Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cross Game

Cross Game

Alternative Titles

English: Cross Game
Japanese: クロスゲーム

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 17
Chapters: 170
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 2, 2005 to Feb 17, 2010
Authors: Adachi, Mitsuru (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 5545 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1112
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #729
Members: 11,943
Favorites: 611

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 18, 2010
nihon (All reviews)
"Cross Game" is one of Adachi's best works.

The first volume of manga is one of the very best I've read among all the manga I've read. Adachi does an amazing job of building up the relationship between Koh and Wakaba, showing little details that make you sure they are right for each other, even at a young age. He does an even better job of showing just how jealous Aoba is of all the time Wakaba spends with Koh. Then tragedy strikes.

Adachi's portrayal of all the different reactions from family, friends, and acquaintances is spot-on accurate.

The interplay between the characters often leaves you guessing read more
May 7, 2011
koshiu (All reviews)
Adachi Mitsuru is popular for his sports dramas from Touch to H2 to Katsu! Cross Game though is his best work to date. Although some purist may disagree, to me, he learned from the faults of Touch and H2 to create a much more compelling and complete story with Cross Game. I read this from a different point of view (perhaps do to the lost of my sister at a young age) and saw it as more than just a sports drama.

Cross Game may have Baseball as the base of its back ground, however the story is about how the short life and the death read more
Aug 30, 2013
HaiAlwaysHungry (All reviews)
The problem with sports manga is that if you are not very familiar with the sport itself you might not even bother looking into it. I used to have a similar problem and I don't even know what made me open up the first volumes of Touch but I can say that I would never regret that decision. Similar to Touch, Cross Game is a manga that one can enjoy without having any deep knowledge on baseball as the story is not about sports but a young boy trying to find his true feelings while growing up and trying to fulfill the last dream of read more
Mar 4, 2017
Stranger_Hanyo (All reviews)
After being recommended I read Cross Game. So how was it? If you want a short answer, it's AWESOME!

I have never been a lover of sports manga/anime before and I don't know a single thing about baseball(well maybe except it is played in Japan and America, ;P). But I am a fan of romance and Cross Game, despite being a sports focused manga, portrays romance in one of the most beautiful ways possible.

The character build-up is wonderful, Aoba's developing feelings for Koh and his subtle love for her is expressed in such a way, that you won't find any moment boring. Mitsuru Adachi's art is read more
May 27, 2014
SengokuAkira (All reviews)
I finished Cross Game not to long ago and it was a really fun read!

If you like sports, romance or drama manga you should check it out.

The relationships Ko (main character) and Aoba (2nd main) have with eachother and the other cast of characters is very interesting and fulfilling.

There are alot of light-hearted moments and just as many sad and intense moments.

Some of the baseball matches can be short and grazed over but when it comes down to the select vary important matches, alot of baseball strategy is involved. The art gets really nice when there is an intense moment during a game.

The read more
Mar 6, 2013
MOLLY123 (All reviews)
I honestly was really fond with this manga. It was great, because of this I understand and play baseball much better than I use to. This manga was quite funny and romantic.
I really like the story. On the first chapter.... it was so sad it made me a bit teary eyed and with that ending song it was too much. I love that they used baseball and turned it into such a great romantic-comedy which also has a bit of drama.
Just saying if you have no idea what the heck read more
Jun 28, 2013
thepatman95 (All reviews)
The slice of life manga at its best. Fusing comedy, romance, and no small amount of baseball Adachi creates a grand story of quiet intensity. While Adachi does add in some very corny jokes every now and then, the humor stays fresh throughout the series, even in the presence of the powerful emotions of his well developed characters. The character design does seem to be of an older style, but looks new and works perfectly with the story; combined with detailed backgrounds, the art gets an A+. You DO NOT have to like baseball to enjoy this manga thoroughly. I had decided that baseball wasn't read more