Ceres Gaiden
Japanese: ふしぎ遊戯 玄武開伝

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 40
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 15, 2003 to Feb 14, 2013
Authors: Watase, Yuu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Sho-Comi Zoukan

Statistics

Score: 8.241 (scored by 4339 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4462
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #965
Members: 9,642
Favorites: 521

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 12, 2007
mistress_reebi (All reviews)
Preliminary
The prequel to the popular shojo manga series "Fushigi Yugi" tells the tale of the first priestess of The Universe of The Four Gods. You don't have to read the original to understand the events. Fans of the series may find the Genbu arc to be more enjoyable. It's darker and more mature than the previous series and filled with more angst filled drama. (Especially for those who read or seen the spoiler in the original series) This series doesn't require a Kleenex box, yet... but is does fall into the tragedy category. Fushigi Yugi: Genbu Kaiden is a serious, adventure manga bordering shojo read more
Jul 11, 2009
Akachi_Tem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hehe,here comes my review and I'm second as I see.

Story 9/10
Very creative I have to say,very.Especially compared to other manga who usually take place in high school and such.This is a romantic anime indeed but I like how it starts how things progress and how the characters meet with each other.I'm also a big fan of manga/anime that have to do with history and such(ex.mthology) but also combines romance.The idea of a girl being sucked inside a book is pretty damn good,and I like the two worlds and the fact that she has to return to both.Makes things complicated like they already weren't.It also combines read more
Oct 27, 2017
Happy_Mask (All reviews)
I am really picky when it comes reading fantasy mangas. I planned to read this when the first 11 chapters came out but held back because I wanted to binge on this manga so bad without getting stuck on cliffhangers and the waiting game for the next chapters to come out... and boy I'm glad I did! This is Watase-sama's masterpiece. i couldn't really stress this out more, its the type of story that will get you to hold on to your seat as the events unfold while the story progresses.

STORY:
I' try my hardest not to compare it to the original one (despite read more
Sep 26, 2013
red_888 (All reviews)
STORY

I do admit that this got my attention bec. Fushigi Yuugi has been my favorite anime of all time. Upon reading the manga, Fushigi Yuugi: Genbu Kaiden, i thought it would be the same plot as the story of the Suzaku Group. But sensei Yuu Watase is a very good mangaka indeed. It has different plot and a lot more dramatic than the other. Though, rest assured that you will definitely enjoy this one too! I mean to say that you will keep on thinking what will happen next, why did that happen, and so forth. I got teary eyed as the story reaches it's read more
Mar 5, 2014
chichiriNoDa (All reviews)
Water of life, swell with wind and let them walk the earth once more. It matters not where or when. Let it be that this time they should meet and never again be separated. And this... was the first story told of the Priestess of Genbu. - FY:GK Final Volume [Yuu Watase]

After a long decade of grueling and impatient wait, Yuu Watase has finally concluded Genbu's arc of Fushigi Yugi, her life's work. As much as I love the classic original Fushigi Yugi, this prequel proved as a worthy stand alone series that far exceeded in storytelling, art and overall theme compared to its predecessor, read more
Sep 7, 2017
Hyou-rin (All reviews)
Genbu Kaiden was a... breathtaking journey.

Fushigi Yuugi: Genbu Kaiden is the prequel to Fushigi Yuugi and tells the story of the first Priestess, of Genbu, and the Genbu Seishi (celestial warriors). I had read the original first and while heading into this, expected a similar plot, same atmosphere and copied themes and tropes. But I got sooo much more.

Story: 10
The story is an easy 10. I'm going to try not to compare it too much to the original as it deserves to be its own standalone. The manga starts on our MC Takiko Okuda whose mother has recently died and father hates her. read more
Mar 9, 2014
manga8me (All reviews)
I really loved this manga! Although for me the drawings were ok, it got a lot better as the story goes by. This manga really made me experience a bunch of different emotions and it really tugged on my heartstrings. The story was really cool and creative, the art was not bad but got a whole lot better as the story passes by, and I also think the mangaka drew the guy characters very nicely. The characters were ok at first but there was a whole lot of character development that makes you really love the characters (there were also some characters you would just read more