Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas - Meiou Shinwa

Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas - Meiou Shinwa

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 聖闘士星矢 THE LOST CANVAS 冥王神話

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 25
Chapters: 223
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 21, 2006 to Apr 7, 2011
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ShounenShounen
Authors: Kurumada, Masami (Story), Teshirogi, Shiori (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Champion

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 55025,502 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2862
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #959
Members: 10,347
Favorites: 914

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2017
Fantaloca (All reviews)
Ok let's be simple
In Saint Seiya Classic you have:
Cliches, generic characters, cliches, more cliche, repetition, more repetition and cliche
Oh, and a POOR art style
Here you have development, good characters, good history and a good manga in general.
And a AMAZING art
And NO plot holes pratically, how amazing, hm Kurumada?

PT-BR
Ok, nós temos uma arte boa, desenvolvimento, bons personagens e praticamente tudo que não tem no clássico
Sem os cliches, o classico do classico, apanha, levanta, fala que não irá ser derrotado com um golpe, o golpe não funciona 2 vezes contra o mesmo cavaleiro e procede pra proxima casa
Definitivamente o MELHOR CD, sem duvidas
Sem contar read more
Feb 10, 2011
Error205 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, what makes Saint seiya: The Lost Canvas a decent shounen manga? Maybe not his plot, or the manly tears running on the cheeks of a bunch of male characters. What makes it a decent shounen manga is the feeling that other new ones have lost, maybe.

Story

The Lost Canvas, as a prequel to the original manga, follows Tenma and his vow as a Saint of Athena to fight against Hades- once his childhood friend Alone- along with the gold saints and protect humanity. At the same time he wants to protect the promise they gave as children, so one day he will be able to read more
Feb 17, 2014
DarkMaxUchiha (All reviews)
If you liked the badasses in gold in saint seiya this manga shows what there all about, a massive scale war borderline on the amazing concept and the great character and art work this is definitely a manga for you.

I found that Saint seiya was lacking a lot of fighting power and that everyone was extremely balanced this does not occur here the power levels of the almighty gold saints of Athena show what there all about, all the characters were amazing evil and good character fights all the way upto the ending.

Can't wait to read the other saint seiya spin offs anything as read more
Sep 10, 2018
ChouEritto (All reviews)
The Lost Canvas is usually heralded as being vastly superior in all ways to the original, an opinion I can't understand when the exact opposite is true.

[Note: May contain minor spoilers for Saint Seiya and The Lost Canvas]

First, looking at the story, there isn't really much to say. It's mainly just an expansion of the Hades Arc from the original except far less interesting due to prequel syndrome already making it apparent who will live and survive. Even in this area, it does a poor job as we're told in the original manga that Dohko and Shion were the only survivors of the war, yet read more
May 5, 2010
Neiru2013 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like pretty guys? Do you like to watch them horribly mutilate themselves and each other? Then this is the manga for you!

Lost Canvas is a prequel to the original Saint Seiya manga, and if you know anything about the original Saint Seiya series, then you pretty much know the entire plot and outcome of Lost Canvas. How do I put this delicately... stay away if you can't handle characters dying! The death toll is hiiiiiiiigh!! Aside from that, I think the brainstorming session for Lost Canvas went something like this:

Person A: so what should we make this about?
Person B: well, people really seem read more
Jan 5, 2017
coloresajenos (All reviews)
This is a little conflictive, I'm a fan of the whole Saint Seiya franchise in general, but I have to be honest.
Well the story it isn’t so complicate, like the original series but in this case it's all big saga, The Holy War. the war start in the second or first volume, being only Tenma, Alone and Sasha (this last one not so much) with a decent background history, introducing the supporting character along the story, thing that could work but it doesn’t'.
The problem is that characters like Yato and Yuzuriha are presented as the principal supporting characters but they don't act as that, they read more
Jul 7, 2019
Riversofbeauty (All reviews)
WARNING:This review will contain spoilers

Story (5):
''Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas'' is basically about the fight against Hades that took place in the 18th century.Its basically centered around the three main characters(who grow up as friends in an orphanage):Tenma who becomes the one of the Saints that serves Athena,Sasha who's the reincarnation of Athena and Alone who turns out to be the reincarnation of Hades.And thus by a cruel twist of fate Alone turns into Tenma's and Sasha's enemy.
The story isn't bad however considering that its 223 chapters long even though it focuses on one war makes it rather superfluous in a lot of parts(especially the read more
Jan 1, 2020
cowboychan (All reviews)
That thing you are reading right now? Drop it and read this instead.
I'm joking...or maybe I'm not.

I was always familiar with the Saint Seiya, but I was not aware of The Lost Canvas (or any Saint Seiya spin-offs). Honestly, I have no idea how I discover this manga, or what made me want to read it, but looking back, I'm so glad I did it.
Side note: No you don't have to read the original before reading this, but at the same time, if you read it, you gonna appreciate The Lost Canvas way more.


STORY/PLOT: 9/10
The plot is simple, almost cliche. I mean, it's read more
Apr 30, 2019
SieghartTheMage (All reviews)
Manga written by Shiori Teshirogi, tells of the previous holy war against Hades, 243 years before the classical events. It's an excellent manga, perhaps the best of the spin-offs (although Okada is also skilled), if you loved the classic series, you'll enjoy it.

However, due to Next Dimension, written by the original author Masami Kurumada, which tells of the holy war in the same period, the series is considered an alternative universe. This thing obviously does not affect its quality, also because in the saintseiyauniverse, of "canon" with the original manga perhaps there is practically nothing, apart from ND (although Kurumada is not a master read more