Kichikujima
Freak Island
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Kichikujima

Alternative Titles

English: Freak Island
Japanese: 鬼畜島

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Dec 26, 2013 to ?
Genres: HorrorHorror
Authors: Hokazono, Masaya (Story & Art)
Serialization: Web Comic Gamma

Statistics

Score: 5.861 (scored by 16901,690 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #139552
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2237
Members: 5,962
Favorites: 32

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 19, 2018
HatefulEnjay (All reviews)
This story starts off as a cross between "The Hills Have Eyes" and "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" on an island, then goes in an odd direction: the psychotic, mutant cannibal clan are by far the most sympathetic characters in it. This is probably this manga's most notable feature, and I think it's biggest shortcoming. The intent was likely to be social commentary, as in even decent people will do horrible things in bad enough circumstances. Instead, it largely just comes off as every single character being a cartoonishly horrible person.

The reason I consider this a shortcoming is because, if the insane cannibals are far more read more
Jan 30, 2020
Buexta (All reviews)
TL;DR It's a trainwreck.

Contains minor spoilers from the first ~5 chapters

The story starts out like any Slasher film does: bunch of teens get stranded in the killer's territory and when they realize what's going on, it's already too late. Nothing original, but fine. Can work with that.
But from chapter 2 onwards it just gets more and more unbelievable.
From the very beginning our MC spots several nuclear waste barrels in the surrounding waters, but refuses to tell his friends. Even when they start to get hungry and catch some fish, he does not tell them that these fish are contaminated, but rather lets them read more
Oct 11, 2017
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
Let's see?

Story starts off

With a sense of being watch from afar at the island. Takahisa’s paranoid reaction of uneasiness,Concerned Fuji then eventually everyone with a feel of Curiosity about the island. With a claim that the island is possibly cursed and others wanting to go there to see it. Soon they were Alerted by a suppose survivor by a fire coming from shore.

I have to say this one is the most bizarre in horror when you're reading this, it just feels like you watching a horror b-movie. This manga is very different from all the horror one I've read. It plot is read more
Dec 8, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
It is a trainwreck.

Breakdown: 2/10 story; 4/10 art; 1/10 character; 2/10 enjoyment; 2/10 overall.

There is a sub-genre of manga where the story largely takes a back seat, and very quickly devolves into a semi-nonsensical string of events that depict horrible, horrible, horrible, horrible things happening to people for no reason. Usually in this kind of manga guts and body parts start to fly and dismemberment is common. You know, those mangas, right?

This is one of those mangas.

The story starts with several students getting stranded on a strange island with a murderous madman. However, few chapters in it falls apart, and starts throwing weird plot read more
Jun 11, 2020
Owlsthirdeye (All reviews)
Its so bad i cant stop reading. Its like the author wants to change the genre every few chapters. Oh its a slasher, now its radioactive horror cannibals, now its a war on the island, now all the cast is stuck in a hole eating each other, now its a tsundere romance manga and oh is that the fucking pope i see coming to smite the island with his stand powers. WTF is going on I can't look away! Read this for the same reason you watch The Room or Birdemic not because its good but because its a fucking wild ride.
May 19, 2020
Fawninanimewoods (All reviews)
Survival horror with gore scenes has been my jam. Kichikujima gave off exactly those vibes, in the beginning, however, it changed in later volumes to be a cult secret. It's enjoyable nonetheless due to the gore.

What strikes a chord about the manga is the straight forward violence. It's amazing how the creator brought out the twisted thoughts of each character in tight situations. Characters who would annoy you, in the beginning, will slowly seem to make sense and perhaps you will feel empathy towards them. One thing is for sure - Everyone is crazy!

There is no dull moment in any chapter. Each chapter is either read more
Aug 12, 2019
ChaoticOrderr (All reviews)
Overall: This manga reads like you are watching a B-horror film and if you enjoy those then this will be right up your alley.

Plot: Decent, got more interesting once the Supernatural stuff got involved.

Characters: They are all like someone pulled out of a B-horror film. Cartoony and not that bright, but the Family is entertaining to watch.

Art: It is unique. the gore is pretty nice, some viscera and a lot of blood.

Enjoyment: I was entertained enough to binge it in one sitting. If you don't take it too seriously and aren't looking to be scared you'll have a good enough time.

The read more
Feb 12, 2021
sickchan (All reviews)
well...how can i start...
first i want to make clear that this manga has alot of plot twist so if you don't like that then this manga isn't for you, i started reading this because of the gore content but dropped it at 13 chapters (and i never drop any series even if they suck), why? well the story is a mess that gets worse with every chapter. the story starts because a group of friends get trapped in a mysterious island after their boat sank down, in that island there is a cannibal family that obviosly want to kill them, here is when all gets read more