Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bokura ga Ita

Bokura ga Ita

Alternative Titles

English: We Were There
Synonyms: Run Baby, Run.
Japanese: 僕等がいた

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 16
Chapters: 70
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 13, 2002 to Feb 13, 2012
Authors: Obata, Yuuki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Betsucomi

Statistics

Score: 8.151 (scored by 13259 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6162
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #207
Members: 33,513
Favorites: 1,757

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 27, 2013
lady_ribbon (All reviews)
Love hurts.

Two words that truly sum up the entirety of Bokura Ga Ita - We Were There. The story follows the interconnected lives of four people made tragic by circumstance and choice from their highschool days, and ten years hence.

This manga is categorized as a Shoujo, yet the maturity of the tale, and the realistic way everything is approached and handled is far more like a Josei, and therefore better for a more mature audience, either in age, mentality or both.

★ Story (9) - What starts off as a deceivingly simple and very cliche tale of a good, innocent girl falling love with the read more
Dec 9, 2013
Demi_V (All reviews)
“I’d been living all this time to meet you, Takahashi.” – Yano

Bokura ga Ita (We Were There) is a must-read for all rom-com and drama lovers. Written by Yuuki Obata, it is filled with the most beautiful (and romantic) quotes relating to life, which is one of its greatest aspects as a Slice of Life manga. Given that the story follows a high school romance between an innocent girl (Takahashi) and a popular boy (Yano), it may be assumed that this is just another cliché rom-com or drama manga. However, it’s greatly unpredictable. As the story progresses, you will face several turn of events among read more
Mar 18, 2015
yuucchanXO (All reviews)
I think this is the best manga I have ever read. I can't believe Obata-sensei's art. It was so amazing it captured my heart. There was no need for petty dialogues and self-reflections, all feelings were portrayed in the art itself. I've never read a manga that tells a story in a series of pages that have no written words, but still flawlessly telling such a wonderful story.

I kind of didn't appreciate how she drew eyeballs at the start though, and how the characters still look like kids even after ten years. Haha. But every flaw was overlooked by every emotion so everything was read more
Jul 10, 2010
Cookie-Drugs (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first, I expected this manga to be a little more than it gave out. Well, it didn't exactly do that for me. I felt like I was wasting my time reading this at first, but as it progressed, Nana and Yano's relationship felt a little less of pushy and more friendly. As I continued this, it felt like I had a fuzzy warm feeling. I was already blown away by half of it then.
Sep 29, 2013
connielas (All reviews)
In every manga there are two things which I really judge and those are the story and the art. In this manga, it showed a magnificent story but with the art.. well not so much.Wait, I shouldn't bash up my point already..This is only the start of my review.

"We Were There" or "Bokura Ga Ita" has a very amusing and phenomenal title that really gives off that refreshing and relieving feeling that suits the taste of every Shojo Manga lover. But of course, the title isn't the only one that's phenomenal and uniquely developed and believe me.. the story is as magnificent as its title. read more
Jul 19, 2013
NadiaSusana (All reviews)
First of all this is my very first review and my mother language it's not English, so any mistake, sorry.

So I saw the anime and I was like, just this? And decided to read the manga, I'm not the type of person that cries with this kind of stuff and I confess while I was reading I turned into a crybaby.

This is not that kind of shoujo that everyone is alright, in this manga we have a lot of different stories, problems and some life lessons, we can learn and some people could relate, like me.
Love isn't easy and all pink, love it's difficult, read more
Aug 2, 2016
lastobjective (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can see why people like this. If you love drama and painful relationships, then this is for you. However, I just couldn't stomach this at all, especially since neither the reviews or the summaries adequately covered what kind of story this is.

What this Manga does well:
- While the art is kind of same-y and everyone looks extremely young, it really did frame the story well. The lilting sadness that permeates this series owes a lot to the art. There are a lot of painful looks exchanged and things left unsaid.
- The story's pacing is quite good and it was easy to just get into read more
Dec 10, 2016
Bshasha (All reviews)
Story
Nothing was really unique about the story, it was simple and predictable, not as complex as it appears to be. But I like how the story was told, there was a lot of deep dialogues, you can easily understand how the characters are feelings.
The pacing was random, sometimes fast, and sometimes so slow with lot of unnecessary details. It could end with less chapters in my opinion.

Art
It did well to deliver the story, the expression were realistic. The background and places were drawn well, I was only hoping the character would be drawn more mature after they grow up, but in general I like it.

Character
Nothing read more
Sep 8, 2011
asbajini (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love shoujo series that aren't superficial and are unique in their own sense, which is exactly what Bokura ga Ita is.

The story has a great pace and is very atypical from the usual shoujo, slice of life genre. It's really easy to fall into the pace of the characters and learn about each of them. They're all unique and complex...something I certainly admire about this series: there are so many sides to the story, giving it a much deeper, sort of realistic meaning. It's something that's actually relatively easy to relate to even if you've never been a situation like that yourself.

Honestly, it's read more
Mar 16, 2016
epeolatrous (All reviews)
“Are we nothing but a collection of memories?”

It's been a while since a shoujo manga rendered me speechless. If I could warn my 15-year-old self who started this series thinking it would be your typical slice-of-life, high school romance, I'd tell her to think twice. An extra package of tissue boxes would also be welcome. Yes. Before I knew it, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with We Were There. What was supposed to be your average sweet, clumsy love story turned out a surpringly mature read exploring heavy themes such as grief, suicide and depression. Forget the fluff, the rainbow and the read more
Feb 24, 2016
japotakuWatashi (All reviews)
Preliminary
The tears can't stop flowing.
I've been giving many series I watch high ratings due to being in the moment and simply enjoying that show the most at that time.

This is simply THE BEST romance I've seen and possibly will ever see. It shows so many people in so many places doing so many things feeling so many emotions, it has everything a romcom lover would die for. I won't give this an individual breakdown of why I chose the different ratings on art, characters, etc... because just like this story, you can't put a numerical value on something so precious.

This is the first manga I've read more
Dec 10, 2015
Redonesmiles (All reviews)
I finished this manga a few months back, and I am just now making a review out of it.

The story is about a girl named Nanami Takahashi, who enters high school and falls in love with a popular boy named Motoharu Yano . She eventually gets to date him and as time passes by dating him, she learns about Yano's past and his problems of being unable to move on.
As the story progresses, it does indeed get hard for her, for she never fell out of love for Yano in the future.

All I can say is out of all the shoujo and romance manga read more
Oct 4, 2013
mukashino (All reviews)
I started off by watching the animé for this, so of course, it broke my heart on the very last episode. After a year or so, I decided to pick up the manga from where the animé ended. I kept waiting for Yano to return, just as Nanami did. I waited, and waited, but we never got anything, except glimpses of his life every now and then. When Nanami was asked to give up on a love she had so much hope in, I could feel her agony coming through. There were certainly chapters that I did not like, but I got myself through them read more
Oct 4, 2013
starrzz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so normally I dont comment on mangas and stuff but honestly, I found this manga to be really entertaining and worth the time.Like most mangas I've read, the stories usually start out very cliché and all but later the story starts to make sense probably after going through a few boring chapters. But never for once have I thought of dropping this manga. I loved Yano's character so much but I did find Takahashi annoying at times. All the characters are awesome and their stories and the problems they face and try to overcome, the circumstances they find themselves in and having to let read more
Aug 14, 2016
RosyXkid (All reviews)
Well after I binged read tihis manga .
I came to an understanding that this manga easily turned to my number one in romance and drama.
I applause to Yuki Obata for making me cry endless chapters .
For making me binge read it ,because I couldn't stop flipping the page to see what is next.
Don't think I read it half way not think I stopped endings when Yano moved away. I kept reading it and I loved it.
Makes me believe love at first sight .Even if it hurst me .
Yuki Obata really knows how to develop her characters especially Nanami and Yano.( Who went through so much read more
Oct 1, 2017
finwatchin07 (All reviews)
Late review.
This is actually the first manga I've read. It's because I watched the anime and kept wondering when the next season would come. But with anime, we all know not every anime gets a second season. So after 2-3 months I learned about the manga already being completed. So I read it.
My opinion. My heart was and is still broken because of this manga. At the end I was sooooo happy that they finally finally FINALLY were together.

Story: Starts off typical shoujo. I like that the story continues onto adulthood. I couldn't even imagine after the anime that their relationship would fall read more
Jan 25, 2018
LadyYuki_ (All reviews)
"We were there." The title itself suggests a lot of hidden possible meanings and would make you perhaps ponder with questions: "Who was there?" "Why?" "What's in there?" And "How did they got there?" The basic questions that we all learn. And as you read the story, you’ll discover answers on such questions. Bokura Ga Ita is one of those stories that'll tug some of your heartstrings. It'll annoy you; it'll make you sympathize with the leads; it'll make you wanna murder one of the characters; it'll even perhaps make you cry if you're sensitive and sentimental like me. It'll make you feel something. read more