Dragon Ball
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Dragonball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragonball Z
Japanese: ドラゴンボール
English: Dragon Ball
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 42
Chapters: 520
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 20, 1984 to May 23, 1995
Genres: Action Action, Adventure Adventure, Comedy Comedy, Sci-Fi Sci-Fi
Themes: Martial Arts Martial Arts, Super Power Super Power
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)
Authors: Toriyama, Akira (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 7921379,213 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1832
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #60
Members: 128,327
Favorites: 12,067

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2008
kingofranger (All reviews)
Meh :D I read the the whole manga and is awesome :D

Story-

The story is well-developed and does everything to make a kid happy :D Awesome fighting,Training,Aura,comedies and stuffs :D

Art- Well the art is ok but the ears seem a little big to me :P

Character- Aliens and stuffs were good :D The characters were well-developed and have different personalities

Enjoyment- I seriously enjoyed the manga from begining till the end :D

Overall- This is a really good manga that u would want to read :D It is funny and ACTION PACKED!!! You don't wanna miss this old-school manga ;)
Dec 18, 2009
Chenoan (All reviews)
Ever since I was little I was a hardcore fight fan, I loved watching shows where the antagonists had to battle for the survival of all they held dear, even now I hold fondly the anime that had given me my first taste as it aired on my morning cartoon network "Cheese TV." It was a boring morning when I stumbled upon the Dragonball manga and I soon found that morning cheering up as I delightfully relived the story of Goku and his Dragonball adventures.

Story [10/10]
If a manga like Dragonball were to only appear now, I would have probably given it an 8 or 9, read more
Jan 1, 2011
sdgheoiman123 (All reviews)
I read the whole series as a teen, so it may sound or come out different from me than other reviewers. But as it is coming from a "teen", i found this to be extremely enjoyable. There are many flaws and weaknesses in this manga, but i seemed to understand why many called Toriyama, the creator of DragonBall, a genius. DragonBall surpasses all odds in its infinite path of making new friends, fighting new foes, and discovering new powers. In other words, you can call it the perfect raw shounen manga for younger audiences and perhaps teens like myself.

Story 9/10
To me read more
Feb 7, 2021
dankchungus (All reviews)
When reading dragon ball, it feel's like you're bearing witness to the grandfather of modern manga. The art work at times still feels fresh, and the comedy involved (especially with bulma and the turtle geezer) is still very funny. Part of me wished that dragonball Z (and beyond) had continued on with the adventuring elements found in dragonball, but, regardless of what dragon ball seemingly devolved into over time, the original is an adventure tale full of surprises and fun moments.

Honestly, it feels like one piece before one piece was a thing. This is a must read for all manga readers, and not just read more
Nov 26, 2014
zedwardzenyz (All reviews)
A hilarious manga telling us the story of the life of Son Goku, one of the last members of his race.

This manga may be old, but it sure as hell deserves to be ranked as one of the greatest (if not the greatest) manga of all time. This manga is full of battles, adventures and the art improves over time. Read through many time skips to see the young Goku grow up to be a well respectably powerful man. I thoroughly enjoyed the manga to the point I pulled late nights just to read.

One thing I disliked about it was, there was always a stronger read more
May 12, 2021
planetbound (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is a beloved series. I'm gonna split this up into 2 parts, one being Dragon Ball/Goku as a kid and Dragon Ball Z/Goku as an adult. A small tip/info I have not grown up with Dragon Ball or have any nostalgia for it yet. So this is a... I guess unbiased review.

Part 1: Dragon Ball

Dragon Ball is definitely one of my favorite mangas. Dragon Ball is a great manga that has a lot of love showing in it. It seems like a passion project instead of a easy money grab like a lot of manga/anime do *cough cough GT*. This has a read more
Aug 8, 2008
Kelevra (All reviews)
The problem with dragonball is the main caracters is to classic and the story just keep repeating it self. They got some problems, then they find a new level so they can defeat the enimies. To bad the idea was great.
Aug 6, 2012
TheRealGIN (All reviews)
well before i start writing the review i wanna say that this is my first review,
I fell in love with dragon ball since I was a kid I saw it first on TV that's how i found this master piece It's the true meaning of epicness!!!

The characters are wonderful the fights are epic the story is a master piece honestly dragon ball is something you can't describe in words because it's that epic!!!


a short preview of the story:

The story start with the hero of dragon ball his name is "son goku"
meeting the second human in his life her name is "Bulma" read more
Aug 24, 2021
Alex_Jaro (All reviews)
Dragon Ball, easily one of the simplest and most influential anime to ever exist, people from west to east know it and its popularity is humongous. This is the manga that gave birth to the very popular DBZ and a bit less popular DB (1986) and later the sequel to this manga, DBS gave birth to Dragon Ball Super.

An introduction to the story would be that Goku "for some reason" came crashing down to earth when an old man saw him and acted as his parent/grandparent. He passed his dragon ball on to Goku and someday he died. The dragon balls are 7 separate balls read more
Jul 3, 2020
ILikeAnime77777 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is my childhood favorite. It tells a story of a child named Goku and his adventure with friends to find the 7 magical dragon balls so their wishes can be granted. Unlike other people, Goku isn't human. He is from an alien planet and is a Saiyan. Thus, he is incredibly strong and is a genius at fighting. I enjoyed this manga/anime so much because the author Akira Toriyama is a master at creating storyboards. He is able to tell the story in great details with just a couple scenes of drawing. In my opinion, fighting scenes are the hardest to draw because read more
Oct 10, 2012
Skitungen2 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball....now THIS is what I call nostalgia.

Dragon Ball was the first manga I ever read and finished so of course I'm giving it a 10 all the way through.

A long time ago in a little settlement in Sweden far, far away...
There was a kid who is known here as "Skitungen2", when he was 9 years old he got the first three volumes of Dragon Ball for birthday from his brother, he had no idea what manga was and he thought that it was wierd that you read right-to-left and didn't get why, he was a somewhat confused kid.
He also thought that it was awesome read more
Oct 28, 2021
BlackLondon (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is a manga written by Akira Toriyama published Weekly Shonen Jump from 1984 to 1995.
It's the story of Goku, a kid with a monkey tail who travel to find the dragon balls, , which summon a wish-granting dragon when gathered, and to became the strongest martial artist in the world.
The story is engaging and the pacing is almost perfect, expecially in the first half of the series, with lots of breathtaking fights where the author takes inspiration from Bruce Lee movies.
The characters are managed in a good way at the start of the series being all different from each other up till halfway read more
Jul 15, 2012
Xai16 (All reviews)
I LUV this manga. I originally read the Dragon Ball Z half first and went back later to read the Dragon Ball half and I have to say that the first half had this child-like, playful tone to it compared to the more serious nature of Dragon Ball Z but I love how well it transitioned.

In the first half, it's seen virtually from the eyes of a really powerful kid as he travels around with friends he meets along the way in search of 7 ballls that grant 1 wish when gathered together. This kid is Goku and let me tell you, he's naive, read more
May 5, 2009
OhSweetEru (All reviews)
Preliminary
just started reading, i mean, reached volume 11, our bookshops have got released on 14 of this comics volumes!!!! will be forced to download next volumes somewhere.... or order from other sourcesXD

looove the story!!!! characters are lovely, sense of humour typically manly,
love the idea of a GIRL genius-Bulma,
and of course *sigh*-Son Goku!! the dream-guy))) having all the best values of a human!) and i love that he's a little dumb sometimes)))))
Feb 2, 2016
OtakuJidai (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is renowned for being one of the most influential and popular manga of all time. At the same time, however, it's one of the most overrated, owing a lot of it's praise to nostalgia and Toriyama's hard working attitude at the time, rather than it's overall quality.

Story - 5/10

There's little to be said about the story that isn't already obvious. The first part of the story follows Son Goku's journeys as a child, but usually only Goku, with the other supporting characters such as Kuririn, Yamcha and Muten Roshi not doing much unless it's the Tenkaichi Budokai. In the 2nd part of the read more
Apr 10, 2016
Goldenshadow177 (All reviews)
One of the first manga I can remember reading. I loved watching the americanized version of this TV show after school on Cartoon Network. I was exposed to anime very young through my dad, but it wasn't until Dragonball and Dragonball Z that I found manga. For that reason Dragonball and Dragonball Z will always be important and unique for me.

Growing up I preferred DBZ, the villains looked cooler (although King Piccolo is a badass in Dragonball), and the anime was longer and full of more powerful characters. But looking back now, Dragonball is closer to my heart, and I appreciate it more as a read more
Mar 21, 2012
RomanceOtakuJNZ (All reviews)
Just saying, this is my first review. I have read lots of manga after reading this one but I'm saving my first review for the first manga i read. Dragonball introduced me to the world of manga. Considering the fact I'm a girl, I now prefer romantic manga, but even from a girls point of view, this is actually really good. The first series Dragonball is more comedy. The other 2 are both comedy and a bit more drama. It would have been nice to learned a bit more of the lives of further characters. This also made me cry for some reason at the read more
Jan 5, 2021
Ringo_Elegant (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is probably the most important manga to come out after the works of Osamu Tezuka. Just about every shounen ever written is still either trying to be Dragon Ball or trying to prove that it's "not like Dragon Ball". It's the first thing (okay, maybe the second, after Pokemon) that most non-anime fans picture when they hear the words "anime", "manga", or even "action cartoon".

It also has some of the most crisp, understandable, and beautiful linework of any manga ever created. It's easy to forget how difficult it is to tell what's going on in manga fights. Even genius artists like One Piece's read more
Mar 3, 2014
Agusloquillo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragon Ball is good.
It's not AS good as people would make you believe, but it's good. I've seen and read much worse, but I've also seen and read much better.

Story: 6 / 10
You all know this story; Dragon Balls, adventure, Shenron, yadda yadda yadda. The concept of the Dragon Balls itself is pretty interesting, but the story itself kind of drags after a while, the Red Ribbon Army arc especially. I made it to the fight against Ninja Murasaki, and gave up because it just didn't engage me anymore.

Art: 8 / 10
Toriyama's drawing style is really good. Shenron looks very majestic and powerful, and the read more
Mar 14, 2017
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
There's something magical about Dragon Ball. From its starting point searching for the Dragon Ball to the final fight to save the Universe, there's a genuine feel of adventure and progress that is felt while reading this manga. I feel like I've come so far, met so many people, and survived so much despite only reading it on a page. And everything is memorable from the master assassin Taopaipai to the mysterious Android 16, every interaction you observe Goku partake in seems to have some kind of special moment that engrains itself into my memory. I mean, everything was so EXCITING! I had a blast read more