Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball

Dragon Ball

Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball
Synonyms: Dragonball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragonball Z
Japanese: ドラゴンボール

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 42
Chapters: 520
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 20, 1984 to May 23, 1995
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, Martial ArtsMartial Arts, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen, Super PowerSuper Power
Authors: Toriyama, Akira (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.491 (scored by 5627156,271 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1362
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #48
Members: 89,609
Favorites: 11,245

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2009
Chenoan (All reviews)
Ever since I was little I was a hardcore fight fan, I loved watching shows where the antagonists had to battle for the survival of all they held dear, even now I hold fondly the anime that had given me my first taste as it aired on my morning cartoon network "Cheese TV." It was a boring morning when I stumbled upon the Dragonball manga and I soon found that morning cheering up as I delightfully relived the story of Goku and his Dragonball adventures.

Story [10/10]
If a manga like Dragonball were to only appear now, I would have probably given it an 8 or 9, read more
Sep 20, 2008
kingofranger (All reviews)
Meh :D I read the the whole manga and is awesome :D

Story-

The story is well-developed and does everything to make a kid happy :D Awesome fighting,Training,Aura,comedies and stuffs :D

Art- Well the art is ok but the ears seem a little big to me :P

Character- Aliens and stuffs were good :D The characters were well-developed and have different personalities

Enjoyment- I seriously enjoyed the manga from begining till the end :D

Overall- This is a really good manga that u would want to read :D It is funny and ACTION PACKED!!! You don't wanna miss this old-school manga ;)
Jan 1, 2011
sdgheoiman123 (All reviews)
I read the whole series as a teen, so it may sound or come out different from me than other reviewers. But as it is coming from a "teen", i found this to be extremely enjoyable. There are many flaws and weaknesses in this manga, but i seemed to understand why many called Toriyama, the creator of DragonBall, a genius. DragonBall surpasses all odds in its infinite path of making new friends, fighting new foes, and discovering new powers. In other words, you can call it the perfect raw shounen manga for younger audiences and perhaps teens like myself.

Story 9/10
To me read more
Feb 5, 2012
Shabluh (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is a popular manga written in the 80's-90's, about a young boy named Son Gokuu and his friends, going on adventures and most of all: fighting.

Story:
The story starts with Son Gokuu, an 11-year old boy (who thinks he's 14) who lives alone in the mountains. One day he meets the young genius girl Bulma, who tells him about the dragon balls, seven magical stones with the power to summon a dragon, which will grant any wish, and she wants the dragon to give her the perfect boyfriend.
This however, is only the introduction to some of the characters and the concept of the dragon read more
Nov 26, 2014
zedwardzenyz (All reviews)
A hilarious manga telling us the story of the life of Son Goku, one of the last members of his race.

This manga may be old, but it sure as hell deserves to be ranked as one of the greatest (if not the greatest) manga of all time. This manga is full of battles, adventures and the art improves over time. Read through many time skips to see the young Goku grow up to be a well respectably powerful man. I thoroughly enjoyed the manga to the point I pulled late nights just to read.

One thing I disliked about it was, there was always a stronger read more
Aug 8, 2008
Kelevra (All reviews)
The problem with dragonball is the main caracters is to classic and the story just keep repeating it self. They got some problems, then they find a new level so they can defeat the enimies. To bad the idea was great.
May 5, 2009
OhSweetEru (All reviews)
Preliminary
just started reading, i mean, reached volume 11, our bookshops have got released on 14 of this comics volumes!!!! will be forced to download next volumes somewhere.... or order from other sourcesXD

looove the story!!!! characters are lovely, sense of humour typically manly,
love the idea of a GIRL genius-Bulma,
and of course *sigh*-Son Goku!! the dream-guy))) having all the best values of a human!) and i love that he's a little dumb sometimes)))))
Aug 6, 2012
TheRealGIN (All reviews)
well before i start writing the review i wanna say that this is my first review,
I fell in love with dragon ball since I was a kid I saw it first on TV that's how i found this master piece It's the true meaning of epicness!!!

The characters are wonderful the fights are epic the story is a master piece honestly dragon ball is something you can't describe in words because it's that epic!!!


a short preview of the story:

The story start with the hero of dragon ball his name is "son goku"
meeting the second human in his life her name is "Bulma" read more
Mar 3, 2014
Agusloquillo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dragon Ball is good.
It's not AS good as people would make you believe, but it's good. I've seen and read much worse, but I've also seen and read much better.

Story: 6 / 10
You all know this story; Dragon Balls, adventure, Shenron, yadda yadda yadda. The concept of the Dragon Balls itself is pretty interesting, but the story itself kind of drags after a while, the Red Ribbon Army arc especially. I made it to the fight against Ninja Murasaki, and gave up because it just didn't engage me anymore.

Art: 8 / 10
Toriyama's drawing style is really good. Shenron looks very majestic and powerful, and the read more
Oct 10, 2012
Skitungen2 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball....now THIS is what I call nostalgia.

Dragon Ball was the first manga I ever read and finished so of course I'm giving it a 10 all the way through.

A long time ago in a little settlement in Sweden far, far away...
There was a kid who is known here as "Skitungen2", when he was 9 years old he got the first three volumes of Dragon Ball for birthday from his brother, he had no idea what manga was and he thought that it was wierd that you read right-to-left and didn't get why, he was a somewhat confused kid.
He also thought that it was awesome read more
Mar 14, 2017
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
There's something magical about Dragon Ball. From its starting point searching for the Dragon Ball to the final fight to save the Universe, there's a genuine feel of adventure and progress that is felt while reading this manga. I feel like I've come so far, met so many people, and survived so much despite only reading it on a page. And everything is memorable from the master assassin Taopaipai to the mysterious Android 16, every interaction you observe Goku partake in seems to have some kind of special moment that engrains itself into my memory. I mean, everything was so EXCITING! I had a blast read more
Feb 2, 2016
OtakuJidai (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is renowned for being one of the most influential and popular manga of all time. At the same time, however, it's one of the most overrated, owing a lot of it's praise to nostalgia and Toriyama's hard working attitude at the time, rather than it's overall quality.

Story - 5/10

There's little to be said about the story that isn't already obvious. The first part of the story follows Son Goku's journeys as a child, but usually only Goku, with the other supporting characters such as Kuririn, Yamcha and Muten Roshi not doing much unless it's the Tenkaichi Budokai. In the 2nd part of the read more
Sep 26, 2017
Natsuki_Hyundai (All reviews)
Hello, this is my first review on MAL, and I thought I’d talk about one of the classics. I avoided watching the famous anime that literally everyone I ever knew personally watched just so I can experience it the same way that the Japanese first did in 1984- through the original manga. So let’s dive into it…

Well as for the art, it’s still great. Toriyama’s art is cartoony but rich in detail at the same time. It definitely holds up after over 30 years.

I love how the series is off-the-wall funny along with the fast pacing and the intensity of the battles. Yeah, I just read more
Mar 21, 2012
RomanceOtakuJNZ (All reviews)
Just saying, this is my first review. I have read lots of manga after reading this one but I'm saving my first review for the first manga i read. Dragonball introduced me to the world of manga. Considering the fact I'm a girl, I now prefer romantic manga, but even from a girls point of view, this is actually really good. The first series Dragonball is more comedy. The other 2 are both comedy and a bit more drama. It would have been nice to learned a bit more of the lives of further characters. This also made me cry for some reason at the read more
Oct 17, 2012
JE_Leo (All reviews)
Yes, I did grow up on Dragon Ball, but I do not cling to it as a infant would their mother's breast. No. I'm being completely unbiased.

STORY

Con: the occasional discontinuity and gag scenes. It doesn't take itself seriously enough, such as when Goku bites his opponents. I do understand that Toriyama wishes to remain true to its comical roots, but you have involved aliens and the entire universe INCLUDING HEAVEN AND HELL THEMSELVES with the cast. So as a result of trying to remain true, whenever those gag scenes pop up, they seem really out of place with the rest of the story's atmosphere. Though, read more
Jul 15, 2012
Xai16 (All reviews)
I LUV this manga. I originally read the Dragon Ball Z half first and went back later to read the Dragon Ball half and I have to say that the first half had this child-like, playful tone to it compared to the more serious nature of Dragon Ball Z but I love how well it transitioned.

In the first half, it's seen virtually from the eyes of a really powerful kid as he travels around with friends he meets along the way in search of 7 ballls that grant 1 wish when gathered together. This kid is Goku and let me tell you, he's naive, read more
May 4, 2019
JP1OVA (All reviews)
I never watched the Dragon Ball or Dragon Ball Z anime, besides clips. I have heard about all the nostalgia that many people have, but I read this manga for the first time not too long ago. But from anime clips that I have seen, the anime seems to be much slower. The manga is much faster paced, and this really helps the manga.

Story: 7

The story is about a boy who searches for the Dragon Balls, while fighting many villains and organizations. He meets different characters and grows up over the course of the manga. The story isn't very deep, but many say that it read more
Apr 10, 2016
Goldenshadow177 (All reviews)
One of the first manga I can remember reading. I loved watching the americanized version of this TV show after school on Cartoon Network. I was exposed to anime very young through my dad, but it wasn't until Dragonball and Dragonball Z that I found manga. For that reason Dragonball and Dragonball Z will always be important and unique for me.

Growing up I preferred DBZ, the villains looked cooler (although King Piccolo is a badass in Dragonball), and the anime was longer and full of more powerful characters. But looking back now, Dragonball is closer to my heart, and I appreciate it more as a read more
Mar 4, 2017
mistercmills (All reviews)
I would like to preface this by stating this will be my first review of many to come. I decided to choose Dragon Ball because it is a series near and dear to me as is with thousands, tens of thousands, yet probably more. With that said, let's take a look at one of the most celebrated works of art in manga, and the artistic world as a whole.

NOTE: For the sake of being fair to the series, I am ignoring Super for the time being. This is strictly Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z

If you lived in the 90s, chances read more
Dec 6, 2016
butthurtbrigade (All reviews)
The DB anime adaptation was the first piece of Japanese animation I ever saw back in the 90s, so I felt it fitting to make it the manga I first read all the way through.

It's aged better than both DB and DBZ anime with no old animation and dodgy voice acting with Toriyama's art still looking good and the manga moves at a much better pace without fillers and dragging the fights out. It's one of the better shounen series (better than most modern ones) with great character designs and fighting techniques. One of the things I like most about DB was how it read more