Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kingdom

Kingdom

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キングダム

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jan 26, 2006 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, HistoricalHistorical, MilitaryMilitary, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Hara, Yasuhisa (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Jump

Statistics

Score: 8.931 (scored by 2389023,890 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #102
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #96
Members: 60,878
Favorites: 6,749

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jun 16, 2013
tcubed (All reviews)
The community for this manga isn't very active on here so I thought I'd do my bit and promote this manga by writing the first review.

The story itself isn't novel, it starts off normally in a cliché manner with two war orphans who dream of becoming the greatest generals in all of China. The appeal of this series isn't due to originality but more to do with the investment you feel with the characters.

There are a number of characters that have been introduced so far and had their pasts explained in some detail. This is definitely a series where a lot of focus read more
May 15, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I've always been a bit puzzled as to why Kingdom isn't any more popular on this site. Despite having been publishing on a consistent weekly basis for nearly a decade by now, and despite being one of the highest rated manga on MAL, I still essentially never see anyone talk about it. It almost feels like people aren't even aware that it exists. I think this is very unfortunate, because they're missing out on what is perhaps the most inspirational manga I've ever had the pleasure of reading.

The story takes place during the Chinese Warring States period. After a full 500 years of constant warfare read more
Nov 23, 2013
Kvshi (All reviews)
So, this is the first review for me so some things may not sound as good as the ones you've seen!

The community for the Kingdom manga isn't that big at all and I hope it can expand with a bit more hype!

Story: 9/10

As you've probably read the synopsis for the Kingdom manga already, you've realized it sounds simple and not as enticing, but you're completely wrong! Kingdom completely expands then blows away those expectations you had for the manga in general. The story consists of multiple Chinese based wars and a shifts in internal politics and in which each war plays read more
Sep 11, 2018
ChouEritto (All reviews)
Kingdom is a series that people like to hype up these days and indeed has a great premise of ancient Chinese warfare that harkens back to wide spanning stories such as Romance of the Three Kingdoms. However, it's poor presentation and repetitive nature causes it to be about as impressive as a second-rate Shonen.

Now, it certainly isn't an absolutely terrible series (though it being rated a 5 and not a 1 should make that obvious). It seems to have some semblance of war strategies and some of the supporting characters do develop as the story goes on to some extent.

The main complaint of the series' read more
Jul 1, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
I was confused after seeing that the manga "Kingdom" didn't have that many reviews, considering that it is ranked in the top 10 manga on MAL; hence the review, as it deserves more attention. The title of the manga does not seem interesting at first glance, which is a shame, as it actually is much more intriguing. Kingdom is a military seinen manga, based on true historical recordings, enhanced with a lot of action and drama.

~Story~

The story itself appears to be generic and nothing new at first glance - an orphan,young boy called Xin, who aspires to become a great general, meets the young emperor read more
Nov 5, 2015
Yakkululz (All reviews)
Main plot: Interesting
I didn’t know much about the warring states period, and find it really great to have a manga talking about the subject. Of course, don’t take what you read for taken, but the manga seems to follow the historical story fairly well. (If you are curious about it, try “kingdom manga history” in your favorite search engine. There is some nice work out there.) Regardless of its fidelity, it’s a nice way to be introduced to the topic.

Story telling: Redundant and cheesy
At first, I quiet liked how the story telling was done. It’s well paced, I read more
Feb 16, 2014
Stromming (All reviews)
I'll be doing my first review in honor of this more than awesome manga. I think it's high time it gets the 10 it deserves. I'll be using the Japanese names as the anime is in Japanese and the manga currently translated with Japanese names and it get's too confusing using the Chinese names.


Story
The story is not in itself original. I know what you're thinking, a young boy wants to be a hero, how would that be different from most other popular fighting manga? Well, although it doesn't differ that much, it tells the story in a fantastic way that it really doesn't matter that read more
Sep 24, 2014
zFoxx (All reviews)
This is one of my all-time favorite ongoing manga series being produced. It seems to be ranked high overall but I think this is a highly underrated manga and the community seems dead or quiet. I hope if you take the time to read this that I will persuade you to pick up this wonderful series. Fans of Vagabond, Berserk, and Vinland Saga should be drawn in to Kingdom.

History
Kingdom is a historical Seinen based on the Warring States Period in China. A time of constant war between the 7 states of China, it would last for 500 years until a King would unite all the read more
Apr 27, 2015
korosensei-san (All reviews)
This is My First Review I Hope You Like it,And Sorry For My Bad English(I'm From Egypt).

Story:
9/10
The Story Of This Manga is From The Kind That makes You Stick in Your Chair.
This Story Makes You Love Wars.
The Story Talks About two Orphans Whose Parents Died From Wars.
The Story Starts When Xin Goes To The Village And Meets Piao.
In Your First Impression You Will Think That This Is A Traditional Story,But When You Get In The Story You Will Think The Opposite,From The Great Things That The Story Takes Place In China That Means That We Will See A Lot Of Action And Bizarre Great Things.
From read more
Mar 2, 2019
MScientist0 (All reviews)
Have you ever flipped a page of a manga, then suddenly screamed out with a fiery passion that only a shonen protagonist would have after viewing the contents of the next spread?

No?

Then you my friend, are missing out on one of the greatest manga series ever.

Kingdom is a story that follows a certain servant boy, as he rises up to become a great general of the heavens, during the warring states period in China. In essence, you could say that this is your average shonen protagonist that screams a lot and does the impossible, who slowly matures over the course of the story. However, it's read more
Jun 13, 2017
BDProductions34 (All reviews)
To start it off, I have no problem saying Kingdom is one of the greatest manga out right now. With all the incredible writing, breath-taking action, and page turning intensity, you'd think this manga would be more popular. But alas with poor anime adaptions and a lack of a proper English release, I guess this series is destined to remain underground, which is unfortunate because that means so many people are missing out on how truly fantastic this series is.

To give a cliffnotes version of what this story is about. We have an orphan boy named Shin who has a dream of becoming the greatest read more
Nov 27, 2017
Senryakku (All reviews)
What can I say, other than if you enjoy anything related to ancient warfare, and especially China, that Kingdom is one of the best treat that you can get for yourself.

______________________

Enjoyment.

The enjoyment that you will get from this manga is simply off the chart. All you need is a bit of epic music in the background to accompany your reading (I recommend two steps from hell). Do not even bother watching the anime unless you feel the need to appoint some voices to your favourite characters (I do admit they didn't mess that up at least).

_______________________

Story and characters.

Now, what make this seinen war read more
Feb 22, 2015
Dude_Perfect (All reviews)
"An eternal struggle by men risking their lives that never come to an end. Good grief, this is exactly what makes these chaotic times so interesting."
- General Ouki

Story: The manga is based on the tumultuous 500 year warring period of China. read more
Dec 23, 2018
anoncology (All reviews)
Kingdom is one of the best mangas that not many people in the West talk about. I'm really just going to discuss key points I think people should know if they want to get into it:

Get past the first arc! There is quite a loud minority that skip out on it, reasonably so (the art, some cliches, etc) but I love it and encourage people to read it. As many first arcs, it is an introductory to the future of this well thought out manga. You will seriously indulge in all the physical conflicts of the manga and those moments of just theorizing and drama. read more
Dec 30, 2015
FieldMarshal (All reviews)
This Manga is a must watch for anyone who is into motivational, war and power manga. This is my number 1 manga ever. This one manga surpasses all others.

What it has:
-Failures, the main character fails and recovers.
-Inspiring people, generals that inspire you to follow their path and to be at their level.
-War, the entire manga is about war and only ceases war on the battlefield to move to the war in the government, a battle among governing powers for who gains control.
-Women, although not many the few that exist are very relevant to the entire story.
-Strategy, this series has some major battle strategies and shows read more
Sep 9, 2018
Louiscypher666 (All reviews)

Story:

This manga is about an orphan boy who wants to be a General. The story revolves around the war most of the time
Compared to your average shonen this manga contains no fanservice, no ridiculous power-ups, fights focuses more or less on tactics.

Characters:
My only complaint is that the main character Shin follow the usual stupid-kid-hard-working-i-wanna-be-something type like Naruto or Asta from Black Clover which is not bad but simply way too overused.

Art:
It's not impressive at first glance but with time the art really improved, it's easy to understand what is happening on the battlefield.

If you're tired of cliché and fanservice and like shonen manga, this read more
Feb 26, 2017
AnjaliTOT (All reviews)
READ IT!!! READ IT NOWWW!!!!

I usually dont have a specific Favourite anime or Manga, but for the first time i liked a manga so much that yes its my favourite manga!!

Dont waver out thinking its just one of those boring Historical Manga, Kingdom can make you fall in love with the genre itself!!

It has Drama, History, Humour, War, LOTS and LOTSSS of action !!!
Its still pains me when i see that Kingdom is still oblivious to so many people and also those who know about it dont think its good enough to give it a try...

So yeah read it and i gaurantee read more
May 20, 2014
reimacram (All reviews)
So this my first review for my new account. Please don't hate me
*Please read the plot first so you would now what I'm spouting here :3*

So the story revolves around this guy called Li Xin.This guy has an incredible (impossible) amount of strength and courage (typical in every shounen).

The strategy on how to portray the ancient wars in China is awesome and all but as usual, exaggeration to some war stuff was added. Samples:
1) A 5 foot 2 kid with a sword defeated/or on par with a 7 footer giant using a large spear enough to barbecue an elephant (don't give me that David and read more
Dec 28, 2013
arielphf (All reviews)
Since this manga has only a couple of reviews, let me add one more '9' to the list.

This manga has a somewhat predictable but solid storyline set in the Warring States era of China (240 BC or there abouts). It may be a typical story line, but it's done very well and in my opinion, the reason certain storylines get told so often is because they are interesting to people! You can read the summary to see what this manga is about, so I won't bore you by repeating it, but I did want to touch on the high points.

Story: Well paced, easy read more
May 22, 2015
jowb63 (All reviews)
Kingdom is a very long manga series (its on chapter 432 and I think it will 700 chapters sense the manga took the time to acknowledge chapter 350) that takes place at the end of the warring states period of Chinese history. China is divided into 7 constantly warring Kingdoms with you following the story of the Kingdom of Qin. You follow numerous character's thought out a very a period of many years (so far at least 9 have past) most importantly a rising star of the army named Shin and the king of Qin El Sei. Without wishing to spoil anything, the story is read more