Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bastard

Bastard

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hulejasig
Japanese: 후레자식

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 94
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 4, 2014 to May 6, 2016
Authors: Kim, Carnby (Story), Hwang, Young-chan (Art)
Serialization: Naver Webtoon

Statistics

Score: 8.711 (scored by 11112 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #502
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #336
Members: 22,966
Favorites: 1,500

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 3, 2018
BlackAlpha (All reviews)
I've just finished this, it's 4 in the morning and I need to express the immense enjoyment I had whilst reading this. Over the 3 days I've read Bastard, it has literally prevented me from doing revision as the story has just kept me glued to page after page, thinking that I'll finish reading at a certain time but ending up spending hours reading.

The overall story is very simplistic yet very surreal, as the synopsis doesn't give away that much, I don't want to give away spoilers as to who the serial killer is but you find out straight away, so the action happens fast. read more
May 2, 2018
SeasonalMoth (All reviews)
Let me start this review by saying that I was just on the the final chapter of Bastard literally one minute ago and closed the MangaBlaze app only a few seconds ago. And now I'm here writing a review about it. So here goes.

Story:10
Overall the story was Fantastic. If you used MangaBlaze to read this then you will have already read the word 'Horror' in the description. However there is much more to Bastard than the single word horror. Even if it was purely a horror it wasn't scary or freaky and the gore was quite mild (in my opinion). So don't go saying when read more
Feb 8, 2018
Sakurai_Aoi (All reviews)
You know those manhwa/manga that people say they just can't put down? Yeah, Bastard is exactly this.

It starts off kinda normal, throws you into the crazy life of the main character, and proceeds to get better from there. The twists and turns in this manhwa are amazing and leave you shocked but you just want to read more of it because it's so interesting. That especially goes for the end of it. It makes us believe the same things the main character did and then surprises us with the actual truth. It doesn't leave you with an unsatisfying ending. All important questions are answered at read more
Jan 9, 2018
Akko_Berserk (All reviews)
Note: English is not my native language, I apologize for possible mistakes.

What happiness! Bastard finally in MAL, I was hoping to see him here for a long time.
I would have liked to review it just when I finished reading, but at that time the file was not here, and well I can say about this great Manhwa I suppose I could sum it up in something: You can not stop reading!
Each chapter kept me in suspense and wanting more, I spent 2 days reading and reading ... I remember that I said I would only read about 10 chapters a day and without realizing read more
Aug 8, 2018
campvoyageur (All reviews)
While writing this review I find myself in a position of affliction. Every limb of my literary body tears and rends its bones separate from the whole, in a combative wave of dissonance Bastard is wonderful. Bastard is awful. Bastard is ecstasy. Bastard is Bastard.

I am here to set the record straight on this series. The most unfortunate and unnecessary problem with Bastard is its ever-present reliance on bad writing tricks and hypnotic acts dependent on the ignorance of the reader. Yet, the irony is that this utilization of plot conveniences and literary evasion grants the series a delectable dynamicsm that one cannot help read more
Mar 12, 2018
HaiseK (All reviews)
Ok what's Bastard? A Korean Comic with a simple plot synopsis that says, "My dad is a serial killer" (if you are reading on LINE WEBTOON). It sounded pretty cliche and non interesting after reading such a vague synopsis like that but then I still decided to give it a try and after few days of nonstop reading I can gladly say that it is the best manhwa I have ever read!!!
Even simply reading the prologue will get you HOOKED on this work that you will even forget how simplistic and dull the art is. Yes, the art is as simplistic as it could read more
Dec 27, 2018
animeluvr7777 (All reviews)
[NO SPOILERS]

Bastard has a fantastic premise that gets you hooked and the characters & story make sure you stay hooked until the very end.

It was an amazing ride from start to finish. It had comedy, romance, mystery, gore and thrill. It had me on the edge of my seat, so much so that I binged the entire series in a single sitting.

Art (9/10): Don't be mistaken by just a 9. Even though its art may not be as good as the best, it is certainly good enough for this kind of story and the character expressions more than accurately capture what they're feeling. The backgrounds read more
Aug 12, 2018
anime_hunter420 (All reviews)
Short list of reasons to read Bastard (spoiler-free):

1) Story
- is relatively short and fast-paced;
- grabs your attention with the first chapters;
- contains so many plot twists, that if you try to model them, you'll end up making a roller-coaster (a really breathtaking one - from the start to the very end).

2) Art
- provides you with the feelings of hopelessness and fear throughout the whole reading thanks to the darkish colors;
- immaculately conveys the terror of the most intense moments with the help of various drawing techniques;
- satisfyingly bloody and gory when needed.

3) Characters
- are easy to empathize with;
- some of them are really complicated;
- actually read more
Apr 28, 2019
Anomanderake (All reviews)
Well let me begin my review with a piece of caution: Once you start reading this you are not gonna be able to stop! It has been a while I binged on any story like I did with this one. I read the entire webtoon in a single sitting! The writing is super, and I can't emphasize this enough, SUPER SMART- like outrageously so. The characters are so lifelike and sinister in their own way. The art is near perfect in being able to convey the gravity and intensity that lingers in certain situations while also pulling off the light hearted moments with equal poise. read more
Nov 9, 2018
internetontheguy (All reviews)
Bastard is, in short, an edgy manhwa.

It is recommended if you can enjoy/aren't troubled with any of these:

• Gore
• Bullying
• Troubling Situations

If you do, then you might enjoy this manhwa.

------------------------------------------------------

• Story

It is quite interesting honestly, I don't really need to talk much about it considering that the synopsis that MAL wrote on Bastard tells the story in a nutshell perfectly. It isn't a confusing story and you'll pick up on it easily.

• Art

Quite unique, it isn't the usual art style you'll find on other manhwas and it fits in perfectly with the visualizations in the manhwa.

• Character

Characters are quite realistic. They have opposing morals, own read more