Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yakusoku no Neverland

Yakusoku no Neverland

Alternative Titles

English: The Promised Neverland
Japanese: 約束のネバーランド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Aug 1, 2016 to ?
Authors: Demizu, Posuka (Art), Shirai, Kaiu (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.761 (scored by 35849 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #352
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #36
Members: 91,778
Favorites: 9,798

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 11, 2016
beckmn (All reviews)
This manga, albeit very new has gotten my attention well enough to prompt me to write a review. With the ending of popular series like Bleach and Naruto, myself and many other people have high expectations from the newer generation of authors. And I believe that the authors of Yakusoku no Neverland have great potential.

YnN starts off with Emma, a happy go lucky girl who spends the days of her life in pure bliss along with all the other orphans. All the kids there enjoy their carefree everyday activities like playing tag, eating delicious food, and taking an extensive IQ test with absolute focus... wait. read more
Oct 16, 2016
Daniel750 (All reviews)
I've given it a 10. Based on 10 chapters. I rarely give 10. And to think I picked it up because I was searching for substitutes for Bleach!!!!

This manga has potential. Just as much potential as SnK had when it came out. Moreover, it has the potential to be everything that SnK was NOT. ( These days SnK is EXTREMEMLY slow paced )

The story is extremely fast paced. It developed in 10 chapters what SnK had taken nearly 1 years to. It revolves around a group of trio; Emma, Ray and Norman as they try to escape from their orphanage. Every chapter in this read more
Nov 1, 2016
crankyllama (All reviews)
Being a relatively new manga, I'll be basing this review off of the currently released chapters. I've never reviewed a series so soon after the original release, that's how good this manga is.

Story: 9/10
I'd honestly like to give it a higher score... but because I'm only going off of the few chapters that have been released, I have to give the story a 9 for now. The story is EXTREMELY original, well-paced, with just the right amounts of darkness and lightheartedness. I'll just be reading along, and all of the sudden, my stomach balls up, turns over, and shrivels with tension and real fear. Best read more
Oct 31, 2016
Werw (All reviews)
Well, if you like a story that have a lot of twist in it, you would probably love it. You would be overwhelmed by the twists in this manga. It has a beautiful character development. Every character has their own characteristics and uniqueness. There might be naive and too kind character, but that doesn't mean that they are dumb or something (this kids are geniuses). This would be a great manga to read since the end of a few so I call it "giant" in the manga industry. Try it out and you'll most probably like it (unless you like a lot of blood, intestines read more
Mar 4, 2019
VoydVoyd (All reviews)
The first arc of this story is one of the best self-contained stories I've ever read. You're always kept guessing, due to the unique setting and sheer drought of information that is present. The protagonists are fun and endearing, the antagonists are cool, sympathetic and very intimidating, all round great.

However, that's only a quarter of the story so far. After its' conclusion, the story begins to degenerate into a post-apocalypse story with so many genre-trappings, tropes and predictable story beats that, as a fairly genre-savvy person for this kind of story, things have only gotten less and less interesting as the mediocre storytelling is propped read more
Apr 3, 2018
UmairAamir (All reviews)
Started it some days ago, caught up to the latest chapter recently!
And I loved it!
This is my first Review on MAL... I was so amazed by this series that I wanted to write a review here!

I don't regret spending my time on this. All the chapters were so well written.. they gave me chills!

With slowly discovering the unknown mysteries along with the passage of time, this series is awesomely going.. There's still a lot yet to be revealed!

I must say, this manga is definitely gonna be one of the Shounen Masterpiece in the near future.

It, without a doubt, is one of the Best read more
Sep 26, 2017
Aileenam (All reviews)
This is my first review so let's see how it goes.

So, recently I was craving a psychological manga and randomly picked this up.
What a pleasant surprise.

Story: 10/10*
The story starts off in our main setting: the orphanage. The sun is shining and the birds are singing and the big happy family is having a meal together. Well, almost. This does not last for long, despair and sorrow will soon follow. This is the day when the main characters stumble upon the secret behind their home and its origins. The story is unlike any other manga I have read before and shows great potential. There read more
Dec 17, 2016
Chinaz (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland - The Best "JUMP Start" Manga.

This is the definitive manga of JUMP Start.
And I do not say this just because I like it, I say it because it is what "feeds" me as a reviewer and I do not want to look bad to dictate anything but "Yakusoku no Neverland" (original name) is the manga that gave me that level of hype since I begin reading the shonen gender.

The new series of Kaiu Shirai (story) and Posuka Demizu (art) premiered on August 1 in issue 35 of Shueisha's Shounen Jump magazine.
The first chapter had 54 pages with a colorful opening read more
Jul 7, 2018
EricRasputin (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland or Yakusoku no Neverland is a true masterpiece created by Kaiu Shirai.

Let's start with the summary. This story takes place in an orphanage and the protagonist is Emma, a bright and cheerful girl that lights up everyone around her. Every orphan has a number etched on their neck and after their 6th or 12th birthday, they are given off to a "foster family". One of the rules of this orphanage is that they are never allowed to go outside. One day, Emma and her friend find out the secret behind this orphanage that would change their lives forever.

That is the summary. read more
Nov 9, 2018
EwwKuu (All reviews)
warning: minor spoilers

Story: 9/10
The story is amazing. The author is extremely good at always surprising us and somehow showing how astonishingly genius the children are. The writing is very smart, a lot of curveballs are thrown in our faces and we can never guess how the characters would defeat these challenges, yet somehow they always do. Simply genius.
The first (approximately) 30 chapters were very thrilling: and I LOVE thrillers (e.g., Erased, FMAB, Steins gate, etc). There were so many moments where my heart just stopped.

The manga did become quite slow in the Secret Hunting Village arc. The arc was still amazingly good, and it honestly read more
Apr 15, 2019
BryceBillBob (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

The first arc starts off very strong, it's got an interesting prison escape story and I'd probably give it an eight but after that the series goes down hill and fills lazily tangled together almost like the writer didn't know how to continue writing the story. As the story progresses Emma becomes someone who isn't fitting to be this series mc since she changes her stance and decides not to kill the demons. The art can also be very mediocre at times but it does have some really good key panels. I also find myself not really enjoying any of the character read more
Feb 5, 2017
peanutbutters (All reviews)
It is hard to conceptualize suspense and "horror" into a manga opposed to a motion picture and Neverland as excelled greatly at capturing these elements without the need of competing in the contest of "who can draw the most creepiest creature" or jump scares.

Starting off with the Story(1010):
The story is suspenseful. As the time of writing this,(25chapters or so), weekly this series DOES NOT fail at the slightest in chapter quality, maintaining the suspense and keeping you wanting more and more. Humans are fed to monsters and are raised in a "farm" where they have to take tests and such. Our protaganists, Emma, read more
Jun 13, 2017
BillyShears (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland is a relatively new addition to Weekly Shonen Jump, but it has very quickly proven why it is deserving of a spot among the best series in the history of the magazine. Tense, well-paced, manipulative, precise, and thoroughly entertaining, this manga is without a doubt worth a read to the fan of psychological thrillers.

The story tells us of the plight of three children who have lived their entire lives in an enigmatic orphanage, the Grace Field House, and the shocking secrets they discover of its inner workings. The psychological tension the writer is able to conjure in his writing is relentless. read more
May 21, 2017
BaileyHoldenFilm (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland - 1st Arc Review
Chapters 1 - 37

The first chapter of The Promised Neverland is one of my favourite opening chapters of any manga, it's so intriguing and fascinating and scary, it really has anything you could ever want. So I insist that you at least read that chapter before reading this review because I'm going to spoil the twist and the end of the chapter which is much much better if you see it for yourself.

Anyway, this is a really unique manga considering it's in Shonen Jump, it's not a battle manga at all, more psychological thriller, where a group of read more
Dec 23, 2016
Anime4LifeBaby (All reviews)
Promised Neverland is the most amazing manga that has come out this year.The story starts with a bunch of children staying at a orphanage they are all happy and they have this loving person who they call MAMA who takes care of them.Everything seems normal but is it ?

Story:Promised neverlands story progresses in a really nice manner.As the story progresses you start noticing strange things that makes you think something is wrong with this orphanage, the nos around there neck and the daily high level test.At the end of the first chapter the story takes a dark turn and the main characters finds out the read more
Mar 9, 2017
littered (All reviews)
So many twists and turns. Manipulation. Suspicion. Lies. Betrayals.

TL;DR
This manga is about three very different characters that tries to survive through brainwork and planning. The art style is great, the storyline keeps you on the edge of your seat, all that good stuff.

At first glance, I thought that it would be about an orphanage with an overall happy storyline. Boy, I was wrong.

They're stuck in an enclosed area and kept an eye on. If they keep staying, what awaits them is doom.

There are three main characters; to begin with. All of them are considered geniuses on certain aspects. One is an overly (I read more
Feb 15, 2017
Hidenki (All reviews)
26 chapters out so far.

I have that Manga a 10/10. I highly recommend it to everyone who is looking for a serious and dark but still beatufull story with a lot of mind games and depth. The characters are developing with the story and are very well and detailed. Nothing to complain about, unique characters and as "tropy" as they look after the first few chapters.

The pacing is very well, very fast but not too fast. The setting is unique, overall this Manga is bringing a lot of fresh ideas in the scene. You should give it a try. Just read the first chapter.

I read more
May 21, 2017
Natsu24950 (All reviews)
While it's true that this is my first review I've written in my entire life, I decide it is time that that should change, and what better way than to write my first one about this fairly new series : Yakusoku no Neverland or the Promised Neverland.

Yakusoku no Neverland (YnN for short) is a shonen manga published in the famous magazine Weekly Shonen Jump, it has so far 38 chapters. The manga had a rough start but begin to gain more fame as the story progressed, and for good reasons: This manga in unlike anything I've ever read before, and believe me, I've read a read more
May 6, 2017
Astruma (All reviews)
Each chapter is captivating and well planned. My god, before I read this I did not believe I could get jump scared by turning a page, but hell, I was proven wrong.
Its one of those rare stories that don't add fillers and fanservice so that it puts all effort onto maximizing its potential. It also introduces concepts and characters at a rate that doesn't make you want to pull out your hair. *ahem* snk.

Story: Not a single chapter has bored me so far, and that's extremely rare. Most stories usually require some more boring and relaxing chapters to make sure the suspense and action read more
Nov 22, 2016
Saphy_Potters (All reviews)
This manga may have a slow pace but it sure is enjoyable. It's only 16 chapters in so of course there's still a lot of development left but so far it's really good. It's different from the stuff we get in WSJ, definitely more dark and suspenseful like Death Note. The art is really good and it resembles the story well. The characters so far are great. The is also a lot of plot twists in this manga so be prepared. This is still ongoing so it has a chance to get even better and develop the characters more and develop the environment more seeming read more