Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Historie

Historie

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ヒストリエ HISTORIĒ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 25, 2003 to ?
Authors: Iwaaki, Hitoshi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.291 (scored by 3568 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3752
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #716
Members: 12,308
Favorites: 319

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 7, 2009
Amerowolf (All reviews)
Alright, let's make Historie.
Haha. Oh, wow, bad pun.

STORY:
If your a true fan of historical manga, then you'll most likely enjoy this for it's content. Especially if your into ancient greek/persian history. The story at the beginning lacks a little something that I like to call complexity, and it continues on that way until some things happen that cause Eumenes to leave his hometown.

ART:
As with all of Iwaaki's work, there will be some that find the art a little plain or too sketchy for them. This is definitely not art that would be pleasing to those who are fans of shiny, glittering bishonens from a hardcore read more
Oct 1, 2010
HostSamurai (All reviews)
After reading Hitoshi Iwaaki's 'Parasite', i had to read Historie, and i got to say, my personal opinions on this series is that it is pretty damn good.

the plot itself revolves around Eumenes, and his childhood, who would later in his life grow up to be the secretary and general to Alexander the Great.

Yes, it is a 'Historical' manga, but its actually very interesting, although i will admit it starts off a bit rough, but if you give it a chance and read more and more, it becomes very, very enjoyable.
Sep 29, 2011
RA_Jack (All reviews)
There were only two reviews of this manga, and thus I decided to give my own review. Remember, this review may contain spoilers.

Historie's setup is the same as the popular seinen manga Berserk. We start out with a future view of the main character. Then it goes into a flashback mode, to see what has all led up to that point.

The story of Historie follows Greek/Macedonian/Persian history. Though this should not be viewed as educative, since not all history aspects of this manga are correct. It stays fiction after all.

We start out with Eumenes, a scythian boy who grew up alongside Greeks, even believing he read more
Feb 11, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
When it comes to historical themed works, most are adjusted and tweaked upon to create an arguably more fascinating story behind such setting. Historie is no exception, and although it is based on a real person by the name of Eumenes, Iwaaki Hitoshi was able to take an artistical approach on it as that person's past is shrouded in mystery. The author of this work managed to create a fascinating story in which people familiar with the greek history will find themselves pleasantly entertained. However, there are some issues with the manga, being the inconsistent jumps in timelines as well as its direction the biggest read more
Jun 14, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
‘Alexander the Great as written by the author of Parasyte’ was my entire knowledge of Historie going in. In my mind I had the image of Rider from Fate/Zero stabbing parasitic aliens that eat your face with his spear, but sadly twas not the reality. Historie is actually about a secretary of Alexander the Great, an orphan who goes on many adventures before becoming Alexander’s aid.

At least, that’s what the back of the books promise. There are seven volumes out and Alexander is still a kid and hasn’t recruited any secretaries yet. This might sound like the plot moves really slowly, but that isn’t really read more
Mar 23, 2013
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
The story surrounds a guy called Eumenes who was originally thought to be Greek but then turned out to be adopted and was actually Scythian (did those people even exist, and did they create the scythe?). Anyhooo, he turns from master to slave and then to foreigner and THEN to secretary of the Macedonian state (which has Alexander as a prince). Meanwhile, he tries to dodge as many as life's punches as possible and enjoy following King Philip around in bloody battlefields and advising the man when he is allowed to. The end (up to where I read).

Firstly, if you had watched Alexander the Great read more
Aug 27, 2015
RabbytX (All reviews)
This is "MANGA"! This is "IWAAKI"!



Iwaaki Hitoshi is mostly known for his series Parasyte, but only recently it got the popularity that the fans sought for the series. It was by most positively received, because it offered something both for veterans and new faces regarding this medium. Be it from the ideas, to its theme exploration, to body horror, to high paced fights, but what was most important was its revival and how positively it was received overall in the industry. As such I was really looking forward to watching the series, and the most important question was if it will meet my expectations. read more
Mar 17, 2018
cerwisc (All reviews)
What a lovely series. I've found that this author's works are very calming and inoffensive; I always read these when I can't stomach anything else. This story matches the pace of real life much better than whatever else I've read: no emotional rollercoaster, no cheap drama to elicit false sympathy; no long drawn out shouting matches of feelings and relationships; no over-narration; no gratuitous violence, sex, sticky feelings, come to think of it, a good analogy is Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, but for adults with more politics and fewer gender jokes. If you like Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun but also like politics, you will like this.

Eumenes is read more
Aug 13, 2015
zerkalo (All reviews)
Cpr during aristotle's time? Just wth was the mangaka thinking lol...

It's an o.k. manga. Nothing special tbh. Dont get me wrong, i enjoy manipulation or romanticization of history when done right, that's not the case here tho.

Aristotle's characterization is not convincing. Plus weak lame-ass background as to how alexander developed his dual personality. My issue with this kind of manga is that when the main character is nearly perfect, it detracts from the enjoyment. What's so interesting about a prodigy who can do anything? (subaru is another manga that has this flaw).

I would have rated this 7 if it weren't for that ridiculous cpr scene.
Sep 20, 2013
dro73 (All reviews)
This under-rated manga is quite enjoyable. It contains action, violence, drama, suspense, betrayal, and is thought provoking in a 'hisorically' unique way.

I didn't exactly know what I was getting into when I first picked this up - I had never heard of it and thought it would be a boring and uneventful story, with a distracting illustration style, and perhaps drag-on a bit...I WAS WRONG! It didn't waste much time to have me completely enthralled in the characters, their surroundings, the plots, and it's intellengent vision.

Very well liked!
May 15, 2018
CriticalSmash (All reviews)
The manga is a little slow but if you can make it past the first few chapters then you are in for quite a ride.

The art is simple yet complex due to some of the crowd scenes. It compliments the story and never seems to overtake the overall message. The author draws some good battle scenes and adds a little humor once in a while.

Eumenes is a wonderfully written character that does through a lot of character development within the 104 chapters that I've read. His journey is a harsh but prepares him for the rocky life under King Philip. He doesn't have read more