Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aku no Hana

Aku no Hana

Alternative Titles

English: The Flowers of Evil
Synonyms: Blossom of Evil
Japanese: 惡の華

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 58
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 9, 2009 to May 9, 2014
Authors: Oshimi, Shuuzou (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.201 (scored by 33145 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5432
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #71
Members: 67,621
Favorites: 6,033

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 8, 2013
czxcjx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start this review off with a miniature literature lecture. Charles Baudelaire was a crazy French poet who was an aspiring lawyer but decided to drop it all and become the archetypal struggling artist. He borrowed money extensively and spent them on booze and whores. Of course, he burnt out and died from overdrinking alcohol but he left behind a grand literary legacy. His poetry was vulgar, decadent and entirely brilliant, inspiring a movement called the Symbolist movement.

But rather than focus on Baudelaire, let’s focus on another poet called Rimbaud (Takao also reads him). Rimbaud became and avid fan of Baudelaire. He was a read more
Sep 22, 2017
WithMyCigs (All reviews)
“Carry me. Past that mountain.”

Shuzo Oshimi dedicated this work to “all the boys and girls who have ever suffered the torments of puberty.” But the “torment” Kasuga experiences is not due to the blackmail of a sadistic girl who witnessed his moment’s indiscretion in swiping his crush’s gym uniform. It’s in the blossom of that flower that no one hears, the desperate cry from within that no one understands – the flower of evil.

Aku no Hana’s first 6 volumes relate a chain of twisted events as the reckless decisions of three young teenagers lead to one outrageous happening after another. Desperate to find what is read more
May 26, 2011
Sanagami (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is crazy. I'm sorry, actually, allow me to correct myself, this manga is FUCKING crazy.


So you thought School Days was fucked up, you haven't even begun.

I'll start with the flaws, because they are apparent. First of all, the story isn't the most original thing you've ever heard of. You have a boy who has a crush on a girl and is forced to make a contract with another girl because he is caught stealing the first girl's underwear. It doesn't take a genius to realize where the romance is going to be placed. The characters aren't the most developed characters ever and they read more
Jul 11, 2012
Meerkat (All reviews)
Preliminary
I actually think this manga could be labeled as a "horror-manga" because it all plays out like some sort of demented never-ending nightmare. Not the sort of nightmare where you're chased by a serial killer, mind you. But rather the sort of nightmare where you discover that you've forgotten to wear clothes to school. (I would name the genre "social-horror")

The set-up is wonderful! Kasuga Takao is a somewhat pretentious boy who considers himself different (and perhaps better) than other people because he's reading difficult french poetry. His favorite book is "the Flowers of Evil" by Baudelaire (thereby the title of the manga). One day he read more
Jan 14, 2017
LLG (All reviews)
I will mainly write about why I love the scenario and characters and why I preferred the second part, the one which has never been adapted into anime. For this purpose, I am going to spoil the whole story, so don't read this unless you have finished the manga.

I moderately liked the beginning of the manga because I did not really understand what the characters wanted (the MC in particular) and it seemed to me that they were acting irrationally. The escalation of catastrophic risk taking was fine but not enough to make me love the manga and I think I was right because the read more
Apr 14, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Aku no Hana fills me with despair, not because of the subject matter that it covers but because it's a classic example of the "Death Note" phenomenon that happens a lot in anime and manga: a particular work starts off with an interesting concept, ends up becoming insanely addictive as shit gets more and more intense until finally, all of that momentum is lost with a major event happening that kills your buzz and you're left feeling more unsatisfied than a sexually frustrated wife is with her impotent husband. Aku no Hana is a good manga but if you're expecting a completely fucked up story read more
May 22, 2013
arisutan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: this review is written in the hindsight of seeing both the anime and the manga, and my feelings are a product of the combination of the two. Please keep this in mind. I was introduced to this manga through the anime which at the point I am writing is still airing.

Story:
Aku no Hana is a dark coming-of-age manga that explores very deeply into the Japanese "psyche" that is 変体 or 'hentai'. It is very important to note that the translation of hentai is not the common association of 'pervert' in a sexual manner, but rather "deviant". (While watching different subtitles from different subbing groups read more
Nov 5, 2017
Kns- (All reviews)
Usually, the plot, based on the worrying of a teenager, problems in school, inferiority complexes and fear of recognition in love, does not cause much interest in the observer, primarily because of his banality. Often the problem of one boy or girl is offered, in which the author rests with all his strength and pulls it throughout the story, but here we will see a completely different picture, which, if not forced to love this work, but at least it will not waste your time.

Aku no Hana shows that reading means thinking through of someone else's head instead of one's own, which is what happens read more
Mar 29, 2011
Lamarq (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aku no hana has an somewhat interesting story setting, but nothing original or something out of the ordinary.

The protagonist steals the gym cloths from the girl he likes and is seen by a quiet girl in class.
He's the typical spineless, crying guy, who is getting blackmailed by this evil mysterious girl in his class to do all sorts of stuff for her, just to prove that he is a real pervert, while he continuously tries to prove that he actually is innocent and a good guy.

So the story seems really predictable this way, that this mysterious girl and the protagonist will end up together instead, read more
Feb 28, 2013
gimeyop (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're someone reads manga because you enjoy the stories of the protagonist and being led on by the emotions of the characters, atmosphere and settings and stuff then probably this review won't be helpful to you.
Before the review, some Q and A.
Does this manga use the above elements properly to tell the story?
sure I guess...
Does it make you feel stuff?
I guess....
Was it enjoyable?
FUCK.... NO... it was the equivalent of someone putting your brain into the dishwasher for 3 days and then raping it after.

The story was pretty standard... boy have crush on a nice girl, nice girl likes boy back, read more
May 20, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
Boredom. It usually occurs from repetitive and seemingly uneventful occurrences in someone's life. In the case of Aku no Hana, that boredom is caused by living in a bland town full of normal people. So what happens when you finally get a glimpse of someone or something that isn't normal for the first time in a long time? You would probably do whatever it takes to keep that thing close to you and prevent it from being tainted by the boring pieces of shit that exist everywhere else.

As you can probably assume from that brief introduction, Aku no Hana is a dark psychological story. It read more
Mar 7, 2019
Obsdiangolem (All reviews)
Aku no Hana was 60% of the time the worst thing I've had ever read in my life.

The central theme that Aku No Hana proposes to analyze during its first arc is the mindset of a criminal. It is, till the very end, a character study, focused on creating a situation in which our protagonist faces the consequences of a certain action that he makes at the beginning of the manga and eventually reaches the realms of insanity.

This may sound like something really interesting to you if you ever stopped and spent some time trying to understand the mindset of a random criminal you saw read more
Jun 19, 2012
renjikuchiki1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can be said about this manga that others haven't? I am not sure, so I will say it anyway.
It is basically what happens when a boy becomes so obsessed with a girl his life spirals out of control and he throws away everything he believes in or has worked for just to try and make her happy. The girl, is a sociopath who shows no emotion except joy when others are in emotional pain and has no qualms about leading the boy down a path of self-destruction because she simply doesn't care about the world or anyone (herself included) in it.

Some might say read more
Sep 2, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
Life is basically a series of meetings of people who may have or not some effect on the involved. These effects can be minor or big, but, undoubtedly, they change people. For good or bad, meetings are one of the few things that can truly influence people. Aku no Hana shows one of such meetings and how it changed everyone involved for the worse and how these people dealt with it.

Aku no Hana (The Flowers of Evil) is a psychological manga written, created and illustrated by Shuuzou Oshimi, who also created Boku wa Mari no Naka. It began serialization in 2009 and ended in 2014. read more
Aug 13, 2018
LeonardoRJ12 (All reviews)

I confess that when I started reading Aku on Hana, I imagined that this would be one of the best manga of all time. I had it in my mind until I realized the psychomania of the female protagonist. Aku no Hana disappointed me in many moments. When I began to understand the story, soon after it began to look strange or even incomprehensible. From beginning to end I did not understand the story, even before the separation of the two protagonists. Secondaries are not even talked about. Completely erased and when they appear it is at some point sad or unhappy compared to a read more
Apr 21, 2013
Lyon-Lark (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first started reading this manga honestly I though it was pretty bad. It starts off as the boring "someone saw me do something weird and I'm in a lot of shit" cliché, but then suddenly after about the 7th or 8th chapter the story completely evolves and takes a completely different turn. At about this time the story stops focussing on all the weird stuff going on and shows us the the effect it has on the main character, Kasuga.
This manga really messes with your head and you even find yourself being able to relate to some of the feelings Kasuga experiences. read more
May 20, 2014
fodderchara18 (All reviews)
Man, this manga is AMAZING. Simple as that. Thought-provoking, intense, realistic, meaningful, angsty, increasingly captivating.
I really hate to use this world freely but here i think i can say it with no regrets: in my opinion, this manga is a masterpiece. It‘s unbelievable, really, that i felt like dropping it back in the early chapters.

And boy, am i glad i decided back then to continue reading...! The truth is, Aku no Hana improved tremendously over the years. Both visually and plotwise. The gritty and sometimes painful-to-read start gave away to an insightful, intriguing coming-of-age story.

The characters also followed that evolution beautifully. Kasuga went read more
Oct 30, 2017
jmsxjrdn (All reviews)
Here is my take after reading all 58 chapters of Aku no Hana by Shuuzou Oshimi.

There are times when you accidentally stumble upon diamonds in this world; and I don't believe in accidents.

It is difficult to put the experience of reading Aku no Hana in words but I would try my best to do so.

The story revolves on Takao Kasuga, a middle schooler and his beliefs, principles, dreams, and aspirations; how they were formed through his love for Les Fleurs du mal by Charles Baudelaire, crushed by the perverted Sawa Nakamura and reassembled by Nanako Saeki just to be crushed once more read more
Jan 15, 2015
Beobachter (All reviews)
This might initially seems like the type of dirty "horrible things happening to horrible people" story, but I assure you that it's way more than that. Flowers of Evil is a story full of unexpected twists and turns, one that packed plenty of real life insight and eventually proved to have a considerable amount of compassion toward its complex characters.

The plot started by highlighting the relationship between snobbish and spineless middle-schooler Takao Kasuga and his enigmatic classmate Sawa Nakamura. Saying Sawa is odd would be a major understatement; she's a complete alien of a teenager, showing extreme disregard toward the most basic norms read more
Jul 6, 2014
greatyu (All reviews)
The unusual stature where the common manga gets uncommon to read is found in this story where all is centered around a book by a crazy French poet.

Story: The story was psychologically thrilling, i don't think many mangas offer the reverse situation where a boy got bullied by a girl in such a "unique"way. What's mysterious about the whole franchise is that, you get lost trying to understand the character mentality.There were some worthwhile plot twists, and you could exactly feel the aftermaths the of people who had gone through various dangerous phases in life.

Art: Art is very good, it was detailed on read more