Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Togainu no Chi


Alternative Titles

English: Togainu no Chi
Synonyms: Blood of the Reprimanded Dog
Japanese: 咎狗の血

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2010 to Dec 23, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.391 (scored by 27,287 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1398
Members: 64,928
Favorites: 362

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 23, 2010
kindergraph (All reviews)
Togainu no Chi is an embarrassment.

It is an embarrassment to Nitro+, the producers of the source material. It is an embarrassment to A-1 Pictures, who have proven with titles like Birdy the Mighty DECODE and Ookiku Furikabutte that they can do better. But the most tragic part is how horrifyingly embarrassing it is to the BL genre and its fans. The genre, despite its booming popularity and flourishing diversity in manga and doujinshi, suffers greatly somewhere in the transition to animation—for some reason, the anime industry doesn’t like the genre very much, and even hugely popular titles are treated to adaptations with cut corners and read more
Dec 24, 2010
3MeowMix3 (All reviews)
To those who read and enjoyed the manga (which is a thousand times better than the anime), then you might want to think about avoiding this. I loved the manga, so I was really excited about watching the anime. As I finished the anime, I was annoyed at how awful it was.

What they did wrong:
They basically made everyone a pretty boy, even the guy that was supposed to be an old hairy man (though technically the BL game has all the characters very feminine). While the manga had a plot, in the anime they just like threw it all around. I was able to read more
Nov 10, 2010
ADayWithoutMe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Quite simply, Togainu no Chi is the kind of awful show that you just keep on watching. The animation is awful, the direction is sloppy, and the whole thing is just kind of trashy. It also takes itself way too seriously. And, yet, I love it. It's just so bad it's good.

My only real criticism, since all my other criticisms are really just part of why I love this piece of crap, is that the BL is really light. But, hey, maybe it'll get better in that regard.
May 19, 2013
quercifolia (All reviews)
I like Togainu no Chi. I've played the game. I've read the different iterations of the manga. And now, I've watched the anime.

I really wish I hadn't.

[Story] [3/10]

The story was, well, a joke. A twisted, convoluted fusion of each different path from the game, yet at the same time not following any actual path at all!

My other gripe was the lack of BL. The game was BL. Aka, Boys Love. Yaoi. Etc. To remove it is like having Final Fantasy 7 without Cloud or Sephiroth. Like 'Tales of' games without Apple Gels. It just isn't right!

And to add insult to injury, they left Arbitro read more
Dec 19, 2010
Rizzle (All reviews)
Preliminary
The word you need to think about when watching Togainu no Chi is potential.

The story revolves around a guy named Akira who is accused of a crime he didn’t commit. He is offered a path to freedom if he agrees to participate in a competition called Igura, and takes down the undefeated Il-re. This is all supposed to take place in the chaotic area of Toshima, where everyone lives by an “eat or be eaten” mentality.

Premise 8/10: Like I said, it had potential. I was based off of the storyline of some pretty popular games, whose plot was pretty solid. The plot, by itself, gives read more
Dec 24, 2010
KatayokuTsuneki (All reviews)
When Togainu no Chi was announced, I was put before a tricky choice either to watch it or not. On the one hand, this anime is based on a visual novel created by Nitroplus, the company I mostly like. But on the other hand, it is BL. Well, I considered this issue carefully and finally thought: “Bah, I bore with relationship between von Lohengramm and Kircheis from Legend of the Galactic Heroes, so I have some ‘just do not give a thing’ skill. Let’s roll this party!” Yep, I decided to cross the border and take a light step to the dangerous territory of fujoshi. read more
Feb 3, 2011
Amadio (All reviews)
Ok. I will start of by saying the I have not read the original novel for this series. I just kinda happened upon this show wile looking through different shows here on MAL. Now another thing I want to say is... I don't understand why this show has so many bad reviews... It literally baffled me when I saw how hated his series was.

Let me start with the music. The soundtrack for this anime has to be one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to hear. The music is hard and raunchy as well as soft and melodically at times. They know read more
Mar 20, 2011
fantastic (All reviews)
When Togainu no Chi was first announced, I can honestly say I was incredibly excited. What more could I possibly ask for? There is nothing quite as satisfying as watching attractive men fighting each other and engaging in a wide array of homosexual actions.

Unfortunately, the only thing this anime has to offer is mind-numbing direction and plot, as well as the most uncreative and dull color palette seen in anime since Death Note. If you ever feel the desire to watch this, you had better have an unnatural love of the colors red and gray.

To be honest, I feel a bit ashamed giving Togainu no read more
Feb 1, 2011
kittryn (All reviews)
I can understand the criticism coming from the anime lover population. Yes the story was lacking. Yes the art was choppy at times and yes the characters were pretty basic. The story wasn't horrendous just lacking. It didn't have the essentials or the time to tie it all together. I have to say I had zero expectations for this anime and completely loved it. The theme is what any anime/gamer fan girl could want. Violence, hot guys and some hinted BL. I would definitely suggest this to people who are looking for something more then just BL with either rape or sappy romance. I can read more
Dec 24, 2010
Amaranthyz (All reviews)
I have to say, Togainu No Chi really got me hooked at the first two/three episodes but as it went along, the storyline and everything started to fall and I have never hated a finale of an anime so much than TnC's episode 12.

At first, I really liked how they introduced Akira and the beginning of the storyline. It was decent and could be caught up quite easily for those who have never heard of the game or visual novel before. When Shiki appeared, I had a good feeling that the anime will be a great hit. The first episode got me so interested and read more
Dec 23, 2010
-Arlequin- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, this is my first review and my English is not that good, so please don`t be too harsh on me, okay guys?
~
When I first heard about this anime I found it really interesting, because it is a new combination of different things;
Action, a huge amount of blood and a lot of pretty guys ( And like it is said in the discription even shonen-ai).
So, I don`t think that a lot of people would watch this series anyway.
Because for the male audience... well there are too many boys (and in fact only a single woman), and for the girls there is just too much read more
Jul 11, 2012
Risan07 (All reviews)
So I've seen many horrible reviews for this anime and despite all the warnings to avoid it and/or at least read the manga I thought I would jump in and then give my opinion on it. Now keep this in mind, I have not read the manga yet (but I plan on it), and I have only glanced at it for the visual comparisons.

Story: 6/10
At the beginning of the series I was first enthralled by the prospects of Toshima and how the protagonist was going to go there after being falsely accused of murder. However after watching it all the way through I read more
Dec 24, 2010
Hikawa_Kita (All reviews)
Togainu no Chi was a disappointment to say the best.
When I saw the trailer I was immediately excited for this anime because it looked awesome and would have several of my favorite seiyuu like Konishi Katsuyuki, Fukuyama Jun, Sugita Tomokazu, and Toriumi Kousuke in it. After a few episodes however, I realized that this was not going to be as good as I had hoped.

Story:
The story was just not good. I did not read the manga so I don't know how well it followed the storyline but In my opinion it was hard to follow in places and a lot of things read more
Nov 29, 2011
kikabitez (All reviews)
My first advice is, if you haven't played the game or read the manga yet, don't do it until you've finished watching the anime.
Togainu no chi is a good anime to watch for me, not wonderfully but an OK one. As long as you don't compare it to the game or manga version, the story is quite interesting, I even continued watching all 12 episodes without pausing. The ending was disappointing though, I don't think that's how Akira would have responded in that kind of situation considering his personality, and the story was left unclear in TOO many parts.
Now, compares with the game ..and that read more
Apr 25, 2011
ninjasheep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Confusion-inducing. Aside from the fact that there are hardly any women in this show, there’s also that little problem of the viewer being thrown into a fictitious world that doesn’t even attempt to explain its existence, not to mention having to relate to characters whose ideas of a backstory come off as stale, contrived monologues. Technically, though, Togainu no Chi is wonderful, just something you’d expect out of A1 Pictures. Although the blood is a bit too lipstick-red – probably intended to stand out against the dark, shadow-filled environment – the EDs are amazing, and the camera angles bring out the best from the relatively read more
Jun 8, 2011
Tydus (All reviews)
Skimming through anime series as I usually do to watch, I decided to watch this after reading the brief synopsis of it, not to mention that with a name like this, I thought it was going to be an excellent series. However, just as looks can be deceiving, the same can be applied to the names because although the name oozed awesomeness, the series itself was a total disappointment.

STORY 3/10
The story follows a young apathetic man named Akira who is blackmailed into participating into a tournament to defeat a drug lord and stop the spread of drugs in Toshima. There was no actual fighting in read more
Apr 27, 2015
Scarsoftommorow (All reviews)
So first off I'll say that I never played the game or read the manga unlike a lot of people who have left reviews on this anime.
Anyway I'll start with my thoughts on the sound. At certain moments the sound seemed delayed or didn't fit the scene which annoys me to no end. At times Akira's voice acting seemed overdone or like the actor was trying too hard.
I've noticed that a lot of people called the plot confusing. I don't understand that at all. I was able to follow the plot just fine and I don't necessarily follow most anime plots well. read more
Feb 10, 2015
NikoMatsuoka (All reviews)
I do not understand the previous reviewer's because these BL animes (especially Nitro+Chiral) are based off BL mangas and computer games. The anime adaptations are made for popular (regular) TELEVISION in Japan. They cannot show explicit scenes let alone BL explicit scenes.

So of course they are not going to show the explicit yummy stuff we find online/game and in the mangas ... it is not "an embarrassment to the BL genre" because they are not doing explicit scenes in the anime; they are actually doing the BL genre a great service! They are expanding the audience for future BL customers. ^___~;

If you like read more
Nov 5, 2016
ElucidatorB (All reviews)
I enjoyed this anime a lot, I wish there was a second season. The characters and the designs were quite satisfying. Entering this some what dystopian world, it was most intriguing though the protagonist's eyes. The plot isn't that sophisticated but still introduced elements that may be further developed in the manga and ideas that can be further explored in-game. It felt short with only 12 episodes to watch but was enjoyable and interesting nonetheless. I did not read the manga or play the games, but I like this genre; however for those who did, some have been disappointed with the anime. I read more
Dec 15, 2011
HatchetGirl (All reviews)
Togainu no Chi is an anime that had a lot of potential, but... ultimately failed. There was one thing I liked, which was the characters. But, in order to love an anime truly, you must like both the characters AND the story. The story was... honestly, barely there, with a disappointing ending. The game is apparently quiet popular, which is sad, since the anime turned out so horrid. The plot was great, but they didn't use it for the great-ness it could have been. The art style was good, though. Although, I did enjoy the theme music, but something about the ending themes always felt read more