Koe no Katachi
A Silent Voice
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Koe no Katachi

Alternative Titles

English: A Silent Voice
Synonyms: The Shape of Voice
Japanese: 聲の形

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 7
Chapters: 64
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 7, 2013 to Nov 19, 2014
Genres: DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Authors: Ooima, Yoshitoki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.861 (scored by 101703101,703 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #252
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #13
Members: 187,286
Favorites: 18,483

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 9, 2014
ichigo2979 (All reviews)
Preliminary
East Asian schools are somewhat infamous for the teasing, ostracizing and sometimes inhuman oppression students can inflict on their fellow classmates. This is not to say that educational institutions across the world, from preschool to graduate, are exempt from bullying in some form or another. It’s a universal phenomenon that crops up wherever social order exists.

Those who are doing the bullying may not realize the extent of the damage they cause (“We’re just having fun”) or otherwise justify it through the abasement of their victims (“he’s so weird; she deserves it”).

Those at the receiving end often “demonize” their oppressors and curse the world and read more
Dec 10, 2014
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
If you were a bully, would you try to change who you were? If you were a victim of bullying, would you forgive your assailant? Koe no Katachi (literally translated “The Shape of Voice” in English) by Ooima Yoshitoki details the story of Ishida Shouya, and his growth from a savage terror in elementary school, concerned only with satisfying his own need for stimulation, to a young man with concern and empathy for those around him.

We’re first introduced to Shouya as a child, performing a “test of courage” with his friends. You see, dear reader, Shouya is afraid of boredom. School is boring, stagnating is read more
May 10, 2015
Meowsorz (All reviews)
While reading this, I thought this would be the greatest thing since internet porn. You got a deaf girl who is getting bullied by some kids, you get a main character who is a bundle of development, and you get some good feels out of it. And then it ends. Abruptly like your mother slamming on the breaks suddenly without your seatbelt and you suddenly hit your head on the dashboard. Then you ask your mom "Why the hell did you do that?" And then she shrugs her shoulders.

Throughout the duration of this mango, it was a rollercoaster of kids trying to not get read more
Jul 22, 2015
gust0717 (All reviews)
Koe no Katachi sensitized me. It kept thinking about it during all the time I read it, and also after. I'll try to explain why this manga is so powerfull.

We follow Ishida Shouya in his quest for redemption, because in his childhood he bullied a deaf girl, Nishimiya Shouko, then being he himself bullied. Many would say he does not deserve forgiveness, but yet, he is trying his best to make up for the time he ruined for Shouko. This journey is just so relatable and credible because ,just like live itself, it has its ups and downs, its happy moments and its sad moments.

During read more
Dec 25, 2013
devilsfruitt (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story/Enjoyment: Koe no Katachi started as a one-shot and evolved in to so much more.
The original storyline focused on the main character, Ishida Shouya and his interactions with the new girl in class, Nishimiya Shouko. Nishimiya is not just any transfer student, she is deaf. This fact is very difficult for Ishida, his class, and even his teacher to grasp.
The manga itself deals with very heavy topics, like bullying and suicide. Although the one-shot portrayed the bullying and its effects on not only Nishimiya's but Ishida's lives, the manga continuation of Koe no Katachi deals with the after-affects of bullying and Ishida's life a few read more
Dec 13, 2014
eskimoseb (All reviews)
I discovered Koe no Katachi by chance, and within a day had the entire story finished. It’s an absorbing coming-of-age romance, heavy on the drama with hints of comedy to lighten the tone. It jointly focuses on bullying, the issues of friendship and chasing after one’s dreams. Koe no Katachi has a unique twist though: the main romance is between a deaf girl, Nishimiya Shouko, and the guy who bullied her in elementary school, Ishida Shouyo. An odd pairing it is indeed, but the relationship is driven by the insecurities and weaknesses of both characters, questioning the limits and potential of catharsis to heal what read more
May 19, 2015
parttimeotaku97 (All reviews)
Koe no katachi is a master piece and is one of the very few shounen manga which is routed to the ground with its realistic characters as well as situations. The manga deals with bullying at a young age and how it influences the characters in the story. It isn't a simple redemption story of a bullied bully as it goes through many different situations in life that we don't sometimes evaluate like what it means to have a friend, what it means to live and what it means to change.

Art: The art is very realistic as it's not the normal perfect looking people read more
Apr 6, 2015
jvmercado (All reviews)
This is only my second time to review anything here, and Im no expert in doing so but I believe this little gem of a story deserved my praise. Koe no Katachi was just something I stumbled upon searching through the tons of manga hoping to find something that would spark my interest. Not only did it do so, but it also struck me with such strong emotions. It made me realize how powerful the medium of manga writing can be. It's true that fictional works may not have happened (hence the title of fiction), but the emotions they convey to their readers are very read more
Mar 30, 2015
LuciasFalkner (All reviews)
So... My first impression of Koe no Katachi was overall my generic reaction to the synopsis of a Slice of Life. It could go anywhere, be anything, turn out great or be something I wish I'd never read. Needless to say, what I got was not what I expected.

This manga, which I can best summarize as something along the lines of Bakuman meets AnoHana, greeted me with a punch right to the face. From the very beginning, I knew exactly what kind of manga this was going to be. Even still, I was beyond surprised by what I got.

Story: 9

While I feel the story read more
Jun 25, 2014
Lolipedophin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to be straightforward here. Saying that Koe No Katachi is one of the best mangas I have ever read would be a cop out because Koe no Katachi is THE best manga I have ever read. I find it hard to say because it's a shounen that has no swords, no titans, no Death Note; but it has me on my seat regardless.

The story is well told. The mangaka doesn't spam you with useless knowledge nor does he/she have excess dialogue that a lot of shounen manga have problems with. I don't want to say anything about the events that take place read more
Nov 28, 2014
myjonpol (All reviews)
What makes this manga worth reading?

Actually, I don't want to spoil the whole story since it was a masterpiece of work (in my opinion) and the reader should be the one to decide it after reading the story but I just like to give you a simple thoughts.

If life is hard and complicated for a normal person, how do think it is for a person with disability?

as the synopsis suggest, this is a story of bullying and redemption.

but what is REDEMPTION actually?

redemption is 'the action of saving or being saved from sin, error, or evil.'

I guess to make the long story short, this series read more
Aug 4, 2019
Naanchos (All reviews)
I wish I could like this manga, but sadly I can't. I can only say that it was a missed opportunity to write a really moving story, at best. It's not that I hate this manga, but it's certainly not what I expected.

My main problem with Koe no Katachi is its characters. Starting with the main ones, Ishida and Nishimiya. These two should've been the best written characters in the story, and considering the kind of plot this thing has, I would've expected more engaging and complex interactions. In every instance when these two had a talk, I couldn't help but think "what kind of read more
Aug 7, 2015
CStrife91 (All reviews)
Well I don't write many reviews let alone manga reviews. I will admit my anime viewing list may be long by my manga one I can count on my hand haha. My friend suggested this to me due to my slice of life background.

I picked it up and in a whole day went through an emotional journey filled with wonderfully laid of characters and a relationship which started as something awful, blossoming into something beautiful.

Koe no Katachi (A Silent Voice) is about a boy Ishida being bored with school and hating upon a transfer student Nishimiya. The twist is however she is deaf and read more
Mar 19, 2015
ren6 (All reviews)
~MAY CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS!~
Honestly, I only started reading Koe no Katachi because I started learning sign language. At first, I thought was gonna be a good experience read a manga that have some elements of something I was studying, and I could also be learning something to my studies. The truth is, I discovered this story was more complex, dramatic and more related to myself that I could imagine.

It follows Shouya Ishida, a guy who had been in the position of someone who've made bullying, but also was bullied by the ones who have practiced with him. As he suffered these traumatic things after read more
Nov 1, 2014
pokeguy123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anywhere we go in the world. There is bullying although it may only seem to apply to children but anyone can be victimised, forgotten which can make them angry, sad, depressed or even TAKE there own lives. We can not stop this completely as its integrated into are society however we can make the world a better place. Ask yourself this question if you are bullying someone. "Why do I do it?, How does it make me feel?". Of course the awnser might be obvious but the action is completly different. "You can change things in this world, however one thing you cannot change is read more
Nov 23, 2014
fodderchara18 (All reviews)
Warning: the following review cointains some spoilers and is meant to be read by those who have either some previous knowledge of the manga or have already finished it. If you don`t want to get spoiled, don`t read it.

Ok, before i begin, let me get this out of the way: this manga is great. It`s an extraordinary shounen/slice of life story and one of the best i`ve read. If you haven`t yet, go read it now!

I`ll start with what i think it`s the main point of this series (besides the bullying and the deaf people wake up call) - communication. How people communicate. How people read more
Mar 31, 2015
Felix_Andersen (All reviews)
Writing review again, i will try to not spoiler the story throughout my review.
Sorry if my grammar is wrong, because it is not my main language.

Do you ever feel betrayed by your BEST friend ?? someone you thought will always support you no matter what happened, someone who will always stand up for you whenever you get bullied ??

Story 10/10
I gave the story 10 score because, the story where the main character bullying action, backfire to him, really catch my attention. At first, it seems the story is really boring because it just showed us a typical kids playing after school with their friends, until read more
Mar 13, 2015
soumi_kun (All reviews)
#100% spoiler free
"Koe no Katachi" or "A silent voice" or "The shape of voice" is a very unique and appealing story.
The title itself makes you wonder about the context of the story.
If you like reading shojou or highschool or slice of life romance and want to try something new, then just go on try this, just read the first chapter or the one-shot, and try to make yourself not read the rest of the story.
We all know how terrible and horrifying school bullies are and on top that bullying a deaf girl(sounds really far-fetched, i know right) , and yet sensei has read more
Feb 16, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Malice. Guilt. Regret. Human beings are ugly on the inside. As much as we like to preach about love and affection, there is an equal amount of hatred and envy lurking in all of us. And when that dark side is unleashed, the line between human and animal is quite easily crossed.

Bullying is one of the most prevalent cases of just this type of behaviour, and is something that is almost unavoidable in any place that has some sort of social order. The offenders normally try to laugh it off as some sort of joke, or as if it's not really a big deal. For read more
Aug 10, 2016
EbiLChase (All reviews)
After hearing a movie was coming out for Koe no Katachi, I felt obligated to read the manga. So I read the summary and was 100% hooked on this from the get go.

This is a cute and EXTREMELY sad manga, you will get hit in the feels. You feel sad, happy, angry, and empty as you read this until the very last chapter. Honestly I wish I read it when it came out because it's brilliant and a must read. I wish it was longer but I was definitely not upset (with every part but one) with what I read and I read more