Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kasane

Kasane

Alternative Titles

English: Kasane
Synonyms: Rui
Japanese: 累-かさね-

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 126
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 23, 2013 to Aug 10, 2018
Authors: Matsuura, Daruma (Story & Art)
Serialization: Evening

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 2815 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16752
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #898
Members: 10,242
Favorites: 289

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2017
InfinityShade (All reviews)
Preliminary
After reading the other reviews I have to throw my two cents in; Kasane is amazing. If anyone's dealt with low confidence and lack of good relationships they know how hard life is and how hard it is to build yourself up. So if you got the chance to easily make your dreams come true, would you take it?

Kasane dives really deep into both taboo topics, and topics that are rarely talked about. These are for example "Is changing your looks to fit the standard society has set a good way of living? A worthy way of living?"
Also, the topic that is never talked read more
Mar 24, 2016
CJ_hope (All reviews)
Preliminary
STORY (7)

The plot itself was interesting and original, well, I never read anything like that before. At first, I thought the whole thing would be just the same thing over and over again (Her looking for a beauty to kiss with her magical lipstick to faceswap with that person). But it finally got interesting after 6 chapters.

ART (7)

Kasane is really gloomy and ugly. She is SO ugly that her face is almost caricatural and always shadowed. She even wears medic mask to hide her face. I really wished to see her 'normal' face, maybe by curiosity. The art in general was okay. The pretty people read more
Jan 16, 2019
Natsuki_Hyundai (All reviews)
I first thought that this manga would be a trashy, edgy, romantic tragedy. Well, I was right about it being edgy. Let's begin the review.

Kasane is a very strange and twisted manga. There are a lot of disturbing themes in this, mostly involving women. It's no Goblin Slayer, but since apparently no work of art is allowed to make anyone feel even mildly disturbed these days, I still must warn you in advance.

The story was a lot better than I expected. It's a bit slow in the first volume, leading you to believe that it's going to be a repetitive 'steal this girl's face read more
Mar 23, 2018
Frostysnows22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kasane is a dark story.

It is essentially the struggle of an unlikable grotesque female and the opposition of beauty with her own inherent ugliness. Kasane is a sad character full of bitterness and an abyss of ugliness. Maybe you have lusted after the Beaty of others, or felt the burden of self criticism and obsession. This story is about that.

I like the art it’s clean and smooth, but that’s pretty subjective.
I also personally like unlikable characters who are simply just complex and interesting. Our main female is awful in a very interesting way, she cowards, averts her eyes, and covers her face and body read more
Jan 14, 2019
Kalopsychia (All reviews)
When I read the first chapter, I wasn't expecting much.
A character who is as dark as she is dangerous, who I sympathize with, but actions can't condone, with amazing art and maybe one or two interesting plot points.
Instead I read about characters who are different and layered, all beautifully drawn with a macabre tone. The main character really is dark, yet you cheer her on, as her view of things makes you wonder about your own life, and what could be with another face.
The Art is amazing, a bit dark and unconventional maybe, fitting the story.
Although some moments in the story make you go "Huh?" read more
Feb 10, 2019
HWinsen (All reviews)
Face-swap, that thing was a hot meme on our world some time ago. It was funny, right? However, a face-swap for Kasane meant everything to her. It gives her opportunities. It can change her life.

Story:
You already read the summary. A girl with a bad, terrible, monstrous face wants to be an actress just like her gorgeous mother. The story is filled with a huge mystery right from the beginning and the authors expertly pull the strings together and mended them into one hell of a twist of fate. There are no plot holes, but I think a few questions are answered with force. Especially the read more
Mar 9, 2018
ricots08 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First time writing a review so have mercy on my grammar and such
Story 9 = Kasane from the word itself googling it up (source: wordhippo.com) means : layer, pile, suit since our character is just wearing another persons face. I really like the development of the story showing the early chapters of what her school life have been then leading to her maturity. I gave it a nine because there are chapters that are a bit cliche but overall it was done well.

Art 10 = I dont judge much mangas about art aslong as it doesn't confuse me still the art was beautiful for read more
Mar 30, 2019
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10
Anatomy and proportions checked out when they were supposed to look real. I liked how Kasane's proportions would get wild during moments of despair or deep self-loathing. Nature wasn't really showcased at all. Backgrounds looked fine. Supporting details were here and there; they looked fine too. Impact shots were used sparingly which I feel was a slight letdown. I feel this manga could have gained a lot of mileage if it used more impact shots especially during resounding moments of self-pity, regret, and resolve. Facial expressions were nice; they were strong and were able to convey a sense read more
Dec 3, 2018
assbrick (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you have ever studied literature, then you must know that Aristotle believed that tragedies elicit both fear and pity.

Kasane is a tragedy. A horrific looking girl, Kasane Fuchi, has always been bullied for being ugly, but is then gifted—or cursed—with the power to be able to swap faces by her (deceased) beautiful actress mother. Throughout the story, you see that all of the characters constantly face adversity. You pity them, but the fear of what will happen and what IS happening will constantly be prevalent. The juxtaposition of these feelings will continue to fester up with more and more devastating events happening one after read more
Feb 18, 2019
Hentaicheg (All reviews)
I am only writing this review because the only reviews who actually completed the series so far are rating it as high as 9 and 10 which may lead you into a false belief of it actually being a hidden gem as I thought, so I am here to unveil the curtain and mention hidden icebergs you should brace yourself for.

I will start with stating the fact that it's more Josei than Seinen and Psychological... the only seinen element is a few rape scenes.. and psychological... I guess one dimensional characters having trouble with sorting their feelings could be psychology for someone.. but I expected read more
Apr 18, 2019
chloqi (All reviews)
If there was a way to simply describe Kasane, it would be that it is hauntingly beautiful.

At first, I was interested in its uniqueness from other manga. It was cruel, twisted and honestly unbearable to read sometimes but it reflects most of what life is. You find yourself sympathising and, perhaps, seeing yourself in Kasane. As a reader, you are first repulsed by her, as are most of the characters in this manga but as the story blossoms, I found myself loving her and supporting her.

As the manga drew to a close, I let out a breath I didn't know I was holding, read more
May 16, 2018
HatefulRandom (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kasane is a manga which ends up defying expectations (I know, I know). The premise is obviously a stereotypical kid gains superpowers gimmick, but don't let that decide the value of this manga. Give her a few chapters to get into her groove, she's a child, she's learning.

Story: 8
Kasane is not a happy-go-lucky story. It tackles difficult subjects such as ugliness, privilege, differing worldviews, and the unfairness of life in general. The story can linger too long in some arcs, and rush through, but overall forms a dark cohesive web that will ensnare you, if you let it. read more
Apr 2, 2018
Coralira (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a true drama to me. It can get pretty messed up at times and depressing.

Story: 9

It's about a girl who's face is so ugly people can't bear to look at it.
Her story isn't about getting back at bullies or coming to love herself, it's about throwing her old self away and trying to become someone completely fake in order to be loved. So it's a pretty negative theme when most stories try to teach you to love yourself. But in Kasane's case it's interesting to see how far she would go, and for her beauty is also power. It's like she's the read more