Forum Settings
Forums
New
Feb 27, 2010 8:26 PM

Jan 2010
Have any of you experienced being stuck in the middle of learning japanese and unable to get better? In the beginning it was easy, memorize this and that and understand this pattern. But now it's like, "what do I do?"

I can generally understand simple sentences when they're written. But my kanji vocab is below 400 or so, and when I listen to japanese people speak, I can't understand half of what they're saying. Not to mention I'm unable to construct sentences quickly and when I do, they'll probably be full of mistakes.

So basically... どうすればいいですか?
Reply Disabled for Non-Club Members
Feb 27, 2010 9:26 PM

Jun 2009
If I'm still learning japanse should I learn how to read it to or should I focus on one thing at a time?
A rose with thorns~
Feb 27, 2010 9:40 PM
Jul 2018
> どうすればいいですか?

You said your kanji vocab is under 400? Check out Remembering the Kanji by James Heisig. Give your kanji some attention this way. It'll make learning words that use kanji a lot easier.

Can't understand what people are saying? Then find some good TV shows/anime/etc. and watch them. If you want, rip the audio from them, stick it on an mp3 player and listen to it while you do other things. The only way you'll learn to understand spoken Japanese is by listening to it a lot.

Also, just pick up some books/manga you might be interested in and read them like you would English. Skip anything that is boring or too troublesome to read. I would initially pick stories you're familiar with, but that's just me. Pick whatever peaks your interest. If that's simple stories like Card Captor Sakura then great, or instead if it's something like http://www.japan-manganews.jp/ then do that. :)