Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Voynich Hotel

Voynich Hotel

Alternative Titles

English: The Voynich Hotel
Japanese: ヴォイニッチホテル

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 68
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 17, 2006 to Mar 17, 2015
Authors: Dowman, Sayman (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Champion Retsu

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 6965 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5502
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #440
Members: 17,673
Favorites: 910

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 24, 2015
XanWasting (All reviews)
What an unappealing synopsis.
here you were browsing through the MAL, looking for something fun to read, and by accident you opened this title.
plot based on several characters? story about an island? what the heck, why would anybody read this?
I won't argue, this is indeed what this manga is about. but by no means is it bad.
I could write about the art so great it looks like it was created solely for the purpose of this story.
I could tell you that the characters are so vibrant and charismatic you can't decide who's the main cast, and frankly, you don't care because all of read more
Apr 9, 2011
Salsk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hotel Voynich is a story about the titular hotel, the island it's located on and its inhabitants. The story follows a bunch of different characters, ranging from a trio of female drug dealers, competing assassins, a suicidal chef and the hotel manager who supposedly bested Chuck Norris in combat. The main focus rests on a Japanese guy named Taizou though, a man with a past. As you may have noticed, the cast is pretty colorful, and combined with the varying points of view it conveys the basic set-up for a slice-of-life. At least I thought it was a slice-of-life at first, albeit a quirky one. read more
Dec 10, 2017
Iplemons (All reviews)
If I suddenly came into elaborate amounts of money, I would track down Dowman Sayman/Douman Seiman and fund this to be an anime out-of-pocket.

It sounds cheesy as hell but I laughed, I cried, I rejoiced.... I felt it all here man.

This is a remarkably quirky, original, romantic, and funny manga in many ways that I was not expecting. The art is unique and western inspired but it only adds to the fun of the characters and the plot.

Seiman is a master of keeping multiple plot lines going at once that intertwine without one ever getting boring. I genuinely feel this is a perfect read more
Dec 3, 2017
flomu (All reviews)
Short version: Voynich Hotel is a comedic slice-of-life series that excels at not taking itself seriously, and ends up being a lot of fun to read.

Medium version:
Voynich Hotel is a slice-of-life in a weird setting, much like Aria or YKK. But instead of focusing on the imaginative world of Neo Venezia, Voynich Hotel emphasizes the characters. The backstories of Elena and Taizou aren't tough to figure out, but they comes out one piece at a time, revealed through actions instead of straight-up exposition. In the meantime, these two go through the motions of a normal daily life, but in the midst of witches, zombies, and read more
Jan 12, 2017
czxcjx (All reviews)
Sayman Dowman is an extremely interesting creator for two reasons. Firstly is his distinct art style which reminds one of Kouji Kumeta in its poppy sorta-minimalism. Secondly is his story-telling method of stringing together 'short-short' chapters and making sure each chapter resolves as its own small joke although still telling an over-arching story.

And also there's that whole 'quirky humor' aspect.

This storytelling tradition isn't really new in Japan though. Hoshi Shinichi and Yasutaka Tsuitsui are examples of writers who focused on making short stories that told an interesting set-up and bizarre twist in a few short pages. There's also Kawabata's famous 'palm of the hand stories'. read more
Oct 31, 2018
Chris_Eclair (All reviews)
Voynich Hotel is basically a spin off of the Addams Family manga (which does not exist). I mean, there are all these dark themes combined with humor just like in the Addams Family series . Everything takes place in this island called Blefuscu in the middle of nowhere, southwest of the Pacific. You see, the island's got a lotta history ever since its colonization and a lot of supernatural activities seem to be centered around this hotel and, on a broader scale, island. You have drug dealers somehow growing tons of pot in just one hotel room without anyone finding out about it for about read more
Sep 8, 2018
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
*Disclaimer*
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10 The unique art style of this was fresh and surprisingly fit with the mood and direction the manga went in. Cartoon-cute style. Anatomy and proportions weren't realistic but were instead part of the style so it was fine. The backgrounds and environment weren't too impressive. There weren't any 2-page spreads or impact-panels to note. This manga made up for it in storytelling and the atmosphere it was able to build.

Panel Progression: 7/10 Easy to follow but was very particular about details that added a lot of information. There were some nice use of panel-spanning art and read more
Feb 23, 2019
choglatemilg (All reviews)
I used to think that my favorite manga was Welcome to NHK but that soon changed once i discovered this little masterpiece.

I used to read a lot more but kind of fell out of reading manga so it was nice to be revitalized by something so fresh and unique.

The story of this manga is pretty fantastic, I wont give any spoilers so I will just say that everything really comes together quite nicely and at several points it had me sitting like L from deathnote in my seat glued to the computer screen.

The art is by far my favorite part of this read more