Kingdom
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Kingdom

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キングダム


Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 26, 2006 to ?
Genres: Action Action, Award Winning Award Winning
Themes: Historical Historical, Military Military
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Young Jump
Authors: Hara, Yasuhisa (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.981 (scored by 5055250,552 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #112
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #59
Members: 139,286
Favorites: 12,540

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Show Spoilers
Jun 16, 2013
tcubed (All reviews)
The community for this manga isn't very active on here so I thought I'd do my bit and promote this manga by writing the first review.

The story itself isn't novel, it starts off normally in a cliché manner with two war orphans who dream of becoming the greatest generals in all of China. The appeal of this series isn't due to originality but more to do with the investment you feel with the characters.

There are a number of characters that have been introduced so far and had their pasts explained in some detail. This is definitely a series where a lot of focus read more
May 15, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I've always been a bit puzzled as to why Kingdom isn't any more popular on this site. Despite having been publishing on a consistent weekly basis for nearly a decade by now, and despite being one of the highest rated manga on MAL, I still essentially never see anyone talk about it. It almost feels like people aren't even aware that it exists. I think this is very unfortunate, because they're missing out on what is perhaps the most inspirational manga I've ever had the pleasure of reading.

The story takes place during the Chinese Warring States period. After a full 500 years of constant warfare read more
Nov 23, 2013
Kvshi (All reviews)
So, this is the first review for me so some things may not sound as good as the ones you've seen!

The community for the Kingdom manga isn't that big at all and I hope it can expand with a bit more hype!

Story: 9/10

As you've probably read the synopsis for the Kingdom manga already, you've realized it sounds simple and not as enticing, but you're completely wrong! Kingdom completely expands then blows away those expectations you had for the manga in general. The story consists of multiple Chinese based wars and a shifts in internal politics and in which each war plays read more
Sep 11, 2018
ChouEritto (All reviews)
Kingdom is a series that people like to hype up these days and indeed has a great premise of ancient Chinese warfare that harkens back to wide spanning stories such as Romance of the Three Kingdoms. However, its poor presentation and repetitive nature causes it to be about as impressive as a second-rate Shonen.

Now, it certainly isn't an absolutely terrible series (though it being rated a 5 and not a 1 should make that obvious). It seems to have some semblance of war strategies and some of the supporting characters do develop as the story goes on to some extent.

The main complaint of the series' read more
Jul 1, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
I was confused after seeing that the manga "Kingdom" didn't have that many reviews, considering that it is ranked in the top 10 manga on MAL; hence the review, as it deserves more attention. The title of the manga does not seem interesting at first glance, which is a shame, as it actually is much more intriguing. Kingdom is a military seinen manga, based on true historical recordings, enhanced with a lot of action and drama.

~Story~

The story itself appears to be generic and nothing new at first glance - an orphan,young boy called Xin, who aspires to become a great general, meets the young emperor read more
Nov 5, 2015
Yakkululz (All reviews)
Main plot: Interesting
I didn’t know much about the warring states period, and find it really great to have a manga talking about the subject. Of course, don’t take what you read for taken, but the manga seems to follow the historical story fairly well. (If you are curious about it, try “kingdom manga history” in your favorite search engine. There is some nice work out there.) Regardless of its fidelity, it’s a nice way to be introduced to the topic.

Story telling: Redundant and cheesy
At first, I quiet liked how the story telling was done. It’s well paced, I read more
Feb 16, 2014
Stromming (All reviews)
I'll be doing my first review in honor of this more than awesome manga. I think it's high time it gets the 10 it deserves. I'll be using the Japanese names as the anime is in Japanese and the manga currently translated with Japanese names and it get's too confusing using the Chinese names.


Story
The story is not in itself original. I know what you're thinking, a young boy wants to be a hero, how would that be different from most other popular fighting manga? Well, although it doesn't differ that much, it tells the story in a fantastic way that it really doesn't matter that read more
Oct 23, 2020
SleepingDandy (All reviews)
This can only be expressed as a poor mans Vinland Saga. Despite being one of the few products on this website that contains a score above 9.00, it is pretty bad. I have heard years of its praise, and It disappointed, quite a bit.

Story 1/10
A boy and a trap spar everyday until the trap is sent to the royal palace. Then when the trap dies as a body double, the other boy he gains super saiyan 4 and bodies a so called royal assassin. As the assassin wheezes his last breath, he says “No U”, and an army appears. Then another trap, in the form read more
Sep 24, 2014
zFoxx (All reviews)
This is one of my all-time favorite ongoing manga series being produced. It seems to be ranked high overall but I think this is a highly underrated manga and the community seems dead or quiet. I hope if you take the time to read this that I will persuade you to pick up this wonderful series. Fans of Vagabond, Berserk, and Vinland Saga should be drawn in to Kingdom.

History
Kingdom is a historical Seinen based on the Warring States Period in China. A time of constant war between the 7 states of China, it would last for 500 years until a King would unite all the read more
Apr 27, 2015
korosensei-san (All reviews)
This is My First Review I Hope You Like it,And Sorry For My Bad English(I'm From Egypt).

Story:
9/10
The Story Of This Manga is From The Kind That makes You Stick in Your Chair.
This Story Makes You Love Wars.
The Story Talks About two Orphans Whose Parents Died From Wars.
The Story Starts When Xin Goes To The Village And Meets Piao.
In Your First Impression You Will Think That This Is A Traditional Story,But When You Get In The Story You Will Think The Opposite,From The Great Things That The Story Takes Place In China That Means That We Will See A Lot Of Action And Bizarre Great Things.
From read more
Apr 11, 2021
turbo2x (All reviews)
There are some series that I recognize as being a 10/10 due to the technical proficiency and the intricacy of the storytelling, such as Golden Kamuy. Kingdom is nothing like that. I recognize Kingdom as a masterpiece because no other series has ever come close to replicating the emotional highs and lows that this series has. Its huge cast of amazing characters, the hectic battles, and the truly epic scale of the story all work together flawlessly to create a story that has made me laugh, cry, and cheer while reading it. I binged over 650 chapters in a week or so, and by the read more
Feb 22, 2015
Dude_Perfect (All reviews)
"An eternal struggle by men risking their lives that never come to an end. Good grief, this is exactly what makes these chaotic times so interesting."
- General Ouki

Story: The manga is based on the tumultuous 500 year warring period of China. read more
Mar 2, 2019
MScientist0 (All reviews)
Have you ever flipped a page of a manga, then suddenly screamed out with a fiery passion that only a shonen protagonist would have after viewing the contents of the next spread?

No?

Then you my friend, are missing out on one of the greatest manga series ever.

Kingdom is a story that follows a certain servant boy, as he rises up to become a great general of the heavens, during the warring states period in China. In essence, you could say that this is your average shonen protagonist that screams a lot and does the impossible, who slowly matures over the course of the story. However, it's read more
Jun 13, 2017
BDProductions34 (All reviews)
To start it off, I have no problem saying Kingdom is one of the greatest manga out right now. With all the incredible writing, breath-taking action, and page turning intensity, you'd think this manga would be more popular. But alas with poor anime adaptions and a lack of a proper English release, I guess this series is destined to remain underground, which is unfortunate because that means so many people are missing out on how truly fantastic this series is.

To give a cliffnotes version of what this story is about. We have an orphan boy named Shin who has a dream of becoming the greatest read more
Aug 27, 2021
Potatobanana (All reviews)
The single most underrated manga in my eyes. I read Kingdom as a way to introduce myself to the world of Seinen, and my amazement upon reading this series is immeasurable

The art speaks for itself, Its a masterpiece in every panel with no shortage of action and gore when it comes to fight scenes

The story is sublime, from the war scenes all the way to political struggle scenes where every panel is more dialogue based. The story truly is an amazing storyline paired with a gorgeous art that is second to none. I managed to read 650 chapters in the span of 8 days, speaks read more
Dec 30, 2015
FieldMarshal (All reviews)
This Manga is a must watch for anyone who is into motivational, war and power manga. This is my number 1 manga ever. This one manga surpasses all others.

What it has:
-Failures, the main character fails and recovers.
-Inspiring people, generals that inspire you to follow their path and to be at their level.
-War, the entire manga is about war and only ceases war on the battlefield to move to the war in the government, a battle among governing powers for who gains control.
-Women, although not many the few that exist are very relevant to the entire story.
-Strategy, this series has some major battle strategies and shows read more
Jan 14, 2020
Kingerty (All reviews)
This is THE MANGA, for people who grew up playing things like Dynasty warriors, who know the story of the Three Kingdoms so well they want something similar yet, different, so we go back in time even further to experience the Warring states period. I LOVE THIS MANGA. The art the characters. I'm just about finished with the coming of age arc for the second time(I got about this far before droping it). I wish the story was a bit faster, it seems like a lot of promotions of the characters are just fillers for the main event, and what long fillers they are...
Nov 27, 2017
Senryakku (All reviews)
What can I say, other than if you enjoy anything related to ancient warfare, and especially China, that Kingdom is one of the best treat that you can get for yourself.

______________________

Enjoyment.

The enjoyment that you will get from this manga is simply off the chart. All you need is a bit of epic music in the background to accompany your reading (I recommend two steps from hell). Do not even bother watching the anime unless you feel the need to appoint some voices to your favourite characters (I do admit they didn't mess that up at least).

_______________________

read more
Oct 31, 2021
YaAAbu (All reviews)
Kingdom manga is known as historical manga talking about china at the time of the Warring States period , I want to mention the good and bad points about it .
before I start let me say that I really love this manga for me it's clearly number 1 but you know nothing is perfect xd.

Bad points:

- Weak Beginning: the manga had the worst first arcs among most of manga I have been read , the art at the first chapters are bad ( compared to late chapters ) the story had weak points at the Beginning , some things like young boy who get his read more
Aug 18, 2021
duylinhsss (All reviews)
Why is Kingdom trash.


Click bait title. Before you Kingdom fans jump on me like the way Kingdom simplifies warfare and merely depicts waves of soldiers crashing onto each other, let's be patient and think about this question: why do Shin fight? He wanted to become the best general because... he wants to be not poor? He desires to be cool? He wants to stand on top of the world? What motivates him to kill, again and again, respectable people? Well, as the first act went on, it shifted to Shin following Sei's dream of uniting China and ends the chaos. That sounds good, right?


Let read more