Ao no Flag
Blue Flag
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao no Flag

Alternative Titles

English: Blue Flag
Japanese: 青のフラッグ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 54
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 1, 2017 to Apr 8, 2020
Genres: RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Authors: KAITO (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump+

Statistics

Score: 7.961 (scored by 99539,953 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7702
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #437
Members: 25,558
Favorites: 1,295

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 5, 2020
ZexalsTV (All reviews)
A classic love triangle story with classic high school teenage drama surrounding it. Great character development and back story to drive the overall story to a good narrative. The only thing i'm not satisfied with is the ending of this story, it felt rushed, but besides that, it's a great manga and I recommend it to anyone who likes these types of stories.

The manga is fairly short but the pace is good enough to suffice a valuable story that shows the true power of friendship and showing that there is a difference between love and friendship no matter what gender.
Jun 13, 2020
Caio0202 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

The story is fantastic. The love triangle (or square?) is incredible, and the way it gets you involved is breathtaking. The characters are almost all very interesting, and from chapter 1 to 52 you basically keep yearning for more. I read the whole thing in a day, over the course of 7 or so hours, and I wasn't bored not even one second.

That being said...

What the FUCK was this ending? I seriously can't stress a worse ending for a manga. All the building up of their relationship as well as the friendship between Taichi and Tuoma just to trash it in four read more
Nov 15, 2018
jesteri (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS, is what Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru could have been.
THIS IS HOW YOU WRITE CHARACTERS, A LOVE TRIANGLE, A DRAMA, SOL.
I will savor the criticisms of Yahari for some other post, but to keep it short, it cuts out a lot of the nonsensical edginess with hard hitting drama, addressing common themes that occur in youth with a more "realist" outlook, and much better pacing.

I am a crazy action shonen fanatic, so I normally dislike the "slice of life" genre(unless its very comedic) because the characters and plot moves too slow. This series is the golden standard on how to do read more
May 29, 2020
_Nyanjaa (All reviews)
I came across this series randomly and thought it would be a good slice of life/romance to give my attention for a short while but it turned out to be much more. It is a relatively short read so it is worth taking a look at and reading through.
The story revolves around three third year high school students, Taichi Ichinose, Touma Mita and Futaba Kuze in a romance/ slice of life manga. Futaba Kuze approaches Taichi in an attempt to start dating Touma, Taichi's childhood friend and who is one of the most popular people in school.
read more
Jun 22, 2020
rotanrotan1 (All reviews)
I love reading it as soon as it kicked off.

I love how they tackled the concept of friendship and relationships. From Futaba's realization of her own feelings, to Touma's friends' view on friendship and love and hate. The climax of the story was when the themes of story were made obvious. Although I really like how they argued over sexuality, friendship, and morality. I felt off reading teenage high schoolers speak of so much wisdom (and although it is not entirely unrealistic), digesting page after page of wisdom was a bit too overwhelming for me. It was not bad, it was just a read more
Aug 19, 2020
SmamSmeasmy (All reviews)
I cannot put into words the disgust I felt reading the final chapters of this manga. It’s like putting your all into preparing for an exam and you shit on the paper. (Spoilers ahead) Every arc in this was so promising but it ultimately leaves you wondering “why did I read this”. My original rating for this was an 8 and now it stands at a 3 because so many plot lines are left unexplained, wasted or unanswered. The whole university arc meant nothing, Masumi’s feelings are ultimately wasted as she ends up with a guy, Taichi wanting to be best friends with Touma is read more
Apr 18, 2020
LoveNectar123 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ao no Flag delivered on every front from dialogue, to characters, to story... for about 40 chapters. The last quarter of the series truly feels like it was written by a completely different person. Characters get a lot more preachy and while characters would usually have something interesting to say, suddenly every sentence out of every characters’ mouth was rambling nonsense that regularly teetered on homophobia. Ao no Flag attempted to tell the story of 2 gay teenagers dealing with their objects of affection starting to date, and for a long time it succeeded. It was a clearly straight author writing not from their experiences, read more
Oct 26, 2017
Major_Gilbert (All reviews)
Preliminary
A good manga compared to the huge load of fantasy manga that keeps coming out... As other people have said, the path this manga is going towards is pretty predictable... But hey, who doesn't want to read something realistic for once?

The story itself is pretty good, very realistic. The development of the characters is decent too. All of the MCs seem to be in a situation where they are not fully sure of the decisions they will make in the future. They kind of help each other to know their true feelings towards each other. But many paths seem to be open in my opinion read more
Apr 16, 2020
existentialist (All reviews)
Preliminary
Propaganda. Its a very interesting thing, subversive and yet targeted and overt at the same thing. Propaganda doesn't necessarily have to be a bad thing, we can have positive propaganda. But, at the end of the day, once the consumer of the propaganda realizes what they've been fed, it can leave a very bad taste in their mouths.

Ao no Flag was one of the most immersive and ground breaking manga I've ever read, with amazing art and deep characters, and extremely deep relationships. It was well on its way to a 9 or 10 rating (rare for me) until literally the final 2 chapters. read more
Sep 5, 2017
Sorghaghtani (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall, this manga is quite predictable to anyone who has read shoujo manga. The characters have more development than many other shoujo heroines and their ubermensch love interests, and it shows here. Unlike other shoujo manga that you will read purely for enjoyment, you will find yourself invested in these characters and their interactions. The artwork is quite fluffy and expressive, with minimal panel background art.

I gave this manga an 8 because through it's characters it actually got me invested in the story and feeling a similar sense of finality to friends going through their last year at high school together, unsure of their read more
Jun 21, 2019
angode (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel like some of the other reviews are missing some information about the new recent chapters that have been published, so I felt the urge to write a review.


I still remember, a few months ago, shopping through my local manga store and reaching out to see an interesting cover. It was Ao no flag. I'm gonna be honest, I wasn't planning on buying it, but it did seem interesting enough to give it a try, and so I did.

It's not outstanding at a first glance. Its plot is about a high school boy that, due to some ridiculous coincidences starts helping a girl read more
Jul 17, 2017
Nagadir-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Consider that I've only read 5 chapters please =)

Story about two guys and one girl, a very interesting love triangle. I don't like these complicated love triangles but in this manga it's actually looks very potential and likeable. MC is trying to help his classmate to confess to his friend but is slowly starting to like her too. Story just naturally progress and presents some original concepts.
Characters are very well done and feel very realistic. MC is kinda average type of character, very normal. His friend on the other hand is very popular within girls and boys. He has a lot of friends but MC read more
Jan 6, 2020
SweetCatalina (All reviews)
Preliminary
NO SPOILERS AHEAD : )

As I got older, I started to look for more mature stories and those basic shoujo plots started to sound a little repetitive and boring for me. Sometimes is nice a good and simple manga to clear the mind, and I love tons of those, but that’s not the case of Ao no Flag. At the beginning, it looks like this kind of simple manga: timid girl likes the popular guy, looks for his best friend to help her to approach him and it starts a new relationship with those three. It’s adorable and well developed, but then the stories brings read more
Mar 2, 2021
CosmicFeng (All reviews)
This manga was so going to be so good but ended so badly I had to write a review for people going into this series and for people who have already finished it.

Story: 6
So to start the series was great with some problems that I will explain later. The story is pretty decent most of the run of this manga and it keeps you hooked with lots of twists and interesting dialogue. The story really digs deep into deep topics and tries to make you really think about your approach on topics (which I think was a good and bad idea), sometimes though it tried read more
Mar 8, 2019
whalian (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is such a beautiful manga. Not just the art: the plot, the romance, drama, the characters and the joy and pain you feel with them while accompanying them through their last year of high school. It is not perfect (nothing is perfect), but everything fits really well together and while the story may not be the most unique, it is executed beautifully and in such a grounded and realistic way. It is painful to see the protagonists Touma, Taichi and Futaba (and Masumi) struggle and there is always this underlying feeling that the way things are now, at least one of them is going read more
Nov 10, 2019
noemarabbit (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ao no Flag is a high school drama and SOL done right. While the plot (at first glance) isn't anything super unique, its strength comes from its characters and how they're developed.

It does appear to be a generic high school romance toward the beginning and brings in a lot of stereotypes, but later on it subverts those tropes. Characters are introduced at the beginning that appear one-dimensional, but as the story progresses you get to hear their perspective, and you can definitely see the characters grow (or not grow). There's a surprising amount of life advice imparted throughout.

What impressed me the most is how this read more
Mar 26, 2021
hyakawasaki (All reviews)
This is one of the best written (yet somehow criminally underrated) manga I have ever come across.

Taking a look at the premise, one would not exactly expect this story to go as deep into certain issues as much as it did. A simple "love triangle" is not merely enough to describe the intricate relationships between all of the characters. The writing flows with the characters, their words reflecting and foreshadowing things in the future that the reader can't help but to be curious about. The absolute realness of their words, of their actions, is beautifully portrayed by KAITO alongside of seemingly simplistic drawings that actually read more
Mar 18, 2021
hunnioreo (All reviews)
Simply put: I loved this story.

Blue Flag was definitely a manga that will stay with me, I was emotionally invested from the very first chapter. The art, the characters, everything was so pleasing to look at and read.

What I think Kaito does really well is build up character development, they all seem very real and complex and because of this, I found myself caring for them very early on.

*SPOILER FOR ENDING*


I would have to agree that the time-skip ending could've been better if there was some sort of build-up to it, HOWEVER contrary to a lot of peoples opinions I really read more
Feb 25, 2021
RotakuXsama (All reviews)
This is my first review ever. I never bothered to write a review but i have to write one for
Blue Flag. Not because i liked it very much, i am writing this review because i felt betrayed and i am so angry i wanted to rant somewhere so here i am.

This is a spoiler Free review.

So someone recommended me this Manga on reddit and it has a great MAL score so i picked it up and start reading. I really liked this Manga, NO let me correct myself i really LOVED this Manga *until CHAPTER 53 PAGE 38*. This Manga was perfection for read more
Feb 13, 2021
CyberpunkBoyToy (All reviews)
This manga was the best thing I had ever read, right up until it was not. Incredible story, but the last chapter felt like the worst kind of betrayal--a knife to the chest of every queer reader who really empathized with the narrative.

I highly suggest reading it, but never touching the ending; if done this way, you'll be left with an incredible experience.

(Spoilers)
It starts out looking like a typical love triangle, and reads that way for a while. And it's a cute love triangle, a very enjoyable shoujo-esque romance. But then it slowly starts getting more complicated, and as characters develop it feels like read more