Nabari no Ou

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Nabari no Ou
Synonyms: Nabari no Oh, King of Nabari
Japanese: 隠の王

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2008 to Sep 29, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Square Enix, Kinyosha
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 5728357,283 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #23992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1015
Members: 147,926
Favorites: 1,423
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 16, 2008
MaxwellLily (All reviews)
Preliminary
People will look at this and say: "Another ninja anime?". By now, the big and world-wide known title I don't even have to mention is burned into people's minds, and although it wasn't the first or last anime about ninjas, it's now become an easy reference.

I say you should forget that anime if you want to watch Nabari no Ou.

The plot here, more than the fights, more than the neat skills, is the most important thing. And the main characters, are, surprisingly, the main hero and the main villain. Wait, what?

In our story, Miharu Rokujou has the greatest and secret art of the ninjas within read more
Nov 17, 2009
Overcooled (All reviews)
Nabari no Ou decided to take the ninja theme and put a little twist on it - the ninjas exist in modern times. I'm not saying this hasn't been done before, but it's definitely a change of pace from most ninja anime where ninjas are completely different from our contemporary culture. Nabari no Ou is about a boy named Miharu who has a powerful forbidden art called the Shinrabanshou inside him, a skill that can give infinite knowledge to the user, thus giving them the ability to grant wishes. Once his schoolteacher recognizes him, things pick up from there and he is read more
Mar 11, 2010
-Naami- (All reviews)
In life, many people (through different experiences) learn the value of human relationships; be it the relationship between lovers, siblings or friends. They learn it is okay to have selfish desires once in a while and what a person can mean to another.

…If only.

Thus we come to Nabari no Ou (English: King of Nabari), an anime which attempts to present multiple character relationships and the complexities of human interaction with a bit of ninja action to spruce things up.

The story is one that had an interesting premise: The apathetic Miharu is told that he holds the power of the Shinrabanshou, a read more
Mar 28, 2009
gdavge2003 (All reviews)
Nabari no Ou is not a ninja anime. Yes, the synopsis would disagree with me, but after watching all 26 episodes, the ninja aspect of Nabari no Ou is pretty much unimportant to the central story.

Nabari no Ou is more about the relationship between Yoite and Miharu. They meet each other as enemies, but as the story progresses, they slowly become friends. Yoite wishes Miharu to end his existence using the power Shiranbanshou, while Miharu tries to master this technique to fulfill his wish.

The story, is at best, mediocre. From the synopsis, I was lead to believe this series would be action-packed. But it really read more
Aug 6, 2011
Damonashu (All reviews)
Mixing genres; as a writer, when you mix genre you have to be careful or one genre’s over-representation can overwhelm the other, and subsequently alienate your readers. There are some genres that go well together, like romance and drama, or action and fantasy. But then there are others like drama and comedy that can conflict so much the readers rage at the sight of one or the other. There is nothing stopping such genres from mixing well, but for that to happen a writer has to take care, and in the case of Nabari no ou it doesn’t seem like the writers did.

Story
Nabari starts by read more
Jul 17, 2008
ichigopan (All reviews)
Preliminary
For those looking for action-packed, let-me-give-you-a-history-lesson-on-my-special-move-before-I-execute-it, will be disappointed. This is not that kind of anime.

The characters and story are the main focus of this anime. I generally do not watch shounen-type animes, this one is very well done. While the backdrop theme is the ninja world, it really is a story of relationships and personal struggles.

The animation is very nice. Great use of colors and somewhat of a nostalgic feel to it. The action sequences flow well from scene-to-scene. The real gem of this anime is the relationship between Miharu/Yoite. All of the supporting characters and their relationships are also well-developed and is read more
Jul 6, 2008
SenMorta (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's your typical ninja anime. I'm used to all this ninja plot, and nabari no ou is no different. You've got your typical main character, who has many flaws, Rokujo. He has the shinranbanshou, this mythical power that could make him the king of nabari.

However he has two ninja clans after him, both wanted the shinrabanshou. Rokujo is typical apethetic and indifferent. I'm quite used to that by now. To make the anime worst, it's basically copied ninja scroll series.

Ninja scroll the series is about a woman who has a mythical power similiar to shinrabanshou, a power that two very similiar clans are fighting over. read more
Oct 19, 2008
bjtdevera (All reviews)
THE REAL PREMISE:
- 2 socially distraught boys connect with each other, and find peace therein.

THE GOOD:
- Unique plot. This is not your typical ninja anime.
- Plot twists keep the story engaging.

THE BAD:
- The last 5 episodes don't do the rest of the anime justice.
- The relationship between the two boys becomes tedious. Yeah...they really like each other...we get it.

CONCLUSION:
- If you're looking for a fighting anime, this isn't it. This is not one of those "let's get stronger so that we can beat the boss" types of anime. What this anime really focuses on is human emotion. So, if the read more
May 29, 2008
Yousei-tan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story
Meet Rokujo Miharu,your average sarcastic and devilish teenager.In the normal world.But in the secret world of Nabari ,Miharu posses a deadly skill,Shinrabanshou,that can grant any wish.
All that Rokujo wants is to live an normal life,but nothing will be normal any more,especially when you posses the most wanted skill from the whole World of Nabari.
Art
Fair enough for me.The characters are drawn nice,and the background is ok.
Sound
Well,there aren't very much sounds in an ninja anime,but the OP and ED are good.
Character
The characters are drawn very nice,and the quality is good.Also,their clothes are nice.
Personal opinion
Not bad at all.It lacks a little in fighting scenes for a ninja anime,but read more
Feb 2, 2009
Shadoe (All reviews)
I found this Anime to be one of the best that I have seen. The mix of action scenes and also the parts where the characters relate to each other. They could have made the story go a bit deeper though, and I thought that it played out to...Smoothly, to put it simply. The Art was very good in my mind, and i liked how some of the characters hair you could tell was changing. In most Anime that I have seen they don't show that kind of thing. In the way of sound, I think that the characters voices read more
Sep 14, 2012
XxYoursTrulyxX (All reviews)
I heard people say that this was just going to be another Naruto. It was so much more though. It wasn't too long and the story was amazing. It wasn't just another mindless ninja anime, it wasn't all about fighting and it wasn't all about drama. It had so many twists and turns. And the characters were amazing. There was no good or bad, no villains or necessarily heroes. It was emotional, tear jerking, funny at times and an overall great anime.
Jul 5, 2011
stunt_crazy (All reviews)
So if you are looking for a gentle review of this semi-mediocre ninja anime you are reading the wrong review.

The first half of the first episode my first thought was like.... Awesome this is gonna be almost like a but of a modern naruto. By the time I got to the end of the first episode I was fully convinced that this anime could set itself aside from naruto altogether. A couple of the characters were already deemed BA's(bad asses) to me and others had the ability to grow...now that all about sums up the things i liked.

Now for the bad qualities is read more
Dec 4, 2012
toothpasted (All reviews)
I think the most important thing to say about this series is that it's mediocre. It's good enough to watch, but honestly, the series generally feels rushed, disjointed, and well--average.
Story (6): Nabari No Ou is another ninja anime. That's not intirinsically bad, but it's enough to make someone roll their eyes. If this is going to be a ninja anime, it'd better be good. And that's the thing--it's really just not. Ninjas in modern day. That's not terrible, but the truth is that Nabari No Ou tried to be more than it was. It tried to incorporate big ideas of the universe and the fragility read more
Aug 27, 2010
Nukegara (All reviews)
Nabari no ou encounters the same problem as many other plot-centric anime: it is enjoyable enough to compel you to watch the whole thing but contains plenty of bad elements to keep you frustrated. I hereby list those elements.
The centerpiece of the anime, the shinrabanshou, is supposed to be some sort of superpower that, I suppose, can do anything. However there's very little detail given about the nature of its use. The consequences of activating it are never really discussed so it remains unclear why Tobari Sensei is so determined never to let it be used, even for good. When he argues about this read more
Jan 5, 2013
geass142 (All reviews)
Preliminary
this anime is crappy. all the characters lack common sense and have unlikable personality's. story's horrible. main character is weak/useless. i don't recommend watching this anime.
Nov 29, 2008
arsanii (All reviews)
Haha, NO, this is not a Naruto copycat or anything like it. Nabari No Ou is completely different withinself and quite unique. Even though it's based on ninjas, so what? Just because Bleach has shinigami, does that mean other anime/manga can't have shinigami's?

I think the art was done well and I would rate the story higher if not for the anime terrible ending. >< It wasn't really 'terrible' but more or less disappointing and unsatisfactory. But then again, most anime madeup endings are irritating.

Also I think one of the greatest points of Nabari No Ou is its characters. They're fundamentally unique and the read more
Sep 26, 2010
lovelyphantom (All reviews)
Nabari no Ou. At first I thought it would be like another Naruto series, but thankfully I was wrong about it. Instead it had a whole different feel to it than what Naruto had.

First of would be the story in general. Where as Naruto you have a ninja trying to become hokage and no real other plot than that. Nabari no Ou however you have a consent plot that is shown threw out each episode. The stories development was pretty good in my opinion. It had a nice build at first before diving into the plot more.. and steadily rising to something believable and reasonable read more
Sep 20, 2019
Mr_Yaz (All reviews)
✪ Genre: action (martial arts, swordplay), contemporary fantasy, drama, shounen, ninja, superpower with bishounen character designs


✔ Positive Aspects ✔

◧ The quality of the animation is typical of a late 00s production, mid saturated colors, clearly lacking in vibrancy, but with very distinct character designs, not allowing the viewer to confuse a character for another. In general, the animation was nothing overly enticing, but it was not shabby either.

◧ One of the better aspects of the series was its soundtrack. It recycled quite a few tracks which were, generally, positively noticeable, and, I dare to say, entertaining for the most part but nothing overly exciting.


✘ Negative read more
Jun 1, 2013
SecretAnimeLover (All reviews)
Okay. First off, let me state I'm not into the ninja kinds of Anime. But with Nabari No Ou it didn't even matter. Because it was so interesting that I don't think anyone would dislike this no matter what kind of genre's you're into.

Story 10/10

The story is much diffrent than what I was used to. Now I'm sure that they have alot of ninji Anime out there, but Nabari no ou is more unique and less cliche. The story developes really well and I love the funny momment they throw in there. And it's not one of those shows that you have to get into, read more
Jun 10, 2016
SleepingAyumu (All reviews)
"Oh god. This is so mediocre. It will suck so bad. WHY did I start this anime, oh god why."

Yup. Those were my very thoughts for the first few episodes. I never expect anything good from 13 or 26 episodes long animes, but when I think about it, I've generally got past the point when I'd expect any anime to make me say WOW. I'm slowly turning into those old otakus who just moan about every little detail that did not meet their taste and who long lost enjoyment of watching anime and view it pretty much as a job. But let's not drift off.

Before read more