Yakusoku no Neverland
The Promised Neverland
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Yakusoku no Neverland

Alternative Titles

English: The Promised Neverland
Japanese: 約束のネバーランド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 20
Chapters: 181
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 1, 2016 to Jun 15, 2020
Genres: MysteryMystery, HorrorHorror, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Authors: Demizu, Posuka (Art), Shirai, Kaiu (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.391 (scored by 7199671,996 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1732
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #17
Members: 155,669
Favorites: 14,290

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 14, 2020
moozooh (All reviews)
*CAUTION: Contains minor spoilers. Skip to the last two paragraphs for the summary.*

It is really a twist of cruel irony that The Promised Neverland has lived up to its name in a way I did not expect it to: it continually PROMISED a clever, poignant story but NEVER followed it through.

TPN became an object of hot discussion among the manga-reading crowd already after the first few chapters. For a good reason, too: it was, at the time, a competently done psychological thriller, something that Weekly Shonen Jump typically didn't feature, which immediately made it stand out from the endless conveyor of action and sports series, read more
Mar 4, 2019
VoydVoyd (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

The first arc of this story is one of the best self-contained stories I've ever read. You're always kept guessing, due to the unique setting and sheer drought of information that is present. The protagonists are fun and endearing, the antagonists are cool, sympathetic and very intimidating, all round great.

However, that's only a quarter of the story so far. After its' conclusion, the story begins to degenerate into a post-apocalypse story with so many genre-trappings, tropes and predictable story beats that, as a fairly genre-savvy person for this kind of story, things have only gotten less and less interesting as the mediocre storytelling is read more
Jun 14, 2020
Tanooshii (All reviews)
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

Sometimes receiving various influences to create a story becomes something very good and advisable, as a way to further expand your creativity, even though you have learned a lot about some more well-known titles. Usually imagination and reality become a step of coming together to cover what we call fantasy, being a simple fantasy or a dark fantasy, and in this environment of dark fantasies, it common to always have those that stand out, but even with a dangerous and violent universe, like Berserk for a more famous example, stands out for leaving a message for the reader to absorb, or at read more
Jun 14, 2020
animejas (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland was one of the first manga I ever read, the first manga I bought and was a manga I stuck with for many years, so I clearly feel a little bit sad that this manga is finally complete and the journey was over. But sadly those emotions are also clouded by tons of disappointment by the end as it was almost depressing seeing how far this manga fell from grace overtime.

Story & Writing (3/10)

The manga in my opinion, easily has one of the best starts in all of manga for me with the Escape Arc. It's a simple concept but with the read more
Oct 11, 2016
beckmn (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga, albeit very new has gotten my attention well enough to prompt me to write a review. With the ending of popular series like Bleach and Naruto, myself and many other people have high expectations from the newer generation of authors. And I believe that the authors of Yakusoku no Neverland have great potential.

YnN starts off with Emma, a happy go lucky girl who spends the days of her life in pure bliss along with all the other orphans. All the kids there enjoy their carefree everyday activities like playing tag, eating delicious food, and taking an extensive IQ test with absolute focus... wait. read more
Jun 14, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Note: this review contains some minor spoilers

Yakusoku no Neverland is a manga that started great, then lost its drive for a mediocre middle part, picked up a bit of the steam for the later part with a different driving force for the interest but failed to do a satisfactory/interesting ending.

As mentioned, the first part is the best. Unfortunately the rest of the manga fails to catch up to the hype by both the first arc of the manga itself and by the well done anime adaptation of the said arc. The protagonists, the villains, the revelations, there is not a dull moment in read more
Oct 16, 2016
Daniel750 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've given it a 10. Based on 10 chapters. I rarely give 10. And to think I picked it up because I was searching for substitutes for Bleach!!!!

This manga has potential. Just as much potential as SnK had when it came out. Moreover, it has the potential to be everything that SnK was NOT. ( These days SnK is EXTREMEMLY slow paced )

The story is extremely fast paced. It developed in 10 chapters what SnK had taken nearly 1 years to. It revolves around a group of trio; Emma, Ray and Norman as they try to escape from their orphanage. Every chapter in this read more
Nov 1, 2016
crankyllama (All reviews)
Preliminary
Being a relatively new manga, I'll be basing this review off of the currently released chapters. I've never reviewed a series so soon after the original release, that's how good this manga is.

Story: 9/10
I'd honestly like to give it a higher score... but because I'm only going off of the few chapters that have been released, I have to give the story a 9 for now. The story is EXTREMELY original, well-paced, with just the right amounts of darkness and lightheartedness. I'll just be reading along, and all of the sudden, my stomach balls up, turns over, and shrivels with tension and real fear. Best read more
Dec 18, 2019
UnluckyCat13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I came to the manga from the anime. This is important because the anime covers the arcs of the manga that take place in the orphanage. There is a clear split in the reader base in regards to which part of the manga is actually good. That will also affect how you view the anime. In my opinion the anime handles a lot (but not all) of the manga material far better. It's also blessed in that you don't have to deal with every inane, absolutely god forsaken plot point that comes after the orphanage escape arc.

The arcs in the orphanage are a tight, read more
Oct 31, 2016
Werw (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, if you like a story that have a lot of twist in it, you would probably love it. You would be overwhelmed by the twists in this manga. It has a beautiful character development. Every character has their own characteristics and uniqueness. There might be naive and too kind character, but that doesn't mean that they are dumb or something (this kids are geniuses). This would be a great manga to read since the end of a few so I call it "giant" in the manga industry. Try it out and you'll most probably like it (unless you like a lot of blood, intestines read more
Nov 15, 2019
iDarkend (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just keep thinking of what an explosive gripping start this manga has yet, it continues to sputter out the longer and longer it drags out. The first arc of this manga is absolutely incredible. It could've been a complete 1 shot(As the anime somewhat is) and would've left you completely satisfied. Unfortunately, it is very clear that the author put most of their thought into that first arc and slightly after that arc but, not much into the moments leading up to the conclusion of the story.

This manga also relies a lot on things happening off screen. Which is good to keep you read more
Apr 15, 2019
Brycepants (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

The first arc starts off very strong, it's got an interesting prison escape story and I'd probably give it an eight but after that the series goes down hill and fills lazily tangled together almost like the writer didn't know how to continue writing the story. As the story progresses Emma becomes someone who isn't fitting to be this series mc since she changes her stance and decides not to kill the demons. The art can also be very mediocre at times but it does have some really good key panels. I also find myself not really enjoying any of the character read more
Jun 14, 2020
snniiiiiffffff (All reviews)
It really, really hurts to see Neverland end with a whimper like this. To say the series started off strong would be an understatement, it grabs you by the balls within the first chapter and never lets go… well, until the end of the first arc, that is. Afterwards, things start to take a slow decline in quality, until it enters its final arc and absolutely nosedives into irredeemable garbage territory.


Let’s start off with the thing I didn’t mind too much about it by the end.


Art: 8/10


Posuka’s art isn’t the most complex, but it’s very charming, and adds a lot of style to the read more
Jan 10, 2020
juuzousuzuya002 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yakusoku no Neverland is one of the best-selling manga for the year 2019 and I can say that it really deserves what it is getting.

The first arc is probably the best or the second best arc of this manga as you can really feel the intensity and the thrill while reading it and the outcomes are not predictable that makes it more exciting to read.

While the story had a downfall on its following arc, the veiled mysteries are still hanging in there, and it's one of the reason that I stay put to it.

Overall, it's a great manga, 8/10 for me.
Jun 14, 2020
saltdustcrusader (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland has an extremely strong start. The first arc is a genuinely fantastic thriller with interesting characters and a very compelling mystery. Unfortunately, the series starts to go downhill around the point where the anime ends, and becomes extremely repetitive. Combined with a very unsatisfying conclusion, this leads to the series not even reaching close to the potential its strong start showed. If you do view The Promised Neverland, I recommend stopping reading it at the end of the first arc. Many of the central mysteries of the premise, such as "what are the demons", do not have satisfying answers.
Jun 14, 2020
tahadzmm (All reviews)
This is really a masterpiece, even though Im not a Shounen fan, (as mater of fact I hate this genre), But I enjoyed reading this manga, The unique story, the characters development, the Unique atmosphere of this manga everything was 10/10 for me, I didn't like the drawing that much though, It was much better in the anime, The anime was perfect in everything I liked it much more than the manga If I could I would've give in it more than 10 as a rate, However the manga was also great And I enjoyed it my single complaint was about the art style, but read more
Feb 22, 2020
Kuta1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be honest, I would separate TPN into two sections. The first 3 or so arcs (first 99 chapters I believe) is a solid 8.5/10 for me. The world-building is top notch, characterization is great, and the series has a wealth of complex relationship building while crafting great strategies and mysteries.

After that though, the story takes a pretty big nosedive, almost immediately. I fail to see how the series now is anything higher than a 5/10 at most. It feels like the authors want to rush everything and have just invalidated all the careful planning those first 99 chapters seemed to set up. Characters are read more
Jan 16, 2020
7eeks (All reviews)
Preliminary
'll split this into parts. There are many moments that deserve recognition separately. But as a whole, I give this anime a 5. Its a great manga, dont get me wrong. This is one of the best stories/concepts i have come accross in a while. You're always kept in the dark about something leaving that mystery element in the air constantly. The twists and turns are unexpected

The first arc of this manga was amazing, in my own opinion. The sudden turn of events and the unpredictability of it kept me on the edge of my seat; I didn't even want to put read more
Nov 9, 2018
EwwKuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
warning: minor spoilers

Story: 9/10
The story is amazing. The author is extremely good at always surprising us and somehow showing how astonishingly genius the children are. The writing is very smart, a lot of curveballs are thrown in our faces and we can never guess how the characters would defeat these challenges, yet somehow they always do. Simply genius.
The first (approximately) 30 chapters were very thrilling: and I LOVE thrillers (e.g., Erased, FMAB, Steins gate, etc). There were so many moments where my heart just stopped.

The manga did become quite slow in the Secret Hunting Village arc. The arc was still amazingly good, and it honestly read more
Jul 7, 2018
EricRasputin (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Promised Neverland or Yakusoku no Neverland is a true masterpiece created by Kaiu Shirai.

Let's start with the summary. This story takes place in an orphanage and the protagonist is Emma, a bright and cheerful girl that lights up everyone around her. Every orphan has a number etched on their neck and after their 6th or 12th birthday, they are given off to a "foster family". One of the rules of this orphanage is that they are never allowed to go outside. One day, Emma and her friend find out the secret behind this orphanage that would change their lives forever.

That is the summary. read more