Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka III


Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? III

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? III
Synonyms: DanMachi 3rd Season, Is It Wrong That I Want to Meet You in a Dungeon 3rd Season
Japanese: ダンジョンに出会いを求めるのは間違っているだろうかIII

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2020 to Dec 19, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.501 (scored by 9747397,473 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #483
Members: 282,771
Favorites: 1,612
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 2, 2020
Cozye (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am tired of mediocrity.

Danmachi has never been a show that has stood out for its excellent story but for its first two seasons, it was at least competent enough to be watchable. But like many shows of its genre, it fails to understand how to keep itself fun. So what does the show do now? Mindless exposition dumps that take up half the episode followed by pointless gratuitous violence of characters I don’t care about followed by even more exposition. It attempts to build up tension and tries to make you care about all these monsters but all of it feels fake and forced.

I read more
Oct 23, 2020
Pimpi05 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka series is nothing, but average. Characters are pretty forgetful and the story lots of times make no sense or just plain boring.
I'm not sure why this work is so popular. There's plenty of better-made anime.
In the latest season, we get the reveal... which makes no sense. Since it would be a spoiler, I can't comment on it. But it pisses me over how creators think watchers are so dumb to believe such an unbelievable plot.
Let's say people genocide each other and all they need to stop the bloodshed is to say "hi", but everyone is read more
Dec 18, 2020
xamantra (All reviews)
-----------------------
Enjoyment: 8/10
Story: 4.5/6
Visuals: 4/6
Characters: 4/5
Music: 2/3
-----------------------
Overall: 7.50
-----------------------


I really do think that DanMachi is an above-average anime in the action magic-fantasy genre. The story isn't bad at all. This season is the typical DanMachi and lives up to the franchise's overall quality. The art and animation are consistent with previous seasons. I get to see the usual foolish and reckless Bell-kun, cheerful Hestia-sama, and the supportive familia members. And lastly, there's a new character here. A monster-girl that has human-like thinking and personality. That's the main plot of this season. I like how DanMachi keeps improving every season. Some people seem to hate this show because read more
Dec 18, 2020
AstralBread (All reviews)
Did you know that the real translation of “Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka” into English is “Is It Wrong to Seek Encounters in a Dungeon?” - “encounter” being the random encounter mechanic from the classic JRPGs like Final Fantasy. If you “seek” random encounters, you probably are deliberately grinding XP to get ahead, but you’re also risking to overexert yourself or run into something you can’t deal with. I.e. that is a meaningful question without one right answer, the risk versus reward deal. And then there is a double entendre on top of that, “encounter” can be a “rendezvous” with read more
Oct 25, 2020
Markio_midoriya (All reviews)
Preliminary
* CONTAINS SPOILERS IN PARA 2*

Dungeon ni deai wo motomeru no wa machigatteiru darou ka(Danmachi for short) is NOT a show about a chad OP protagonist going into dungeons and saving helpless girls and them adding them to his harem. No, it is rather about a nice, naïve and pure boy named Bell Cranel who was more or less helpless in the start and slowly and steadily grew both in strength and mentally. Well ,if you are reading this review, you have probably watched the first 2 seasons and know all this, so let's get into this season.

(spoilers)
The story starts right off the bat in read more
Dec 18, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
If you do not know how to make your anime sell, just add a harem.

In a nutshell
After growing bored of their realms, the Gods of multiple pantheons descended to Earth, where they create groups called Famillia. The story takes place in a fictional city called Orario, which also has a tremendous net of catacombs. Many members of Famillias visit this dungeon to defeat monsters to earn money and to just become famous. Among many Famillias, there is the Goddess Hestia's Familia. Unlike other Gods, Hestia has only one follower, who has never had a desire to reach “the top.” However, everything changes when read more
Oct 23, 2020
Ronsuma (All reviews)
Preliminary
:: This review is based on the first 4 episodes and has no major spoilers::

At first, there was a goddess, then there was an adventurer, then there was a fox girl, now a monster? Danmachi takes the phrase, “Picking up girls in a dungeon” very seriously.

And so, with another season Danmachi is back, where we follow our protagonist Little Rookie, picking up girls in a dungeon, getting into trouble because of it but in the end, saving the day nonetheless.

:: Story ~ 6 out of 10 ::
Based on the first four episodes of the season I can gladly say, it just feels like Danmachi. It read more
Dec 18, 2020
yanshenpan (All reviews)
DanMachi is the best show ever, with outstanding characters and a great story... jokes aside, you can kiss Hestia's ass if you thought that.

Since you are looking at season 3, you are most likely familiar with this show. DanMachi isn’t great in terms of storytelling or characters, yet it managed to keep me entertained for 3 seasons.

This season we are introduced with intelligent monsters (Xenos). One of the Xenos is Wiene, a female vouivre who is being hunted by both humans and monsters. Bell couldn't leave her to die in such dangerous place, so he decided to pick the girl up from the dungeon. Once read more
Dec 18, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
After the hot trash that was season 2, Danmachi is back and its actually quite decent. It appears overall that JC Staff managed to actually schedule production properly this time around and did not overwhelm their workers, the season is passable in production values and overall has a more interesting story than season 1 or 2. This review will expand on these improvements and give an overall score to the performance of season 3.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 7

There appears to finally be some real plot in this series, previous seasons were primarily focused on Bell overcoming strong monsters or getting kidnapped and saving a person read more
Nov 8, 2020
ArakiNouji28 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review up to the current chapter of Danmachi and it has no spoilers for the novel, I will only talk about the first 6 chapters of the third season (I will update it with chapter 12 to give my final opinion):

The series does not seem bad to me, but it is slow because there are certain events that have to be considered in a better way since there are many things that I intuit, they will later pass through certain scenes seen in the opening, which seems reasonable to me that the series poses this in the first chapters to give more read more
Nov 8, 2020
POPFLAKEIT (All reviews)
Preliminary
I see nonsense reviews and that they did not even take to read the anime subtitles or read the novel because they say inconsistencies, with respect to the current season, I can say that to date almost faithfully all the chapters of volume 9, as a reader I give guarantee that the changes are minimal, the rhythm in the first 3 chapters are good since they give a preparation of what is coming, without being exaggerated or being slow because yes, no, we must see why bell itself adapts to these new living beings called xenos, which we saw, it is difficult to adapt them, read more
Dec 18, 2020
DillonA (All reviews)
I use to think that all pieces of media had some merit to them and that it was my fault if I didn't like them. However that is then, this is now. Danmachi is a pathetic show, it uses stupid plot devices, random harem events, and shitty character writing to make a show that kids enjoy.

Now what does a kid enjoy? As Scamboli said it: Kids love stories that they could plug themselves into, "if I was Bell I'd save that girl and MARRY HER" or so the thought would go. Or "I have to save everybody these kids are counting on me" type deal. read more
Dec 13, 2020
Am_Meep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Danmachi season 3: the latest edition to the series i can only describe as "meh". While it isn't the worst anime I've ever seen, it's a long way away from being considered a really good one, settling down at the "bearable" range.

Story - 3

The story for this show is, to put it bluntly, crap. The whole story is surprisingly similar to something i wrote in 6th grade, and it just isn't that great. This latest season in particular is really bad, throwing in whole new sides of the story and new mechanics for us to try and fit into our interpretation of the world, and read more
Dec 19, 2020
Weebston (All reviews)
Okay so I just finished watching DanMachi Season 3 and feel the need to rant about it to someone who'll actually listen. Basically all of my friends dropped the show during the second season (which I don't really blame them for) and so I turn to the review section for some much needed catharsis.

First of all, I'd like to start by addressing the art and animation. In my opinion, it felt REALLY lackluster this season. Everything looks so... flat and lifeless, and there's this stiffness to the animation that makes it really difficult for me to immerse myself in the story. It just feels like read more
Dec 18, 2020
Takadashi (All reviews)
overall score: -solid eight- (8.0)

(spoiler free)
Danmachi s1 is where the anime started to make it's own name and s2 destroyed that and made danmchi look like a circus but s3 has come to save danmchi and it did save danmchi. season 3 had so many different aspect that s1 & s2 didn't quite show.

s3 had more depth to the story and opened a whole new route an possibilities where no one think it could go that way. s3 had bell took some serious choice and foolish action that bell should never even take from the start. But even a foolish hero could defy a read more
Nov 1, 2020
yahyamei (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season is hard to describe, I may be a minority here but when it comes to some shows I really don't want a commentary or something that'll make me think, "dang, this is soo nuanced, this is exactly what I came to see." The show is trying to prove how NICE our mc is, did I mention how NICE he was. We get, i swear, now can we please go to the reason I think people watch this show, we want character growth, not just another chick to add to the harem. Don't get me wrong, I love this series, I just feel like read more
Dec 18, 2020
Mueza (All reviews)
The storyline is very similar to a light novel, and in terms of graphics and sound it may be a little less interesting for some people who feel untidy or something, but I personally think this is very good and quite good especially fitting for episode 12 thanks to JC.Staff for having gives a really nice, epic, and nostalgic ending to this season 3. Thank you for ending the anime, and I'm waiting for the 4th season hehehe.



Spoiler time
time later the bell cranel will get a new power named
(闘牛本能オックス・スレイヤー): Ox Slayer heavily increases all abilities when fighting raging bull-type monsters, potentially making Bell stronger read more
Dec 18, 2020
RPWPA (All reviews)
Danmachi is a very weird anime. It is the type of anime you watch and you wonder how bad it can get but then it turns everything around in an episode or 2. A show that started about a simple premise of wanting to be stronger to be with someone you love and turned into a big adventure of self-improvement and fighting for others than yourself. A surprising idea not gonna lie but a good one to be had.


While the previous season was average or decent at best. This season was surprisingly very good. It focused on not only our MC, but on the read more
Dec 18, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Danmachi is one of favourite LN series, so when I saw the abysmal adaptation that was the second season, I was extremely disappointed. When S3 was announced, I had pretty low expectations and was prepared to feel the same way as I did in the summer of 2019 after S2. I have never been more happy to be wrong.

JC Staff absolutely blew me away this season with consistent pacing, great animation and solid direction. This was one of the most pivotal arcs for Bell’s development in the series and it deserved nothing short of a great adaptation. While it wasn’t perfect, it was more than read more
Dec 2, 2020
sommertyme (All reviews)
Preliminary
don't exactly know what is considered a spoiler but there might be what is considered a very vague spoiler in this review.

If I were to have given a rating at episode 3/4 or earlier it would have been a 4. It starts off slow and is quite irritating due to the plot shifting off what the plot has been for the past two seasons. I had even dropped it for a couple of weeks, but recently I went back and caught up on the show and I pleased with how it is turning out.

The action and story gets better and more intense towards the read more