Iwa Kakeru!: Sport Climbing Girls

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hang On! Climbing Girls
Japanese: いわかける! -Sport Climbing Girls-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2020 to Dec 20, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Blade
Source: Web manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.471 (scored by 2477024,770 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #62672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1961
Members: 73,067
Favorites: 131

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2020
cigare (All reviews)
Ever since the Big Bang, we have asked ourselves one and only one thing: How fun is climbing? Many people have died without knowing it and unfortunately, even with the most qualified scientists, we weren't able to figure it out. It was then that Iwa Kakeru came to life.

1: You must be a hot girl - 2: You ought to have medium-size tits - 3: Preferably in high school.

These are the requirements for climbing. I agree that these are some rather specific requirements for such an unknown sport, but one must sacrifice oneself for the greater good. Ryuudai, the legend he is, has allowed us read more
Oct 26, 2020
SpinachGreen (All reviews)
Preliminary
tldr: The animators are a bunch of gumbies.

Climbing is a very technical and subtle sport - unlike football, where the team plays out clear tactics and strategies that can be explained and visualised relatively simply, climbing is more to do with balance, body positioning and coordination. Now, these things could be impressed upon an audience but would require pristine animation and direction which, unfortunately 'Sport Climbing Girls' doesn't have a lot of...

It seems to me that whoever thought up the whole premise knew something about climbing but the staff actually making the anime haven't a clue: puzzle games to climbing is surprisingly more realistic read more
Dec 19, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Iwa Kakeru! was easily one of my favourite shows this season. It's actually the first sports anime I've ever seen, and I was not disappointed at all. From the characters' designs, interactions to the actual sport of climbing itself, everything was great for me.

Who should watch this show? People who are into CGDCT, people who are curious about climbing or enjoy outdoor activities in general. If you're coming here expecting something to blow you away narratively, you're going to be disappointed. The scale of the show is small and rather self-contained. It's not too ambitious in anything it does, at least in this first read more
Dec 19, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Kasahara Konomi. During middle school, she won many puzzle tournaments in Japan. Thanks to her hobby, she enjoyed her school life; she thought she did not need anything else. She was wrong. Her hobby resulted in poor academic performance, so she had to reconsider her life choices. Thankfully, her hard work pays off and she enrolls in Hanamiya girls’ high school.

I will not try to hide the fact that this anime is quite unique. I mean, how many anime about sport climbing do you know? Kasahara Konomi is a hikimori, who only plays games. Her life shows her that everything is not easy and one read more
Oct 24, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is a lot of fun, and brings a lot of interest into rock climbing in general. Along with it being a fairly decent show when it comes to the usual all girl do a particular kind of task type of shows.

The story follows our MC looking for a club, and ending up getting involved in rock climbing. Being a novice and all, it follows her and her new more experienced teammates, as they go about rock climbing, where that be for practice, or at actual events, as they aim to compete and win against other schools. But what pulls it for me, is read more
Nov 1, 2020
NakolHira (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a quick review.

"Iwakakeru Sports Climbing Girls" is an interesting show, it tries to explore a relatively unknown sports called "Rock Climbing". I absolutely had no idea that even this game is played on highschool level. Rock climbing, well as the name suggests, is about climbing rocks. To achieve this, you need to have strong muscles as well as strong observation skill to know where you are stepping in next. You need to be physically strong as well as have to develop strong mentality. It interests me to this level, that I want to learn how a player can gain admirable skills to read more
Dec 19, 2020
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Ok, so another sports theme anime with a josie genre has ended and as one top reviewer said " The animators are a bunch of gumbies," well, I couldn't agree more. since it kind of look like that, given that the original creator of this series, Ishizaka, Ryuudai, wasn't much of a good story teller in the realm of sports, and just like the highly recommended anime " Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? " the original creators tend to give out helpful instruction, that weren't very much of factual as compared to the actual sports itself, the said 'helpful instruction" were just a means to give read more
Dec 15, 2020
DipperGF62 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't normally write reviews, but I wanted to for this series. I would like to hopefully encourage people to try it themselves before writing it off, as with only one episode left to watch when it airs, I've enjoyed the show quite a bit.

I'm not going to rate the show by different categories, as I tried that and it sounded boring, but I did find it more enjoyable seemingly than many other reviewers here did, and wanted to express that.

It doesn't stand out too much in any area, and I doubt it will join anyone's list of favorite anime, but I've found it surprisingly read more
Dec 24, 2020
Blacknole (All reviews)
This is my first ever review (and english isnt my first language, sorry if I dont write all correct).

I am a climber, I were climbing for more than 5 years now and since I start watching anime I search an anime/manga about climbing and more specific about climbing competitions.
This is literally the first one I found (Kokou no Hito is a manga about climbing, but personally is overexaggerated).

I have to say that I wasnt expecting this anime being this good in the realism. They make something enjoyable and all the thing they do are in the majort part real (excluding the fact of the overpower read more
Nov 25, 2020
HouseOfCards (All reviews)
Preliminary
Lot of people dislike it because it's not entirely realistic, they don't like the art, they don't like the sound/theme song, they think it has generic characters, they want to know more about the characters.
It's not realistic but it's not the point, it's suppose to introduce the world of professional rock climbing while being relatable and enjoyable, the first of its kind. Going through the arduous process or showing episodes of intense training without any relatable motivation would turn off viewers. Just overlook this fact for the story.
I actually liked the art, it seemed better than a lot of shows I watched so I'm not read more
Nov 15, 2020
Ragio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fall 2020 really is a letdown in terms of animes and this one is an example of it.

Like the title says, its an anime about girls climbing or more specifically, bouldering. Story follows Kasahara Konomi, a girl who dedicated her life to video games, competing in many tournaments and always come out as victorious only to give up on them due to her grades being very low. So to kill time, she joins the Bouldering club where she finds love for the sport.

While the concept doesn´t sound bad, it sadly is poorly executed. For starters, the manga for this anime only has 4 read more
Nov 1, 2020
OrionKaelin (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a amateur climber myself I was excited at the announcement of this anime as I'd imagine most niche hobbyist would be at a media depiction of their somewhat lesser known activity.
In actuality though its a bit disappointing.
The Story and Characters are rather standard fair for sport characters throwing in a host of personalities and skill in an attempt to cover the basic bases of the kinds of people and their specialties' so as to showcase the widest range of actions possible in the sport. Though added on top of the diversity is an frankly distracting addition of animalistic qualities that further "define" each character read more
Oct 25, 2020
MuchNoms (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seems like the writers have put a bit of effort into learning some of the random climbing esque sayings and such but I'd pay cash money to see someone with 2 days experience learn to lead climb so quickly.

The lack of pump complaints hurt my soul.

The framing of enemies within the series makes sense in a competition based system but in any real world climbing the community side feels lacking here.

The whole team comradery thing from the start is awesome, any climber who's series about it wishes they had people that could tell them the what's what of what they're doing/not doing properly so read more
Sep 17, 2021
SmokoGuwap (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: Review is based off memory. My memory is dodgy at times, keep that in mind. SPOILERS BELOW.

Sports Climbing Girls. More like Sports Climbing SHIT. This is quite possibly one of the worst shows I have watched, and will have ever watched. After 7 episodes of pain and suffering it was time for this show to go.

Objective Score:

Plot and Story Structure- Girl fails at climbing tournament. Girl works hard and wins climbing tournament. Simply mind-blowing stuff. (2/10)

Characterisation and Character/ World Development – Every time I saw the characters on screen I felt nothing but rage and agony. (1/10)

Flow and Depiction of Ideas and Content- Through read more
Mar 4, 2021
Insiyasha (All reviews)
In my opinion, this is a good anime because it has an Antimainstream Sport topics. Visual, Character, and Art very very very beutiful.

Just like other sports anime, the plot that is presented is not far from the beginning of training, forming teams, competitions between local schools and the national level. Such is the plot that is presented, but here the drawback is that the plot is like it was made too fast to fit the 12 episode load, so it is less exciting and less tense.

Then what makes it interesting here again is the main character who has never tried this sport before, as read more
Dec 1, 2020
Mysolidians (All reviews)
Preliminary
Iwa Kakeru is an anime series that adopts 3 types of genres, Comedy, Sports, and School. This series initially tells the story of a girl student named Kasahara Konomi who accidentally joins a rock climbing club, created a situation where she joins the high school club. The story is a bit cliché for a school theme like most of the ones in previous series.

As far as I understand, Iwa Kakeru is not a series that has bad scores, on the other hand it is not enough to be called great. This series is stuck between two statement values ​​that feels suffocated. To be honest, all read more
Apr 9, 2021
KayBobis (All reviews)
I chose to watch this because I thought rock climbing was really cool, so I was super excited when I saw there was an anime about it! I found it exciting to watch the girls climb and learn new footholds and strategies. However, a lot of the plot felt mediocre at best. Specifically the rivals/“villains.” They were very under developed, which took away from a lot of the potential of this anime. With sports anime, challengers make the plot much more interesting, so their underdevelopment definitely hurt the show. I also found that there was a lot of opportunities read more
Jan 31, 2021
Chazwigglez (All reviews)
A post- apocalyptic adventure for the ages.

This is an incredible pice of art that should be celebrated for generations. A truly deep look into humanity and its determination to survive.

The year is 3126 after the fall of humanity in 2023 due to a devastating strain of SARS-Cov-2 and a subsequent nuclear war over vaccines humanity has only just returned to where it was before it fell. The only artifacts left by the old world were climbing walls. The humans of today worship these walls as gifts from the gods.

The only ones allowed to climb these walls are the ones known as "The Gifted". These are read more
Jan 24, 2021
jaula_3123 (All reviews)
As a rock climber, I can say that this anime was slightly unrealistic. For starters, the protagonist progressed much faster than any normal beginner. I mean cmon, she was leading on her first day and climbing 5.11. That usually doesn't happen unless the climber had prior sports experience. Also, this anime was overly sexualized. I was exited to finally see a female sports anime featuring my own sport, and was disappointed when I saw how much they gave into fan service. Nevertheless, the story line was ok even though it was a bit rushed, so I'd say 5-6 out of 10.
Jan 2, 2021
Rul___ (All reviews)
It's pretty good to bring up the rock climbing as a theme which is also rising in popularity nowadays. This anime also quite able to introduce what rock climbing is. Where the key is like playing puzzles and also training muscles.

This anime contains waifu only, just a normal design. Maybe for those of you who like those fetishies should watch the anime. I quite enjoyed the introduction to the sport itself. But for the story as usual it's like any other sports anime. The characters are also familiar in sports anime, some are sneaky, opulent, arrogant, blablabla. Comedy? I don't feel like it or read more