Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Umi no Misaki

Umi no Misaki

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 海の御先

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 135
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 23, 2007 to Feb 28, 2014
Authors: Fumizuki, Kou (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Animal

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 7132 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #40822
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #564
Members: 15,066
Favorites: 233

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 7, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
It is not often that you'd come across an ecchi harem manga, where the main characters aren't afraid to follow-trough and express their affections for one another, just like any real couple in an actual relationship. Yet that is exactly the kind of manga you've stumbled across. Umi no Misaki being an Ecchi, Harem, Slice of Life, with a greater focus on the Romance to enhance its relaxing story; revolving around an island community, with its own ancient customs and cultural traditions.

Set in the radiant & lush island of Okitsu; a city boy named Nagi Goto travels to such an isolated rural environment, for read more
Dec 20, 2014
Corruptbomber (All reviews)
It really is quite a story. Umi no Misaki is very unique and can pull us into this lovely tale with suspicion, mystery, and a slight suspense that enthralls the ecchi and romance that surrounds the main character.

I liked the uniqueness and the suspense built into this manga. I didn't like the various awkwardness that was brought about, even if it added to the story.
Jan 30, 2015
paddyspens (All reviews)
Well, this is my first time reviewing a manga but after finishing this prime example of a harem manga, I thought I should write one.

Story starts with our hero Goto Nagi, who's a highschool kid coming to a remote island where his mother was a local. The background for the manga is pretty generic. "A used playground" is the correct word. Manga is based on that used playground, but it makes a great sandcastle.
For the few chapters, manga makes you think that this is a mystery manga and that the protaganist is trying to solve the puzzle, but that's not it. Not remote. read more
Jul 7, 2012
mech66 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello guys reading my review, this is my first review so please don't think badly of it.
Now to get onto the grasp of this manga, i have read about 100 chapters so i would have a fair knowledge about this. You might hate this manga for whatever reasons but i give good scores to anime and manga because they are always entertaining in a way whatever the anime/manga is like typical,ecchi,harem,drama.

About: This starts off like some typical harem mangas and animes do, which i fairly like about it, it starts off the main protagonist then meets a heroine in a way, then he discovers a read more
Apr 13, 2017
Yuusha-dono (All reviews)
After following over 500 series (manga and anime) I've finally found the rare pearl I was looking for !

I began reading this by pure chance, I just saw the title in a list and the synopsys made me want to have a look at this manga even if I dislike harem.
But after I began to read, I couldn't stop, the story is really amazing, the folklore of the island is well developed, even if some character can be pretty annoying at some time you'll realise that there story is developed as much as the main character and that they are not just girl, but a read more
Oct 5, 2014
txrxgxu (All reviews)
This is the harem manga I've been looking for!

So the comment field were full of comments saying things like "this is not your average "harem comedy", and guess what, they are all correct!

My personal theory on how this manga came about is that the author came up with this highly erotic setting; a desolate island in south Okinawa, a mystical and ancient sect, and three maidens who have been trained their whole life to fulfill the desires of the reincarnated Dragon God - if the Dragon God were to reincarnate that is. So when the mangaka was about to get off on this whole thing read more
Mar 1, 2016
Eastblue-no-Ryu (All reviews)
After being into Anime and Manga seriously for over 10 years now, I can say with confidence that I'm familiar with the medium, as well as the genres. But there isn't a genre that I'm more judgmental of than harem romcom.

In the beginning I was accepting of most harem stories if the main character finally chose one girl by the end. But as I got older, I had more and more expectations and became less tolerable of certain tropes. It's because of this that I've ignored Harem series as of late.

But then I came across Umi no Misaki. I'd seen the series cover on read more
Feb 23, 2018
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

✦Story
A bit of a nonstandard harem ecchi show. Consist of a guy and 3 girls. Development of strong and mutual love with a certain circumstances. Meaning would be that the girls are a part of a island culture/religion and must serve a certain lord. Obviously our main character is that lord. Main guy wants a simple and honest life and isn't fond of being served and those how the story shall begin sprouting. Slowly uncovering the whole island tradition while living daily lives with 3 beautiful girls. read more
Nov 1, 2017
wolfy_ (All reviews)
The story starts out great, you have a fun set of characters and it's beautiful to see their interactions and growth, even if the main character still leaves much to be desired, I would say he still resembles shonen main characters that just go along with the flow without a will of their own.

But by the ending, the story not only took a turn for the worst, it went full speed at it. Disregarding everything we were presented before about the characters, their feelings and resolve.

Too me those final chapters completely destroyed any good mood I had while reading the story, and instead read more
Apr 18, 2018
RepThe21st (All reviews)
Umi No Misaki is seemingly a simple tale about a young man arriving in a mysterious island with strange but beautiful customs, and his interactions with the islanders and specifically the Cape Maidens of the local religion, once his role as that religion's central figure is revealed.


However, that's where simplicity ends. Without spoiling too much, I will say that the plot is contrived, the characters mostly one-dimensional or outright caricatures, with the sole exception of the MC, Nagi, who is alright but nothing to write home about.
The art is mediocre at best. There was no aspect of this story or its presentation that captivated read more