Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Magikano


Alternative Titles

Japanese: マジカノ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 1, 2006 to Apr 1, 2006
Premiered: Winter 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Lantis, DAX Production
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Tokyo Kids
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.451 (scored by 12,862 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #63172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2604
Members: 28,193
Favorites: 53

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 19, 2009
Retro8bit (All reviews)
Picture a day in your life, where you are happily going to school, and then one day the most popular girl in school seems to want you. Aside from that being every teenage boys dream, it also the starting point of the anime title "Magikano".

Story: 6/10
The plot begins with Haruo, a seemingly ordinary guy at school, nothing special about him at all, just pretty much your average student. One day he happens to see a beautiful girl on his way to class, who turns out to be the newest transfer student of the school, named Ayumi. Because of her beauty she quickly becomes the most read more
Oct 3, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
Magikano is the purest example of how cookie-cutter genre anime can go horribly wrong. You have pretty much every clichéd plot device and character you can think of stuffed into 12 episodes, revolving around a story that ranges from mediocre to just plain bad. The original storyline goes away after 2 episodes to carry on with oppressively obvious filler until they finally get to the point near the end.

The funniest thing about Magikano is that the things that come up in the anime often only help to destroy itself. For instance, the main character, Haruo, is a clichéd dummy who’s a total wuss, but somehow read more
Dec 7, 2008
PKAmmoTroop (All reviews)
It is a fun watch for someone who wants to be entertained with some humor. It would have been better if it stuck closer to it's Manga eechi roots, then the talking cat panties would have made more sense in the overall story line. Over all it's not outstanding but cute enough to keep your attention, but the ending really really drove down my rating for the story. It's like deus ex machina gone wild - like the writers suddenly decided to get serious at the very last moment. This ending makes the ending for Neon Genesis look reasonable.
Dec 3, 2008
spikesreign (All reviews)
So I'm going to make this as short and sweet as possible.

First off I watch mostly the newly English dubbed version, except for a few episodes in Japanese but quickly switched back, so that's the version I'm going to based this review off of that version. First off, this is one of the funniest animes that I've had the chance to watch so far, mainly because they used foul language without any fear of censorship. This cruel slap-stick kind of humor kept me pretty enthralled in the plot, for about the first three episodes.

For the plot, it starts out pretty fast, slows down read more
Dec 6, 2014
paddyspens (All reviews)
Well hello, my Otaku friends. If you are reading this review, then you know what is good for your taste. HAREM! ECCHI! COMEDY! ROMANCE!

Of course, if they are done right. And most of the time, they fail. Maken-ki Two might be a good example for failure. Alas, that is not the case of Magikano. Dear God, wasn't it fun? I literally got myself glued to this anime, and i know why. Let me reason myself below.

I have watched many, many comedy, ecchi, harem anime, since they are (I'm not ashamed to say) my favorite. So it's quite easy for me to say "I'm an read more
Sep 19, 2015
horrorshowjack (All reviews)
Story: Reasonably entertaining, if mediocre, for much of its run then takes a left turn into suckville. Ending is terrible, and renders it the most pointless anime ever filmed. Honestly it rivals So I Can't Play H for the ending that came closest to me avoiding the genre entirely.

Art: All the characters are distinct, and even background characters are fairly recognizable. However, none of them are all that pleasant to look at which is a drawback in a harem series. Guessing main girl looks better than she's drawn from the reactions of other characters.

Animation seems competent.

Sound: No major complaints.

Characters: MC is an read more
Sep 18, 2015
Packersfan11 (All reviews)
From the very beginning of this series it seemed like it would be a typical magical comedy, but it isn't until the final four episodes that sets this apart from the rest. I wouldn't recommend this anime to anyone that wants to feel satisfied at the end. I am definitely disappointed with how they decided to end this show, especially since they made everything that happened up to the ending pointless. There is absolutely no conclusion and not even an ending that allows the viewer to determine what kind of ending they think it was. They literally made the story into a complete circle where read more
May 18, 2014
Vladislaus (All reviews)
The most redeeming quality of this anime has to be the voice actors, the only reason I didn't close this after the first episode was the two male voice actors in the first episode because they are some of the best voice actors. However the story and character development makes me want to puke. The sound effects and music during the episodes is old 90's stuff used in carebears and other such old shows and the girls sound like carebears as well. The opening theme and ending theme songs are quite good though but it's not enough to make this anime anywhere near enjoyable.
Sep 4, 2010
huruki (All reviews)
This story is something like the anime&manga of Girls Bravo, full of gags in search of a plotline, and when it finally does find a story to tell, the change in tone is so abrupt that you end up wishing it had stayed pointless and stupid. (I still think it was pretty good, Im just saying.) As a slapstick comedy, it runs out of ideas too soon and gets mired in clichés; as fan service. I think the anime was really good and really funny but, to short and didn't have a really good reason for anything. So, I think personally this anime could have read more
Sep 26, 2017
AmberAmethyst (All reviews)
I just finished watching Magikano and throughout the series I couldn't decide whether or not I like the anime, but by the end I found it to be okay.

Story (6):

The story follows a witch Ayumi Mamiya who is cursed to lose her powers unless she awakens the boy she saw in the mirror who happens to be the protagonist Haruo.

It's pretty basic as far as harem anime goes. To be honest, by episode three I wondered if this anime was intended to be a parody of the harem genre by just how over the top it could be with some of these cliches.

The episodes read more