Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao no Flag

Ao no Flag

Alternative Titles

English: Blue Flag
Japanese: 青のフラッグ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Feb 1, 2017 to ?
Authors: KAITO (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump+

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 2488 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4282
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1139
Members: 8,774
Favorites: 398

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 15, 2018
jesteri (All reviews)
THIS, is what Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru could have been.
THIS IS HOW YOU WRITE CHARACTERS, A LOVE TRIANGLE, A DRAMA, SOL.
I will savor the criticisms of Yahari for some other post, but to keep it short, it cuts out a lot of the nonsensical edginess with hard hitting drama, addressing common themes that occur in youth with a more "realist" outlook.

I normally dislike the "slice of life" genre because the characters and plot moves too slow. This series is the golden standard on how to do drama and SOL in a way that keeps the fire hot. Every panel, every chapter, read more
Oct 26, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
A good manga compared to the huge load of fantasy manga that keeps coming out... As other people have said, the path this manga is going towards is pretty predictable... But hey, who doesn't want to read something realistic for once?

The story itself is pretty good, very realistic. The development of the characters is decent too. All of the MCs seem to be in a situation where they are not fully sure of the decisions they will make in the future. They kind of help each other to know their true feelings towards each other. But many paths seem to be open in my opinion read more
Sep 5, 2017
Sorghaghtani (All reviews)
Overall, this manga is quite predictable to anyone who has read shoujo manga. The characters have more development than many other shoujo heroines and their ubermensch love interests, and it shows here. Unlike other shoujo manga that you will read purely for enjoyment, you will find yourself invested in these characters and their interactions. The artwork is quite fluffy and expressive, with minimal panel background art.

I gave this manga an 8 because through it's characters it actually got me invested in the story and feeling a similar sense of finality to friends going through their last year at high school together, unsure of their read more
Jul 17, 2017
Nagadir-chan (All reviews)
Consider that I've only read 5 chapters please =)

Story about two guys and one girl, a very interesting love triangle. I don't like these complicated love triangles but in this manga it's actually looks very potential and likeable. MC is trying to help his classmate to confess to his friend but is slowly starting to like her too. Story just naturally progress and presents some original concepts.
Characters are very well done and feel very realistic. MC is kinda average type of character, very normal. His friend on the other hand is very popular within girls and boys. He has a lot of friends but MC read more
Jun 21, 2019
2Che (All reviews)
I feel like some of the other reviews are missing some information about the new recent chapters that have been published, so I felt the urge to write a review.


I still remember, a few months ago, shopping through my local manga store and reaching out to see an interesting cover. It was Ao no flag. I'm gonna be honest, I wasn't planning on buying it, but it did seem interesting enough to give it a try, and so I did.

It's not outstanding at a first glance. Its plot is about a high school boy that, due to some ridiculous coincidences starts helping a girl read more
Nov 10, 2019
noemarabbit (All reviews)
Ao no Flag is a high school drama and SOL done right. While the plot (at first glance) isn't anything super unique, its strength comes from its characters and how they're developed.

It does appear to be a generic high school romance toward the beginning and brings in a lot of stereotypes, but later on it subverts those tropes. Characters are introduced at the beginning that appear one-dimensional, but as the story progresses you get to hear their perspective, and you can definitely see the characters grow (or not grow). There's a surprising amount of life advice imparted throughout.

What impressed me the most is how this read more
Sep 30, 2019
Xenocrisi (All reviews)
Ao no Flag, or Blue Flag translated, has been flying under the radar for too much time. A manga like no other. You won’t find anything even remotely similar to Ao no Flag. So, before we get into the review mind that, if you still haven’t read it and you have some kind of ideologies on society, this manga might not be your cup of tea. Taking that into account, my review will be based off of my enjoyment and point of view alone. Now, without any further interruptions, let’s get to the review. Minor plot points spoilers ahead.

Ao no Flag (AnG for short) is read more
Mar 8, 2019
whalian (All reviews)
This is such a beautiful manga. Not just the art: the plot, the romance, drama, the characters and the joy and pain you feel with them while accompanying them through their last year of high school. It is not perfect (nothing is perfect), but everything fits really well together and while the story may not be the most unique, it is executed beautifully and in such a grounded and realistic way. It is painful to see the protagonists Touma, Taichi and Futaba (and Masumi) struggle and there is always this underlying feeling that the way things are now, at least one of them is going read more
Sep 19, 2019
agituna (All reviews)
At first glance this seems like your typical shojo manga, though on the more well drawn side of shojo, the lame dude gets close to a girl to help her with a guy and they end up falling for each other, love triangles etc. However, as the story progresses I was really pleasantly surprised by the depth of these characters and their interactions, ESPECIALLY in the more recent chapters! (say 30 onward). It touches on some difficult topics and the mangaka was able to really accurately depict a number of opposing biases, in a way that makes you question your own standing in the conflicts read more
Dec 1, 2019
Egco0 (All reviews)
I have never before heard about this manga by anyone online or in real life and im so thankful that i did find it. By accident i came across a manga that fully embraces what "Slice of life" means by giving a story that fills us with all emotions we experience in our lives. I would recommend it for most people who like romance stories. I hope more people will find and read this great manga.

Story: 9/10
Although the story is by no means a brand new plot that has never been done before, its still great at what it does. It doesnt need or try read more