Voynich Hotel
The Voynich Hotel
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Voynich Hotel

Alternative Titles

English: The Voynich Hotel
Japanese: ヴォイニッチホテル

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 68
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 17, 2006 to Mar 17, 2015
Genres: ComedyComedy, EcchiEcchi, HorrorHorror, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Dowman, Sayman (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Champion Retsu

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 97369,736 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4882
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #439
Members: 24,080
Favorites: 1,212

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 9, 2011
Salsk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hotel Voynich is a story about the titular hotel, the island it's located on and its inhabitants. The story follows a bunch of different characters, ranging from a trio of female drug dealers, competing assassins, a suicidal chef and the hotel manager who supposedly bested Chuck Norris in combat. The main focus rests on a Japanese guy named Taizou though, a man with a past. As you may have noticed, the cast is pretty colorful, and combined with the varying points of view it conveys the basic set-up for a slice-of-life. At least I thought it was a slice-of-life at first, albeit a quirky one. read more
Dec 10, 2017
Iplemons (All reviews)
If I suddenly came into elaborate amounts of money, I would track down Dowman Sayman/Douman Seiman and fund this to be an anime out-of-pocket.

It sounds cheesy as hell but I laughed, I cried, I rejoiced.... I felt it all here man.

This is a remarkably quirky, original, romantic, and funny manga in many ways that I was not expecting. The art is unique and western inspired but it only adds to the fun of the characters and the plot.

Seiman is a master of keeping multiple plot lines going at once that intertwine without one ever getting boring. I genuinely feel this is a perfect read more
Jan 12, 2017
czxcjx (All reviews)
Sayman Dowman is an extremely interesting creator for two reasons. Firstly is his distinct art style which reminds one of Kouji Kumeta in its poppy sorta-minimalism. Secondly is his story-telling method of stringing together 'short-short' chapters and making sure each chapter resolves as its own small joke although still telling an over-arching story.

And also there's that whole 'quirky humor' aspect.

This storytelling tradition isn't really new in Japan though. Hoshi Shinichi and Yasutaka Tsuitsui are examples of writers who focused on making short stories that told an interesting set-up and bizarre twist in a few short pages. There's also Kawabata's famous 'palm of the hand stories'. read more
Dec 3, 2017
flomu (All reviews)
Short version: Voynich Hotel is a comedic slice-of-life series that excels at not taking itself seriously, and ends up being a lot of fun to read.

Medium version:
Voynich Hotel is a slice-of-life in a weird setting, much like Aria or YKK. But instead of focusing on the imaginative world of Neo Venezia, Voynich Hotel emphasizes the characters. The backstories of Elena and Taizou aren't tough to figure out, but they comes out one piece at a time, revealed through actions instead of straight-up exposition. In the meantime, these two go through the motions of a normal daily life, but in the midst of witches, zombies, and read more
Oct 31, 2018
Chris_Eclair (All reviews)
Voynich Hotel is basically a spin off of the Addams Family manga (which does not exist). I mean, there are all these dark themes combined with humor just like in the Addams Family series . Everything takes place in this island called Blefuscu in the middle of nowhere, southwest of the Pacific. You see, the island's got a lotta history ever since its colonization and a lot of supernatural activities seem to be centered around this hotel and, on a broader scale, island. You have drug dealers somehow growing tons of pot in just one hotel room without anyone finding out about it for about read more
Sep 8, 2018
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
*Disclaimer*
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10 The unique art style of this was fresh and surprisingly fit with the mood and direction the manga went in. Cartoon-cute style. Anatomy and proportions weren't realistic but were instead part of the style so it was fine. The backgrounds and environment weren't too impressive. There weren't any 2-page spreads or impact-panels to note. This manga made up for it in storytelling and the atmosphere it was able to build.

Panel Progression: 7/10 Easy to follow but was very particular about details that added a lot of information. There were some nice use of panel-spanning art and read more
Feb 2, 2020
moonlight-ana (All reviews)
i found this manga sitting on a bookshelf at my favorite bookstore, the cover caught my eye almost immediately and the description on the back made me want to give it a try.

at first, i thought with getting into this it would be a horror manga, with tons of gore and morbidness but did that change fairly quickly.

Taizou comes to the island to get away from japan for a bit but as he stays there not only does he start to fall in love with one of the maid Helena, he notices the island isn't completely normal. From tales of three witches to a snark read more
Nov 17, 2019
MaoMao12 (All reviews)
Plot:
The plot of Voynich Hotel is rather hard to discuss, without getting into spoliers. The short ver2 is basically, there's an island, and on that island there's a hotel called The Voynich Hotel. We follow the many characters anfics, those who live in the hotel and those around the island. Also, there's a murderer called Snark on the loose, ohh and there's also Witches on the island, there's also a robot who's helping the police to catch Snark. Yeah, the plot of Voynich Hotel is not the easiest to be summed up. Its mostly episodic in nature, like Violet Evergarden just minus the drama and read more
Nov 20, 2020
Artvisitor (All reviews)
I want to get this out of the way first: it's a 7 for now, I initially gave it a 6 but I kept thinking about it and decided to bump it up to 7, I might bump it up to 8 but probably not any higher. Are we cool? No pitchforks? Good.

Voynich Hotel is a neat little manga with charming characters (yes, even the "ergot" thot), that combines eastern and western drawing styles with romance, horror (don't get your hopes up, it's mostly about the spooky scary supernatural theme) and dark humor.

It's amusing and occasionally funny, it's quite comfy and has a pretty great read more